Demon (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
I guess this might be a spoiler but everyone is missing an important point
prathert16 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A little unpleasant Polish history is beneath (no pun intended) this story. After the Germans invaded and murdered Poland's two million Jewish citizens, a lot of vacant property was left behind.

That's all I will say, except this is a wonderful ghost story and it's truly sad that the director chose to take his own life.
26 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quietly Creepy
alisonc-126 July 2016
Through his best friend in London, Peter (Itay Tiran) meets Zaneta (Agnieszka Zulewska), and soon he travels to her home village in Poland to marry her and settle down in the large, if somewhat isolated, house of her parents. Left there overnight, he does some digging and appears to uncover a skeleton; but the next morning, the hole and the bones are gone, and Peter has spent a rather strange night. Shrugging it all off, Peter and Zaneta marry and a huge party is held at the house; much dancing, speechifying and, especially, drinking of vodka ensues. But Peter isn't feeling quite himself shortly after the party begins, and soon he's acting *very* much out of character…. This is a retelling of the Yiddish tale of the dybbuk, a kind of ghost story, and it's very well done here - the acting is excellent, the atmosphere alternates between wild partying and sheer creepiness, and the horror, while striking, is more of the quiet variety than the blood-splatter type (for which I was grateful). I don't know how available it is in North America - I saw it at Montreal's always-brilliant Fantasia Festival - but it's well worth searching for!
35 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
'Demon' is the strangest wedding movie ever!
bryank-0484426 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Every couple has their own expectations and fantasies for their wedding day. It's usually filled with flowers, rings, songs, and tons of drinks, hugs, and kisses. Every goes home, snuggles with their loved one, and almost always lives happily ever after. Most people say that your wedding day is one of the best days, if not the best day of your life, but that's not the case with Marcin Wrona's 'Demon', which is more or less an odd tale about the Jewish myth of the dybbuk.

First off, this film is beautifully shot. Wrona's eye for such a haunting atmosphere such as this setting is unlike anything I've ever seen. Even though the film takes place over the course of someone's wedding day, the mood and setting is extremely uneasy, as you'd expect something very sinister to pop out at any moment. There is a very Kubrick-ian feel to the movie as well, letting shots linger to build suspense and tension. The follows Piotr and his soon-to-be bride as they cross a river to a family plot of land to exchange their vows and dance the night away at their reception.

Soon enough, Piotr hears some strange noises, inspects these sounds outside and falls into a pit of mud. Next thing you know, he's cleaned off and about to marry his beautiful bride, but he starts showing some very strange behavior in the form of having seizures, speaking different languages, and seeing things in the distance. The wedding party, mostly his brother-in-law and father-in-law begin to think the worst and try to calm the guests from having a meltdown, which was strange, because most all the guests at the party are either drinking heavily, having sex, or dancing with a mixture of all three at certain points.

It was a bit of comic relief for sure, but the one person who might know what's happening with poor Piotr is a Jewish professor, who does indeed believe Piotr is possessed by something on his wedding day. Things eventually play out fairly slowly in a very 'Shining-esque' way, which is also similar to Kubrick here, which was nice to see. I wouldn't say 'Demon' will scare the socks off of you, but it builds some fairly good suspense throughout until its reveal, which will have you thinking back to the very beginning of the film and everything you've seen up until then.

It's a shame and very sad that director Marcin Wrona suddenly passed away less than a week ago from writing this review, because if this film 'Demon' is any pre- cursor for what he could have done behind the camera, we would have seen greatness.

Recommended!
34 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Polish history beneath the surface
mikeyjwill13 August 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I love that this movie has ties to a back history that occurred in Poland. Fantastic "ghost story" I don't want to say too much, but watch it and see for yourself-when you see the picture frame of the married couple at their wedding in the rubbage. My take is this...the couple indeed had a wedding day and gets married but my opinion is that they never were married long with Germany invading, etc.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Dybbuk Wedding
Shadowplayed29 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The washed out, depressing landscape greets us at the beginning of this Polish film.

Film promises the bleak journey into the heart of rural Poland where our self-assured protagonist (Pole living in England) expects to meet his wife to be, seal the deal and start a new life with his beautiful Polish bride.

You gotta know a little something about Slavic weddings...they are drunken and unpredictable. Well, surely not all of them, but the mentality permits a bit of over-the-top behavior fueled by the good ole booze, for sure. Isn't it the same worldwide? Not like the rural Slavic wedding, no.

Hence, aside from some hints it's not easy to determine what's wrong with the groom. Yeah, he's seeing the unmarked grave and the skeleton, he's seeing ghost of a Jewish girl, he's twitching and having seizures...yep, the guy's possessed.

The story goes back and forth from in-laws trying to cover up the groom's bad state to dancing and drinking, but he's in such a bad shape it's no longer possible to hide. Finally the old Jewish professor attending the wedding gets called to examine the man, but....

The story ends before it has gotten a proper explanation, bit of backstory, just pieces of a dream, hints and photographs. We are left to fill in the blanks on our own, but it was an interesting ride, and the "clinging spirit" does not let go of a marked soul.

If you compare this possession film to (traditionally filmed) American films in the same vein, it's very different, and therein the key to the East European cinematography appreciation lies. It's extremely realistic, bleak, the mud is muddy and the sky is overcast; nothing is either romanticized or glamorous, rather very raw. There lies the dramatic effect, cause the world where the characters live is very much 'real', never dreamy, not even for supernatural activities' sake. The complexity of everyday life is stressed in all its ordinary, fleshy glory.

I find the dybbuk legend to be very interesting, it mostly appears in old German and Polish films, but like every demon it has its needs and its path, much like any other you're likely to encounter in western cinematography. Those demons, they all want the same, a living being to cling to and possess their soul so that the body can become a vessel. What then...well, I guess it's nice to be among humans again! Also, the most interesting thing here is the stark contrast between the world of living and the dead, the joy and sorrow, which can become one, which always live side by side, as one of the final shots reveal nicely. Nice film to ponder on, surely open to interpretation and one that demands multiple viewings to fully appreciate.
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
demons and buried skeletons
dromasca11 November 2020
The story surrounding the film 'Demon' made in 2015 by Polish director Marcin Wrona is almost as tragic as the story in the film, and builds around it a special aura. The director committed suicide shortly after the premiere, during a festival that promoted this third and final feature film of his, a film that has in its center a wedding that ends tragically. Marcin Wrona himself was freshly married and left behind a young wife (who had also been one of the film's producers). Those who believe in such phenomena may speculate that perhaps some of the evil spirit exemplified by the phenomenon of 'dybbuk' described in the film has spilled over into reality. The rest of us can mourn the disappearance of a film director who was on the path to become one of the most representative for Poland, and beyond the borders of his country. 'Demon' is a very interesting film, which does not leave its viewers indifferent, located somewhere between the Gothic horror genre with elements of Polish and Jewish folklore, and the art film with social and historical commentary. The film is a Polish-Israeli co-production, which is, I think, also first time kind of collaboration.

Pyton (Itay Tiran) comes from London to a remote village in Poland only accessible by ferry (the bridge collapsed some time ago) to marry Zaneta (Agnieszka Zulewska), the daughter of the owner of the stone quarry that seems to be the main industry of the village. The two had only met her via skype, but we can't blame him because Zaneta is a blonde beauty, or her because she probably dreams that sooner or later she will get London. The problem is that for now Pyton dreams of reverse migration, learns Polish, changes his name (and personality?) to Piotr before the wedding, and begins to renovate a dilapidated house to settle in. The bulldozer used for the works uncovers a buried corpse, and from here, an evil force seems to be released and takes possession of Pyton who became Piotr on the day and during his wedding. Did a demon take over him? Are we perhaps dealing with a phenomenon of 'dybbuk' descended from the Jewish folklore and mysticism, in which souls that do not find peace take possession of foreign bodies and refuse to release them until they see their goals achieved? Are the strange events taking place in this Polish Catholic village related to the history of the Jewish community, a whole world that disappeared in the Holocaust with only one survivor alive in the person of an old teacher?

The film oscillates between grotesque, social satire and horror, adding at the end a commentary with historical significance. The light, comic, folkloric tone of the wedding scenes can lead viewers to false path, as the final message is much gloomier, telling about the impossible reconciliation between an amnesic present and a past that does not let itself be buried and returns to haunt the descendants or accomplices of wrongdoers. The cinematic execution is not perfect and the spectators are required to focus so as not to omit details or clues that flip on the screen for only a few seconds. I liked the cinematography and the acting of the Polish team , who managed draw clearly both the lead roles and the smaller ones that make up the social background of the story. Itay Tiran, who plays the lead role, was at the time of making the film in 2015 a mega-star of Israeli theater, the most talented and successful actor and director of his generation. (Since then he has decided to move to Berlin, where he started a new career from scratch). His roles in film are, in my opinion, a bit marked by theatricality and this happens also in 'Demon'. What works perfectly on stage (Tiran played on stage Klaus Mann's Mephisto among others) doesn't work as well on screen, and he lost me exactly in the 'demonic' scenes. For all its imperfections, Marcin Wrona's farewell film is a meritorious cinematic work, an experience not to be missed.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jewish Wedding
kosmasp22 November 2016
This is surprisingly funny for a scary movie. But don't be fooled by the comedy or the lack of color. It is scary and it will take you on a wild ride. If you are into it, and if you want to see what "legend" exists for Jews. It's the Dybbuk (if I wrote that correctly that is) and it is a very mad and bad entity.

And it happens on one of the happiest day of ones life. Or it should be. But the movie plays with many things, expectations and while in other instances it just doesn't fit, they made it work in this case. It takes a spin on something you have seen a couple of times and makes it feel fresh and inspired. And for that, I love this little independent horror movie, that does not have explicit scenes as a stronghold, but rather strong characters and an interesting story
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
???
Foutainoflife31 July 2018
I was thoroughly enjoying this and it just ended. What's up with that? I wanted more answers. That was disappointing. I will say that one of the best and somewhat comical aspect was just how much drinking went on. These folks were lit! I mean all of them were wasted to the point that it could've passed for a zombie flick. I like it but I had to lower the rating because of all the questions that were left unanswered.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Eerie, beautiful, nightmarish
laurie-866671 April 2020
I can't adequately express how much I liked this film. First of all, it's a beautiful film and the acting is brilliant. The plot thickens with some small and some not so small clues. I also love that the ending leaves you guessing! Sometimes I hate those endings but in this case it works and it will leave you ruminating in an excruciatingly delightful way for days after watching. Another reason why I tend to love foreign films. They don't feel the need to wrap up the ending into a tidy package.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Creepy psychological drama from Poland
paul-allaer1 October 2016
"Demon" (2015 release from Poland; 94 min.) brings the story of Peter, an English guy who is about to marry his Polish fiancée. As the movie opens, we see Peter arriving at a construction site, and in conversation with his future father-in-law, who expresses doubt about the upcoming marriage, given the apparent short courtship between his daughter Zaneta and Peter. But the wedding plans are on. Later that day, Peter arrives at the countryside home of Zaneta's family, which is in dire need for some fixing up. When Peter does some cleaning up in the yard, he comes across the remains of a skeleton, and before we know it, strange things start happening. At this point we're not even 15 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is perhaps billed as a horror movie, but it really isn't. It really is more of a psychological thriller, rooted deeply in Polish family traditions. Much of the movie plays out over the course of the long wedding night (ceremony, followed by the wedding reception, dinner, and post-dinner celebration). I noticed in the movie's credits that it is in fact based on a theater play, and the movie certainly reflects that (and that is not meant as a criticism). Rather than a horror story, you instead get the constant feeling that something creepy is going on. There are a number of worthwhile performances, including Israeli actor Itay Tiran as Peter/Piotr and Andrzej Grabowski as the patriarch of Zaneta's family. Given the nature of the film, I don't want to disclose much more, but I can only tell you that I became transfixed as this played out, and couldn't hardly believe it how quickly this all went by.

The movie premiered at the 2015 Toronto International Film Festival, yes, over a year ago. (Sadly, the movie's director Marcin Wrona took his own life not long thereafter.) It opened without any pre-release fanfare or advertising at my local art-house theater here in Cincinnati this weekend, and I couldn't wait to see it. The Friday evening screening where I saw this at was attended poorly, just a handful of people. Given the lack of marketing, it didn't really surprise me. If you are in the mood for a creepy (in the best possible way) and haunting psychological drama, I'd readily recommend you check this out, be it in the theater, on Amazon Instant Video, or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Structurally sound, but man is it boring
paulsgondea6 July 2020
Demon is a low budget Polish flick, that primarily takes place in the span of one night. There's nothing really.... wrong with the movie, but I can't justify giving it more then 3 stars when i spent more then half the movie wanting to turn it off.

So what I mean by that. Movie is structurally sound. The plot moves at a snails pace, but it makes sense and moves in a way that makes sense. Direction is fine, cinematography is good, same with the acting. There's nothing really WRONG with the movie looking at it in that objective point of view, and I can get the high reviews it's gotten. It's also a foreign film and moves differently then most american made film does, and i know that gets some extra points in people's eyes.

But. it is. SO boring. I'm not even the type that gets bored by slow moving movies. I usually love slow movies. Demon though, it's slow to a fault. Over the course of this wedding night, and that's the only spoiler i'm going to give, a lot happens but in the end you realize nothing really has happened. Not only that, I felt absolutely no connection to any of the characters, and what was going on with them. It's my belief that slow movies work well because they tend to be more character driven, but Demon ends up eliciting no emotions at all. I want to care about what's happening over the course of this night, but man I just don't care about what happens to any of these characters.

I don't want to give any spoilers, but the central plot in this movie comes and goes with no real resolution, and no real reason why it happened.

Which again, would be fine, if the movie was successful in making you connect with its characters. but because it doesn't, the whole movie starts to unravel and lose its whole purpose. is it a character study? is it a metaphor for race relations between the polish and jewish? I can't even tell the genre of the movie. It's advertised as horror but has neither jump scares nor any slow tension or buildup. At best I would call it a drama but usually dramas... you know... illicit drama.

So in the end, the bones for this movie are all there, but there's a serious lack of purpose, emotion, motive, and direction.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Truly Thought-Provoking Horror
kenlonghouse11 April 2020
I went into "Demon" with no expectations. I really like slow-burn ("mature") horror films, but have started to feel lately like I had already seen most of the really great ones. Then I saw "Demon".

Undoubtedly, "Demon" is going to be a decisive film. People are either going to get it or they won't. I'll admit, it took me about 90 minutes lying in bed afterwards to finally have that "eureka" moment when I finally solved the film's central mysteries. But once I did, spent hours afterwards amazed by how well all the pieces fell into place. The film is subtle, but the dots really do connect.

I've read some people say that you need to be well versed in Polish culture and Jewish lore to appreciate this film. That is not true. I don't want to play spoiler, so I'll instead say that you simply need an extremely rudimentary knowledge of Polish history over the last century to get this film. If after a day you have still haven't figured the film out, go online afterwards and look up the answer. Once it makes sense, you'll be amazed at how well the film works.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wild Polish Wedding Possession
Grimsonia14 February 2020
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie until the last 15 minutes or so. The wild polish wedding in rural isolation with the foreshadowing of a death and funeral a few miles away, the clueless, friendless groom from out of town London and the Father of the bride trying desperately to keep everything seemingly normal, "It's food poisoning", while his son in law gets possessed by the spirit of a, probably murdered, young Jewish girl from over a generation ago and does a St. Vitus Dance at the wedding.

The groom finds a skeleton near his new home right under the nose of his wedding venue and tries to keep it a secret as the spirit begins to take possession. The hilarious cowardly priest and the rather sad scene where one old Jewish wedding guest realizes the groom is now speaking Yiddish and the spirit talking through the groom is of a young Jewish girl he once knew who thinks her whole family is still alive waiting for her.

The build up is fantastic and the location and characters reactions all make this story feel very real, as if it could be taking place right now somewhere in Poland, but the ending gives nothing. You must decide what happened with the spirit and the poor groom. All said, I still really enjoyed the movie.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
They moved the headstone but not the body!
dfranzen7021 March 2019
Ok, so this guy gets a plot of land and property as an early wedding present and, while using a backhoe to dig out a new pool, unearths a skeleton. Not wanting to upset his bride to be, he doesn't mention it. However, on the night of the wedding ceremony and reception (held on the same premises), it appears that the subject can't really be ignored. This is a very interesting, and fast-paced, take on a classic demonic possession tale - in this case, the Jewish dybbuk legend - and it gets creepier and creepier as it continues along. Sure, it's in Polish, but as with many horror movies there's no overabundance of thick dialog. I'd say it's slick and mildly plausible. Well, in the arena of demonic possession, anyway.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Disturbing psychological thriller that demands viewers connect the dots
amgolla7 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
A serious and disturbing movie, all the more so as the director took his life shortly after its release. Billed as a take on the legend of the dybbuk, it is more an indictment of keeping secrets in Postwar Poland. The movie focuses on Peter, an outsider we assume has Polish background but has grown up in England. He comes to the rural Polish town his fiancee Zaneta is from to marry her and settle down. The film has two tracks: an ostensibly happy, folklore-ish Polish wedding with beautiful rustic setting & costuming, traditional music, and the ties of friends and family; and the story of the land and house Zaneta's grandfather has willed her, which we find out rather quickly has dark secrets. Keeping those secrets hidden is the main motivator of action: whether by not telling anyone what we have found, physically covering it up with an earth mover, silencing those who speak out, playing the music loudly, or pouring more and more vodka. Peter and Zaneta are the only ones who can't hide the secrets: Peter because they increasingly throughout the night manifest in his body, and Zaneta because she has been kept innocent. This is a deeply atmospheric film with lots of metaphoric imagery. The film hints at but doesn't detail what the secrets are - if you don't know something of the history of rural Poles & Jews in Poland during the WWII era it may be difficult to understand what is going on. We never find out the specific crime or who was at fault: whatever happened or who did matter less than the ongoing cover up, which all but one guest is complicit in: of the literal skeleton & family history, and then of its manifestation in the bridegroom. It also doesn't provides a neatly packaged ending - it seems the issue of dealing with the past has been solved by disappearing its manifestation, Peter, and that Zaneta has decisively rejected nostalgia & the romantic ties of the land. It's a very stark ending and an indictment of those who would celebrate the cute aspects of folk culture without addressing its darker aspects.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best Wedding Movie Ever.
runelighter12 March 2019
Tons of booze. Everyone's drunk. Epileptic dancing. Possessed groom. Sex with the band...and it lasts all night until dawn. Just like any wedding should be, it's scary, funny, and just downright nuts.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Psychological drama. Sure. Comedy. Yes. Horror. None.
Patient4442 October 2016
Well the fact that yet another movie was presented as horror when it had nothing to do with the genre, makes it all so beautiful! Really! I saw Demon and Neon Demon, one after the other, and I've seen less horror than when I run out of toilette paper.

Sure the movie gets you sucked in, you start to feel the dizziness, the walls seem to get closer and the alcohol is starting to play tricks on you. The movie is efficient, for a drama, a nice depiction of some Polish habits, some interesting facts here and there, and then, nothing! Out of the blue, you get the end credits. Abadi abadi abadi aba- That's all Folks!

So you're a horror fan and you curious, so you'd like to throw an eye on Demon. But are you sure? I mean, not for the horror part, I hope. In rest, sure, as I previously stated, this has some different elements to offer. No horror. No scares. No tension. Just a lot of unanswered questions. If you can put up to this, then by all means, go be disappointed.

Cheers!
15 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Dybbukal
begob8 December 2016
On the big day for an engaged couple the groom uncovers a grim secret, and the celebrations don't go quite as intended ...

This seemed so intriguing, and I was rubbing my hands as the action kicked off at a lively pace with good humour from the actors. Then we switch to a Polish-Jewish wedding, with great music and dancing and lots of knowing observations. But where's the horror? Instead we get an oblique reflection on the secrets buried in sad soil - it's worth the telling, but doesn't dare to be explicit. I guess the aim was to achieve a haunting atmosphere, but it doesn't really make it - although the fate of the director after the movie was released adds a terrible twist. Is there any such thing as a Jewish horror movie?

Performances are good, but the plot and characterisation are uneven. There's a running joke with characters getting soaked in rain and vodka, and the photography is good. One scene is captured brilliantly, when the couple emerge from the church and get caught in a flurry of snow and umbrellas.

Music is OK, with a joke about Chopin that then fails to switch the music from electronic to piano. Lots of play with several languages and a few puns.

Overall: Spirited but not demonic.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Interesting all the way
advimrankhalid20 April 2020
This movie had all the ingredients scary, funny, creepy etc. What would happened to a family who knew on a wedding day that groom is possessed/lunatic or don't exactly knew what is happening to him then how would they react? I think most of the families react the same way how the family in this movie reacted. Every reaction felt so real. Big budget production movies should learn from this movie that a horror movie is not to be made with cheap jump scares rather it is the story which should be focused. Acting from all stars was also brilliant. Great movie!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Atmospheric
vacilando6 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is one of those movies that the trailer makes the movie look way better than it actually is. Having said that, this movie is not a disappointment, but it lacks a certain something...say a reason. Mostly this movie is an atmospheric romp through a really long Polish wedding that keeps getting chased around in circles either by the weather or by the family trying to hide the fact that the bridegroom is 'not feeling well'. The music in this film is fun and keeps the gaiety up and I did enjoy the juxtaposition of extreme happiness and utter despair as expressed via the lead actress. She was the only one who was not ready to give up on her lover, though, she, like everyone else, 'barely knew him.' I got the impression because the groom was so new to everyone that they were just ready to dump him and forget about him, and for that, this movie lacked a certain genuine humanity. The ending confirmed my suspicions. I also suspect that the director found himself in a dark place in his head after making this film and perhaps related a little too much to the lack of humanity and compassion in the world....
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Long, but pointless...
desertbear3421 May 2020
I like to think that I keep an open mind when it comes to foreign films, especially with cultural differences, but this differences were not the reason why I didn't care for Demon. The ending was completely open and not in a good way. I enjoyed seeing a Polish style wedding and traditions as my Heritage is mostly Polish and that was fine, it was the last act that just kind of wandered around. The closure offered no answers, lessons learned, or something to think about, it almost feels like there were a couple of scenes missing at the end that would have closed out the movie.

Do not recommend
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What the f was that?
airsnob5 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie could have been so good. Great acting , atmosphere, insight, writing. It was a treat to see something so Polish. You really get to visit a small polish town and meet the locals here. But they just went so far off into left field with the plot. First of all, it's not the normal possession film. The groom gets possessed by a ghost. Not a demon. In fact it's weird that the title of the movie and everyone thinks this is about a demon.. a meek, sweet, murdered Jewish girl isn't a demon! The movie just went a little south.. misdirected. The entire thing. From the title , to how characters reacted and handled the mishap, the end, it just wasted itself. It isn't a horror movie at all. It's a drama . It might be a comedy in Poland, but in America it isn't. The humor is polish and drunk. So it misses a beat there just with the cultural lost in translation thing. I think there is a subtle prejudice too throughout this movie and I can't honestly tell if it's a good thing or a bad.. I can't tell if they are serious or if they are trying to show how bad prejudice is. I also sort of fast forwarded the end of the movie but as far as I could tell, there was no big town secret that came out. TNhe bride here really stole the show though. She is going to be a star if she doesn't get hooked on coke. She is talented , fetching , beautiful and charismatic.. if anything it's her showcase. Hopefully we will see her in more movies. Also the sad Jewish man was superb. The grooms performance was just .. weird. Like I said lots is lost in cultural translation , there is a lot here that we just don't get because we aren't polish. So would I rent it? No. Would I pay to go see this? No. I would say probably the only way this movie should be watched is if you're polish , want to go to a polish wedding, or if you enjoy foreign movies for the sake of being foreign. There really isn't a plot here, no mystery, no real character development that you want to see or know about, and no substance. Like I said, pretty much a waste of money, film and movie time. This should have been a play. It just isn't a film. And there isn't enough wackiness to make it an art house film either .. all in all, just blah and the ending was blah too. Nothing happened. Nothing is resolved . Obviously the writers here didn't attend a writing school... it was all very anticlimactic. It would have been nice if we found out who the ghost was, why she was there, who murdered her. Why she died. And also to have her either leave the groom, or be set free , something . Like I said I did fast forward the end, it just got so tedious that I wanted to see if anything actually happened and all that it seemed like happened was nothing. The groom takes off, never to be seen again and the end.
7 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
'False Alarm' ROFL all these guys were STUDS
SanDhuBoy058 February 2020
For the first 10-15 mins I thought i put on the wrong movie.. but boy does it sprint as the wedding begins.. one of my all time great gem of a movie.. ThumbsUp
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is not a horror movie...Nope! Not at all!
reezwanamin21 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The plot of the movie appears to be nice at the beginning, however, later on, it's all about stupid wedding ceremony activities and all garbage talking. Acting is not impressive at all. Every time you would expect that maybe something is going to happen, however, it would disappoint you till the end. I have never seen such an awful demonic possession where the possessed person is not being able to harm even a fly, instead vanishes without a trace! The plot itself is ambiguous and incomplete. If you don't want to spoil 2 hours of your life (especially of a weekend), never ever watch this piece of crap. Even watching Child's Play instead would be 10 times better than this junk. Absolutely rubbish!
9 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Some ups and downs...
youngcollind23 April 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Starts with a nice build to an interesting unique concept, but shifts gears midway and ends up winding down to a sorta anti-climax, that while subverting Hollywood norms, is also kinda a let down. The style and performances are top notch though, it just didn't live up to it's promise.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed