Take Me Out (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Once You See It, Follow Your Path
TheAll-SeeingI29 December 2018
Don't be fooled by the baseball-centric title and marketing imagery: You don't have to know the difference between balls and strikes to find one of life's most compelling themes at work at the core of "Take Me Out."

That's because Joe Shanks retells the age-old story of purpose; of finding one's path naturally, borne of one's own conclusions and desires, and free from the claustrophobic expectations of others (clumsily well-intentioned or otherwise). On Shanks' side in his tale-telling is a series of astute casting choices: Darwin Smith, Sonya Barnes, and Idrees Degas deliver the core acting, and they do it in a way that allows us to get out of the weeds of technical evaluation of the film so its themes can better play on our heads and our sense of self: Am I doing what I want to be doing, and did I make my own choices in getting here?

Inevitably, this is the question that plagues us now and may be the last we ask of ourselves on our respective death beds. Between now and then, filmic storytelling in exploration of this huge existential question will continue; some efforts will make the grade and others will slip, same as it ever was. Take Me Out meets the standard, and is the kind of brain food that inspires.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A penetrating look
dtysonlam9 January 2019
A penetrating look into a suburban black family and how the trials and tribulations are all the same. Was really impressed by the lead actor. At times, the art direction lacked a bit, but the quality of the acting and the depth of the dialogue and moments of silence really resonated with me.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very captivating story
kisiel-129 December 2018
Excellent indie drama with a solid cast and quality film making. I highly recommend it!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A good story hat needs to be told
johnapplebee-9594729 December 2018
This story is about a family who had it all but because the husband and father had alterior motives it messed up his family. But they were strong enough to bounce back. See how
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An inspiring tale about finding your path
jblockbuster17 September 2019
Take me out is a moving tale about the journey of a young man to find his place. We all can rely to our struggles to free ourselves from expectations to do what we want, and in that regard this film made me ask myself - a question everyone should ask themselves I believe once in a while - how about me? How about now? Do I chose my own path or am I following society, or family expectations? The film captured me from start to finish.

The cast, cinematography and score are great, a well directed and produced indie film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Moving amusing and engaging!
Anmer936 September 2019
A moving, amusing and engaging piece of independent cinema. Although it lacks the sheen on the big budget blockbusters, the story and characters are as strong as any of its studio competitors. The message is clear and excellently conveyed with strong performances a good script and a charming atmosphere.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A story of lofty expectations
alexanderhanno18 February 2019
Take Me Out is an urban family drama that fans of modern melodrama will surely enjoy. From start to finish, this film is filled with conflict; from a verbally abusive and cheating father, to a son's struggle with lofty expectations, to a mother's plight to choose between what is right and what makes her feel whole. Darwin Smith leads the cast as an empathetic son at the center of it all who flashes moments of nuanced, visual comedy to alleviate some of the thick tension. With a large cast and a host of family problems, there's a character in here for everyone to relate to.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Powerful Film with a Strong Message
bohemianpirate-871-3834873 February 2019
Take Me Out is a powerful film with a strong message. I certainly related to the issue of trying to live up to a more successful sibling and I connected with the main character, Nicholas, for that reason. There's much more that he and this family go through. I was moved in the end because it's made with enormous heart, has an extremely talented cast (Darwin Smith, Sonya Barnes, and Idrees Degas are noteworthy!!!) directed with expertise by Joe Shanks. More people need to see this film. Definitely recommend!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A refreshing twist on a classic story
Phil_Chester25 January 2019
A really engrossing tale of finding one's purpose and identity in life. Delivers a new twist on some classic tropes, which makes it refreshing as well as entertaining. Scored to some great RnB beats too. Certainly worth a watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Compelling Indie Sports and Family Drama
JGReviews3 October 2019
Take Me Out is an indie sports drama directed by Joe Shanks. The film is both a family drama and a coming of age story about Nicholas Dupree, who lives in the shadow of his athlete brother. The relationships within this family are complex and Nicholas struggles a bit to find his path. I enjoyed this indie film. It feels modern but with the familiar tone of many sports/family dramas that we've all loved over the years. I'm a big sports fan so that added to my enjoyment of this film, but at its core, Take Me Out is about Nicholas finding his way and navigating the relationships in his family as well. Check it out!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One Terrific Film
craig-ahrens12 September 2019
I noticed all of the "5" and "4" ratings and thought.... why no 1's, 2's or 3's. I thought that sure is strange... until I watched this film. I thought this was going to be more of a sports movie. Wrong! It was a terrific story of finding your own way, your journey so to speak. Director Joe Shanks does a great job in directing this film. The actors are spot on (great job casting) and the story is wonderful. If you're in the mood of a good, fun film that will hold your interest throughout... this film is for you!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed