Risen: The Story of Chron 'Hell Razah' Smith (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Instant Classic Hip Hop Doc
daveh23323 April 2020
This is a documentary about rapper Hell Razah, one of hip-hop's greatest MCs with his uplifting, spiritual and religious angle, originally of Brooklyn's Red Hook group Sunz of Man, and one of the first originally signed to Wu-Tang's record label, who hasn't gotten yet his full spotlight, due to coming down with a brain aneurysm after his breakthrough solo album, Renaissance Child.

I thought this film was very inspirational and educational starting from the birth of hip-hop and revealing its essence and purpose. Overall, Risen is a story of personal triumph, following a very relatable subject and groundbreaking artist, Razah, who uses his life wisdom and hip-hop skills to rise up against difficult odds to find true happiness.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fabulous documentary
kisiel-11 April 2020
Although I am not a big fan of hip hop music, I found this documentary to be fascinating. The film is a human interest story that has you routing for the main subject of the film, Razah. Very well written and performed!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Rap Documentary
JGReviews31 March 2020
Risen is a fascinating documentary -- 18 years in the making -- and follows the promising rapper Hell Razah. He was discovered by Wu-Tang Clan's RZA and has his rapidly ascending rapping career abruptly derailed by a brain aneurism, putting into question whether or not he could fully resume his career. Hell Razah then must go through endless hours of physical rehabilitation to re-teach his body to do basic things like walking and grabbing things with his hands. Risen follows Hell Razah during his recovery through his spiritual journey and new challenges as a rapper. This documentary is a must watch for any fan of rap, but is equally compelling for people looking for a great story.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Inspirational doc
Smgrte2358607 April 2020
Smith's story is absolutely fascinating and I loved learning about how he never stopped, even when things got bad. A message we can all use right now. Even if you're not a fan of hip hop, this is an inspirational life story worth watching.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Incredible Documentary
Risen is fantastic. It's a must see for rap music fans and especially die hard ones. I was so impressed with the footage and research, the interviews of so many great rappers and musicians and the overall depth of this story. The insight provided here also delves into overcoming adversity when personal tragedy strikes, as it did with Hell Razah. It's an inside look into the road to recovery and how painful it can be. The film is still quite uplifting and absolutely worth your time. It struck a big chord with me and I will definitely be recommending it to all of my friends. BRAVO!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Amazingly Inspiring Doc
turrou-66-9070486 April 2020
Even if you don't know who Hell Razah is- or even if you're not a hip hop fan, you'll still love Risen. It follows the roller coaster life of an artist as he finds a strength within him that will inspire anyone who watches. Hats off to the filmmaker for telling the kind of story that educates and lifts up its audience. This film its a perfect example of what only documentaries can provide- true stories that leave the viewers wanting to reach within to find their best selves.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Risen is such a compelling and fascinating documentary.
evelyne-84 April 2020
Risen is such a compelling and fascinating documentary. It follows the promising rapper Hell Razah and his career. He was discovered by Wu-Tang Clan's RZA and has rising successful career which was sadly stopped when he had a brain aneurism. Hell Razah began hours of physical rehabilitation learn to do basic things like walking and grabbing things with his hands and seeing if he could come back to what he loved. Risen follows Hell Razah during his recovery through his spiritual journey and new challenges as a rapper. This documentary is a must watch for any fan of rap, but is equally compelling for people looking for a great story. Such a good cocumentary.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Terrific indie film
craig-ahrens1 April 2020
WOW! Just WOW! Oh my gosh this is a good film!! I'm not exactly what you would call a hip-hop sort of guy. But I must say... this film was just terrific! What a great story with terrific "real" characters. I without a doubt recommend this film to any and all. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it!! Bravo and a big thumbs up from me... us!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Classic Hiphop Documentary
buckeyealum-245686 April 2020
Risen is a great hiphop documentary. The story follows Hell Razah through his journey in the music business that intersects with legendary hiphop group Wutang. As a hiphop head I learned a lot from watching this documentary. Two thumps up.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If you like docs, give ths a watch. No need to be a rap fan to enjoy
williamgway9 April 2020
Great job in documentary film making. I am a fan of documentary films and this deliverers nicely. Risen will appeal to those who know about the subject, rapper Hell Razah, or those who don't. It covers a nearly two decade time frame rise to fame and health issue. You are following the story of whether he can even have a career after the brain aneurysm. It is a gripping storyline as you follow his attempt to rehabilitate and resuscitate his career.

LIke all good docs, I was engrossed to find out how it would work out.

This documentary is a must watch for any fan of rap, but is equally compelling for people looking for a great story. You won't be disappointed.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So much more than just a rap documentary!
Anmer938 April 2020
So much more than just a rap documentary. Don't get me wrong I love the music and fans of the genre will be served greatly but the universal themes of human struggle, debilitating health conditions and striving to overcome impossible odds is the heart of this film, and those are accessible to all.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hip-Hop Documentary
gregwolk7 April 2020
A friend told me to check out this documentary, so I did, even though I'd not previously heard of the the rapper, Hell Rajah. No matter, as it's a fascinating watch even for newbies to his music. The heart and energy put into the making of this doc is stunning, as is the rapper's spiritual and physical journey.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A compelling indie documentary film.
harriscalvin-17 April 2020
Risen was truly a compelling indie documentary film. This film teaches us to not give up when faced with adversity, but also about the love between two people and the dedication to their faith. Director Frank Meyer did a great job getting the best emotional interviews out of everyone invloved in this film. It was awesome to learn about the life of Hell Razah, his connection with such groups like the Wu-Tang Clan and his growth in the music industry. The music, cinematography, and editing were all on point.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Inspiring
lebam-150279 April 2020
Rison: The Story of Chron "Hell Razah" Smith. It's always satisfying to see a movie about a topic that I knew nothing about and to come out loving the subject matter, the people in it, and the film as a whole. Rison: The Story of Chron was such a film. A moving documentary about rapper Hell Razah, who became the youngest member of Sunz of Man, an early affiliate group of the Wu-Tang Clan. Suddenly and without warnings, Chron had a brain aneurysm that deafened his voice and slowly pulled the music out from his inner soul. The years that followed were difficult as Hell Razah went into physical therapy, determined to get back to what he loved most, to become 'the music' once more. Rison: The Story of Chron took us into a world that was misunderstood by mainstream America and introduced us to hard-working artists who had something to say through the world of hip-hop. The Story of Chron is an inspiring and educational story that I strongly recommend.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Inspirational!
andrewtschroeder20 April 2020
Inspiring doc about Hell Razah persevering to overcome a debilitating brain aneurysm and get back to making music. Its a compelling story for more than just fans of his music as he finds love and the faith to work through hard times!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Inspiration and Motivation
christina-0688713 April 2020
Sudden disability is an unexpected equalizer. You do not have to be a rap fan to draw inspiration from the human experience of finding the strength and perseverance to rise to the occasion and overcome unforeseen trials and tribulations. Worth the watch.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Perseverance, and a Second Ascension
TheAll-SeeingI9 May 2020
Robert Juster and Frank Meyer's "Risen: The Story of Chron 'Hell Razah' Smith" charts Chron Smith - aka Hell Razah - a musical leader within the Sunz of Man rap group rising up from the 90s and projected to properly detonate in the new millennium. Renowned for his lyrical prowess and earmarked as a long-term voice within the hip-hop community, Smith suffered an aneurysm and stroke. He kept his life, but at the expense of his original roadmap.

In "Risen...," we first meet Smith in modern day. And while physical and endurance challenges persist, we can see this is a remarkable human being who has worked tenaciously and successfully to remap his intricate brain. And what comes out of it - now, as then - is elite songcraft. Stay tuned.

"Risen..." is a great human-interest story done exceptionally well. Smith cohabitates with his circumstances, and finds a way to win the ass kicking contest despite fate's attempt to tie his legs. Mandatory viewing. - (Was this review of use to you? If so, let me know by clicking "Helpful." Cheers!)
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid Music Documentary
GilbertS-8510 April 2020
Risen: The Story of Chron "Hell Razah" Smith tells us the legend of a hip hop artist, Hell Razah, who initially signed with Wu-Tang's RZA. I've never heard of Razah, so this turned into an exciting history lesson and eye-opening experience of how a 14-year-old can captivate people through music and talent. Surprisingly, I felt like all the people they interviewed had a strong presence on the camera and had cool stories to tell. For me, the documentary's format was: engaging story, music, repeat. If you like hip hop even a little, it's worth watching as a vital music documentary.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great documentary!
stevenking-0862817 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This movie has become the inspiration I needed. No explanation. Be inspired, then act on it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well produced and emotional documentary
lindapalmer29 June 2020
I really enjoyed this documentary. So inspiring and uplifting. Clearly Hell Razah is a gifted musician and courageous man and someone audiences will enjoy getting to know. Definite recommend.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A must for 90s hip hop fans
catia-ojeda12 June 2020
This documentary not only explores the early days of Hip Hop, but the story of rapper Hell Razah and Sunz of Man who are part of the Wu-Tang universe. This is also an unflinching look at the result of a massive brain injury and the difficult road to recovery, told not only by the protagonist but those in the Hip Hop community. Definitely an inside look on a fascinating subject.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fantastic documentary
filmentity-205164 June 2020
This documentary was really eye opening for me. I knew a lot about eighties rap music, but was not so well versed in the 2000's so it was so interesting to follow the journey of this artist. And what an amazing journey at that! The inspiring way he leads his life is uplifting even though what he went through and is still going through is so difficult and challenging. I had never even heard of the Sunz of Man and it was fascinating to me that their lyrics were about biblical stories as well as social issues. Personal struggle told in a compelling and visually interesting way. Well done! My kind of movie for sure.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great rap doc
directortim201217 May 2020
I like some rap and hip-hop, but you actually don't need to be a huge fan to respond to this film. The rise, fall and rise again of Hell Razah is a sometimes painful yet inspirational story. A journey anyone could respond to. This is a really well made documentary with a great story to tell. I strongly recommend it!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow...this defies description...right on!
kennyhughes16 May 2020
What a crazy cool ride. Very unpredictable. It starts with the hard core hip hop kids out of the east coast. So good for all the hard core kids to see this...cuz...it gets real in the best way. It starts with the music and the crazy creativity that rocketed them all out of the hood...and then...left turn...major medical issue...the kind that makes you grow up fast...then left turn...love and sacred discovery. I don't say this lightly...I don't flop over when someone says a religion BUT...when someone finds the sacred path through the inner city, creativity, fame, medical crisis, crash and burn and loss, struggle, hanging in, loss...then finding it. Like Luke in the cave with Yoda battling himself, like that time that any of us has lost it all and then hung on...except times 2000. Grow and learn by watching this all the way. It will twist and turn so get ready to take a ride.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing documentary
mahayanafilms14 May 2020
Very inspiring story ....What a journey....A must watch for people who love human spirit movie....
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed