Gone Are The Days (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
47 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
"Save the last bullet for yourself."
classicsoncall9 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a patient movie viewer, but believe me when I tell you, you'll have to wait this one out if you ever want to see the end credits. Without exaggeration, the entire picture is Lance Henriksen's character coughing, wheezing and staggering to a slow death over the entire course of it's ninety nine minute run time. There are a few interesting plot elements thrown in to kind of keep you interested, like former outlaw Wesley Flynn/Taylon's (Henriksen) daughter becoming a prostitute upon the death of the man who raised her, and the idea that Taylon and sometimes partner Virgil (Billy Lush) are planning to rob a bank in Durango to cap Taylon's bad guy career. But boy oh boy, it takes a while to get there, and the execution never achieves a dynamic level of suspense, even with the eventual throw down that involves a couple of cartoonish hard cases (Wes Robertson, Brent Chase) and an ex-Texas Ranger. Funny, but even the sheriff of Durango, the ex-Ranger, had an alias. As an outlaw, he was Taylon's old partner Jake O'Malley, but the Durangoans (can that be right?) knew him as Sheriff Will McMullen.

I'll say this though - Lance Henriksen's performance was undeniably flawless as a fall down, sometimes get up drunk. It was kind of shocking to see how old he looked in the picture, but what the heck, he's seventy eight years old as I write this and the picture came out this year. So don't expect to see the kind of slick gunplay he performed as Ace Hanlon in "The Quick and the Dead" where he parodied a quick draw artist. Here he could hardly get the gun out of his holster.

As for his hooker daughter, Heidi (Meg Steedle) didn't know Taylon was her old man until the end of the story, and if you're that interested you'll have to watch to see how that all played out. Oddly, in the very next movie I watched, there was also a prostitute name Heidi portrayed by Caity Lotz. It's a small town crime thriller titled "Small Town Crime".

Another minor plus for this picture was a single line of dialog that will someday rank among filmdom's most celebrated lines, right up there with "Go ahead, make my day" and "I'll be back". That was when Heidi talked Taylon into taking a bath, offering an encouraging word with "You smell like a horse's ass". Funny, but at that moment I think I was able to smell him too.

Oh, and one more thing. Virgil was a ghost, and now that I think some more on it, maybe Danny Trejo's River Man was too.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
More Death Than Alive Western
zardoz-1318 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The synopsis of "Gone Are the Days" makes it sound more provocative than this turn-of-the-century western actually is. Initially, I was drawn to it because I've always enjoyed Lance Henriksen's acting. Furthermore, Henriksen is the star for a change rather than just a supporting actor. Tom Berenger is no slouch either despite his paunch co-stars, and Steve Railsback is every bit as villainous as he was in the 1976 television movie "Helter Skelter." "The Stunt Man" (1980) and "Lifeforce" (1985) are two of his more memorable movies. Meantime, Henriksen looks as decrepit as the character he portrays, a notorious bank robber named Taylon Flynn. You could describe Flynn as 'more dead than alive.' Literally at the end of his rope, he teeters on the brink of mortality. Holed up on his ramshackle ranch, this cantankerous cuss survives on whiskey, cigarettes, and his own brand of orneriness. Indeed, death hovers over him despite the heroin cough serum that Dr. Jenkins (Jamie McShane of "Nightcrawler") prescribes for him. The doctor doesn't expect Taylon to live longer than three days, so he promises to return soon with a priest. Everything in "Gone Are the Days" is filtered through Taylon's perspective. Since he is off his rocker at least three-fourths of the time, this western takes some odd twists and turns. Some of his encounters are symbolic, such as when he encounters Danny Trejo during his ride to the town of Hesperus. Taylon wants to rob a bank in Durango. In a last act of redemption, he plans to hand over everything to the daughter he abandoned twenty years ago. He cannot bring himself to tell her the truth, and she only learns about their relationship when he leaves her a scribbled letter stashed with the cash. Dimly, he remembers that his wife was hanged from a tree outside his ranch, too. Western movie aficionados may spot some resemblance between "Gone Are the Days" and Don Siegel's unforgettable classic "The Shootist" (1976) where John Wayne's cancer-stricken gunslinger, John Bernard Books, chose to go out in a blaze of glory, shooting it out with three desperadoes in a bar. Books did mankind some good by killing this ruffians, but he wound up dying, too. Unfortunately, director Mark Landre Gould wears out his welcome with this muddled horse opera, and the brief shoot0ut at the end is nothing to get excited about in terms of cinematic gunplay.

Although it clocks in at 100 minutes, hours seem to pass before anything significant happens. For example, the first 22-minutes consist of an ailing Taylon struggling to get up, stay up, button his jacket, fetch a pail of water from a well, and climb aboard a horse without succumbing to a fainting spell. These antics are supposed to be amusing any more than they are dramatic. One of his old bank robbing accomplices, Virgil (Billy Lush of "Straw Dogs"), shows up at Taylon's ranch. He wants to ride with Taylon again on one last job. Something suspicious about this far younger character made me think he was a ghost. Initially, he looks like he could be a genuine person, but many things about him are suspect. Once Taylon decides to head to town to see if he can find Heidi, he doubles back and burns down his ranch. Eventually, Taylon locates his daughter in Hesperus where she is working as a prostitute for Jaden. Jaden is a sleazy person who shot a man in the back that ran the local stable that he now owns. Heidi (cute television actress Meg Steedle) used to work in the stable, but Jaden persuaded her to work on the line with the rest of the soiled doves. Taylon isn't happy when he learns about the murder of the stable man, and he gets downright outraged when he hears Heidi is selling her body. After he arrives in Hesperus, Taylon is mad that a city ordinance requires him to relinquish his firearms. He goes to Jaden's saloon and promptly drinks himself into a stupor and passes out. He wakes up in Heidi's room and struggles to tell her about himself, but he cannot bring himself to do it.

First-time scenarist Gregory M. Tucker's screenplay bristles with possibilities, but the leaden pace wipes out any sense of spontaneity. Watching Lance Henriksen wandering around in his long johns looks amusing at first but eventually it grows tiresome. Railsback delivers a wonderful performance as an abrasive dastard of pimp who owns a bordello. He gives Heidi a bad time. Primarily, Taylon rides to rob a bank in Durango to make life easier for his daughter, Heidi after he has passed away. Berenger plays elegantly attired town marshal Will McMullen who claims to have ridden with the Texas Rangers. He has an interesting conversation with two profane miners in a family restaurant who question his honesty. McMullen knows about Taylon, and he is surprised when the old outlaw does rob the bank of Durango. Jaden has followed both Taylon and Heidi to Durango. Heidi tried to kill him and did burn down his stable. During a shootout after the bank hold-up, Taylon kills Jaden, and Heidi escapes. Since Taylon has killed Jaden and all his henchmen, Heidi can leave Durango on a train. Ultimately, this saddle-sore saga lumbers along with a few interesting touches like a ghost of a gunfighter that Taylon knew. The most enigmatic character above all is another figment of Taylon's imagination, Riverman (Danny Trejo of "Heat"), who resembles Charon in Greek mythology, the ferryman who rows the dead across the rivers Styx and Acheron which separates the world of the living from the dead. At one point, Taylon witnesses his own corpse floating downstream on a door with coins over his eyes. "Gone Are the Days" marks Mark Gould's debut as a movie director so I cannot criticize him. The interesting premise and the seasoned cast make this oater tolerable only for western fans who have time on their hands.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Temper Tantrum
lavatch24 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
In the bonus track of the DVD of "Gone Are the Days," the producer described the film as "not a typical Western" and a drama with a "redeeming quality."

The atypical feature of the film was a pair of imaginary characters who appear in the mind of the old sodbuster Taylon Flynn, a former outlaw, who is described by his pal Virgil as "a rotten weed" and described by himself as nearing "the end of the trail" in life. There is a tongue-and-cheek moment in the opening sequence when the deathly ill Taylon is administered by a town doctor a bottle of cough syrup called "Pure Heroin!"

The plot is simplistic in the goal of Taylon to finally admit to a young woman named Heidi that he is her father. Taylon intends to rob a bank to provide her with a bankroll and a fresh start in life and to get out of the "godforsaken" town in which she has a been consigned to a brothel. While the film was well-photographed, the locations chosen were not very attractive. The endless sage brush and tumbleweed truly conveyed a "godforsaken" locale.

Taylon sets off on his trusty steed named "Tantrum." While the horse is placid, it is the decrepit rider Taylon who is throwing the tantrums like a Western version of Don Quixote! Eventually, Taylon will reunite with a face from the past in the form of the sheriff of Durango, Will McMullan, who, in fact, is Jake, his old nemesis who shot his buddy Virgil. In the convoluted plot, it turns out as well that Taylon Flynn is a fictitious name for the Texas bankrobber, Wesley Flynn.

One of the most bizarre moments in the film occurred during the climactic shootout at the end. Just before the gunfire began, a motorized vehicle drives through Main Street, with the sheriff shouting, "Get that thing out of here!" As the timeframe of the film was unspecified and presumably in the latter part of the nineteenth century, the scene with motor car was jarring and awkward. That should have been a deleted scene relegated to the bonus track of the DVD.

The slow pacing of the film, the "godforsaken" locales, and the rather depressing subject matter of an old timer at the "end of the trail" were major drawbacks in this film. Despite the good performances of veteran actors Lance Henriksen and Tom Berenger, "Gone Are the Days" never delivered the full impact of "redemption" that was the goal of the fimmakers.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bless this mess .........
merklekranz17 May 2018
It's a shame for Lance Henriksen, Tom Berenger, and Danny Trejo, to be trapped in a movie that lacks interest, but here they are in "Gone Are The Days". This film qualifies as a colossal mess that is not only sleep inducing, but randomly puddles around like a doodle bug. Henriksen vacillates between blurred reality and confusing hallucinations, leaving the bewildered viewer bored and disinterested as to what he is seeing. In the end, there is no big payoff because you are trying to put together a puzzle with plenty of missing pieces. For a Western, there is no action, but just a slow agonizing terminal cough for 100 minutes. - MERK
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
End of the trail
dworldeater4 June 2018
Lance Hendrikson gives an excellent performance as a terminally ill old outlaw at the end of his life. This is a gritty, existential western about redemption. Tom Berenger is also quite excellent as the town's sheriff. Danny Trejo may have got top billing, but he is barely in this, which is understandable if you look at his filmography, he acts in 20 movies a year. Anyways, this will disappoint some viewers as this is not a shoot em' up western and Hendrikson plays up his flaws and makes his character very believable. Lance Hendrikson and Tom Berenger are truly fantastic here and are some of the more underrated actors in Hollywood that deserve more acclaim. Gone Are The Days is an interesting movie and atypical western that is well worth checking out.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Shadows of the Coen brothers
fmwongmd24 January 2019
Well done, well acted,movie remiscent of the Coen brothers. Quirky characters, ghostly apparitions and mythologic allusions abound. Good acting by Lance Henrickson and Tom Berenger.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Action/Thriller/Tense Drama - None Of These Words Describe This Film
dwp194819 April 2019
04/18/2019 The chosen cast members predetermine the quality of this movie: 1.Lance Henriksen - pretty good actor 2. Tom Berenger - OK at best? 3.Billy Lush - decent actor 4. Steve Railsback - poor/not believable actor 5.Danny Trego - tired old lame never believable actor Storyline? Fractured/Imaginary/Little to no reality in this movie. Watch if you must, I did and now I know that I wasted my time. Bon Appetit
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You'll Need Patience For This Slow Burn Western
larrys312 April 2018
You'll need patience to get rewards out of this very slow burn Western, as it won't appeal to everyone. Lance Henriksen and Tom Berenger lead the way here. Henriksen portraying the former bank robber Taylon, now aged and dying but looking to pull off one final heist so he can give the money to his daughter (Meg Steedle). Berenger plays the former Texas Ranger Will McMullen, who is now the eccentric sheriff of the town of Durango, where Taylon's bank target is.

In my opinion, too much emphasis on Taylon's deteriorating health and some unexplained plot elements mar the movie somewhat. But if you're the type of viewer that doesn't mind a slowly developing story, there are rewards here in the believable performances and even some dry humor adding well to the mix.
31 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Better to Watch Unforgiven 1992 Instead
spookyrat110 October 2021
It's pleasant to see Lance Henriksen and Tom Berenger again, Henriken in particular has a face made for westerns, but the only one I recall him being in previously is the very entertaining The Quick and the Dead. Both veteran actors unfortunately are about the only positive in Mark Landre Gould's feature directorial debut Gone Are the Days.

Gone Are the Days is a very ordinary example of that western sub - genre of the former gung ho outlaw/cowboy, whose time has well and truly past him by. There are many fine examples of this type of film, but the most recognisable, famous and critically acclaimed is Clint Eastwood's Unforgiven, which blended a great storyline, with an array of interesting characters, terrific cinematography, action and more than a touch of dry, cynical humour. It goes without saying, this latest outing is no Unforgiven ... by a very long way.

Gone Are the Days primarily sees Henriksen's aged, ill, constantly hallucinating gunfighter Taylon Flynn, trying to make up some solid ground for past mistakes, before he reaches that inevitable end of the trail, figuratively speaking. It's a pretty simple story, but boy, oh boy, director Gould, takes his sweet time in laying down his narrative. Along the way, we get a couple of minor reveals, that many would have worked out anyway, long before the obvious exposition in the final act.

But Gould completely overplays his hand in accentuating Flynn's many drunken stupors, which slow the movie's pace to that akin to a lame tortoise trying to climb a steep hill. Then when we finally do get to a bit of gunplay in the third act (remembering, it is a western), the action is choreographed rather hopelessly, emphasising just how much this first - time director, was caught out of his film - making depth.

It's a long, slow, torpid, unsurprising ride to the anti - climactic showdown partners, which I for one recommend you might like to avoid.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
once you watch this movie your time is gone
nikola176 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Most boring nothing movie wasted of time movie is just waste of time full of it, i love western movies like Clint Eastwood staff i like good, bad,ugly. few dollars more, many others, magnificent seven, many others. jeez with Danny trejo watch dead in tombstone horror western movie that got a franchise that's better then this piece of crap. now i don't hate this movie because it's slow burn to get use to a western film and it's boring as hell. like nothing happens in this movie it's boring quiet film that is really nothing just Lance Henriksen is just bored in film just like he is not enjoying he is bored as hell here for paycheck does nothing sleep walking dreaming entire movie and it's nothing much to say now i don't hate this movie because it's not full on action western, look i rather watch tombstone Kurt Russell film, that's slow burning film but it gets to the point. when movies get slow like this your outta of game slaright away. and what's their to say about this movie just Lance Henriksen getting drunk wants revenge witch i feel sorry for him but why can't this be a simple story not him getting drunk and sleeping entire movie and he is bored as hell. the cast not much because threw out the film it's just Lance Henriksen but Tom Berenger is not much in it. Danny trejo only in it for 5 minutes he is poster but he is not much in it what's point of having trejo wasted in entire film ?? he does nothing he plays a bum character gypsy guy, scene with Lance is nothing because he plays a river man who doesn't let you in unless you pay him does nothing.

the all story was just this Taylon (Lance Henriksen) is a Aged, ill, and unable to reconcile the man he was to who became a Flynn of hell i don't know what that means. then a guy who is a nice character Virgil (Billy Lush) who helps him to bring him to town to get Taylon to town and film is just mucking around sleeping and dreaming doing nothing at all and film is just lost it's direction badly it takes an old man to get to town i am like WOW even Clint Eastwood is around 89 years old would even get their and finish movie quicker then to Lance Henriksen character. entire movie is just nothing really. will (Tom Berenger) is a sheriff his a good actor but in this movie nothing much he wasn't much in it he doesn't do much in this film it's just Lance Henriksen is just quiet and he is bored as hell, he is just flat out ridding his horse to brothel and meeting girl Heidi (Meg Steedle) he is just their to give money to her so he can rob bank and give money to his daughter to run far away from town. the entire film towards shooting at bank was joke their is a funny twist is that Virgil is not real person at all he is random ghost because entire movie he is a ghost and taylon is seeing things really but the character, Virgil doesn't exist it's just Taylon seeing things so i am guessing it's just stupid because when you think he is real he is not he is ghost or something like that he is seeing things just helped him threw direction and does nothing at all, what about will if he saw Virgil would be curious ? jeez this movie and story plot is just trying to hard itself.

this is such a pointless movie has doing nothing and ending was just worst ending i have ever seen in my life ever worst. the cast is great i like Lance Henriksen loved him as villain in hard target, Terminator, Aliens, near dark. and done many movies and shows great actor but his character was nothing bored, quiet, sleeping entire film passing out saying when will this end at all because at start towards middle does nothing at all just i have skipped middle of film it's nothing believe me save your time if you buy this good luck its not movie you thinking about and how it would turn out to be like this crap, and it's well shot movie, theirs no fake blood, or fake staff like a b movie it's well budgeted movie that could off done anything, could thrown explosions in movie make it more of wild west and final showdown at bank is LAME. people don't watch this movie at all don't it's worst out of worst movie in world believe me it's nothing special, it's not movie you wanna watch again and again please don't waste your time watching this at all slow, burning time waster massive one once you watch it, your day and time is GONE and saying how does time fly's ?
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Shouldn't He Have To Go Before The Judge?
twelve-house-books11 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Henriksen's best role to date. Berenger is excellent as well. The actress who plays Henrikson's daughter is very good, and the child actors are perfect--straight out of a Tom Sawyer flick. This film starts out weird and almost too slow and too dreamlike, until the action begins in the town of Hesperus, then things smooth out. There are ghosts here, and there is a mystery that gets solved in Durango. The question the little girl asks the sheriff twice right at the end of the movie is really the key to the whole tale, and it is answered perfectly by Berenger's character. You love Westerns? This one will be one of your all-time favorites--if you can get past the interminably slow first 20 minutes.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Had Higher Hopes...
songod-9500321 April 2021
Warning: Spoilers
From pro and user reviews I had higher hopes. Being a Lance fan even higher to see him in something other than another Z grade horror film.

But as it always seems, a great pro cast does not mean an engaging movie. It was slow... very slow. As if it were on the heroin laced cough syrup the sick old man was taking!

Best scene was at the end between Berenger and Lance.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very Forgettable "PRETEND" Old Western/Cough Cough Hack Hack Let's Get Drunk Again Cough Cough
fredgfinklemeyer9 January 2019
01/09/2019 20 minutes in watching this old drunk (Lance in his dirty long johns) cough & hack, break things, try to chop a tree with axe head held sideways, drink more booze, cough cough, hack hack. Wonder if there's a movie in this thing? Saw Danny Trego in the trailer - that's really bad news - a bad indicator of - he plays the same part in every movie that he's in (I'm an ugly bad guy). He gets old after watching him do his stick after 50 - 100 or more movies? ..... and he's far from a pretty boy! So far? ... a really sad movie. Well I finished this dog, it stayed about the same all the way through meaning??? "It SUCKED" Tom Berenger plays the sheriff - Unrecognizable
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gritty movie about getting old and making things right
the_doofy2 April 2018
Movie moves kind of slow, focuses on what its like getting old and knowing its almost over

Has some underlying messages on how some younger guys figure old guys are 'out' of it

Redemption the hard way, going out like a man etc

Lots of cigarette smoking

Very good to above average acting, good direction, good camera work, excellent costume work. Characters are believable, ages are correct for roles. Set pieces look real for the times they are in

Trio should NEVER have gotten first billing, he is barely in this movie.

Good symbolism done in the movie for 'crossing over'

--Enjoy
36 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wake me up when the movie ends, nirvana for insomniacs.
apjc14 April 2018
I watched the first part last night and decided to go to bed, see if the next half got any better tonight. This is not slow moving it's slovenly to the point of tedium. I've watched over half of it now and still don't know what it's about. Who are these characters, what's the story about, when I don't know, I don't care. Have a general idea now that it's about the woman hanging from a tree and the sheriff, along with a possible outlaw gang. Don't understand the Virgil or river man parts, unless it's taking an eternity to build up to good versus bad. If you have the patience of an angel, it might be good.Personally I wished I'd watched the good, the bad and the ugly yet again.
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Very Sow, but saves itself
rutzelb15 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Taylon Flynn (Lance Henriksen) is an aging and very ill former outlaw and makes it his purpose in life to square things with his estranged daughter Heidi (Meg Steedle), but unknown to him she leads a sordid life and she doesn't know he is her father.

This is perhaps the slowest western I have ever seen. Many scenes were too dragged out to the point I almost shut this down, but I didn't. We see Taylon cough and spit his way to finally getting up, dressed and ready to meet Heidi. It got so bad, I felt I had to rush to the Pharmacy to get him some medicines to get through the day. His plan is also to rob one last bank with Virgil (Billly Lush) who rode with him back in the day.

Now here's the thing: Virgil is a figment of Taylon's imagination and we learn things about Taylon during these made-up conversations. Virgil was shot by Will (Tom Berenger) long ago when Will was a Texas Ranger, but is now the Sheriff. It's not too clear but there was a hint that Will once rode with Taylon back in the day as we kept hearing that there was a third man who rode with Taylon, now known as famed gunman Wesley Flynn.

Notables: Danny Trejo as the River Man; Steve Railsback as Jaden, the bar owner who controlled the prostitutes.

The cinematography could have been better. The music had that effective low hum of impending doom.

The scenes near the end with Tom Berenger as Will saves this movie and I was glad I didn't shut it down. We don't get all the answers to our questions, but what we come away with is that redemption is hard to come by. (5/10)

Violence: yes. Sex: No Nudity: No. Humor: No. Language: Yes, but brief.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Slow, Steady and Beautiful....
tdwillis-2627317 April 2019
Lance Henriksen did an OUTSTANDING and Oscar worthy performance in this slow burn character driven movie. I agree with some of the other critiques that too much time and emphasis was spent on the characters deteriorating health (in the beginning of the movie) but other than that I can't find another fault in this GEM of a movie. Every single actor brought their A game.....The direction was spot on. The setting and costumes were genuine and the camera and lighting were done superbly. The score was appropriate and added to the scenes wonderfully. I bawled at the end.....and I loved it.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Different Western
wlb18 January 2019
This is on Netflix now, and while I enjoyed it the first viewing, I really had to see it twice to fully understand it. Maybe I am slow, but once I really had the insight it was a beautiful story. It is a story of redemption not only for the main character, but a supporting character.

Some have complained about all the coughing the main character does - but to fully understand the movie the coughing - and the medicine he takes - is necessary to the plot.

Not trying to start a fight, but I believe some of the reviewers have gotten it a bit wrong as far as the character backgrounds. To explain this further I'd have to spoil it.

See it - and see it a second time if you have to.

Wish I could get the soundtrack but haven't seen it.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Slow but rewarding
bobwarn-938-5586716 September 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Definitely slow. But patience is rewarded in this heartfelt old style western. Hendrikson is magnificent in his portrayal of an old, heroin-addled, dying, former gunslinger making a last ditch effort to redeem himself to the daughter he abandoned as a small child, who has been forced into prostitution, and doesn't know who he is. Tom Berenger is great as the old Sheriff - an old acquaintance who tries to stop the inevitable gunfight at the end. Overall, a satisfying watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Pass me the gravy
jostannie4 April 2018
Bernard Mathews (go look it up you Yanks out there) wouldn't be very proud of this turkey! It's not 'bootiful'.
9 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Started funny then fizzled
moakin20058 January 2019
Too slow! I enjoyed his mishaps at the beginning, but it went downhill from there.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Dust and Bones
stangpt-7207310 May 2018
First.....The obvious.....It's a slow moving flick....First point is to go beyond that....This movie does an excellent job of establishing the challenge and more abstract reality for all of us.....At some point in the very near future the best of our days are behind us....Every single human being must face this....
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Things Pick up In the 2nd Half
msprouse-7-4310493 December 2018
You need a lot of patience for this movie. The first half hour or so should have been rewritten, shot again and certainly redirected, as it was as slow as molasses. My patience was rewarded in the second half, but probably too late for many to appreciate the really fine last half hour or so. It's a shame because at the heart this is a good story. Much of the acting is excellent., Tom Berenger, Billy Lush and of course Lance Henriksen are first rate. I understand why people panned it, and it could have been MUCH better, but in the end I was glad I watched "Gone are the Days".
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love westerns like this
figueroa_j2 February 2019
You can feel the day is coming, slowly but surely. I'm old too, and I fear going useless. This Ericksen plays the last hours until he gets his reward for Heidi. Well done.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Slow thoughtful western with great Lance Henriksen performance.
FrankiePaddo27 April 2021
Despite having (the always endearingly odd) Steve Railsback and Tom Berenger in supports, Danny Trejo in a cameo the whole show here is Lance Henriksen.

He is a wonderfully convincing as a former bad man, dying of natural causes and unhappy with who he has become physically and, perhaps, mentally. His solution is to exit life in a blaze of glory whilst confronting personal demons and righting past wrongs. Along the way he is joined by the ghost of a colleague and, what seems to be, Death. Cheery this isn't.

The photography is of the modern realism school (perhaps also because of the low budget) and the supporting characters aren't fleshed out. The films starts slow and is short on action but it is a "slow burn" with elegiac asides. It comes across as a cross between the masterful "The Shootist" (1976) and (the somewhat overrated but much loved) "Unforgiven" (1992).

Not magnificent but definitely one for lovers of westerns, who are familiar with the genres tropes or for lovers of Lance Henriksen, of which there should be more.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed