Meri Pyaari Bindu (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
80 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
'Meri Pyaari Bindu' belongs to a forgotten era where love used to happen over a cup of coffee, shared biryani and recorded audio cassettes...
ashes-roy15 May 2017
Towards the end of the movie, Abhimanyu and Bindu keep staring at each other. Living the lives that they chose for themselves or rather, fate chose for them, they lovingly look at each other, ignoring their individual status quo.

That one moment defined the entire film for me.

'Meri Pyaari Bindu' belongs to a forgotten era where love used to happen over a cup of coffee, shared biryani and recorded audio cassettes. It's a bittersweet love story that brings a lump to the throat, yet you never lose that smile from the face. The characters are as real as the next door neighbours. The pain and the anguish that the couple face, is something that everyone can relate to. But the love can only be felt by those, who have loved and lost.

Kudos to Suprotim Sengupta for such exquisite writing.
53 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Poignant !!
mactautocrat16 May 2017
It's a welcome breather from the drudgery of the typical north Indian love stories flushed with clichéd wedding scenes, conventional college boy meets girl plots and loud music force fitted with some Desi rap. The movie marvelously captures the magic of Kolkata through the eyes of Abhimanyu, the warmth of a close knit neighbourhood , the intimacy and casual flirtation among friends typified by the dumb charades scene and the liberal home dynamics where talking about boyfriends or sex for that matter doesn't come attached with a taboo. The plot continues to enthrall now collecting the best moments of a Mumbai life through a series of scenes starting with a Nariman point stroll, late night ruminations sitting at the marine drive with feet dangling precariously over the odd shaped stones, a multicultural bachelor pad fraught with late night pranks on a stunning balcony and an adorable proposal on the cosy streets of Colaba. And finally the climax where Abhimanyu is content with the amazing time spent with this incredible Bengalan and taking the best part of the relationship in his stride before moving on, unlike the vast majority of the audience who take Bindu's rejection of his proposal as a personal insult and a sign of defeat venting out their frustrations in the reviews.
37 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Charming...well portrayed by the leads.
tanushreesharma-magic4 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Why did i not watch it earlier?!!!? Well yes, i am amazed that i missed this movie way back when it was released. So, i watched it in 2020....and loved it! Its a warm, charming and a beautifully spun fabric of emotions which describes people as they are. The ever brewing and overflowing love of Abhimanyu (for Bindu), warms your heart. Bindu, on the contrary is a confused, unsatisfied, insecure character. She knows that she loves this boy but she runs from love and the ones those love her. The small nuances and settings in the movie make you nostalgic. The old bollywood songs and references are heart warming and very apt. The story is as real as it can get. Yes you feel sad for abhimanyu and yes you may feel a tinge of frustration when Bindu rejects the proposal....but then...its a story about a character like her and a romantic like him. The music and songs are another plus for the movie. All in all a beautiful portrayal of conflicting human emotions.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Will make you feel nostalgic and yearn for those long gone times
This movie will take you down the memory lane, leaving tears in your eyes. Ayushmann and Parineeti nail their roles. The emotions and moments were very real, probably one of the most realistic movies in Bollywood. Wish it came out on a different date though, so that it could've gotten the love it deserves.Overall and excellent film that made me think about the good old days that are now long gone & people who I might never meet again, of whom I only have memories left now. Watch it for the nostalgia trip, the story, the performances and Parineeti's amazing singing! It will melt and break your heart into pieces.
27 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The movie which should have changed the Bollywood's romance.. But Alas! Indian audience enjoys stalking more than true love.
harshitbhadauriya4 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
If you know that fairy-tale love stories aren't real and a happily ever after is not in everyone's fate but still true love exists, This is the movie for you. If you understand that the stalking that SRK's movies taught us is not real love.. This is the movie for you.. If you have ever loved someone with all your heart but destiny had some other plans.. This is the movie for you.. If you can still smile while remembering your first true love.. This is the movie for you.. If you love the era of cassette tapes and the songs of Rafi, Lata and Kishore.. This is the movie for you.. . It broke my heart to see such a beautiful movie fail at box-office. If you really understand this movie, you will realize how much heart the writer and director has put in to write such a beautiful love story.. Do watch it to cry, to smile and to feel that beautiful old school romance once again.. This movie should be the 'Andaaz Apna Apna' of 2017.. Didn't got its worth in its time but later became a cult classic..
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Meri Pyaari Bindu" might be the long lost cassette you might be searching to play and listen to after all these years.
ssonali7 September 2017
It is a well directed movie. It is engaging because of the narrative. The complex tale of feeling of love has been brought out beautifully. The songs sound even better with the narrative. The feeling of 'happy pain' lingers through even after the movie gets over, you shall know why. Ayushman and Parineeti, along with others have done a great job. Nothing has been overdone in this story. Even though one wishes an alternate ending, one knows it is quite a realistic take. Despite the liberty that the story writer has to kindle a ray of hope at least on the silver screen,this time the path taken does so but also says that it might just not go according to one's plans, for reasons good or bad. The best part is love as it looks to be the connecting point, sometimes becomes the very reason for the loved one's departure. One doesn't know if Bindu loved Bubla less or she just couldn't live a certain situation of it. Nothing is certain. People move on in real life too, and it is a conscious decision to do so, others stay with it. Some love stories are better preserved,than touched and lived by for over the years, they are destined to be like that. It is pristine that way. The constant feeling of certain kind of immense bonding between Bindu and Bubla resonates throughout the story and it is lovely. The bond undefined and unnamed is the best part. It is love of a certain kind, let's not go into working our ways through platonic love and all that, let's just not. This is love andit works. It is painful, it still is worth all the effort.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A gem of a movie with a slice of life type reality
bollycritic20 May 2017
There are lots of people in the world who wander around aimlessly, looking for meaning. Some find it quicker than others. Bindu is not one of them, despite her Babula's yearning. I really liked this film a lot, for its ambiance, great acting and memories of some amazing songs from the past. Sure, the female protagonist is not easily likable, but Parineeti does infuse her with a lot of charm. Most Indian film lovers will find her difficult to stomach because we're fed a constant diet of mindless, doormat heroines whose only mission in life is to worship at her hero's footsteps. Not Bindu. She wants and needs more, but truthfully doesn't know what that more is. So she strings everyone along with her infectious charm. By the time she discovers her more, life has moved on. As it does in the real world too. I really wish Yashraj would make more films like this instead of the loud and regressive Sultan types, that turn into blockbusters. Alas, these types of films are meant to release and flop. Do check it out if you crave something different.
27 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An underrated Indian version of La LA Land
shashantkumar17 September 2017
This is one of those movies which depict imperfections of life and its beauty. A heart-touching and realistic story set in an Indian cultural background that bring backs the nostalgia and that realistic feeling of being in love while the music of life goes on. I would call it a brilliant adaptation of La LA Land movie for Indian audience but sadly went unnoticed at Box Office. Both Parineeti and Ayushman are adorable and acted well in this 2 hour long musical. I would definitely recommend this if you want something different and GOOD from Bollywood. If you like musicals or are simply into music and looking for a nice weekend feel good movie, give it a go.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow...the best movie I have ever seen, felt....and I have seen every damn movie... Totally nestolgic..
vikasjainblogger23 November 2017
If you have ever had a friend whom you had crush, ever had fun with gang of friends, had a good college life, ever loved a girl, had a heartbreak, and after that had a successful career...this is the movie for you. This is not a movie for the youth of 20-25 years, it's a movie for the youth of 30-35. I have watched thousands of movies, I watch minimum of 2 movie in a night, but never felt such nostalgic.

What a concept, the most realistic movie ever made in Bollywood...people didn't like the movie and that is understandable.. because they didn't go through all that...love in real life is not a typical Bollywood drama..and this movie shows that only..

The songs, dialogue, scenes, every detail is so perfect that I couldn't find a single mistake in the movie..

I would say..A must watch for everyone who wants to remember the life he or she left..

Thank you director for the gem.. every time I watch this, I get lost in memories and finally it leaves me with smile...this is the only Revie I ever wrote(I read many)..
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure love story that defines true meaning of love
khushalgupta-983 September 2017
Truly defines by movie how much you love someone forever either she is in your life or not.

Story, Direction everything is so perfect that you can feel the meaning of each and every dialogue of movie.

Every one did fabulous acting. No one will be move away from you or from your life if you truly want her in your life.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
La la land of Bollywood
rajansandhu199211 June 2017
It's a movie that tells how life is like a mix tape of Bollywood songs.Sweet,sour and bitter sometimes.Acting,screenplay,direction,music is amazing.Great performances by lead actors and background music is really amazing.

I will highly recommend this to everyone and especially to those who like light heart-ed movies.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Deserves more rating then 5.6 !!
shabnum-shaheen26 September 2017
mere pyare bindu is story of two childhood friends...when someone reads this he/she feels there is nothing new in it.. !! we have legendary movie on this topic..kuch kuch hota hai !! which z beautiful story of two friends n their love lives !! but this story is different n the most important thing is its ending..well while watching a movie one expect a happy ending,i too expected a same n when that doesn't happen i felt a lump in throat but that's what makes this movie more close to reality!!more close to real life,in life every thing z not a fairy tale..every story don't have a happy ending ..n one must learn to cope up with loss n move on while cherishing the happy moments of one's story !! same happens in this movie !! song at the end says it all. n the looks which abhimanyu n bindu exchange says it all !! but there are some loop wholes in story..untold story of bindu !! one can understand why she left abhimanyu as she was always uncertain..impatient girl..n at that moment she felt heartbroken n lost...BUT why did she agree to marry ??what she found in that new man which was lacking in abhimanyu ??what was missing in her n abhimanyu relationship that she finds with That new man !! as towards end bindu said this z ure story mine would be diff..writer should share her story too !! i think this n there not happily ever after ending z the main reason of all bad comments..
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very Good
anveshanu14 May 2017
Those who are finding the acting pathetic, please go get a life. She acted much better than Sonam in Neerja. Ayushman was really great, so was everyone else. The Bong family of Ayushman was something with you could easily connect to. The potrail had quite some depth.

After Raanjhnaa, this is the first movie which had some catchy and creative dialogues. Editing is some what of a set back. But the film will never make you want to look at the watch. :D
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Underrated feel good Love Story that exudes an aura of warmth and nostalgia
rohitmonj18 April 2020
Meri Pyari Bindu is one of those underrated gems in Bollywood that gave me all the right feels. There is a poetic melancholic aura in this film that we experience as the film progresses. There is this reference to all the songs that are connected to life events of us and recalling all the beautiful things that exist in life while Ayushman runs over the iconic Howrah Bridge of Kolkata. It is a feel good movie that takes us down the memory lane of first love, crush, hoping and waiting for that special moment. It is a coming of age story of a boy and girl growing up and sharing their moments and what makes it special is the nostalgic elements induced like recorded audio casettes,old songs,cup of tea. It will be in those list of special feel good films for me even though the ending is melancholic yet lovely. This movie needs to be felt with the heart rather than analysing on the sub-plots and technicalities.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very emotional unsuccessful love story...!!!
xmanin9 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
One of the best love story...I have seen after a long time... movie is well written by Suprotim Sengupta and directed by Akshay Roy. It features Ayushmann Khurrana and Parineeti Chopra in the lead roles. .. Both Parineeti & Aysushman Khuranna wonderfully portray themselves as Bindu and Abhimanyu... 90% of this movie was filmed in Kolkata,which gave it a classic Bengali touch..... last scene is very emotional!!!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lighthearted, but Soulless!
namashi_117 May 2017
'Meri Pyaari Bindu' has its heart at the right place, no doubts on that. But, in terms of Soul, its a miss. Director Akshay Roy delivers a film on love & longing, but is unable to make you feel the pain or the joy of its bruising leading-man. It only works in parts.

'Meri Pyaari Bindu' Synopsis: A successful writer Abhimanyu Roy (Ayushmann Khurrana), stuck with writers block, returns to his roots to write an old-fashioned love story, which ends up to be his own & how Bindu (Parineeti Chopra), changed his life for better or worse.

'Meri Pyaari Bindu' begins well & the sequences involving Abhimanyu aka Bubla's Eccentric Bengali Family, are a joy to watch. And even when the story goes back in the past, the interactions between Bubla & Bindu, offer charm. And though things get wobbly soon enough, yet you're in your seat safely till the interval. Its the second-hour that dampens 'Meri Pyaari Bindu' to great levels. Abhimanyu & Bindu's longgggg journey from friends to lovers, is unappealing. The second-hour simply doesn't connect, as the narrative takes a dip & doesn't rise above. Even the culmination, is overlong & might make you restless. What begins as a sweet friendship-turned-into-love story, turns into an overlong story about people who just aren't sure about life or themselves!

The Writing is lighthearted, but soulless. I liked the first-hour to a large extend, but the second-hour, is a slog. And one is never sure about Bindu's erratic behavior towards Abhimanyu, nor does Abhimanyu's longing wait, make you melt, as the characters aren't well-etched out. A much better Screenplay was the need of the day! The Dialogue, however, are good, although its protagonist's continuous narration throughout, gets repetitive.

Akshay Roy's Direction is decent, but the Writing pulls the efforts down. He has the talent, but it needs to be backed with a better Script. I particularly enjoyed how he began the film, with the Goddess Durga roaming over the stunning city of Kolkata. Cinematography, Editing & Sachin-Jigar's Score are top-notch. And the use of retro Bollywood Music, Is Always Welcome!

Performance-Wise: Ayushmann Khurrana is extremely likable. As the long-waiting lover protagonist, Ayushmann delivers a first-rate performance. He holds the film & even his Voice-Over work throughout, is credible, although there is a lot of it! Parineeti Chopra is earnest as Bindu, but her character isn't entirely understandable. The on-screen chemistry between Ayushmann & Parineeti, is nice. Rajatabha Dutta & Aparajita Auddy, as Ayushmann's eccentric parents, are simply fantastic. The actor who portrays the part of Ayushmann's manager, is also terrific. Nishant Dahiya sparkles in a cameo.

On the whole, 'Meri Pyaari Bindu' is only partly appealing. Disappointing!
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Trailers were better than the movie!!!!!!
nikita_mehta-3517629 May 2017
I found the trailers more interesting than the movie!! My expectation level was quite high from the trailers thought this movie will be something out of the box, the story will not be a typical Bollywood rom-com. The movie had many open plots like why did Bindu left abhi and later what made her change her mind and get settled???? Movie lacks many things proper story, good humour, enough grip to keep the audience adhesive till the end. The best part about the movie are the songs which one can listen to countless times.
12 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Musical romance to assist people to forget their long lost love
mishrashruti27 May 2017
Director, Akshay Roy promises to enlighten his audience with the art to forget ones true love through this creation. The movie recreates the magic of 80's through retro style music and old streets of Kolkata. It is yet another love story where the crazy lover goes head over heels just to have a 'yes' of the heartless, ambitiously-confused girl. Movie aims to focus on unconventional aspects of love but it ends up in a tangle as the various sub plots aren't worked well to the details.

Strength: The music. Timeline in which the story is built, gives it essence of a fresh love story.

Weakness: It's just another love story.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hidden little gem which will surprise you !!!
siddharthsikand11 July 2020
I am surprised this movie did not make waves. Just caught it last night on Prime. Bindu portrays such a strong character in the movie. She wants to do everything and in the end is happy with her decisions. Not many people would have such courage. Ayushman is rocking as ever. His narration throughout the movie reminds me of his character in Bareilly ki Barfi. The yesteryear songs are just wonderful. This is one not to be missed.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
cant Believe i have missing been missing this Gem for 3 years
divaytandel21 April 2020
No words to explain how brilliant was aayushman.. though the character that he plays is a dark & Bit scary in a Real world.. but we all have Been through this phase where we were madly in love wid the person who was may b not exactly in the same place as Ours... This is the story of that boy who never gave up on his childhood love.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie
beingrathi2 April 2020
Personally this movie is not for all and not all can understand it. But on a serious note i love this movie . This movie tells about love and friendship and how you can be friends even after life has changed. Great acting by ayushmann and parineeti , i know some people don't liked this movie but as i said it is not for everyone . If you love to spend small moment with a girl who is your crush and you also want to enjoy every moment then watch it guys.

Thankyou!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Musterpiece!
souravmahanta4 December 2019
I don't even understand why such movies like this got undurated, maybe some people didn't go through all that to feel the inner meaning of this film. When i feel lonely or missing some one i just watch this movie but you can't believe every time i watched this movie, it's ended with a smile in my face. I don't know how the director wrote such script, which have the power to relate in our life like a magic. I wish this movie will get a chance to rerelease in theaters & get all the appreciation, which is deserved.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must-watch for your list
manushokar-346272 April 2019
Something new, something different, something everyone yearns for within is the story of Meri Pyaari Bindu. It is definitely a movie for anyone who unconditionally loved and still loves that one soul which is connected to yours regardless of anything. Nothing effects it, nothing harms it, nothing breaks the bond. That's the story of Meri pyari bindu - eternal, unconditional, nostalgic, and real. Excellent acting by both Ayushman and Parineeti. A SuperHit from my end!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is gem
RupamGhosh3021 March 2019
Dnt know why people are giving bad reviews...this was just the kind of sweet love story which cannot find its destiny.. i broke into tears!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A confused script that battles with sense to improve
ankitcom14 May 2017
A confused script that battles with sense to improve. It's only the actors that pick this movie with their amazing charm and screen presence. The direction and writing are the let downs here.

Storyline Rating: 2

Acting Rating: 3 Parineeti Chopra: 3 Ayushmann Khurrana: 3

Direction Rating: 2

Music Rating: 3

Cinematography: 3

Editing: 3
9 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed