Lahore Se Aagey (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Riveting Comedy...Not a single dull moment
farankmirza11 November 2016
Excellent effort. The revival of Pakistani cinema has seen some excellent and mature films come out this year. "Lahore Se Aagey" is one such film. Never a dull moment, the entire film is loaded with "pun intended" sentences. The script is done very intelligently, where none of the dialogue is wasted space. I found myself laughing my head off on numerous occasions, and it's been a long time any movie has had this effect on me. Hats off to the director, actors and everyone involved in the effort, and especially ARY for enabling such works of true, artful and spirited endeavors. We (the fans) understand that film making is not a commercial enterprise in Pakistan, and the rewards are minuscule compared to the immense effort that goes into making such films. From us the fans, a big thank you from the heart, and hope that you all continue this journey. If this is the beginning, then I am excited, as greater feats await and Pakistani cinema is very well on the path of a glorious revival.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Chaotic Trainwreck
mansoorbashir9311 November 2016
Despite Karachi se Lahore's shortcomings (mediocre cinematography/editing, poor scripting, shameless advertising, and poor direction), which I rated 4/10, I decided to give Wajahat Rauf another chance with this sequel. Perhaps it was because of Yasir Hussain's character being the star which drew me to it but I felt that maybe it was worth another shot.

To everyone who plans on watching this, please don't. Compared to this, Karachi se Lahore was a masterpiece. This film only felt like a degradation in Wajahat Rauf's ability to make something that may be considered a film.

No words can describe the cringe inducing madness that this film is. It felt as though the director popped a few pills of psychedelic drugs and decided to make a movie containing cheap puns, shameless advertising, even more shameless nepotism (Rauf acknowledged that his son was cast in the film and breaks the forth wall to tell the audience he doesn't care) and very little coherence. And I say that in the politest way I possibly can.

Don't waste your time or money on this film. It's not as though Pakistan can't or doesn't make decent comedy films. Nabeel Qureshi's 'Actor in Law' and 'Na Maloom Afraad' are some pretty good examples. Overlooking the plot and the script in Qureshi's works, at least he knows how to make coherent films with proper screenplays and editing.

As a Film student who aspires to be part of this "Cinema Revival" in Pakistan, this film gave me a lot of confidence. I now know for a fact that I can make something akin to this film, with little effort, and get rich off it.

I wish it was possible to give it something lower than 1/10.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Such a terrible piece of cinema
fowzia_ashraf16 November 2016
This movie is all kinds of terrible. Yasir is so uninspiring as a male lead. I was hoping he was a cameo. he has zero acting ability. Saba is wasted on this, she is literally just a pretty face and the character has absolutely no depth. The movie has a ridiculous plot, which makes no sense and doesn't really flow. There is a complete lack of culture in the movie and its just simply not funny. I don't mind slapstick comedy but there has to either be good acting or humour and here there is neither.

I walked out after one excruciating hour. Save your money and watch something else!
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worse movie of the decade
omarsaeed-6358121 November 2016
This has to be one of the worse movies i have ever watched in my life. My friend and I sat through it. First 15 minutes it seemed pretty okay then the movie just took a big u-turn for the worse. Rest of the movie my friend made me sit through he wanted to see how much torture i could withstand. I sat through the movie and it got worse and worse. Acting by the hero was awful and saba qamars role did not suit her what so ever. The entire movie i just had wtf moments. Just when you thought it couldn't get more terrible they director made sure he did. Worse story if there was even any and seemed like trying hard to be bollywood. Just a word of advice there is a reason people stopped watching Indian dramas because Indian dramas stories could not compete with the story line, so why not in movies... stop trying to copy them and btw if your a designer stay designer there was a reason you didn't become an actor.... ohh lastly i think then had lack of money which is why they had commercials for products and restaurants throughout the movie.

Cant believe my eyes witnessed such tortue
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved Yasir and Saba's chemistry!
shiz_umi12 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I watched it in Cinema!! I was actually expecting a lot from Saba, but unfortunately her acting felt like she was just 'acting' you know what i mean? I love her, don't get me wrong - she's one of my favourite actresses, and her acting is amazing in the dramas - she does it so naturally but what the hell happened to her in this movie?! Some scenes (that were emotional), she delivered them very well - but other than that I didn't like her acting that much. i still love her though. Loved Yasir Hussain! He was so cute. He acted good as well. Oh my god, that entrance Ali Zafar did! I was just too shocked to see him! Loved his scene. I wish he comes more in Pakistani movies! Specially LOVED the chemistry between Yasir and Saba! They're officially on my cute couple list! Songs were too good - specially Kalabaz when Saba and Yasir dance to it.. I didn't think the tribal part was necessary - All in all, it was a good movie.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fazool movie
ahmadr-1204521 February 2019
Fazool tareen movie. No story, no comedy nothing.. karachi se lahore was way tooo much than this
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Winner of Pakistan's Razzie Awards
hananwareesha6 September 2018
One of the worst film of Pakistan film industry. Just totally ignore this piece of crap. Wanted to give minus rating for this movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Waste of time
arfanameer12 August 2018
Moti as a character is very irritating. Movie is full of cheap sitcom jokes. A childish movie. Only saving grace is Saba but content wise movie is crap. Such a waste of time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
As horrible as you never thought
rehmankhilji17 November 2017
Confused starting, over acting of Saba Qamar which clearly shows she is in the movie for its previous acclaimed fame. Full scene of a bank and its app, shooting two different scenes in one single location showing no interest in the movie and saving budget. In the buss travelling scene, the person next to the so called foreigner was sleeping on his shoulder in one scene, then awake, then sleeping. It shows how careless the director was while shooting the movie. Unnecessary hugging, which ridiculous for swat and in between a donkey cart ride, its more badly bad then one can possibly imagine. On the top the editing is even worse. The saien baba make up was so bad that his black hair were out of the white wig. Full of cheesy cheap dialogues. And please what with the native jungle people scene. How bad the script could get. Throw away movie
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Story and Script
usamanaimattullah29 July 2017
The movie was overall good but it needs to do something about the story like it was too fast, and on the script. The incident were so unnatural and imaginable. i like two songs one was Qalabaz Dil and second one was the song sang by zezzo. Acting was good. and finally YASIR HUSSAIN, brilliant ,Please make some effort in the story like acting. #makingLollywoodGreatAgain :) best of luck
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Can Make You Laugh.
Jamilshah12122 July 2017
I wanted to see this movie as it was Pakistani and finally saw it thanks to ARYMip (YouTube Channel). The movie shows beautiful locations from Pakistan but they could do much better in that regard. Saba Qamar's acting was as good as it always is. Yasir Hussain seems to be a great actor. There was comedy in movie and also some emotional moments which shows that the director was intelligent enough. The movie had songs like Bollywood movies which is something I don't personally like. I want our movies to be different and more realistic. The songs Qalabaz is good but it was an attempt to copy the Ghaagra from Jawani Phir Nahi Aani. I will appreciate more if our filmmakers give us our own culture rather than that of any other film industry.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun Filled Film
absahmed12 November 2016
The second installment in the Wahjahut Raul Lahore movies. Very fun to watch.

The acting performances were strong, and the musical numbers fitted in well. Although the story line made no sense whatsoever, and the script a little basic compared to the first movie. The fun factor made up for it.

There were occasional references to the first movie, but if you haven't seen the first part its fine. This time the movie had a bigger release and it showed in the production and cinematography which was shot well. I hope that going forward for the Pakistani movies in general that they don't rely heavily on the product placement.

This was a fun, semi family friendly movie, with thought behind the production aspects, Well done.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't Watch
syedjaffri-565912 July 2017
oh God what an awful experience,this movie is full of fails no sequence no fun and everything is happening so fast that you cant even remember what happens in previous scene...lame jokes,low IQ script, not a single cringe worthy movie... where the hell are mountains on rout of Gujranwala ? and Lahore is just 1 hour away from there and they show it like its way too far...how the hell saba was caught by villains and how the hell he just shot the waiter without any reason ? they are many many questions but seriously i don't want Mr Wajahat Rauf to make any other movie and just take a break .... Chutiya Samjha hai kia? ...
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Average Comedy Movie
sadeanauman13 January 2017
Plus point: Interesting humor, Nice acting. Locations were beautiful. Cinematography was good.

Story line was very weak. Film is a very different genre, from stage play or show hosting. it seemed that various funny skits were joined to create humor. story was just a 'gap filler' to maintain continuity.

Another neglected area was its wardrobe. Movie is supposed to be visually appealing. Music wasn't bad, but not a single number that sticks to your mind after leaving the cinema hall. One-time watch movie.Not much recommended. Director needs to work really hard next time, and must choose a "Genuine" script writer.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed