Generational Sins (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Click-bait
livinglifing4 November 2018
Another atrocious film that baits you with an inflated rating score only to laugh at yourself for falling for it. Weak script with weaker acting and direction. This is a PBS after-school special...at best.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Take notice
pauliecorleone-726284 November 2018
Please, be aware that this is nothing but nonsense overhyped by either employed shills or the people involved in the production themselves. Don't bother.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Propaganda
cekadah4 November 2018
All you need to know about this garbage is that it is mike pence christian evangelical republican propaganda.

It's so stupid you will laff at it from start to finish!

Shame on the people that sold their soul to act in this gutter trash.

Doesn't even rate 1 star !!
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage
joeybgood5 November 2018
Just another religious extreme right brain wash film.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
TV Drama
siriusly19865 November 2018
Its a tv drama with religiosity. If you like films about redemption and coming to terms then you might enjoy it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Take notice
michel-kok405 November 2018
Please, be aware that this is nothing but nonsense overhyped by either employed shills or the people involved in the production themselves. Don't bother.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent film about redemption and coming to terms with the past
zjcoble7 October 2017
A fantastic film about dealing with demons and eventually being saved by grace. I can't recommend it enough. It's a grittier take than you might be accustomed to, but I really think that helps to drive home the point that you can be saved by God's grace no matter how far you stray or what you've done. This is a raw take on hitting rock bottom, only to be saved by God's amazing love.
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
exactly what our world needs
dave-694008 October 2017
Generational Sins is deep. It's the story of a family ripped apart by sins and struggling to put itself back together.

Most Christian films fall flat on their faces as overstated, obvious, and safe. Generational Sins is not like most Christian films. It paints the ugliness of life as it truly is, strong language and all. God's in it but you wouldn't be able to play this film on a Sunday morning.

The script uses silence well. And Daniel's acting job is superb. With such an emotional role, it easily could have crossed into "cheesy" many times, but Daniel's voice, face, and body control kept the scenes believable. Good job to him.

I wish from the bottom of my heart that future Christian filmmakers would take a page out of Generational Sins' playbook. Why censor real life? The Bible didn't. Unchristians don't. Last time I checked, Christianity isn't a G-rated perfect white world lived on a cloud. It's for the real messiness of life, the hard family situations, and the only treatment for the untameable animal inside each one of us.

Generational Sins isn't an entertaining comedy if that's what you're looking for. It's a statement about the jagged edges of life from an angle that needs more representation in this industry and age.
5 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Hard Faith Film...Finally!
rikkiauti10 October 2017
This movie is the most redemptive movie my husband and I have ever seen! I so much believe that God LOVES this kind of honesty that is seen in this movie and LOVES us being so authentic and real with Him! It was so amazing and soooo refreshing to see that in this movie! You gotta keep making these movies! It is breaking new ground! It is real, and authentic, no sugar coating...just like life and just like Jesus! Anyone and anything can be redeemed! Thank you, a million times over again for this movie and for spreading the message of redemption and grace in such a creative, authentic and real way!
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Highly Recommend! Excellent Film!
ncoble8 October 2017
A spectacular, gritty adventure with expert camera work and A acting. You'll honestly forget you're watching an independent film and think it's a blockbuster halfway through.

Such talented camera work and directing. A bold script and a phenomenal story line with excellent character development.

The casual chemistry between Drew (Dan Macpherson) and Will (Dax Spanogle) provides excellent comedic relief within a stoic and gritty film.

Highly recommend this film to others!
3 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Riveting drama which gives us hope and redemption from lifes disparage.
cathymason-893737 October 2017
How refreshing...a movie with great character development! Generational Sins is a relevant drama about two brothers who are struggling to come to terms with the sins of their alcoholic father. The story honestly confronts the scars left on children who are victims of parental abuse. The drama lets us know that there is hope for a life that has been torn apart...redemption is always available. A perfect blend of conflict and humor between the brothers keeps the viewer focused on the tragic truth with timely comic relief. Riviting performances by Daniel MacPherson and Dax Spanogle as the tormented brothers. A surprise ending will leave you with a smile.
3 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Moving film for people from all walks of life
mvoinchet8 October 2017
My sister and I went to see Generational Sins this evening at the Rowland Theatre (For friends not familiar with the area, the theater is a historical landmark in Philipsburg, Pa. and you can feel the history the moment you walk into the place.) The experience was kind of surreal seeing familiar places from my hometown area on the big screen. I applaud Spencer T. Folmar and his team for their efforts and I think folks from the Clearfield County area should be proud of how the area is portrayed. I've heard that this film is categorized in the Christian genre or more specifically the "Hard Faith" category. I am not an expert on those categories or genres, so for me the film simply was an example of a real-life struggle that can be moving for anyone. The theme and story-lines depicted are very relatable for people from all walks of life. The movie was honest and true for me, as I feel that the film captured the feelings and culture of the area where I was raised, which only pulled me in more. If you enjoy seeing moving family dramas, I highly recommend seeing the film. It will definitely bring at least a tear to the eye or remind you of your own experiences of "coming home."
3 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Down To Earth Drama
tjmiles-7926214 October 2017
Generational Sins, is a fantastic movie that strikes deep with the individuals from small town America.

A movie that truly reflects the struggles and trials of real people and real life.

Generational Sins is definitely worth the watch!
2 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed