Dirt (2018) Poster

(I) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
It's not a Oscar winner but a great movie
vinmatrix21 March 2018
For a movie that I had never heard of this was a great movie. This movie should have been promoted way more. I get the fact that there was no big leading star, but the cast did a great job. It was also nice to se something new from Holly weird. This movie had a good script and very good acting, in my opinion. In a way it reminded me of the original Star Wars, in the way they took nobody actors and a good script and make a great story, and a very enjoyable ride. This movie is a kinda typical underdog movie, but it is done with heart. More people should take the time to see it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly good and entertaining
tocanepauli17 June 2018
Was just thinking this was going to be another loud car movie but was very pleasantly surprised by the story, variety of characters - most with a likeable personality and the whole film in general. Uplifting with enough action and some great racing footage. Well worth a watch..
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great family movie with a positive message!
rustic-486352 May 2018
It's refreshing to see a movie with a deep emotional story. This movie has a easy to follow story line that deals with currrent issues while giving you a sense of hope that there are good people out there. Great movie for most ages. Well written and well directed. Great cast. The movie has a nice flow to it with a some funny scenes sprinkled throughout the movie. Highly recommend it!!!!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better Than I Anticipated
larrys323 March 2018
I'll attempt to put aside what I know about the politics and positions of Forrest Lucas the executive producer of this film (as the viewers can look that up for themselves) and try and rate the movie on its own merits.

I picked this DVD up at Redbox, not knowing anything about it. and it's not a bad B-movie quality endeavor. Kevin Dillon stars as Rick Radden, an ex-champion off-road racer and who now owns his own truck racing team. DeRon Horton co-stars as Dez Truss, s former car thief, who's now trying to go straight and is given a second chance by Rick to work with his team.

They're both quite believable in their roles, as are many in the supporting cast. The plot elements are quite predictable and formulaic on the whole, but an air of tension is reasonably maintained in the off-road racing scenes and other areas, and there's an eventual feel-good aspect to it all.

Overall, aside from some of the blatant commercial plugs, I felt the film was reasonably well presented and better than I expected.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Another one
kosmasp2 November 2018
From the minute this starts, you know where it'll go (no pun intended) and where it'll end. It's predictable like that. You can't blame the characters being surprised by the obvious "twists" or story turns. The actors are decent and as another reviewer wrote: It's a family movie with a positive message. Something that people need in general.

I do not quite agree with his 10/10 rating, but that is me. I reckon he was very joyful watching him and I wouldn't blame anyone for that. Actually good for that reviewer or anyone else who'll enjoy this, maybe even due to the fact that either they are not as cynical or have watched as many movies as I have. For others this will seem like time wasted, even though it isn't really a bad movie
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty good unknown movie
icom8026 September 2018
I thought this was a pretty good little flick. Really liked Kevin Dillion and the character "Dez". With a little better promotion I think it could do well.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
GREAT MOVIE
bagas-5718813 May 2019
It is very interesting movie. If you are a fan of off road racing, this film is very worthy for you to try. I was so happy to come across this movie. The scenes from each race look very real, you will feel inside the off road circuit. The action racing shots at the racetracks make you feel like you're right there watching them up close and personal.

I think this is just an ordinary off road racing film, but I am very impressed with the story. this film not only tells about "Dez" as a racer but also the problem of his life. This is very emotional, from the story you will get a very valuable message.

The storyline is very easy to follow and there are several plot twist. This makes the film even more interesting. Although there are several story lines that you can guess, but with a very exciting race scene this can be maintained. Overall this film is very worthy for you to watch.

It's a great movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
So bad
cwhite733 September 2018
Terrible acting, could have written the script myself, total propaganda for Forrest Lucas and his cronies.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good
jgriffin-7328920 March 2018
Good uplifting movie. A movie for the whole family and good racing in it
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Watchable
Luigi_Sartor5 June 2018
I was hoping the producers of this movie would get inspiration from 'Days of Thunder' and take the flick to another level. Well, that didn't happen, and that was a shame and a lost opportunity. But the budget didn't allow them to do much. So, it's just an "OK" movie and that's it. Nothing new happens.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Just another day at the track.
nogodnomasters9 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If you have seen any film where the understudy becomes a star, like "The Natural" you have the plot figured out in the first five minutes. Dez (DeRon Horton) is a misguided teen who steals cars and used to work in his dad's shop. Rick Radden (Kevin Dillon) races dirt vehicles and has a cocky unlikable driver. Dez goes to work for Rick and guess what happens Scooby-Doo? Dez brings some baggage with him so the story can go 90 minutes without it all being left turns. Almost like a film you might catch on Disney or the family network. Decent sound track, half-decent swagger.

Guide: No swearing sex or nudity. Most of the brief violence is done off screen.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
V good
drhajermohdd26 March 2018
The same story , but executed correctly and in a different way , and it is excellent ..
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed