Mother (2016) Poster

(II) (2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
40 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Boring, exaggerated and stupid ending
exs9 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Don't waste your time with this one, it starts as a drama about a mother dealing with an autistic child and then it turns into some sort of satanic or cultist rituals from a Filipino old lady to steal a baby, planned for months apparently.

The story development was so unbelievable and annoying that by the end they just rushed the story ending and in less than a minute they "explain" everything and end up with an abstract scene about the old lady escaping with the baby.

If the real mother really wanted to be heard and that the other believed her story, she should have used her expensive iPhone to record video instead of only translating audio from Filipino to Spanish, audio that was not saved.

Waste of time and money making this awful movie.
29 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Worth the Watch
Amira-Says15 September 2017
Like the other reviewers are saying the ending is lacking, but over all it's definitely not what I would call a boring movie. If you've seen it all like me you seek out movies that are a bit different. This movie at least delivered in that aspect of not being the same repetitive thing that you see day in and day out. So while the ending is abrupt and not the best, it still won't be a waste of time to watch.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good movie but bad ending
the_crazy-0903513 October 2017
The movie was good but the end was TOO MUCH. I still don't understand the reason they did that and WHERE did they go at the end? Sorry but it wasn't a clear nor a pleasant ending. But I think it was a good movie but the ending didn't make much sense. They should had done a better job for the ending.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
No logic and stupid ending
mani-0317111 October 2017
This movie is irritating and has a really stupid ending. No logic and unacceptable... Mother never opened about the doctors blood test results to anyone. Husband sparking ruthlessly with a pregnant wife supporting a 3rd person, Even after knowing old lady's intention, mother never tried to get out of the house and with her friend and above all she never visits the doctor for the last 40 minutes of the movie.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Babysitter
kosmasp20 March 2018
I guess with movies like this, it's one or the other. But most likely the one thing you expect. So while you may not feel many surprises in the story/thriller, you may like how the tension is being build and the acting in general. It's not an easy watch, especially when and if you care for one of the main characters. Problem being you might not care that much.

So watching the wife and her husband, the question is, if you are supposed to have positive feelings towards the Babysitter? Now the ending on the other hand will either leave you satisfied because of the way everything is "wrapped" up or you may hate it for how it handled the whole thing. Not sure if it is a make or break thing though - I think you will know much earlier ...
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Uh. No.
eaktoudianakis23 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Let me start by saying this movie is insulting to any a parent who has an autistic child, and to the autistic community as a whole:

Autistic children don't try to murder their parents. Parents don't chain autistic children in bed, or wear them rugby helmets. Maybe 300 years ago, but I am pretty certain that's not the suggested treatment nowadays.

Going further (SPOILERS ALERT):

  • How was the old lady (who could not act for her life) able to calm down the child? Noone knows.
  • How was it they were able to dissect dogs and cats inside the house for 2 months without anyone smelling or noticing anything? No one knows
  • Why did the mother's friend stay for dinner after the mother stormed out of her own house? Noone knows.
  • Why was she killed since she obviously did not suspect anything? Noone knows.
  • Why did they want the child? Noone knows.
  • Did they plan all along to take the child? How? They never met till that day in the supermarket. Noone knows.
  • Why did they let her live, when she was an obvious witness? Noone knows.
  • What was that whole : the husband sleeps with other women, which was then never explored? Noone knows.


Easily The Last Jedi of horror movies, minus the unecessary SJW/Manhating element. A piece in pieces, with people in it acting mediocrely that starts nowhere, goes nowhere in a journey that makes absolutely no sense.

P.S. -> And of course, the old lady is poisoning the mother because that's never been done before either.
23 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A good movie with a poor ending
soniarhea6 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
To some of the users reviewing this movie: have you ever been through what this character was going through for so long?? I have similar family issues, not autism, but similar... when we get to the bottom of the pit and have used up all our strength we don't always think straight and it's common to make bad decisions, to freeze in certain overwhelming or scary situations. Besides she was being poisoned with hallucinogens, she was probably doubting herself and since no one believed her she showed several times that she did not trust her own judgement. Also, there is nothing against autistic people in this movie. The child was uncontrollable, and some autistic people are, and violent, but we are shown his suffering and we are shown his mother's love for him... He's not to blame. However, he is obviously being drugged too!! It is suggested that drugs and black magic are what keeps him 'healthy' when Luz is around. She probably stole David too, and did the same to him!! And who knows how many others. Martin becomes evil because he was manipulated and fed hallucinogens, not because he was autistic. Animals are killed to train Martin because he is the one that's supposed to take his brother from his mother's womb. Why? Because this woman is pure evil. Not because she's foreign though. I believe she's foreign simply to allow them to constantly speak in a language the mother does not understand! This is what creates most of the initial suspense and it was clever. Because one woman is portrayed as evil and she is from a specific country it does not mean the writers are saying all people from that country are evil. Nor are they saying all autistic children are this non-functional or violent. The movie is great, good acting, excellent story... However, two faults from my point of view. I get it that Luz is inexpressive maybe to keep us from deciding if she is actually evil or Diana is imagining it all... but to me she's simply really bad... she seems to be reading her lines inexpressively from a board in front of her after having taken a bottle of xanax. The ending... It makes some sense, but it was rushed and poorly explained. And why is Diana allowed to live when her husband and best friend were killed for no purpose? The rushed and poor ending and Luz' bad acting are the movie's only flaws.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Rushed Ending
RMS194917 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A rushed ending and poor plot explanation ruins what could of been a good thriller...

Writer tries to present several directions the film could of went into but it just takes the lazy "made for lifetime" route with the lowest common denominator conclusion. Just throws in your face, I'm mean spirited, evil wins, so too bad !!! bye...

Shame because the lead actress does give a nice performance.. It's wasted though.

..
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible ending
cocochanel-0628311 April 2018
Hi his movie was interesting but the ending RUINED the Movie. I'll rather watch grass grow.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Taut thriller with absorbing details
floatingpolarbear29 August 2017
The subject matter is handled honestly, at times delicately and at times brutally honest. I don't remember seeing another movie that portrays the daily life of a mother of an impaired child this way, with such candor. It really shows the stage beyond just suffering, fighting uphill every minute of the day to reclaim some normality. It is intriguingly and beautifully done. The plot progresses quite naturally and becomes mysterious for a while, edge of your seat don't want to miss a clue kind of mysterious. The casting is superb, each actor bringing something more to the role, a genuine spark that makes them extremely plausible and real. I love that the filmmaker is not concerned with political correctness. The ending may seem extreme, but not if you read the papers on a regular basis.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
General review
janetferrari7 September 2017
Very good cast. Believable throughout with a brilliant portrayal of the burden of caring for an autistic child. Personally I found the ending too shocking and horrific without warning and so for this reason I can't recommend it.

It could be that I'm just not used to this type of film and that other people would not agree.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good movie with bad ending
kalamjameel19 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
It's an interesting movie, new idea and good to watch, It attracts your attention from the beginning to the end, play with your emotions, from the beginning you feel so sorry for the overwhelmed mother, then you feel love towards luz, then you feel angery from the careless husband, then confusion between the mother and the maid weather the mother is psychotic or the maid is evil . And you cannot tell for sure until that call from the doctor. The problem is with the ending. I mean the mother should do more when she started to saw the real evidence. + when she saw them killing the dog. When She was having a phone and hiding, why on earth she didn't call the police !!!!! And so many other questions. But it's a still a good movie to watch and I would recommend it to people who ask me.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Worst Movie ever
lolykanaan11 December 2019
A trivial movie, illogical, actors are bad and the ending is very awful
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Poor storyline, terrible ending
corneliusheinrichs20 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Have you ever heard of autistic kids recovering and growing up to live a normal life? Apparently, sccording to this movie, it is possible, if you have the right nanny.

What would you do if you have your kid and a perfect stranger speaking a strange languange in your house, after an app from the AppStore shows you they are talking horrible things at your back? I don´t know you, but with all the money this family has, I would have a human translator verify.

What would you do after a doctor tells you your blood test shows hallucinugenic drugs? (Maybe I am crazy but I would rush to see it and have a second one made, just in case.) What would you do after you spy on your nanny as she is mixing strange herbs in your plain regular non-sweetened chamomille tea you asked her to make for you? (Maybe I am crazy but I would rush to a lab.)

And what would you do after being pretty sure your nanny is planning something grotesque? Maybe I am crazy but I would run and not come back. But the main character of this bad movie, does nothing normal.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Creepy
gmorlabaez23 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I went to bed one night and wanted to watch a movie because I wasn't tired. I looked through the "International Movies" section and found Madre. I'm a spanish native speaker so I thought to myself why not. It all started with a severe autistic child and a pregnant mother who worried for him and had a tough time caring for him. Eventually, the mother had an episode with the child at a grocery store and bumped into Luz, the Filipino nanny. Everything went downhill after this and the nanny was doing all sorts of satanic rituals. It was a crazy and unique movie, I loved it and you would too.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Beware: Asian immigrants will steal your children
greenmemo10 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie has a very interesting premise that promises to give a different spin to the "expectant mother psychological thriller". In this case, the mother in question is also the caretaker of her son, who suffers from one of those severe cases of autism that require extreme measures, like the use of restraints. The unpleasantness of her daily routine with the boy is taking a toll with nerves of the poor woman, and on top of that the possibly unfaithful husband is abroad almost most of the time. Things seems to get better when the protagonist hires a Filipino immigrant, Luz, a woman who claims she was able to "cure" her own son from autism. She moves in, and soon creates a bond with the child that, while improving his condition, seems to displace and alienate the real mom. The first 40 minutes or so are pretty decent, a realistic an unnerving depiction of a domestic nightmare. Acting is good as well from both actors playing mother and son. However, when the character of the Filipino nanny is introduced, in a move that seems intriguing at first while you try to figure out the new plot dynamics, the director and writer start to introduce heavy handed racial stereotypes and plot points that transform the whole enterprise in an anachronistic potboiler akin to nazi propaganda. You get basically a posh family pit against Asian immigrants who rudely speak their own language in from of them, practice strange rituals, sow discord, steal their children and, yes, kill dogs too. The clear xenophobic message is pushed even further with a shot of the national flag near the end. Unfortunately this movie proves that, as of 2017, xenophobia is already a global movement.
16 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The most stupid movie i have even seen
gwgwchoco8 January 2020
This is really stupid and a dissapoided movie. if i can i have put -20
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't waste your time
forthatusage30 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie will leave a bad after taste.. I regret watching it..

I gave 2 stars because in earlier parts it is quite interesting..But as it goes on, more and more stupid decisions were made by the mother..

Why didnt she record a real audio and find someone to translate it.. So to give proof to her husband...Well even better she should have insisted Luz to only speak Spanish to her son.. No excuse...

why did she threw all the tea away.. She could have sent it to the lab to have it checked.. Another solid proof to show to the husband..

After Luz got sent away from the house.. Why didn't they get another helper, someone who at least could help with all the housework..

And to top it all up.. the ending is so stupid and rushed.. You will not get any explanations about Luz's motives whatsoever.. Stay away.. Thank me later
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Stupid creepy
maybell-nieves3 January 2019
You would think is going somewhere, then you see there are just 5 minutes left and no... Is going nowhere
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Such a crappy movie
dianaandrath3 September 2018
A total waste of time, starting with the bad actors, a very thin plot, and the stupid ending. Seriously, who invests in these kind of movies anyways?? Urgh!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Interesting but stupid ending
cocochanel-0628311 April 2018
This movie was very interesting , until one scene RUINED the whole movie. Very disappointed. I'll rather watch grass grow
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So sad and hurting
fomdarweesh9 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This movie may play with your feelings, especially if you're familiar with caretakers issues , here in middle east we hear a lot of stories of caretaker turn up against their family or kill member of the family in fact yesterday I heard the news about one who burnt a room with an old handicapped woman 😫
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A well done suspense thriller
ComedyFan201021 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A mother is tired of taking care of her out of control autistic son. Her and her husband hire a nanny and first all goes well but then Diana starts noticing that her nanny seems to turn her son against her as well as poisoning her.

A lot of times one just gets frustrated with the mother as she doesn't do things that could help her prove her point. Like keep the app and show the translations to the friend who recommended it, she would believe it. Film some of the conversations and show to somebody. Take that tea she gives you and bring to the doctor to be tested for hallucinogens. But then one sees a way around it, she is a stressed pregnant woman who can't think of good ways out clearly.

I saw unfair reviews to it. Mainly from American far lefts calling it ableist and xenophobic. Well, autism is not always high functional and many parents do indeed struggle a lot, why hide them? And foreign language was important for this movie.

The main issue is indeed that the ending doesn't explain everything. But for me it was enough. We just see that her worries were justified. Why it happened isn't really necessary to know.

The acting was great. Daniela Ramírez gave us a top performance as the main character. We see her love for her son and yet worry that the second kid will be the same. Her feeling like she has no way to solve the issue with her husband not taking her seriously and not being able to control her kid. Aida who played Luz was also good. There isn't that much in the character but she did it perfect for us not to guess if she is good or evil. And this is her only role.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a great thriller
manriquezkarla8 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I was trying to find answers for the ending of this movie. The ending was shocking, left me stunned and asking what just happened and why. Then realized, evil has no explanation and often leaves us wondering why and how could this happen. Daniela Ramirez was excellent. she had me feeling every emotion she was expressing.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A fail try to copy rosemary's baby
jv-460197 March 2019
The story is full of holes, horribles dialogs, NOTHING MAKES SENSE. AWFUL movie
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed