3.8/10
66
4 user 1 critic

Russian Doll (2016)

| Crime, Drama, Mystery | 2016 (USA)
Russian Doll is a female-driven, sexy, edgy crime thriller about revenge. The story begins when a young woman discovers a murder plot, and calls 911. But seconds into the call, she's ... See full summary »

Director:

Ed Gaffney

Writer:

Ed Gaffney
Reviews

Photos

Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
Melanie Brockmann Gaffney Melanie Brockmann Gaffney ... Viola Ames
Kristine Sutherland ... Marjorie Ames
Sarah Hollis ... EJ Fiore
Marem Hassler ... Faith Lowry
Jason T. Gaffney ... Mark / Kevin
Aly Trasher ... Darlene Scarano
Peter S. Adams Peter S. Adams ... Aaron Richmond / Mr. Kaplan
Rico Aragon ... Oliver Bridges / KGB #1 (as Eric Aragon)
Vanessa Dunleavy Vanessa Dunleavy ... Rachel / Jasmine / Lena
Taylor Murphy-Sinclair ... Georgia Bismark / Sophia Kaplan
Sylvia Batey Alcalá ... Sylvia Adler
Cheryl McMahon ... Mrs. Kaplan
Bill Kuhlman Bill Kuhlman ... William Oslo
Annie Kerins Annie Kerins ... Greta
David Singletary ... Philip
Learn more

More Like This 

Levine (2017)
Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.8/10 X  

Plagued by Survivors Syndrome, Madeleine McNamara starts to receive messages from her dead sister Levine one year after she died in a car crash Madeleine herself survived.

Director: Aldous Byron Clarkson
Stars: Eve Carlinsky, Aldous Byron Clarkson, Alyssa Gaia Clarkson
Crime | Drama | Musical
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.5/10 X  

A musical Neo-Noir drama where a patsy is set up to take the fall for a kidnapping that leads to murder. When the money he is paid is stolen, he embarks on a rampage of revenge. Things go ... See full summary »

Director: Julian Grant
Stars: Louie Lawless, Hannah Phelps, Brian Shaw
The Lone Road (2016)
Action | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

"The Lone Road" is a suspense thriller in the vein of "Witness" and "Breakdown". It's the story of a young woman, Elizabeth, who after a couple of personal set backs, takes a mind-cleansing... See full summary »

Director: Christopher Krueger
Stars: Denise Woelpern, Alexis Moeller, Jeffrey Kaye
The Definites (2017)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.8/10 X  

A woman leaves her husband-to-be and instead weds her own wild desire when she flies away to a libidinous, party-filled weekend at Art Basel in Miami.

Directors: Hannah Cheesman, Mackenzie Donaldson
Stars: Brittany Allen, Kristian Bruun, Hannah Cheesman
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

A troubled home....A new school...Two sisters that are trying to survive a bad situation in a disconnected, self-centered world.

Director: Brad Castillo
Stars: Ashley Sperrazza, Hayley Castillo, Jackson Tessmer
Pelican Blood (2010)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

A love story set in the world of obsessive birdwatchers.

Director: Karl Golden
Stars: Harry Treadaway, Emma Booth, Ali Craig
The Ungodly (2007)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.5/10 X  

Mickey is about to get his big break as an amateur filmmaker, from a serial killer who turns him and his camera into 'the perfect witness'.

Director: Thomas Dunn
Stars: Wes Bentley, Mark Borkowski, Joanne Baron
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.4/10 X  

What happens when a bestselling atheist author Professor Mark Gavin loses his faith in atheism? This intense drama asks tough questions and explores why there is no such thing as coincidence.

Director: F.C. Rabbath
Stars: Mark A. Marple, Jada Sanders, Michael Varde
Russian Doll (2001)
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

Harvey, a neurotic private investigator and wannabe crime writer, gets asked to marry his best friend's mistress.

Director: Stavros Kazantzidis
Stars: Hugo Weaving, Natalia Novikova, David Wenham
Horror | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.1/10 X  

Murder and mayhem surround Queens, New York photographer Pamela Garret after she is discovered taking life-altering pictures of ritualistic sacrifice. Her world suddenly becomes a jigsaw ... See full summary »

Director: Thomas J. Churchill
Stars: Rick Borgia, Al Burgo, Ray Capuana
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

In the wake of a tragic emotional event, Angie Dobson is lead to do the unthinkable. She suffers from a history of sexual abuse. Instead of suppressing her feelings, she over indulges to ... See full summary »

Director: Renee S. Warren Peoples
Stars: Brenda Howard, ChelseyRai S. Standberry, Kelvin Rowe
Envisage (2016)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

Follow a normal day in the life of three abnormal people to see what it's like to walk in another person's shoes for a day. Shot entirely in subjective camera, the audience will experience ... See full summary »

Director: Rich Sturdevant
Stars: Fedjwick Sylvanus, Lizz Henderson, Heath Silvercloud
Edit

Storyline

Russian Doll is a female-driven, sexy, edgy crime thriller about revenge. The story begins when a young woman discovers a murder plot, and calls 911. But seconds into the call, she's attacked and abducted. The police investigation into the woman's disappearance leads them to interrogate the cast and crew of a play called 'The Russian Doll.' What the cops don't know is that like a Russian doll, one of the people they question is a killer hiding in plain sight, preparing to avenge a thirty-year-old crime by murdering a cast member on opening night. And what they also don't know is that if they don't act quickly, the kidnapped woman will die, too. Running throughout the movie is a subplot focused on the lead detective, Viola Ames. Viola's wife died two years earlier, and Viola has never really recovered. During her investigation, Viola meets a beautiful young lesbian named Faith. Despite her best efforts to maintain her distance, Viola is strongly attracted to Faith, and struggles to ...

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis


User Reviews

 
Where to start
30 May 2020 | by oakhamlass2See all my reviews

Acting. Cinematography. Plot. Script. In a word...shockingly bad. Its awful in every way. It's like it's been made by a school group. Avoid the waste of your life.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 4 user reviews »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.
Edit

Details

Country:

USA

Language:

English

Release Date:

2016 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

Russian Doll See more »

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Color:

Color (HD)| Color
See full technical specs »

Contribute to This Page

We've Got Your Streaming Picks Covered

Looking for some great streaming picks? Check out some of the IMDb editors' favorites movies and shows to round out your Watchlist.



Recently Viewed