Maya (2015) Poster

(V) (2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Unnecesarily complicated and tedious .....
PimpinAinttEasy21 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
A woman enters a contest to watch a horror movie alone in a theater. The horror movie itself is placed parallel to the plot with the woman and they converge towards the end.

It is a needlessly intricate Tamil horror film. I am not aware of too many horror films from that language. The first half was intriguing but the film falls apart in the second half. The action scene towards the end went on and on. The sentimental crap involving Nayanthara's kid was unbearable. And lots of name dropping of classic horror films. The director even uses the done to death ropey haired ghost girl in a nightie trope. Jeez! Nayanthara is pretty as a damsel in distress. The rest of the cast was unremarkable.

Most horror movies are 90 minutes long. You can make longer ones if your name is Stanley Kubrick or William Freidkin. Ashwin Narayanan isn't allowed this luxury. Got it?

And why the hell was there a prolonged action scene near the end? Did this Narayanan person think he was making Thevar Magan or something? That was really tiring.

The other reviews suggest that most Indians don't watch world class horror movies. Please watch them before reviewing Indian horror movies. It is so grossly overrated.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
worth watching
mohit_sinsniwal26 May 2019
First of all.......two people deserve a very special mention..... the DIRECTOR and the MUSIC COMPOSER. Even though they are newbies, they have done a very professional job.

Saying any detail about the story may rip the movie off its suspense quotient but putting it simply in words, it's about a woman who dares to take an challenge upon her only to know that she alone wasn't a part in it but also a supernatural force which is on a quest for something.

The movie starts off with a decent pace, initially stumbles down and recovers well only to find the audience super thrilled with the proceedings going on. The audience won't even notice that the interval card's come up leaving them wanting for more and eventually the later half doesn't disappoint about which I don't wish to reveal.

The movie has no star cast apart from Nayanathara who looks gorgeous as ever. She shouldered the character of Apsara(Mayuri in Telugu) and made it past the finish line gracefully. Aari, Amzath Khan, Robo Shankar and the rest have complimented the content of the movie very well.

The director was superbly successful in co- ordinating all the units together to produce a near-perfect output. He didn't waste time in providing cheap thrills in the name of horror. The editor must be appreciated for providing some really good cuts essential to keep the horror factor up especially in an unconventional thriller like maya. Minor glitches which i force myself not to point out were well covered by the technical team to make sure the audience come out with a terrific experience with a tint of emotion. Sound editing and visual effects deserve applause too. The BGM reverberates in the minds of audience keeping the horror element alive.

Overall Maya is a movie I would recommend to true movie lovers and especially it's a feast for horror movie lovers who've been waiting for something really thrilling and spooky on the Tamil screens rather than the usual horror-comedies which are more targetted at the BO for raking in the moolah.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very well made ghost thriller
naveensankaran1825 September 2015
The opening shots, grippy editing and camera handling makes this movie to stand out from the other so called ghost thrillers that are being made in Thamizh cinema. As soon as the movie began, the plot was very clearly presented to us and so the intention of the director.

The detailing is very good as it provides everything in the first half but we are left clueless about what they are relating to actually. We can get the clear view only in the second half. The acting of the lead characters are very crucial in this movie and they did their part very well. BGM and editing deserves special mention as they made this very gripping. Nayanthara did her part very well.

Overall, it is a very well made thriller which deserves our attention. Must watch in theaters.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Tamil horror movie of all times!
srmohancjb19 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Unlike western ingredient of unwanted skin and flesh dominated horror movies, Maya stands out tall with raw acting of Nayanthara in character of troubled wife harassed by moneylenders, rude boss, unfriendly society,.

The who story spirals out only in last 10 mins of the movie which soothes any broken heart. Must watch if your favourite genre is Horror/ thriller/mystery.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing
sharmila-g-rao29 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Maya was on my list for a while and I was waiting eagerly for its release. I am an ardent horror movie lover. Loved the beginning, and the expectation was set and I really thought it would be brilliant.

Pros: Brilliant cinematography. Good concept of a movie within a movie. Loved the male and female protagonists. The first half of the movie was really good.

Cons: Second half was a complete let down and became extremely boring, people actually started laughing and giggling (it was that bad). The portion when they show three graves and how each of them gets killed is so so so long. You keep waiting for some fast-paced action and some kick, but it never comes. At this point, you start getting bored with the importance being given to cinematography over and over again, the pause for each scene is so much that it looks like they are waiting for an appreciation from you. The ring concept is old and very predictable. I actually got up relieved when the director announced the prequel in the movie, but sadly the movie was not over and I still had to tolerate it for another 15 mins.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Rare horror movie.....MUST WATCH
srinivastarun3 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
first of all.......two people deserve a very special mention..... the DIRECTOR and the MUSIC COMPOSER. Even though they are newbies, they have done a very professional job.

Saying any detail about the story may rip the movie off its suspense quotient but putting it simply in words, it's about a woman who dares to take an challenge upon her only to know that she alone wasn't a part in it but also a supernatural force which is on a quest for something.

The movie starts off with a decent pace, initially stumbles down and recovers well only to find the audience super thrilled with the proceedings going on. The audience won't even notice that the interval card's come up leaving them wanting for more and eventually the later half doesn't disappoint about which I don't wish to reveal.

The movie has no star cast apart from Nayanathara who looks gorgeous as ever. She shouldered the character of Apsara(Mayuri in Telugu) and made it past the finish line gracefully. Aari, Amzath Khan, Robo Shankar and the rest have complimented the content of the movie very well.

The director was superbly successful in co- ordinating all the units together to produce a near-perfect output. He didn't waste time in providing cheap thrills in the name of horror. The editor must be appreciated for providing some really good cuts essential to keep the horror factor up especially in an unconventional thriller like maya. Minor glitches which i force myself not to point out were well covered by the technical team to make sure the audience come out with a terrific experience with a tint of emotion. Sound editing and visual effects deserve applause too. The BGM reverberates in the minds of audience keeping the horror element alive.

Overall Maya is a movie I would recommend to true movie lovers and especially it's a feast for horror movie lovers who've been waiting for something really thrilling and spooky on the Tamil screens rather than the usual horror-comedies which are more targetted at the BO for raking in the moolah.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Vibrant Horror movie
ptkkiran11 October 2015
This is probably the best horror movie I have ever watched.Maya is even comparable to the Hollywood blockbuster "The Conjuring".It deserves such greatness.I really congratulate all the team,cast and crew of the movie.The story is very well built and organized and it is been shot so well in realistic places .The music part played a great role to make the audience feel the presence of a ghost.I really appreciate the captain of the ship,director for his efforts to make such a brilliant movie.And last but not least i guess Kollywood is competing with Hollywood by making such grandeur films.I am feeling proud to be a Indian
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Horror movie ever I seen
jaylanics4222 September 2015
This is the best horror movie ever I have seen and this movie is like a Hollywood movie. You have to travel with the movie otherwise you will not understand. Cinematographer Satyan Sooryan has done a great job and big kudos to music director.Director Ashwin narrated the story very well. He proved he was a technical guy. Finally Nayanthara has given her mass performance for this movie. In the same month she given her best acting in Thani Oruvan now in Maya. And the hero of the film Aari proved that he is a talented actor also Lakshmi Priya done her great job. Thoonga Kangal lyrics is really awesome, it was giving the feel like an affection of a mother.I think this is very first time a horror movie came in Tamil without comedy and dances. Once again Kudos to the team..
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thoroughly enjoyable and fresh horror.
rmaneezh22 December 2015
Just when we thought we had seen it all débutant director Ashwin Saravanan bring to table new ways to frighten movie audience. Though I don't know much about camera and editing I can bet that it was good. I was completely immersed in the movie. Although some portions that seem to lag as it nears the climax it makes up with the climax twist that was unexpected and also touchy. Nayanthara was perfect. Her first role portraying as a mother the scenes with the baby oozes with motherly- hood. Aari and all others did their role neatly. I especially liked the acting of the friend of Nayan. I don't know whether its because have a crush on her now. She stuck to her character as a caring friend. Overall a thoroughly Enjoyable, Touchy, Frightening and Fresh Horror Thriller.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed