Soy Luna (TV Series 2016–2018) Poster

(2016–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Soy Luna is a well-diversified series. It has a great story, mixing drama, romance, comedy and lots of music!
teenfaking11 March 2018
The main focus of the series is in the life of the protagonist, Luna Valente, in her passion for skating during the first season, and in her investigation for her true identity in Season Two. The third season will focus on how everything she has discovered will affect her and change her.

The first season is good, with great moments and stories full of romance, sport and music, but taking away the main characters, little development is seen for others, making them one-dimensional characters.

In the second season, we see something different, the series continues to be fun and really good, but the focus on romance increases a lot, often making the episodes tiring with all the love triangles, and even the protagonist receives little development and good material, reusing stories from Season One, making her annoying, causing the villains, Ámbar and Sharon, to shine more than all the others, taking into account that on several occasions their stories were more interesting than any other.

So I must say that the great trump of the series, for me, are the villains; Sharon Benson (brilliantly interpreted by Lucila Gandolfo) and, mainly, Ámbar Smith (played by Valentina Zenere, who in my opinion is by far the best actress in the cast), a strong character that on several occasions gives life to the series, giving a unique perspective to the plot, she brings something very different from what we are used to see in series of the genre, after all she is also a victim... In Season Two one of hers storylines is better than any of the protagonist!

The interaction between the villains is incredible, their development, mostly on Season Two, is something I would never dream of seeing in a Disney series, for sure they are the best part of the series.

At the same time, the great "problem" of the series, is the fact that the protagonist (and several other characters), Luna Valente, is very similar to what we are already used to see in the genre, very cliché... she is the "best" in everything, always the winner, seems to have no flaws... this would not be a problem if the character was very well developed, which does not happen after a certain point.

Everyone should watch and judge the series for themselves, after all it's a great series, which impressed me in many episodes (1x73, 1x80, 2x05, 2x11, 2x16, 2x51, 2x52, 2x76, 2x79, 2x80... these are just some of the episodes that I rewatched lots of times), especially considering that this is a Disney series made for the younger audience.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The show is produced in Argentina, stop complaining it's in Spanish
KerryMaeD16 October 2020
A lot of people in these reviews don't seem to understand that this show is for Argentinian Disney Channel, hence why the show and songs are all in Spanish. If you don't like that, instead of leaving a bad review go find one the many shows produced in English on Disney or Netflix or anywhere. It's also a telenovela which is why it has that melodramatic over the top style, that's not automatically a bad acting thing or cheap production thing.

Compared to the shows produced for Disney US or Disney UK it's certainly not any worse. Yes the show drags out too much, each season has 80 full hour episodes and would have been better to have either shorter episodes or less episodes. However the plot is interesting and show is enjoyable. I watch in Spanish with English subtitles as I don't speak Spanish and still find it enjoyable to watch (however I'm also part deaf so subtitles are permanently on, I understand why some people dislike subtitles)

The show is ridiculous at times, Tino and Cato seem to only exist to be like court jesters which at times is annoying, I just fast forward most of their scenes. Also they could have written a larger range of songs, they largely sing the same 5 or so songs on repeat the whole of season 1 even though they have a regular open mic style contest. I've watched other shows from Argentina in a similar style and they manage to produce a full album each season and they have far less episodes to do it over.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
great show
rivkada-3497228 December 2017
This tv show, is wonderful.It's telling how to respect everyone, how to work like a team, how to be better friends and it encourage kids to follow their dreams.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Addictive series
jegharikkeemail2 March 2021
I absolutely love this one

I love it and this is my first time

But not my last

Highly recommended
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lutteo❤
sahinemine28 July 2019
I think very a beautiful series my favorites luna and Matteo and chemistry between them 😍🔥
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I love the serie!
Mariana241123 May 2019
The history is very good and i loved the musics! But the thrid season season spoiled the history of the series
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It is a series where everything is thought from the beginning to the end and I like that
thehackmanuser10 May 2021
It is a series that has been around for a while but I still recommend watching it with her you learn to work as a team and never give up to fulfill your dreams 100% recommended.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Slow burn
gkkrocks18 October 2020
I haven't finished yet just because it's so friggin long, it's about 165hours for all three seasons with total of 220. It's so slow and i'm so tempted to just skip a ton of episodes to get it on with, just wish it could move faster. Or could be 30 min episode instead of 45-50z
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good series
vickymironska17 December 2019
Ok "salad" then why you don't just go and watch horrors?Nowadays, horror movies are so boring..
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Memories
stantwice_youfools26 January 2021
Nostalgia, the plot is good but they favor Luna a lot, my favorite character is Ambar and they could also show her story (Sorry for my bad english)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
abek_xw20 April 2020
The series has a good plot, however the actors are horrible, terrible, they overreact too much in all series, and all the time they repeat the same songs, all of them are in Spanish, there are only some in English but they have poor pronunciation and they don't feel like recording the series, the third season seemed very monotonous and it seemed as if they had not made an effort to do it. They have a very low budget, they do not record in other scenarios, it is always the same and all the time they lengthen the plot too much and put unnecessary scenes like those of Tino and Cato, the characters change in every season, in general the series is of very low quality, some scenes are very boring and act very badly.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
malísimo
MidoriAi14 April 2019
No se puede esperar nada de esta clase de "shows"No se puede esperar nada de esta clase de "shows"No se puede esperar nada de esta clase de "shows"
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not my salad!
TheMichaelMyersMovieFanatic16 September 2018
I'm so tired of the songs I mean, why the hell are the songs on Spanish? But maybe the series aren't that bad, I just didn't enjoy it when I watched it. I love horror movies though.
6 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
abek_xw20 April 2020
The series has a good plot, however the actors are horrible, terrible, they overreact too much and all the time they repeat the same songs, all of them are in Spanish, there are only some in English but they have poor pronunciation and they don't feel like recording the series, the third season seemed very monotonous and it seemed as if they had not made an effort to do it. They have a very low budget, they do not record in other scenarios, it is always the same and all the time they lengthen the plot too much and put unnecessary scenes like those of Tino and Cato, the characters change every season, in general the series is of very low quality, some scenes are very boring and act very badly.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed