Underwater (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
1,067 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Good movie, not sure why there is so much negativity.
jaimecave1 May 2020
Agreed, no character development but they did get straight into the action, from start to finish.

There was some minor, trivial things that irritated me, for sure, but undeserved of the poopy ratings.

I was entertained, which is the purpose for watching any movie. Armchair critics can go for a swim in the Mariana Trench. This movie was good.
360 out of 458 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Anxiety level start to finish: 💯
Top_Dawg_Critic28 March 2020
I'm really shocked the critics slammed this film, and at its low IMDb rating. My blood pressure and anxiety levels were red-zone from start 00:01 to 95:00 ending.

Sure this film was The Abyss meets Aliens with a bit of The Poseidon Adventure, a lot of Pacific Rim and a dash of The Meg, but that's what made it fun! Don't people realize that 99.99% of original film ideas have already been done?

Now add the fact that the two writers and directer are basically newb filmmakers, and were able to put this huge production together... mad respect and props! 🙌

Acting was great with the proper amount of comic relief from the one character, and Stewart nailed her role. Cinematography was excellent, S/VFX outstanding, score on point, pacing amazing, and the 95 min runtime was perfect. I actually wanted more!

Man, people need to chill and research the filmmakers of films, and to see this was a newb production, and give props were due. They have to start somewhere. There's been a ton of garbage out there coming from seasoned filmmakers, so this was refreshingly exciting and entertaining - start to finish.

It's a well deserved 8/10 from me, and if anyone is questioning this review as being fake, click my username to see my 1000+ ratings and 800+ reviews, and read my bio on how to properly rate a film. Then go see this one!
409 out of 554 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Play the game Soma before or after you watch this.
inferno-910596 July 2020
There is a game that was released some years ago called Soma. It was made by the same people who made Amnesia and it is a quality scary game. This movie follows the same path you take of escape in that game and it give you a real feel of what it would be like to be in that atmosphere. Of course the closest thing you'd get to living through that yourself would be that game because obviously no one has lived through it irl. Also Kristen Stewart is too me what Brad Pitt is to women, so this movie has me caring about the actors in advance. TJ Miller is also a hilarious actor and he is funny in this he is much needed comedy from an otherwise dark drama anyone who says otherwise can fight me.
104 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Lovecraftian popcorn
influxtwo11 January 2020
As a fan of William Eubank's 2014 film "The Signal" I was pretty excited for this. The Signal offered a lot of thrills and suspense and a twist ending that leaves you gobsmacked.

Underwater did not quite live up to the same shock value. Less build-up or development to make much of it float anywhere above mediocre. The setting, scenery, and cinematography and music however is stunning.

This is the love child of Alien, Cloverfield, A Quiet Place, The Abyss, Soma, DeepStar Six, HP Lovecraft Etc. But doesn't carry as much weight.
315 out of 464 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A well-made creature-feature; it may not be original, but it is entertaining
Bertaut23 February 2020
The last film distributed by 20th Century Fox before they were rebranded as 20th Century Studios by Disney, Underwater was shot in early 2017 for $50 million and then sat on a shelf for over two years. Now that it's finally seeing the light of day, there's a real sense of Disney just wanting to be rid of Fox's clutter, and they either didn't know how to promote it or didn't want to promote it, as the marketing campaign has been next to invisible (and the bland title certainly doesn't help), with the film grossing a paltry $7 million in its opening weekend. From Disney's perspective, of course, releasing it in the January release window makes sense, as it's a period traditionally dominated by duds and cast-offs - films the studios don't care about for one reason or another. A recent high-profile example is Blackhat (2015), Michael Mann's underrated cyber-terrorism drama, which was released with little to no advertising, grossing only $20 million at the North American box office against a $70 million budget. However, much like Blackhat, Underwater is considerably better than most January releases. Sure, it's clichéd and predictable, and it shamelessly borrows from a litany of superior genre films, but it's also a very entertaining and enjoyable aquatic creature-feature.

At an unspecified point in the future, Tian Industries, the largest drilling company in the world, are attempting to drill into the ocean floor at the bottom of the Mariana Trench, almost seven miles down, with atmospheric pressure over 1,000 times that at sea-level, strong enough to crush a human body so completely that there aren't even any remains. As the film begins, Kepler Station, the crew quarters of Tian's massive drilling rig, is hit by a series of unexplained vibrations, causing a cascading pressure breach. Norah Price (Kristen Stewart) and Rodrigo Nagenda (Mamoudou Athie) are the only ones to escape, sealing off the area so as to slow, but not prevent the inevitable implosion of the whole rig. Heading first to the escape pod dock, they find no pods left, and in the control base, they're unable to contact the surface. Meanwhile, they encounter some other survivors - Cpt. Lucian (Vincent Cassel), Paul Abel (T.J. Miller), Liam Smith (John Gallagher Jr.), and Emily Havisham (Jessica Henwick). With their situation grim, Lucien says the only hope they have is to use pressurised suits to walk the one-mile distance to the Roebuck Drilling Station and use the escape pods located there. And so they descend to the dark ocean floor. However, as if their task wasn't daunting enough, they soon discover that they aren't alone.

Written by Brian Duffield and Adam Cozad, and directed by William Eubank, Underwater walks a very fine line between rip-off and homage. The most obvious touchstones, both narratively and aesthetically, are Alien (1979) and The Abyss (1989), but one can also see the influence of films such as Leviathan (1989), Event Horizon (1997), Sphere (1998), and Sunshine (2007). I even detected a slight nod to The Descent (2005). In short, the set-up is your classic "group of isolated people getting picked off one by one". When someone as talented as Danny Boyle turns his hand to this template, the result is a near-masterpiece. And although Eubank is most certainly no Boyle, Underwater is a lot better than its lack of advertising, clichéd premise, bland title, and generic trailer suggest.

Sure, it isn't really about much of anything. There's a vague ecological theme that's brought up a couple of times, with Emily talking about how humans have drilled "too deep" and are now suffering the consequences, but really, it never amounts to anything even half-way substantial. In all fairness though, who would be expecting thematic complexity anyway? You know what you're getting with a film like this, and the best you can hope for is that it looks good and is entertaining. And Underwater is both.

Kicking into high-gear immediately, the film wastes no time whatsoever in getting to the action. The opening scene is the Kepler implosion, and it's a good five minutes before things calm down. Alien takes its time getting anywhere, introducing us to the aesthetic of the Nostromo, then the characters and their relationships and milieu before it all kicks off. In essence, Underwater is the inverse of that, with all hell breaking loose before we know much of anything about anyone. Indeed, the only character we even see, let alone get to know, before the implosion is Norah. I certainly wouldn't want every film to open this way, but it has an undeniable kineticism and appealing volatility, which Eubank does a decent job of maintaining throughout the next 95 minutes.

Aesthetically, there's a lot to like here. Production design is absolutely paramount in films like this (think of how important design elements are in building tension and establishing tone in Alien or Event Horizon), and designer Naaman Marshall does a fine job, with the world feeling lived-in and authentic. Making especially good use of tunnels and low ceilings, there's a real sense of claustrophobia, which only lets up, ironically enough, when the characters are outside the safety of the rig and exposed to multiple dangers. This claustrophobia is aided immensely by Bojan Bazelli's cinematography. During scenes outside, Bazelli often shoots from within the characters' helmets, and even when the characters are inside, he often shoots in tight close-ups, simultaneously anchoring us to their perspectives and heightening the sense of enclosure and pressure (both literal and figurative). When outside, the film uses the limited visibility to its advantage in establishing a tone of ominous danger. Some will probably find these scenes too dark, but I'd argue that that is precisely the point; the characters can't see much of anything, and neither can we.

Elsewhere, obviously inspired by H.P. Lovecraft, particularly Cthulhu, Abner Marín's creature design is suitably creepy and grotesque. The aesthetic element that really stood out for me, however, was Wayne Lemmer's sound design. The implosion scenes are accompanied with some bone-rattling LFE, whilst the ominous ambient sounds of the Kepler are a constant reminder that the station is on its last legs. The scenes outside are equally as impressive, with some excellent use of directional sound as the action shifts location on screen - it's a film that I would imagine will sound incredible on a 7.1.2 Atmos system.

In terms of problems, there's a rather unjustified use of voiceover to bookend things, explaining the moral of the story; it's wholly unnecessary and has the effect of making the film feel like an episode of The Outer Limits (1995). There's also next to no characterisation. We learn bits and pieces about Norah and Lucien's backstories, but apart from that, the film is peopled by perfunctory cardboard cut-outs with no sense of interiority. Eubank also seems somewhat confused as to whether he's making a disaster movie or a monster movie, with certain scenes and elements suggesting one or the other. However, he never really finds a middle-ground, giving the film a slightly schizophrenic tone.

Although Underwater never manages to rise anywhere near the heights of films such as Alien and Sunshine, it deserved better treatment than it received from Fox and Disney. Given the January release, the clichéd setup, the two-year limbo, and the bland title, I wasn't expecting much from this, but I was pleasantly surprised. It won't change your life, but it's an entertaining and well-made creature-feature.
161 out of 255 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Underwater is a mixed attempt at finding new resources for our entertainment industry.
iamianiman8 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Remember three years ago, there was a movie called Life acted by Ryan Reynolds, Jake Gyllenhaal & Rebecca Ferguson? Okay, but instead of venturing into space, let's dive into water. And that's what you get from this movie, just that this is worse from Life. Not that it is bad either.

Underwater feels very similar to Life in a way that it keeps the direction all the same. Plus, the lighting will also remind you of the 2017 movie.

The storyline goes as these engineers who are looking for resources 7 miles below the ocean are unexpectedly bombarded with floods within their facilities and as time runs out, they must find a way to get back to land without knowing that something is lingering in the dark waiting to devour them. Basic storyline, formulaic one-by-one technique but its spotlight mostly covers on the intense escapade to find their way back to the shore. No worries, it's better than those 47 Meters movies.

As everyone is wondering how Stewart performs, her acting here is not bad but not great too. It's acceptable. For a not-so-serious sci-fi film, she pulls this off quite decently. The tension is there, it's always there, and it manages to increase its intensity by styling the camera work and also the lighting effect. It does not rely fully on cheap jump scares.

The best thing about Underwater has got to be its starting point. The film does not drag the movie with 30 minutes development before anything starts to occur. It goes straight to its main plot; 'survival is the key'. But here what it suffers, the development only shows its strength by half of the film and by that time, it's already too late for the audience to even give a thing about the characters.

Now let's get to the slo-mo parts. They utilize this aspect quite a lot in the beginning and final 10 mins. Usually, we would get irritated by how much it sprinkles onto every scene but Underwater gets it right. And for a thriller/sci-fi, Underwater increases its thrilling factor by slowing down its motion picture. Adding to that, it looks cool.

What I dislike the most is Underwater brings very little to the table. It's short with merely 90 minutes and instead of flooding the audience with many sub-stories, it leaves you feeling almost empty with only drops of information to satisfy our experience.

By the final 20 minutes, you will be wondering if this is a spin-off to Godzilla. I thought the unknown species were gonna be realistically scary, but nope ,it rejects the notion to push that scary button and entertains the audience with a yet another tame PG-13 monster. But I can guarantee that the ending will not be as depressing as Life. Life has a good ending for those who want to find different satisfaction. For Underwater, it will please most of the audience thought it ends quite abruptly.

Verdict: Underwater is a not-so-exciting adventure that tries to find its resources more than what other movies of the similar genre have provided, but in the end, the only thing you might find here is a sea of mineral water.
276 out of 449 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watchable film from time to time
pedroborges-9088120 May 2020
Good acting, some character drama, the lowest point is T.J. Miller with his jokes, but in a nutshell the movie is like i said, watchable from time to time.
146 out of 232 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Well crafted B-movie fun
trashymcjunkbox-124 January 2020
It may be damning with faint praise, but it's better than I thought it would be. If you love sci-fi/fantasy/action genre films and don't go in expecting a masterpiece, you could have a good time. What it lacks in originality it makes up for in craft. It looks great, has fine actors doing good work, and nice production design. Kristen Stewart shows she has the chops to carry a movie, even without a stellar story, and it delivers enough good action and tension to make up for its shortcomings.
156 out of 249 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Watch 1989's 'The Abyss' instead...
jp-aventurier11 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
As you might guess from the title - not alot of creativity on display here. Basically 'Alien' crossed with 'Quarantine' set on the bottom of the Pacific. Though the movie has zero Lovecraftian qualities, the megalithic monster is as good a Cthulhu as we can ask for, however (typical of CG monstrosities) scenes are too dark and too close up to make out appreciable details. Performances are smothered by the instantaneous catastrophe at the very start of the movie; characters are in crisis mode throughout with no opportunities for emotion or arch to shine through. The unrelenting panic and tension makes the few moments of cynical comic relief feel grossly inappropriate. The 'sci' in the sci-fi is also drowned out by monotonous panic; characters hurriedly press buttons, rewire circuit boards, and hop in and out of atmospheric diving suits without conventional exposition for the layman viewer. Not fully seeing the creature proved a severe strength in 'Alien', but not knowing what characters are doing or why makes it hard to follow any film. Look out for Neil deGrasse Tyson's scathing fact-checks soon.

If you want a deep-sea thriller with fantastic story, bold characters, and edge-of-your-seat panic, check out 1989's THE ABYSS.
365 out of 614 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Great Idea But No Execution Of It
zkonedog19 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Deep sea explorations are something that have always fascinated me. We've gone to the moon and beyond, yet there are places deep below the ocean floor that have yet to be discovered, harboring any number of creatures not seen by human eyes. "Underwater" tries to play off that premise, but fails to execute it successfully in any really meaningful way.

For a very basic overview, this movie focuses on a deep-water drilling station within the Marianas Trench. Ostensibly shadowing one worker, Norah (Kristin Stewart), it tells the story of how their drills tap into something that nearly wrecks the whole operation. With everything on the fritz and workers forced to ocean-walk from place to place, it quickly becomes clear they are being stalked by some sort of presence dredged up from the depths.

First and foremost, "Underwater" could most easily be described as an "Alien" clone, swapping space for the ocean floor and Sigourney Weaver for Stewart (right down to the haircut and skimpy clothing, in all honesty). Unfortunately, while that concept was new and fresh in the 1970s, it doesn't work that way in 2020.

So, what would have been needed to make this film solid was a great script, and there isn't even a speck of that here. Very clearly, this was the studio saying "let's make an Alien clone, and we'll paste in the details as we go along". It's both sad and disappointing, as there are indeed elements of interest present. Deep-water exploration is fascinating, drilling for resources at those depths could have been examined from a colonizing sort of perspective, and/or the psychological effects of spending so much time under the pressures of the sea. Sadly, none of those potential topics are provided anything more than lip service.

As such, "Underwater" plays out more like a horror creature-feature. It is simply a group of people being chased around from point to point by a menacing figure that is finally revealed in the end. The design or technical specs of the monster is intriguing, to be sure, but when there is literally nothing else to care about it doesn't amount to much in the end.

Overall, this is a very poorly conceived film and I can see why it is floundering at the box office. Not original enough to be scary, and not plot/character rich enough (by far) to be interesting in any other ways. A brutal combination. Only the concept will keep you watching whatsoever.
180 out of 305 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Barely enjoyable cliche
mageh11 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
It is a travesty to compare masterpiece "Alien" to this mediocre film. As many reviewers stated: bad acting, bad script, no originality, even the effects are boring, it was too dark to see anything. The monsters are not even scary. At certain point i was rooting for the creature to eat all of them just to be done with this stupidity (don't even get me started on the science part). Conclusion: wait for rental
228 out of 397 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
If the movie has Zero character development...
intrepidami13 January 2020
....horrendous acting, no explanation for what happens, lacks a great deal of real scares, and is constantly shot in dark to save money, you can expect about 20 shill regular reviewers to tell you it was one of the best movies they ever saw, or the very over used "better than expected" in their reviews. The check from Fox/Disney is in the mail!

Let me start with Stewart. She cannot act. People aren't bothering to go to her movies. She can change her hair, makeup, dress, it's still the same blank looks.

They go right into the action. Their underwater station is imploding. Why? We never find out, why bother? This is set 7 miles underwater. A human cannot withstand this pressure. Not even for a 5 seconds! This depth would destroy a nuclear sub! Those are made out of reinforced high grade metal.

The comparisons to Alien are a slap in the face to that movie!

It's all about survival with no explanation as to how all this happened. Possibly you'll look to survive too, by leaving in the middle.

One last point, this movie wrapped up 3 years ago! That's always a bad sign.
297 out of 525 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It is tragic how close to greatness this film gets
thekarmicnomad6 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Kristen Stewart is working in an underwater facility when it all goes horribly wrong.

Oh no all the escape pods are taken so the survivors will have to don diving suits, catch a lift to the bottom of the ocean and walk home. It should be fine as long as the waters aren't filled with some nasty monsters released by the drilling. whoops!

The action is immediate and hard hitting and thrilling.

This has all the elements you can imagine, people getting stuck under things, oxygen running out, rooms filling with water, sea creatures mauling people etc. The effects are great, the monsters interesting and it is all done quite well.

"Quite well" is the problem. This film looks like it is going to be amazing and it is hard not to get excited about it. So when it takes a paddle around lake-mediocrity it feels really, really bad.

The characters are stark and relatable but you get no build up so you are always playing catch up with them and the relationships between them were a little unclear. Kristen Stewart's character has a sub plot that should be really meaningful but just feels tacked on as it is relayed through the mediums of chitchat and locker junk.

You get no feel of where the survivors are going so a lot of the plot relies on aptly placed road signs and a patronising version of Alexa, who is zero help to the crew, until it needs to explain how the film is going to end - which it does in patronising detail even drawing us a little picture.

This is a pretty good disaster/monster flick but it feels like a lot of potential has been wasted - which makes me think less of this film than I should.

The production and performances are all good. Kristen Stewart is very good, but maybe she is stereotyped in my eyes as it took me twenty minutes to shake the feeling that she was on her way to a Halloween party dressed as "the real slim shady" when this all kicked off.

A good enough movie but with a tiny bit more work and a little more nerve this would have easily been an absolute classic people were talking about for the next fifty years.
58 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It was just noise
elliotjeory21 March 2020
The film jumps in with no back story just crash bang wallop, noise noise noise shakey camera. It makes the Meg look like Jaws.
218 out of 386 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's the Abyss meets Alien
justin-fencsak26 September 2020
Kristen Stewart plays the heroine in this moderate budgeted film that takes place underwater during a massive weird earthquake that is devouring the world she and her friends live in. It's not as scary as is it given its family friendly PG-13 rating but its a decent rental.
36 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tries to be a little of everything and fails
elliotte210 January 2020
This was bad, really really bad. Movies steals, er borrows heavily from Aliens, The Descent, The Meg and never stays on point long enough to follow.

1. First of all, Kirsten Stewart cannot act. We already knew that from the Twilight series, but figured with a different genre, writer and director maybe she could halfway manage(like Kneau Reeves in the Wick movies). Answer? No. From scared, depressed, death, excitement or curiosity, her face never changed or showed any visible emotion. Sadness.

2. Director definitely took the Game of Thrones route of showing what you believe is action but in complete darkness, quick editing and shaking cam so that you have no idea what is going on. In several scences, you could not tell that someone was missing(nor did you care anymore).

3. Yes, there has to be manufactured drama so a movie can exist, but a movie should not depend on manufactured drama from beginning to end. In movies where people are astronauts or divers, it takes years of training and psychological analysis to even be picked. Here all the of crew are SERIOUSLY mentally and/or emotionally incapacitated and this is quickly established in each character's initial statements.

4. Science? Do not get me started.

You are yelling at the screen and really have no sympathy of care for any of the characters, just a multi-million dollar waste.
234 out of 420 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A sci fi horror movie that grabs you and does not let you go to catch a breath.
cruise0110 January 2020
Underwater (3.5 out of 5 stars).

Underwater is a science fiction horror film that delivers a claustrophobia thriller with a good cast ensemble and performances, edgy music score, and a direction that feels like this film is trying to bring back a 1980s sci fi thriller like Alien movies, The Thing, or The Abyss (minus the creatures in this movie). I will say the film packs a punch with putting you into the action in the opening scene when an underwater facility is torn apart. Survivors Norah (Kristen Stewart), Paul (T.J. Miller), Lucien (Vincent Cassel), Emily (Jessica Henwick), and Liam (John Gallagher Jr.) are trying to make a way to the other station to find the evacuation pods. While the earthquake that shook the facility was not an ordinary quake. The drilling station has awakened something on the oceans surface with creatures that are trying to hunt the remaining survivors.

May not be a fresh plot or concept idea. Underwater facility drilling in the oceans surface. Releasing some giant monstrous beast. And an army of humanoid creatures. The concept and plot is still exciting. As a group of survivors are trying to survive and escape from the stations before it collapses onto each other. They will go into claustrophobic settings of crawling into tight spaces. Or walking out onto the ocean surface with big underwater suits. Which the camera pans into their faces making it feel claustrophobia with the darkness out in the deep sea. Which anything can come into their faces at any given moment. I will say the film is intense and thrilling not really scary at all. It does try for a few jump scares with something running towards you. Or popping out in front of the screen.

The cast ensemble was good. Kristen Stewart's performance is good playing Norah, a character that is struggling on leaving people behind in life and death situations. Stewart is coming along way with her acting. And she worked great in delivering the role. The music score by Marco Beltrami and Brandon Roberts worked well delivering an edgy sci fi horror movie tone. Director William Eubank did a good job in creating a sci fi horror film. The movie begins with action and never stops for a breath until the credits roll. The first half is about characters trying to survive the wreckage. While the other half is the people getting killed off by a creature which barely shows. And they are trying to survive and escape.

I will say my one issue with the movie is the quick editing cuts when the creatures are attacking them. The lighting is dark as it is cause they are out on the sea floor. It is a lot of fast editing cuts and shaky camera movements which can make it a little confusing. Sure, it was probably done to create the intensity direction on what is going on.

Overall, Underwater is a pretty fair film. It could be a lot worse. It turns out to be a worthy sci fi horror film that is worth watching if your into those kind of movies. It is fast paced with action, has a good cast ensemble, and puts you onto the edge of your seat.
199 out of 358 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
No developpement what so ever or explanation
kaefab11 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The movie starts with a bang, not even 5 minutes into it the disaster starts the whole station is flooded, we get bits and piece of survivors here and there, they all meet in a lab room and decide the next step for survival.

There is absolutely no character development, who are they you barely know, then the monster appear, start raising hell but even then there is not a lot of monster action either.....

What cause the explosion, in the first place..... its never really explained, its not a mix of alien either, nor any underwater movie ever made it does stand on its own, the FX are amazing but a part from that there is no plot story, only going to one spot to the other in hope of survival.....
108 out of 192 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining - Many Users Are Being To Harsh
chancegeoffray30 April 2020
It is not Oscar worthy but damn, its got TJ Miller in it with a stuffed bunny what else can you want. It is entertaining and lets leave it at that.
62 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hope you like close ups
adrenachrome27 March 2020
This film could have been an interesting take on the monster movie genre, but so much of this movie was filmed with a macro lens that all you see are bubble heads, and nothing of the surrounding areas, set pieces, creatures, lighting effects, and so forth.

And that's a shame really. I understand they were trying to go for a claustrophobic feel, but Alien (the movie) did that way better without resorting to super-duper-mega-close-ups all the darn time.

3/10...at best.
93 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I'm impressed by how much I liked it.
subxerogravity10 January 2020
I went into the theater thinking nothing of it and came out thinking it's good. It's a strange type of mediocre. The film hits just the right marks but it does not get you excited just sparked enough to enjoy it. Underwater moves too fast to be boring, which is good for this suspenseful film, but it also moves too fast to truly take notice of the cast of characters. Some highlights of the cast are. Vincent Cassell, who was amazing as the station's captain. Makes we wish there was a new Star Trek or other science fiction series that needed a captain cause he would kill. Another Highlight is TJ Miller. I'm surprise his name got on the poster cause I herd he was one of those guys in Hollywood that got canceled. The thing is, he is a supporting actor used for comedy relief and on this horror-like film, he did his job to perfection as the type of character who points out when they are in a horror cliche right on cue. I should mention Kristan Stewart but I was not really impressed with her starring role because the advantage of being the star did nothing to improve her acting. Sorry, I'm just not impressed with anything she's done. This movie is the closet that's ever happen. I can never say I don't like a kristan Stewart film cause I found this movie very watchable.
171 out of 324 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lazy production.
Paulo Alegria27 March 2020
A potentially satisfying movie ruined by a terrible cinematography and an absolutely pathetic and messed up digital colour grade. What a shame! I miss this theme a lot and I really wanted to enjoy it, but it's all lazy and there's very little to appreciate. I guess that The Abyss is still ahead of time, even in its most basic technical aspects of image capture.
102 out of 191 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A missed opportunity..
johnnymo90002 April 2020
They could have done a lot more with what they had. It has great visuals and cinematography but unfortunately thats all. Still worth a watch if u like sci-fi horror movies.
59 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pleasant surprise
rivertam2610 January 2020
What a pleasant surprise especially in January. Kristen Stewart stars as a young woman living seven miles beneath the surface on a drilling station that ends up unearthing some terrifying creatures. The movie starts off with a bang as the station she's in begins to implode. Immediately it's a race against time as she hooks up with other survivors and the captain devises a plan that will have them walking across the dark ocean floor where they're not alone. With a rich, dark and sometimes intentionally muddled cinematography you are introduced to a spacious, endless world filled with floating debris that feels both wide and frighteningly claustrophobic. Funny guy TJ Miller, the awesome Vincent Cassel and cutie John Gallagher Jr. fill out some of the other supporting roles. Theres not a lot of setup but director William Eubank of the Signal establishes an intense, edge of your seat atmosphere accompanied by stylish cinematography and a mounting sense of dread. The movie is fun and is filled with homages to Alien and lovecraft all the while creating something new of it's own. The culmination of events left me wanting just a tiny bit more but I loved the retro feel as well as throwing itself so wholeheartedly into being an aquatic horror enormous sized creature feature. Although the story and characters aren't developed as well as you would hope the situational genre entry is anchored by a strong bad ass and against type lead performance from Kristen Stewart. This is one I'll definitely be seeing again in theaters.
172 out of 342 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Wasted Potential
uwa3 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Movie start with credits where they show, how being that deep in the ocean can effect someones psyche and in the first shot we see stewart talking about she doesn't know if she is a sleep or awake, is it night or is it day. And these are all good threads to follow in an underwater action/horror flick. instead, movie doesn't even bother with those aspects ever again and focus on ripping of ailen (unsuccessfully).

this movie didn't need any ailens, underwater pressure was an obstacle enough. If we get to know who these characters are and what were their inner conflicts we as the viewer would care much more about the people dying than we did. and our main character didn't have any inner conflict or any mistakes that we know of so we can root for her to get her redemption. People in the reviews talk a lot about stewarts acting but even if you cast the most talented actress on the planet on that role, what does she have to go on? she had a boy friend who is lost while diving? oh god.. what a lazy story that creates more questions than answers, in fact here are my questions:

If her boyfriend died while diving, why did she choose this job? Did her boyfriend dying had no effect on our hero? Why should we as viewers care about this boyfriend while we never saw their relationships? ...

In short, I would care about this movie much more if it started with whole cast interacting with one another, get to know them and feel sorry for them when they die. Plus, if it started as a slow pace thriller and ramp up to the earthquake (not ailens..) it would be much more entertaining (at least for me).
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed