Nam-gwa yeo (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Simple but moving account of an extra-marital affair
mrrcott4 October 2016
Korean movies like this one can really get to you if you let them. This one is peaceful and calm with nothing sensational going on, even if the blurb makes it sound just that. Just two people, both unhappily married and falling in love with each other. This subtle mood piece begins in wintry Finland but moves to Seoul in the second act. Do Yeon is the mother of an autistic boy sent to a specialist school. Going Yoo has a daughter with her own problems. They meet when he offers her a lift. No surprise in what happens next, but I was always interested in the story. Excellent Do-Yeon has real chemistry with her co-star and they share some passionate, tastefully shot sex scenes. Gong Yoo is tender and gentle as the man who eases her pain. This is a very low-key mood piece that I am happy to recommend, just don't expect any over-the top, Hollywood melodrama.
38 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A man and a woman
heniekb10 December 2018
It is a perfect title for this movie. A man and a woman meet sending their kids to a school camp. They are both Koreans so from a start they feel a connection while staying in Europe. That's how the story begins and more or less follow for the next 2 hours. We can we see them meeting, passing by, hesitating, having ordinary conversations, but not really saying very much as both of them admit. There is so little action maybe apart from the last 10 minutes that I understand anyone who won't get it. For me however this was one of the most exciting 2 hours spent watching a movie. Everything seemed so real, i could relate to every scene, every unspoken word and every gesture because in real world we don't talk that much. We think, we hesitate, we follow an impulse to regret it so we think it over. That's what the movie is about. of course there is a suspense of how the story is going to be solved but overall it isn't that important. More important is what the 2 main characters feel and how much are they able to express and say to each other... equally important is how much they are not able to say or express... it would really take me a long time to remember another movie that i could relate to both characters so well. So well to connect to what they feel or think and at the same time unable to express the complexity of their inner selves. That's how the real life goes. It is a true art to make you feel like being a part of the movie and going over and over not only through the events on the screen but through events of your own life.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Once again.....
AJ_McAninch2 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Two of South Korea's finest actors, beautifully choreographed and shot, gentle, sweet, and sexy. And, dammit, once again the man pursues the woman, she gives up everything for him, and he finally abandons her even though he loves her.

Sigh..... The ending is two women together, of course, one taking care of the other, smoking in the cold lonely woods, alone. Once again. The man made the right decision, but didn't even knock on the door to hold her one last time. He starts to run after her a year later, but the daughter needs him. And the woman will never know. So they are alone in the snowy woods because of his pursuit, and abandonment for all the right reasons, even though he loves her. Once again. Wrenching. And infuriating. And it's always the woman who is left alone, crushed. Once again. Yet I still like the rest because they are both so good. They broke my heart.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Painful
hariomjaiswal-4860912 November 2020
After watching this film, all I would say is to marry someone whom you love because if you are in love with someone after marriage, it will be very painful.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Forbidden love..
tannu2111 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Really like the movie. Gong yoo is good as always. Forbidden love is interesting thing at the beginning but it get complicated as time passes and you got webbed in it before realizing and at the end you ended up sacrificing your feeling for whatever the reason behind it, same goes for the movie. They sacrificed their love for their child. Kind a feel bad for them . But overall good emotions was showned , pain you feel when you got parted with your lover.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simple, extraordinary, moving love story
rezeski28 April 2020
Having just watched the film, it is difficult to know what to say. Given that I am so emotional right now. I am not sure that I have ever seen a love story completely grip me so. The story is simple enough. And the dialog basic. And yet the acting along with everything else make the emotions and feelings of love quite real. A quite powerful film. If you like romance and love stories, you are sure to be caught up in this one. I hesitate to use the word "enjoy" here. Although it evokes feelings something like that.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Greek tragedy from Jeon Do-yeon
StanfordCollins5 February 2021
Warning: Spoilers
In the first 32 minutes of the film the protagonist Sang-Min behaves with two radically opposite personalities. While visiting Finland, she impulsively takes a car trip with a complete stranger, then has consensual sex with him without a twinge of conscience toward her husband. This reckless, amoral adventure with a quiet man gives her a sense of calm for the first time in years.

Back home in Seoul, together with her supportive husband she is selflessly devoted to their their son who suffers from severe autism, and she is CEO-manager of a large boutique. Beneath her well-ordered surface, this wonder woman suppresses a colossal burden of pent-up anxiety, in part because she refuses professional help for her very difficult son.

The film traces her struggle for calm and self-fulfillment. She gradually falls under the spell of a lover who takes her outside her hectic family and professional life. When they are together her sense of self is nourished within their private cocoon of warmth and tranquility. Soon she takes a huge risk against her better judgment, leaving her family to be with him. Her vacillating prince immediately abandons her in favor of his family. She is left entirely alone, no lover, no family, no dream.

This film warns of the potential folly in abandoning a salvageable relationship. It is tragic that an accomplished and thoughtful woman with a loving family could impulsively sacrifice everything she holds dear, in reckless pursuit of a dead-end escapist fantasy with an unstable, depressed stranger. Such was the depth of her need to recover her neglected self and live in peace. The ending suggests she will find her way back to husband and son, hopefully wiser, stronger and better able to integrate all that she is.

This film is a character study. A simple plot about motivations and consequences of adultery is elevated to a higher level through psychological detail. Jeon Do-yeon is at her considerable best as she sensitively portrays the plight of a mother whose all-consuming devotion to her son has robbed her of herself. She enlightens and moves us with well-tempered expressions of feeling. Technically the film is fine. One weakness is that we learn almost nothing of her relationship with her husband. Another weakness is music. We hear minor variations of the love melody repeated endlessly, it becomes a distraction that often misses the mark. The great strength of this film is the resonance of its message: contentment depends on integrating all that one is, so that life can be full and satisfying. This film helps us ponder that truth.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful quiet movie
ncjxlight20 August 2020
Perfect for a relaxing movie night. It contains some racy scenes so you have been warned. Colour tones of the shots are so beautiful. There's some plot to it, quite light and not stressful.

It's about an affair between two married people. Their marriage lives are stressful due to their children with mental health issues/special conditions. The movie is very focused on their affair romance with a little insight into their 'original' family life. Artistic movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Slow But Sure
donkrishna-dk16 July 2020
It is not too interesting at first since only describing steamy affair of a man and a woman on marriage. But nearly at the end of the film, the movie finds its very touching part. Gong Yoo and Jeon Di Yeon are perfectly play their role in this movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I had expected quite something else...
paul_haakonsen8 June 2018
I am a huge fan of the South Korean cinema. But of course it would be utopia to think that every single movie that comes from South Korea will be a grand marvel in cinematic history.

And it turned out that "Nam-Gwa Yeo" (aka "A Man and a Woman") turned out to be quite the contrary. This movie was unfathomably slow-paced and boring to be downright blunt and honest.

The movie was very nicely acted and both Yoo Gong and Do-yeon Jeon performed amazingly well in the movie, and did a great job in carrying the movie. But they were fighting a losing battle with a boring and generic script and storyline.

There was a good amount of really nicely staged and choreographed scenes, and they made good use of the landscape and urban setting around them. However, that only did so much for the movie.

I managed to sit through 1 hour of this ordeal before I gave up out of sheer and utter boredom. And I have no intention of returning to finish the movie, because director Yoon-Ki Lee just failed to produce an inspiring movie here.
5 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed