All the Rage (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
123 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
important film
blythe1726 May 2017
Dr. John Sarno has long been a pioneer in his field, never out to make money or take the easy road. Spending decades of his life encouraging people to look within to find the cause of their pain has not made him rich, but has improved countless lives. The filmmakers shine a much-needed light on Dr. Sarno and his work, and Galinsky also makes it personal, putting himself and his family in the film, and showing the far-reaching effects of Dr. Sarno's work. The filmmaking is done with a steady hand, taking us on this journey in a compelling and emotional way. I truly believe this is required viewing. An excellent documentary on a very important subject.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A bold and personal challenge to establishment medicine
mtworkman22 May 2017
ALL THE RAGE is a compelling personal narrative that challenges establishment medicine's treatment of chronic pain. Galinsky weaves his own story into the film showing his struggle with chronic pain. The film's lead protagonist fights against his fellow practitioner and you are pulled into his struggle. The film is a provocative, emotional, and challenging journey. It successfully makes the argument that we do not fully understand the source of chronic pain and it may very likely be more linked to our emotions that many want to believe. Not only is the argument compelling the story is well told with fully developed characters.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Moving & transformative
ewadubinsky22 May 2017
I had the privilege of seeing this film when it premiered at the Doc NY film festival this fall. Since then, I've been waiting for it to come out so I can share it with my family and friends. It is powerful, engaging, informative and beautifully filmed. To me, the strength of the film lies in its storytelling- the story of the connection between the mind & body/repressed emotions & chronic pain, the story of a revolutionary doctor, a hero to his patients but struggling for acceptance in the medical world, the film maker's own story & multiple fragments of other stories. It seems like required viewing for anyone who has experienced chronic pain, coped with stress or been hit with loss, which means for just about everyone. Highly recommended.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well needed light on life-saving subjects and discussions...
hotmetaldobermans22 May 2017
Chronic pain is one of the worst things on the planet. My mom has been sick for a long time. Fibromyalgia. Chronic Fatigue. IBS. She lives in a small town, and the doctors are useless to help her, really. She's been at her wits end for a long time. I saw my mother in this film, just as Michael Galinsky saw himself on every page of Sarno's books.

As I watched this film, I wept. I ordered my parents the books, and called them to tell them I'll be sending them this film as soon as possible.

As I dug into Sarno's teaching, surely there are many who won't "take to" or let their brains accept a lot of this information. Surely, it won't work for everybody.

However, what Michael has done is shined a light on an option. Sometimes, it's only an option, that somebody needs. To change their life forever. To get better enough to make that one change that turns things the way they need.

It's about hope. It's about life. It's about how powerful emotions can be.

My story is a long one, but one thing is clear. Watch this movie when you can.

It should be required viewing for anyone in school, or the medical field.

Take care.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Timely and terrific exploration of pain and what we can do about it
sasha-waters-freyer23 May 2017
All the Rage is a film like nothing else out there - a personal essay on love and family; a compelling portrait of Dr. Sarno; a thoroughly researched and data-driven investigation into our individual and collective pain as humans in the world, in this moment, pain that is physical, psychic and emotional. That pain is real, we know. We feel it, and we see the havoc it is wreaking on a social fabric frayed by increasing anxiety, mental illness, opioid abuse - these traumas of contemporary life. With bravery, insight, compassion and self-compassion, Michael Galinsky and Suki Hawley have crafted an amazing film that will change the way you think about pain and recovery. Personally, I watched this film after severely straining my back, while I was confined to bed, and by that night felt 1,000 better!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch This Film Before Filling That Prescription
mollygarrett-3262129 May 2017
All The Rage (Saved by Sarno) is a must-see film for anyone suffering from chronic pain or anyone who knows someone suffering from chronic pain (which is pretty much everyone). After watching my ex-husband go through hell with chronic back pain, numbness in his left leg, sciatica, etc. and plummet down the traditional pain management rabbit hole, I only wish this film had come out sooner. It was obvious to me that his stress and anxiety caused the pain to worsen - I could actually see the mind-body connection at work but felt helpless to do anything about it. The multitude of medications prescribed to him, some of which caused suicidal thoughts and massive withdrawal symptoms, led to lost jobs, a car accident, and ultimately a failed marriage.

Dr. Sarno's work could change the lives of countless people who suffer by allowing them to get to the root cause of the problem which is most often not physical. So glad this information has finally come to light - bravo!
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Film for Anyone Seeking Relief from Chronic Pain
AmyScatliff28 May 2017
Having lived with chronic pain for 20+ years, the last thing I wanted to hear was that it was 'all in my head'. I organize groups for people living with chronic pain from Lyme disease and many people feel the same way I do.

This film shows a different approach to thinking about the power of the mind and illness. It is presented in a way that people can trust that the pain experienced from their illnesses is taken seriously. I did not know about Dr. Saarno before seeing this film. I had heard of the Mindbody Prescription but assumed it was just for back pain and that it did not relate to me. It does relate however because Sarno takes a much broader approach to chronic pain, beyond the back.

This film got me to seriously look into the mind again as a way to address chronic pain, in a way that other films, books, and speakers have not. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking a powerful addition to their current treatment plan.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most important film of the century
kbarlow-5899626 September 2017
This story is screaming to be told and what better way to tell it. I am in awe of Dr Sarno and every other TMS crusader. It must be hard being ignored and even ridiculed by mainstream medicine but they have stood by what they believe in and fought for this story to get out into the world. After all, its what mankind has known for years.

It all makes sense and what better way to sum it up than the opening quote from Mr Holmes (which I won't spoil). I remember the last time I visited the Consultant Urologist and he told me the only thing he could do for me was surgically remove my bladder. I knew deep down inside that there was something else going on so I told the Consultant that I knew my body more than he did and I never saw him again. That was nearly 3 years ago. Since then I discovered Dr Sarno and I owe him my life, I swear I do. So if you cant seem to get an answer for your pain, please watch this. It will change you life.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic - must see
cab-6648310 June 2017
This documentary is incredible - one of the best things I've seen in theater, ever, hands down. Every person who has ever experienced pain of any kind or knows someone who has, every doctor of healthcare professional, basically every person that exists should see this. Going again later this week and inviting every person I know to come with. THANK YOU to the filmmakers for working tirelessly on this.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A wild ride of discovery of what can cure our back pain epidemic. Must-see viewing for anyone suffering from back pain, and a deep personal look at dealing with such issues.
All the Rage is a must see movie for the timely, true life, personal tale it tells of how we deal with our physical pains. Through the personal experience of the director we discover that there is an holistic way to approach physical pain that focuses on the entire person rather than unhelpful surgery or drugs.

Through the journey we discover the iconoclastic and courageous back doctor -- Dr. Sarno whose ideas on healing back pain, while controversial, are successful. His cure is not as easy as popping a pill or signing up for surgery, but they are effective and long lasting.

While the subject may sound dry, the personal documentary style allows you to go through the emotions when suffering back pain and the required self-examination to heal it.

This move will help cure such sufferers; to that end it is critical viewing for anyone suffering back pain and those who love them.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
betsymonroe22 May 2017
Deeply and beautifully personal, moving, interesting and informative... all wrapped up in one film, which is not an easy task to achieve. I recommend this documentary for anyone interested in the mind/emotions and body connection in healing pain. This is an excellent, well-done film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
engaging and a must see journey of work that challenges us to shift the narrative
anastasiaw-4783428 May 2017
"What do you mean it's in my head? I feel the pain. It's very real!"... or something like that spoken by Larry David was my sentiment as well. It IS very real, yet All the Rage is on task and delivers in portraying the mind-body pain connection and Dr. Sarno's life's work in chronic back pain. All the Rage presents a sound, scientific journey of his work, its successes, and the push-back. This film is engaging from beginning to end and opens the door to discussion of what medical traditions we accept at face value, why we do, and our ability to shift the narrative.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Transform your Mind, Body and Soul!
drgaryaltheim22 May 2017
I am a Clinical Psychologist, Activist, and Motivational Speaker. I can tell you with great confidence that this is a must-see film that can help you begin the process of transforming your life; your Mind, Body, and Soul. Dr. Sarno literally saved my life and this movie is the million-dollar gift that keeps giving. All great Artists are Activists. Michael Galinsky and his team have produced an Oscar Award winning film in this production. All the Rage educates us about Willful Blindness, the truth about back pain, and the secret to pain-relief. I had back pain for 20 years; I eventually became crippled, paralyzed and could not walk. I was getting ready for surgery and then I met Dr. Sarno and Dr. Eric Sherman. Six months later I was skiing and climbing mountains. To this day I am pain-free. I wish I had this movie a decade ago but I know Michael was busy making it for 10 years so I am not angry at him. Go SEE ALL the Rage, it is a life-changing experience. Thank you, Dr. Sarno, Michael Galinksy and all that made this film possible. Namaste.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For pain sufferers not helped by conventional Western medicine
steven-leibson12 June 2017
An engrossing look at a doctor who has committed his life to curing people with severe pain who have not been helped by conventional Western medicine. There's still a lot that the medical community/medical industry does not know. One thing we do know is that the brain and amygdala make all sorts of body-regulating chemicals, of which we have only a partial understanding. That Dr. Sarno's approach has helped many people makes it worthy of study. If people can feel better by reading his book, that's great. Just as it's great if people feel better when stuck with pins by an acupuncturist. Getting back to the movie, I'm not sure how I feel by seeing Larry David and Howard Stern appear as providers of testimonials. They're popular, but I'm not a big fan. I'm also not a fan of celebrity testimonials for medical treatments, as they are grossly overused by purveyors of elective surgeries and fringe nutritional treatments. Whether these help or hurt overall, I can't say.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Am emotional trip...
Erre19 May 2017
I saw a screening of the movie during the BAFICI and was very moved by it. It is a documentary alright, but it has the emotional power of any other fictional movies you can see. The filmmakers put their heart out to do this film about how back pain problems can be related to childhood issues or repressed feelings or words that don't come out as it should. It is a journey around Dr. Sarno's life and Michael Galinsky's personal back pains. It is a must!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Engaging, personal, and informative
bradley-bethel13 June 2017
ALL THE RAGE is Michael Galinsky and Suki Hawley's best film so far, and that's saying a lot. The filmmaking couple, along with their partner David Beilinson, are master storytellers, demonstrating the best of documentary filmmaking. Galinsky's personal journey in the film endows it with an intimacy that sets it apart, making ALL THE RAGE as moving as it is illuminating.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Life-changing potential through revolutionary challenge to the medical establishment
awanning24 May 2017
This film has the potential to change thousands of lives for the better. It follows the story of Dr. John Sarno, an independent- minded doctor who has a remarkably good record treating back pain following the simple idea that our emotional state is closely related to our physical state. Unfortunately his ideas and methods, while seemingly employing common sense, are incompatible with the modern medical establishment (with rare exceptions), and he is shunned by his colleagues. Nevertheless, hundreds of patients, including director Michael Galinsky - whose own cringe-inducing back pain is treated by Dr. Sarno during the film - make their way to his office and are overwhelmingly pleased with the life-changing, pain- reducing results. This story, and the excellent, provocative filmmaking, makes a compelling case that modern medicine has failed us in this area; at the very least, Dr. Sarno's ideas should be taken much more seriously by the medical establishment. If they don't, they will be left behind, as books and movies like this show the path to ever-more patients to seek out the next generation of Dr. Sarnos.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really worth seeing, and emotionally moving film
axelbank21 May 2017
As a psychologist who regularly works with people who are suffering with chronic pain, I found this movie to be quite relevant. It outlines a way for people to truly cure (note: not just "manage") their pain. But aside from all that, it's just a great movie! Captures your attention early, and you can really feel the filmmaker's inner struggle as he wrestles with some inner demons to get to the source of his pain.

So I will recommend this film to, not only my chronic pain patients, but to all my friends because it's just a good movie!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Personal Story Many Can Relate To
stacy-1998 June 2017
All the Rage is about the mind-body connection of pain, particularly back pain, and the great Dr Sarno who has helped countless people including many you probably know - like Howard Sterne and Larry David. The documentary weaves the personal account of filmmaker Michael Galinsky in an honest and profound way and many viewers will recognize some of their own selves in his story which could possibly be triggering their own chronic pain. I think this film could help many people consider new ways to approach their treatments.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Film
jenniferlmc-2194413 July 2017
This is an excellent film that everyone needs to see and seriously consider long after the lights go down. It clearly shows the passion of one man, Dr. Sarno, and his efforts to help those with chronic ailments, especially crippling back pain. The film introduces the idea that trapped emotions, particularly rage, starve the tissues of oxygen and lead to deep-seated pain in the body. Once one is able to effectively deal with the emotions, as the movie demonstrates, one's pain resolves. The ideas and testimonies presented are powerful, and I left the theater with a great deal to think about - the past is not necessarily the past. I am reminded of the book "The Body Keeps the Score," and indeed it does.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Life changing film!
kathleen-1465520 October 2017
I loved this film and Dr Sarno! It inspired me to take inventory of my emotions and how they are contributing to my back pain. Dr. Sarno's mind body approach to healing pain, makes perfect sense to me and will continue to help me throughout my lifetime. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who has pain or someone in their life with pain. Thank you to the filmmakers for sharing Dr Sarno's life saving work!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The doctor is in!
prjulie20 May 2017
A must see documentary for anyone who has suffered from chronic pain!. Through the lens of the filmmaker's own struggle personal pain, explores and explains the work of revolutionary mind-body connection doctor, Dr John Sarno, and his disciples. Clear, concise and compelling!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this doc
patbenson-174228 June 2019
I first read one of Dr. Sarno's books in January 2019, then watched this documentary shortly after. I think the filmmaker did a great job of pulling together people of different backgrounds (but similar personality types) to share their story. But for me, the wisest words of the whole film came from the filmmakers' little girl who said "Your body is saying take a break. Let me somebody else be awesome!". Loved this documentary.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Moving
lkalych6 October 2019
I'm glad I read the reviews prior to watching and bought the video rather than rent it. I have had success with pain relief by reading the book in the past, and have now had to revisit it again as I have fallen back to some old patterns of thinking. This is how I discovered the documentary! This documentary moved me to tears on more than one occasion. Highly recommend! Trust me .. Buy don't rent as you will want to watch it again and play it for others.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really important film of our time
fhr-519 May 2017
This film follows a pain sufferer on his journey to wellness through the techniques discovered by Dr. Sarno. Dr. Sarno teaches us the the health industry doesn't understand what he does about the effects that modern life and rage specifically has on a human brain AND what that brain does to our body in response. This revolutionary approach is an important watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed