Mega Time Squad (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Push the button
nogodnomasters3 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
John (Anton Tennet) is a low-level criminal who lacks a set. He works for Shelton (Jonny Brugh) and likes his sister (Hetty Gaskell-Hahn). John robs a Chinese antique store operating as a front and also grabs a time travel bracelet. While being drowned by his own gang for keeping the money, John pushed the button on the bracelet and travels back in time two minutes and creates a duplicate of himself. Eventually, the duplicates form a gang hunted by Taotie, the time travel demon.

While I tend to love New Zealand humor, this one didn't grab me. Other than people acting like idiots, the story lacked a decent plot.

F-word. No sex or nudity.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Time Conundrum
kosmasp9 March 2019
Or whatever you want to call it. It's actually a high concept idea movie. Where the idea kind of carries the whole movie. You'll either down with that or you are not. Now sense it does not make ... at least not that much. And the tone switches from funny to dark and back again. Not really consistent then. But maybe that is not something you care.

And if you really want to have fun with this, you better not. It's easy to digest overall. Crazy overall but not so crazy you can't follow it (no pun intended). So depending on how serious you'll take the whole thing, the fun you will have (or not) will vary ...
4 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
fresh nwzilansk
ops-5253514 April 2019
If you hate the nizilandic dijilict than skip this one, if you love it than its a view for you anyhow, because this is funny, compelling, mistirius and murdirus enough to make you sweat in your white sweater and donald duck underpants. i came over this by incident, and do not regret the watch even though the original idea maight be confusing for the better half of us, but it works.

the fun is the kinda type that even old men can get a laugh of, even when its dead tragic or semi lethal, and the shifts comes so fast and in the end youll have no clue whos the one who survived, so the grumpy old man recommends a view, then you can start guessing too.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
good low budget silly comedy time travel from NZ
surfisfun22 February 2019
Decent lead and supporting cast. good cinematography and directing. not boring. decent editing. decent soundtrack. good low budget project.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
gab-675995 July 2021
I just saw Housebound and so far it is still my favorite NZ movie. I was hopeful on this movie because it came out after that one did. This movie was annoying bad! You know those movies you catch yourself yelling at the main character not to be such an idiot. This movie win's for the worst acting, storyline, and crappy dialogue. I do not recommend this to even my worst enemy. Yes, it is that bad, I felt my intelligence quotient dropping as I watched this.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Push the Button... The "Stop", "Eject" or "Fast Forward" Button...
gregberne1124 March 2020
This movie is stupid. Awful writing with lame jokes and plot holes you could drive a truck full of Chinese time-demons through. Awful acting as well. Just not much at all to recommend about this one. Decent production value, but zero laughs and an annoying story.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best comedies in the last 40 years
carlos-pires14 April 2019
I don't remember laughing this hard and this long ever since Monty Python. And these guys do this in a genuinely honest way, with a great cast of zany yet 100% believable characters, portraying a down-to-earth kiwi society in all its quirkiness. My hat's off to all involved in the making of this movie. And I wish to see more from these guys.
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarity from New Zealand
alisonc-117 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Jonny (Anton Tennet) lives in Thames, New Zealand, where he makes a meager living running errands for local kingpin Shelton (Jonny Brugh). One day he meets Shelton's sister Kelly (Hetty Gaskell-Hahn); it's love at first sight and that gives Jonny an incentive to try pulling off a caper, despite being completely incompetent. Things do not go well until he stumbles upon an ancient Chinese relic that enables him to bend time and, well, after that things begin to go very, very far from well.... This is a zany, wacky ride where each scene is even more absurd than the one before it; it's also very tightly drawn, clocking in at a mere 81 minutes, meaning that there's no filler here. Delightful!
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Silly funny mixed with a time travel twist.
allkillahnofillah8 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Funny, silly kind of funny.

Interesting time travel concept into the plot, not in mindblowing kind of way, but still very entertaining to watch.

Ending was predictable, feel good kind of ending.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
High concept, lowbrow black sheep time twister
troy-boulton15 April 2019
In this light hearted time travel romp, New Zealand channels the zombified corpse of Memento, via Monkey Magic and a marination of "Dude where's my Car". If you can make your way through the thick provincial Kiwi brogue and colloquialisms, this is a smart and solid little comedy with good bone structure and some solid laughs. Some of the performances are a tad uneven and stilted, but the key players give a solid performance, and the story layers enough cutely sly twists and turns to hold your attention to the end.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilariously dumb time travel movie
socialconscience9 September 2019
Uproariously funny to the point of absurdity. Since I am a fan of the absurd, this movie hit the spot! Haven't laughed that hard in a while. It's like a FAQ About Time Travel and Snatch mashup. Hollywood could learn something from these guys as it was cheaper to purchase than most films and twice as good.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Needed subtitles
SkylessWing14 October 2020
Nice little movie. Old plot but deployed with a cheeky sense of humour and great soundtrack.

Let down by alot of mumbling and poor sound, not to mention some NZ slang that I guess only NZ folks ever use.

Other than that, a decent little movie
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Fun Ride
barbaragolia27 August 2018
Caught this one at the Fright Fest Film Festival, a solid concept that has a lot of fun with itself. Overlapping scenarios get a bit deep at moments but the outcome is well worth the trip. The effects are middle of the road but the performances work and add a welcome layer of laughter to the concept. A comedic take on Looper and what happens when too much of a good thing isn't that good for you.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Time Travel for Dummies
smidebarry28 August 2018
This is a laugh of a film, well done and it exploits all the nooks and crannies of overlapping timelines to the point where you're spinning in circles. Really entertaining and smart in it's delivery of a well worn plot made unique through it's rougues gallery of characters and awful outcomes.
18 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best films I have ever seen!
josh-789171 September 2018
This movie is filled with it all, comedy, sci fi, violence, backed together in a classic style. One of the best movies to go see for a great time and it has some good references to NZ culture. This movie is the definition of a true kiwi film. Mega Time Squad; the film displaying the capabilities of us kiwis. I would really recommend this movie.
15 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed