We Are Boats (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
correct
Kirpianuscus3 August 2020
The theme is far to be new . The guide for afterlife is a character maybe to familiar. The subject is seductive and fascinating and that makes it a good option for a director. In this case, the term correct works fine. Delicacy and poetry and Graham Green are the good pieces for a nice work. So, not great but beautiful. For correctness first.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
its so indefinite
ops-5253526 March 2019
This is a long long boring journey towards, well honestly i dont know, and i couldnt find the meaning of this expressionistic piece of movie art, with dull actors, dull story, bad camerawork and so on.and an essence that are so obscured that you may start to think are they stupid or is it just me....

the grumpy old man gives 1, not recommended
22 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good moving movie
Headturner127 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I really liked this. I'm a bit confused " spoiler" there's a part were she asks sior whatever her name why wasn't I saved? So I assumed from the begining she died doing escort work and then became what she was. It makes no sense that she says she was on the job when she wasn't " saved". Other than that I liked it. Kind of like other movies before she is finishing things on earth I guess atoning until they feel she's done enough? Idk. I guess I'm over thinking. I did cry at the part were the father ended up being the bartenders and some other parts . When it was over I had a weird feeling and said " I need to watch something more uplifting". definitely stirred emotions. I thought it was a good well done, thought provoking film.
8 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
We Are Dumb
Some guy named James Bird watched an old show called Dead Like Me & thought "I can change a few minor details of this script, and make it even more boring!" And then some other dummies financed it, and then I got the unique privilege of fast-forwarding through this abortion on Amazon Prime. Lucky me!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Actual reviews pan this terrible film, yet the "critical reviews" section is all unkown reviwers who give everything a ten for clicks
VoyagerMN198628 March 2019
Seriously, read the LA times review. I agree, it is a muddled mess. It is Lifetime ,movie level attempt at metaphysics, and frankly, lead by actors/actresses who can't act. As Variety mentions the press notes for this film don't lead with the setting, plot notes, etc, but led with the following: *"first completely vegan set." * The cast is 50% female and 41% people of color, with a 45% women crew.

Oh wow, virtual signaling is bad enough but that is really really pitiful. No wonder all the major outlets did not pick this up and it ended up free on Vimeo. It is idi otic. simple minded, has laughable cringe worth script and delivery, and beyond tedious.
26 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Guardian Angel or Grim Reaper?
shagee79771 March 2019
Writer/ Director James Bird presents We are Boats. This is one of those movies that is a pure delight to watch. Has everything a movie needs to attract a large audience. You will laugh, cry, get angry and really get drawn to the stories of the main characters. Francesca is sought of a guardian angle/ grim reaper. She weaves in an out of peoples live at the point when things seem desperate and problems occur. Sometimes with good consequences or sometimes death! What is true poetry is the way the people she are helping for this storyline all intertwine and somehow have something to do with each other. Francesca is searching for her own conclusion and is somehow connected within the lives she is helping. Maybe by helping this Misfit group of mortals she can find rest and be able to say goodbye to the love one she left. Friendships are put to the test. Friends shouldn't be asked to test loyalties of brides to be. Or lonely lost husbands tempted by lust and beauty. Loyalty, love, loneliness, lust are all possibilities. I don't want to give away to much as there is a complex set up that is beautifully resolved and will bring a tear to everyone's eyes! Remarkable award caliber performances are displayed in this Lil Indy. A excellent story By James Bird could only be equally Brought to life by his direction. I loved every minute of this movie. It's hard a movie can make you use all your emotions equally and be so satisfying in the end.

(Special Note) "We Are Boats" has a cast that's 50% female and 41% people of color cast with a crew composed of 45% women. The film is produced entirely by women, with producer Anya Remizova representing part of the 1% of female composers in the industry, and director Bird hails from the Native American Ojibwe tribe. The film also had a completely vegan set where no animals were eaten or worn in the film at any time during the production of We Are boats.

Cast: Angela Sarafyan, Luke Hemsworth, Amanda Plummer, Adriana Mather, Justin Corwell, Jack Falahee, Gaia Weiss, Booboo Stewart, Graham Greene and Uzo Aduba. Director: James Bird Screenplay: James Bird Producer: James Bird
18 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant adaptation from the true story
Porkleaker26 March 2019
We are Boats - based on the Autosub named by the internet, played by Angela Sarafyan as Boaty McBoatface. Riveting story about how deep down inside we are all just boats. Sometimes we float, sometimes we sink but at the end of the day we're mostly just bits of metal, wood and floating around aimlessly in the water until eventually a typhoon sends us crashing into the rocks and we die.

9/10 recommend it highly.
19 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
We Are Happy
RichBuck10 October 2020
Fantastic cinema. The lead is so great as to be unbelievable. She was in WestWorld & played a prostitute. Perfectly cast film. Amanda Plummer is in it. Quite deep. Beautifully directed by James Bird. Watch it alone or with a loved one. Curl up and enjoy.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Editing for molasses
Alice_Robersen21 October 2020
OK, so there is no editor attribution here. Why? Probably because the writer-director did it himself, or the editor didn't agree with the director's choices. The cuts were way too long, offering not enough story to have them that long. Main actress was solid as so was most every other cast except the bartender. The writing seemed a fit for Lifetime TV. I cannot see how it why this film has such a high rating. It isn't often I find poor titles on HBO, but yes, here it is.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow
keiracochran6 July 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I say wow. It is so very wow. I've never seen a more wow film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A story unlike any I've ever watched!
bivetq3 April 2019
The most beautiful and intricate story. I'm just wowed at how amazing it played out and that ending has me wanting more. James bird has a way with story telling and this movie does not disappoint. I laughed and I cried. I cried a lot actually. This is definitely a must watch. No one is making movies like this. This movie touches several very sensitive subjects in such a beautiful way.
6 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Indie Darling Speaks to Our Life Journey and Human Connection
bighamdiana24 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have been a fan of James Bird since I saw his first film From Above. I am always amazed at how he captures the depth of human emotions.

We Are Boats is an incredible fantasy drama that has a diverse and talented cast. Fans of Orange is the New Black will be excited to see Uzo Aduba as Sir, an angel in the after life, who places other angels in assignments to influence or transition people on earth.

The film opens with Angela Sarafyan (HBO's "Westworld") playing Francesca, a prostitute, who meets a violent and unexpected death and then enters the after life.

Cinematographer, Stefan Colson, does an excellent job of creating a believable after life with wide expansive shots of rocky terrain bathed in luminescent lens flares.

Francesca interviews with Sir for a job that would place her back on earth. The various assignments lead her to interact with individuals that are facing issues of loss and loneliness. Francesca hopes to navigate these turbulent waters so that she can visit the daughter that she left behind.

Along the journey we meet Ryan, a spunky bartender, played by Adriana Mather. She serves as a bridge to tie our characters together. We first meet her at a funeral where she unwittingly insults the widow.

On the drive back from the funeral, she learns that the deceased had an affair which sets off a heated debate with her fiancé on fidelity.

Mather does an excellent job of wrapping us up in her emotions of abandonment as we discover her story of an absent father which she conveys in her therapeutic interchange with Cliff, played by Graham Greene. As always, Greene delivers an outstanding performance and delights an audience.

Angela Sarafyan captivates us as Francesca. Her character is grounded in reality and the right amount of grit, and Sarafyan captures the essence of the free spirit who makes her own rules and navigates fearlessly toward her goal of seeing her daughter again. We find ourselves cheering her on toward her goal. She is a likable hero in unlikeable circumstances.

As the film progresses, James Bird, crafts these individual stories that flow and interconnect to form one connected and satisfying ending.

After watching any film by Bird, you will find yourself in a reflective and thoughtful state of mind with the encouragement to do better in your own life journey. This is a story worth watching and sharing.
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing storyline and cast
mirandareyes-096057 April 2019
Where to start? The movie starts off already grasping my interest with asking the W's. It leads in to different characters going through their own difficult situations yet somehow they all connect. This film has a little bit of everything between family, friends, death, romance, etc and left me with puffy eyes from ugly crying. An absolute must watch!!!
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must watch!
jackiepelotte9 April 2019
Such a heartfelt and wonderful movie. Beautiful storyline. Just an absolute must watch!
9 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring the tissues!
jenbrdsly10 April 2019
I love chain-of-events plots, and this one delivers. Be sure to keep a box of tissues handy because the last five minutes will destroy you.
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sure makes you think about your relationships
Pinba77-126 July 2020
I actually had no idea what this movie was about when I started watching it. However, it managed to grab my attention quickly and I was pleased that I kept watching. It's not a Hollywood blockbuster, but the cast delivers an honest performance, realistic enough to make it relatable. I absolutely loved the cast, I thought they worked well together. Give this movie a chance.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully wrought unforgettable film!
admather-196-25343028 March 2019
This upbeat film deals with potentially heavy and depressing subjects in a way that is startlingly beautiful and unique without ever becoming maudlin.

The cast is superb, as is their acting. Each character follows their own arc as their lives intertwine. Altogether this is an unforgettable film!
9 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful
lilywood109 April 2019
Beautiful, thought provoking, full of glorious twists and turns...wonderful deep and grounded performances. Lovely.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed