The Luckiest Man: The John Paine Story (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
An inspiring movie for all - not focused on the disease
jenniferpaine2 November 2015
I was amazed at how the story of John's life held so many principles for how we can all live richer lives. His focus on intentionality of relationships and living in the present was something I needed to hear. It's so easy to get focused on planning for the future and working on the daily demands of home and work and forgetting to richly enjoy the current moment.

I think there is something for everyone in this film. His story is not only compelling but motivating. I was amazed at his transparency and willingness to let the audience into his life for us to learn.

The cinematography of combining interviews with old video and new video really enhanced the experience. The hour flew by!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The only thing the matters
nick-033071 November 2015
Rarely in life do you find such wisdom in such a condensed format. This film is a brilliant look at a man who seemingly lost it all only to find out that was really missing everything all along. Once John was "sentenced" to a life of ALS he started to truly experience freedom through a new perspective. You will simultaneously cry and laugh and want to hug everyone in your life that you love. Do yourself a favor and watch this film at least once a year for a real perspective on what we are doing with our lives. It is beautifully produced, thoughtfully written and will have you questioning what you have been doing all along.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unbelievable
hre-2474015 December 2017
I had the privelege of working with both Josh and John Paine at CheapCaribbean.com, Josh was one of the most inspirational leaders I ever worked for, it is easy to see where he gets it from. The numerous times I had a chance to spend a few minutes with John Paine he was always positive, always. I remember one time I told him I was having a bad day, he took his wheel chair into the middle of his office and spun it around several times and asked, Are you still having a bad day. Not a momement I will ever fogot. Tremendous Family.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow! What an amazing testimony and life well lived!
jenron-4227514 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Wow! This was such an amazing film about John Paine. I'm so inspired in my walk with God by watching this and seeing his amazing attitude about his life with ALS. I loved seeing his family and network of friends that have stood by his side and have been so blessed watching him walk through this trial with so much grace. What an amazing inspiration of a life well lived! He will encourage you to walk closer with God and seek him with all you have. What a beautiful well lived life and the type of legacy I would love to leave! I would highly recommend purchasing this DVD and watching it at least once a year. Thank you for sharing your story and life with those around you. Many will be blessed and spurred on in their walks with the Lord! Thank you!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing story that everyone should hear!
lessardiris24 May 2016
I know a fair amount about this debilitating disease, so I was worried that the film may bring on an overwhelming amount of sadness. Although there were some real tear jerk moments, the film perfectly captured the essence of faith, hope, love, and family. The film was incredibly uplifting and inspiring and the producer did a beautiful job of capturing authentic feelings instead of just images. It was incredible how rich of a story was portrayed in just over 60 minutes. I want the world to see this film, as I think John Paine's perspective on life is something that can only bring positive transformation to anyone who is willing to listen.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
FANTASTIC movie
Julie Barber6 May 2016
This movie was so well done and it was truly inspiring to see a man look at his life in detail, face a terrible disease and find pure JOY in all things thrown at him.

This doesn't just bring awareness to ALS - it shows a greater purpose for all of us.

Bravo to all involved. My mom and I both agreed that it caused a heart change in both of us.

God bless you John Paine!

Thank you for being someone that anyone can relate to and for allowing us access into the heart and minds of those who loved you as well.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing story of faith and family!
Jyothi Titus25 November 2015
This was a great film documenting how faith and family can change the focus of a terrible diagnosis. John handled his physical deterioration with such courage and grace. Hearing his story and the realization that life before ALS was like life for many of us, focused on work, family and faith, but not with the intentionality we should have in our relationships with God and family. We let the business of life fill our schedule instead of really living.

That John would embrace ALS for the positive changes that it brought him and call himself lucky was so inspirational and a great reminder of what is truly important in our lives.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Inspirational!
rlphotography25 November 2015
Thanks Paine family for allowing us to be part of your journey! Turning suffering into gratitude is a charge I will take to heart. Excellent documentary. We left inspired, challenged and grateful. Thanks for being vulnerable and exposing yourself to a great audience to share your story. Fotolanthropy, thanks for the hard work you do to bring remarkable stories to us showing true heroes. The Angelika was a wonderful venue. I hope this film is able to continue being shown to more and more audiences, because the message here is timeless and eternal. The film making is lovely. I love that the story spans so many years and shows a progression that takes us from diagnosis to current day.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Story of Hope In a Long Time
johnpaine-934429 November 2015
I really enjoyed this movie! It is more than another inspirational film about someone overcoming bad luck. It is about life. I found the way the story is told through a creative mixture of video elements from the past as well as the present very touching. The addition of interview commentary from multiple family members and friends added color to the story that was being told.

It was beyond "inspiring" as it left me with feelings of hope. It was such a gift to receive from the life of this man. I cannot wait to see this film again, and I have many friends who I would like to invite to watch with me. I am looking forward to the opportunity to share the experience with them.

When I think of movies that have stirred me, it has been a long time since I have felt hope like this. The Luckiest Man is a definite "must see" movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Must Watch for the whole family!
triforhim4 November 2015
Very rarely do you see a film documentary that so captures the will and determination of one man and his battle. With excellent stories woven throughout, stunning cinematography, and a desire to learn even more about ALS, this film captures the hearts of it viewers right from the very beginning. Not only do you see a man who is giving glory to God in his journey, but you see an entire family who has been led by this amazing father and husband! You will see the struggles of ALS in one man, but you will see even more the victory of what it means to be a family in difficult times. This is a great watch for your entire family, don't miss this one!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Inspirational
Laura Myers3 November 2015
This movie was so moving and so incredibly inspiring, my words will not do it justice. John Paine was at the top of his game. He had a successful business career, a loving wife, 4 great kids, lots of close friends, a beautiful home, etc. when he received the devastating news that he had ALS. With the life expectancy of people with ALS being 5 years and John Paine now living with this disease for 15 years, God definitely has a much bigger plan for John's life. When most of us would be shaking our fists at God and asking WHY, he does not. Knowing what ALS would do to his body and that his time on earth was now limited, his faith in God and his love for Jesus Christ has only grown. John's greatest love now is to encourage people and direct them back to God, even in the most horrible of times.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well Done
pastordavidf2 November 2015
Photolanthropy does an amazing job of telling stories. They did a beautiful job of condensing a life full of impact and highlights into a movie that matters. John Paine's life is a story worth telling too. He had deep friendships that were born out of how he treated others, not our of his illness. It made me reflect about the depth of my own friendships and who would be by my side if I became incapacitated. It was also evident that John shared his daily wisdom with others that ALS has actually opened more doors for sharing that wisdom, not less. It was a great way to spend an evening learning about ALS but more importantly being inspired to make an impact in my life. This is a great inspirational story that will make a difference in your life.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Inspiring perspective builder
pschuster-437112 November 2015
I may think I have it good or I may think I have to it bad, but this film helped me to see that if I have a relationship with God through his only son Jesus, I have the chance to have it great.

The best and worst of physical and worldly situations are opportunities to realize how perspective can have a greater impact than any success or limitation.

We get to see the world through new and dependent eyes of John. As he loses more and more of what the world values, he gains a deeper and fuller relationship with the Lord. Rather than despairing, he joyfully depends on Jesus every day. The transformational impact this has on him, his friends and his family makes the viewer take stock of what he or she values most. Thiis movie offers a rare glimpse of how God works in every situation, if only we open our eyes to see it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Humbling, motivating, and definitely inspirational!
Les Howard1 November 2015
This film paints an extraordinarily frank picture of both the physical and emotional sides of life with ALS, yet it does so without beating the viewer over the head with gruesome details or melodramatic pleas for sympathy (or contributions to some ALS research foundation). The physical reality is not a pretty picture by any means, yet in the end I found myself motivated and uplifted to a degree that I could not have foreseen when I sampled the preview. The production itself is excellent, but the content has left me still contemplating its depth and breadth 10 days after experiencing it. Mr Paine serves as a living, breathing (no small feat now) example of how to approach life as a gift on a daily basis while inspiring those around him - the stories from his family, friends and associates chronicled in this film leave no doubt of this. I love the use of home movies from his able-bodied days, especially when contrasted with images of his current existence; together these clearly illustrate how far Mr. Paine's body has degenerated. Yet simultaneously, in both his own words and the testimonies of his loved ones, his amazing spiritual journey along the same time line is conveyed with courage, conviction, humility and transparency. By the end of the film, I was convinced that Mr. Paine genuinely believes he is "the luckiest man." And while I would not trade with him, I cannot disagree with him.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a story!!!
don-2637230 October 2015
This is an outstanding film about an outstanding man! This story was very impactful to me. As a person who is a high achiever and often gets frustrated at the slow pace of things, it was so convicting to see how a Type A person such as John has handled this incredibly devastating disease which has slowed down his life tremendously. He does it with a joy and peace that is amazing.

I highly recommend this film! Take your family, take your friends, take anyone you can find. Go see it with a work group to inspire them, a church small group to encourage their faith, a group of friends that you want to see grow in their faith. Whoever you take (including doing a favor for yourself) will so appreciate your investment in their life.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful, Open-Hearted View of One Family's ALS Journey
Pete Quortrup30 October 2015
My wife and I have been living with her ALS now for several years so we were eager to see this story of another family's experience, and we were very moved by what we saw. John Paine openly shares his physical, emotional and spiritual transformation brought about by this (thankfully) rare and unique disease. John and his family share the highs and the lows and don't hold back. What is most touching is how John comes to see his disease as having borne him gifts he would not have gotten by any other means. When people talk about ALS, they often talk about the hardships but to hear someone share so openly about the emotional and spiritual growth he has experienced is very inspirational. There have been several ALS-themed movies released in the last year, but none of them have done a better job of showing the reality of ALS than this one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A real-life story of brokenness, redemption, and HOPE
bwright-6358530 October 2015
John Paine's story is a source of hope for anyone and everyone who has ever questioned life's circumstances. John defied the odds, did what couldn't be done, and chose to use his 15-year battle with ALS for a purpose greater than himself. Everything about this story---the family; their vulnerability and authenticity; John's strength, perseverance, and dependence; and the overarching story of faith---will capture you, convict you, and move you. John reminds us that there is more to this life than what we can see or do and that we each have a unique role to play. In the end, you will be inspired. John Paine's story is a gift that stays with you long after the movie ends.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a very powerful film...a must see film.....
doug mackinnon29 October 2015
Who didn't do the ice bucket challenge this past year. Through social media it seemed that all of use helped raise funds and awareness for ALS. This film is the prefect follow up to the ice bucket challenge.

My father died of the illness in 1991 at the age of 57. I had a front row seat to see the debilitating effects of ALS on the body BUT "as the outer man decays-the inner man is being renewed". John so wonderfully displays that ALS does not destroy the vibrancy of the spirit that God puts within us but rather makes that spirit shine even brighter. The contented man learns to enjoy the scenery on the detour. The detour in John's life has taken him on a journey that wonderfully reveals that man's extremities are God's opportunities.

Don't miss seeing this film. It will change how you look at life and help you to realize that life's greatest trials can bring about divine excellency within the heart of the believer.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Story of Hope Beyond Circumstances
cwillix29 October 2015
John Paine not only defies the odds of ALS, but excels as a man of peace and serenity despite the circumstances of his illness. His determination that carried him into great success as a business man would now be tested against the diseases' progression and his fate as utterly and completely dependent on others. John found hope to succeed in a new way and his determination refocused to share his hope with others, even as he was dependent. Quickly, John's limitations fade into the background and his story captivates you to LISTEN to the words of his heart. Pearls of wisdom and life lessons offer Hope to anyone, in any circumstance. John is a man who has lived well, and his testimony will change the way you think a life is well-lived. Hear from the immediate family, close friends, John's doctor and John's caregiver throughout this inspiring true story by Fotolanthropy. This movie deals honestly with John's ALS, but is not graphic or uncomfortable to watch. I applaud Fotolanthropy for the way John's story has been told on film giving an honest, but hopeful look to the face of ALS. I applaud the Paine family for allowing their story to be shared.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such a powerful film of faith, family and strength in the midst of suffering
reecenorris27 October 2015
Such a powerful film of faith, family and strength in the midst of suffering. Beautifully captured. This movie and John's courageous fifteen year battle with ALS truly moved me to examine my priorities, focus more on the present, and cherish every moment. In the midst of John's painful physical deterioration caused by ALS, John's faith was his foundation and his family his strength. It was such a moving testimony that no matter what life throws at you, your faith and relationships are the most important. I highly recommend this film as John's story is truly inspirational - but bring a Kleenex and be prepared for self-examination and reflection.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truly Inspirational
Kristin Link28 October 2015
I must admit that while my Facebook newsfeed was FLOODED in August 2014 with news and videos for the ALS ice bucket challenge, I knew very little about what ALS actually was, who it affects or what - if anything - "causes" it.

This documentary opened my eyes to heartbreaking reality that this disease can physically transform the life of even the most vibrant and active individuals, with no pre-determining factors.

But John Paine's story is about so much more than ALS. It is a challenge to all of us about perspective and embracing the "gifts" to be found even in the midst of life's most difficult circumstances. This movie doesn't just stop at giving you tremendous respect for John Paine. It will force you to examine your own heart.

This is truly one of the BEST kinds of movies, the rare gems that cause you to leave the theater in silent reflection, knowing you'll never forget it and knowing that seeing it has changed you.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this film! A MUST SEE
rebekahfinfrock28 October 2015
Before this film, I was not incredibly familiar with ALS. Going in, I knew it was about ALS but after seeing it this film gave me more of an awareness of ALS and what the disease does to a person. While ALS is devastating, it showed how a man chose to truly live once he was diagnosed with the terminal illness and how a family bonded together. I can't say enough about John and his family. John Paine is an amazing man! I could have left with a book full of quotes from him about life and God. I left so encouraged and want everyone to see this film! I believe this is a film that will strengthen the ALS community, will bring awareness to those not familiar with the disease, and be a powerful tool for those who are family members or friends of those with ALS.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed