The Best of Enemies (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
131 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
useful
Kirpianuscus18 November 2020
More important than the real facts, remains the fine performances and the powerful message. It is more than a past page or portrait of steps of desagregation of schools, transformation of a man or just image of racial problems in 1971 and profound change of attitude, beginning of a friendship but, for our time, remains an useful warning. So, just useful.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
He'll get used to it.
nogodnomasters8 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
In 1971 C.P. Ellis (Sam Rockwell-ignore the pierced ear) was the president of the Klan in Durham, N.C. He blocked everything the black community was attempting to accomplish with the help of a white town council. Ann Atwater (Taraji P. Henson and not Octavia Spencer) is a leader of the black community struggling to survive. A school fire forces the issue of school integration on the community. Bill Riddick (Babou Ceesay) is called in to have a charrette, a form of arbitration, to decide the issue. People on the opposite side of the issue are forced together to come to a conclusion.

The word "Committee" is misspelled. Perhaps by design. In Augusta, Ga. the city council still says "edumacation" instead of education.

The film was well acted and the script was well written. I was confused (and still confused) as to why this had to happen. All schools were forced to integrate from the 1955 ruling so it was inevitable. A win for the segregationists would have just have been a delay. This was never mentioned. What is interesting is that the phrase "Know your enemy." The Klan admitted they knew nothing about black people. It was Ann's knowledge of C.P. Chase's family that gave her the upper hand. Heartwarming, inspirational, and timely.

Guide: No swearing, sex, or nudity.
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
On opposite sites
kosmasp4 July 2021
I don't know if I live long enough to see certain things change. Or evolve to a degree where movies like this one seem far removed from reality. While some may think, come on it isn't even close to that right now - and they may be right for most of America ... there still is an underlying and even worse, some systemic racism left - the previous administration was more than a perfect example for that backwards kind of thinking.

But away from current day politics and back to what this real life story is telling us. To think that someone thought it would be a good idea to put a Klan leader and an (colored) activist together ... may sound like a far stretch. But the movie makes you buy it. It's trying to appease both sides while not really moving forward much ... or will that happen? Because progress cannot be stopped and all that ... I'd say the movie is predictable, but still quite well done to say the least.

Racism and discrimination exist all over the world. And maybe you are not into watching a movie that has this highlighted - it's your right to chose whatever movie you want to watch. Just try not to be a cynic about it (I know I tend to go that way as defense mechanism, so things that are obviously wrong do not affect me as much ... but they still exist, whether I see them and acknowledge them or not ...)
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
School desegregation, 1971 Durham, N.C.
TxMike15 September 2019
My wife and I watched this movie at home on BluRay from our public library. The disc has some interesting "extras" including taped interviews of each of the two main characters in their later years.

This story is factual, about real people. It was an important chapter in the long road towards eliminating discrimination based on skin color, a journey far from being completed. It was 1971 in Durham, N.C. and even though laws had already been implemented to eliminate desegregation in schools the city officials and the KKK had thus far prevented it. When a fire at the all-black middle school caused a big problem the issue came to a head.

The two main characters, two people who initially despised each other, are Taraji P. Henson as black activist Ann Atwater and Sam Rockwell as local businessman and KKK leader C.P. Ellis. An interesting outfall of the events in 1971 was their becoming good friends for the rest of their lives.

The movie is uncomfortable most of the time, as it should be. This was a very serious time, but in the end it shows that hatred and prejudice is a result of fear and lack of understanding, usually on all sides.

A very well made and well acted story.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I'm deeply moved
Gordon-1120 August 2019
This film tells the story of two opposing parties in the racially segregated society decades ago.

The story is captivating and beautifully told. It tells a process of increasing mutual understanding, thereby reaching a groundbreaking consensus. It is a thought provoking and truly inspiring tale. I am deeply moved by it.
50 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fabulous acting
Calicodreamin16 July 2021
A moving and true story brilliantly brought to light by Rockwell and Henson. The characters are well cast and well acted, the leads have great chemistry, and the story is moving. It hits some deep topics in an easy to handle way and ends on a hopeful note, which I appreciate. Love seeing the real people at the end.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
a feel good look at a moment in history
ferguson-65 April 2019
Greetings again from the darkness. It's easy to complain (and many do) about how Hollywood usually explores racism. Sometimes the stories seem a bit over-simplistic, as with THE HELP, GREEN BOOK, and HIDDEN FIGURES; however, rather than criticize, perhaps we should be thankful for any effort to prod. Often getting the conversation started is the best first step. That's really the message from Robin Bissell's directorial debut of a script he adapted from Osha Gray Davidson's 1996 book "The Best of Enemies: Race and Redemption in the New South". Mr. Bissell has previously been Executive Producer on THE HUNGER GAMES and SEABISCUIT, and Mr. Davidson's book was previously adapted for a stage production.

Based on a true story that took place in 1971 Durham, North Carolina, the film portrays the remarkable events that led to the integration of public schools and a stranger-than-fiction friendship. Taraji P Henson stars as Ann Atwater, an African-American activist and community organizer, while Sam Rockwell co-stars as Claiborne "CP" Ellis, the Exalted Cyclops (basically the Chapter President) of the Ku Klux Klan. It seems the previous stranger-than-fiction description is aptly applied here when an aggressive black woman known as "Roughhouse Annie" can effectively sway the long ingrained beliefs of a KKK leader, and forge a friendship that would last 3 decades.

A school fire that partially gutted the elementary school attended by the black children in the community was the proverbial spark that kicked off the chain of events. When the white folks refused to share their school, the black children were forced to hold classes in the areas least affected by the fire ... while demolition and renovation was being carried out. This led to the NAACP getting involved, which resulted in a judge ordering a "Charrette" - a blend of a committee and a civic debate - to determine how the community would move forward. Bill Riddick (Babou Ceesay, FREE FIRE, 2016) was charged with organizing the Charrette, and he named Ms. Alexander and Mr. Ellis as co-chairs. Keep in mind this was 17 years after Brown vs. Board of Education ruled in favor of school desegregation, but many pockets of the south were slow to come around.

The story structure offers synchronicity between the lives of Alexander and Ellis, as they each struggle with poverty and family challenges. It's just one of the ways of trying to show they were more alike than different, and much more of the time is devoted to how the transition slowly occurs for Ellis. Of course, even though each side dislikes the other, it's Ellis whose eyes must be opened as he clings to the only way of life he's known. Because of this, Mr. Rockwell has the meatier role, but it's Ms. Henson (and her fat suit) who draws the most laughs and nods of approval from the audience.

As you would expect, it's a strutting Mr. Rockwell and boisterous Ms. Henson that dominate the film, however, some tremendous actors fill the supporting roles: Wes Bentley (as a Confederate soldier hat-wearing Klansman), Anne Heche (as Ellis' wife), Nick Searcy, Bruce McGill, John Gallagher Jr, and Caitlin Mehner.

The film is a most entertaining (though a bit lightweight) look at an historic chain of events, and it's right up there with a black cop infiltrating the Klan in Spike Lee's 2018 film BLACKkKlansman for believe-it-or-not points. In 1980, Studs Terkel conducted an interview with Mr. Ellis, and it's worth a read to gain a bit more insight into a man that truly changed his evil ways. The ending of this film leans heavily on the "feel-good" and "can't we all just get along" approach, and maybe that's not such a bad thing. The end credit sequence features some tremendous clips of the real Ms. Alexander (who died in 2016) and Mr. Ellis (who died in 2005), making it a bit easier to understand how the two opposites connected for the greater good.
75 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ten Days That Changed a World
lavatch6 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
In the bonus track of the DVD of "The Best of Enemies," a theme that was mentioned was how "the message of love always wins." The strength of this moving drama from the Civil Rights movement fulfills that theme in its thoughtful human side of the struggle for school integration in Durham, North Carolina.

The time is 1971, and the film shockingly depicts the racial tension and the power of the Ku Klux Klan in the civic affairs of Durham. When a fire destroys the segregated black school, the community is challenged to integrate their school system. The film draws upon the true story of the convening of a "charrette," or community steering community to determine the outcome of school integration.

The focal point of the film is the relationship of the two leaders of the charrette, a black activist named Ann Atwater and the owner of a gas station and head of the local organization of the Klan, Claiborn Paul "C.P." Ellis. The improbable bonding of the two characters and the ebb and flow of their relationship of the heart of the drama. Bill Riddick is the facilitator of the charrette, who helps to bring together Atwater and Ellis in common cause. The bonus track of the DVD included extensive interviews of the real Ann Atwater and C.P Ellis, as well as facilitator Riddick.

The strength of the film was in the moving performances of Taraji P. Henson as Atwater and Sam Rockwell as Ellis. The filmmakers set up the drama effectively in the meetings of the city council and the ten-day deliberation of the members of the charrette. As was noted in the bonus track of the DVD, this is a little-known story of our history and deserves to be remembered. The film is successful in recreating this moving moment in history.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
fantastic
ops-5253518 June 2019
Basiclly i tried to write a review some minutes ago but when i was trying to write1971 the ''1'' key hung up and in my eager fight to loose the darn button , my well written and bragging review of this film all of a sudden went away so ill try again.

its just a marvellous drama btween black and white, integration vs. segregation, in a heavily racial divided southern usa anno 1971.

its a film that will become an iconic classic, due to all the love,all the hate, all the anger, all the warmth, and all the words instead of brutal action. its a great schoolbook chapter about u.s. integration history, and ive come to know what a hurdy-gurdy man and a charrette is....

the actors really makes this movie monumental, and sam rockwell does one of his best acts ever. ive come to know him as a crude and brutal villain on the silver screen, and seeing him in this role as a klansman that moderates into a civil rights man, that was just remarkable. taraj p. henson as his opponent in this drama do not deliver a bad act either, its just what you expect from an angry black middle aged woman in durham n.c in 1971. i will also pull forward the dominant use of southern dialect in this movie, no wonder you might think but ive seen many a flaw on that issue. it gives the film its own brand , hanging on to its local language, just likewhen '' drivin miss daisy'' in the 80's.

the grumpy old man really fell for this flick, though a bit slow, its brilliant, and therefore highly recommended.
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Based on a true story, which was a surprise to me, considering the extra ordinary events this story describes.
imseeg5 May 2020
The good: the story. This story sounded so unbelievable to me that I initially thought it was completely made up, but it is not. This movie actually portrays the true events of racist clan members coming together peacefully with the African American community in a small town to discuss and vote about issues of segregation.

Decent acting performances and beautiful photography are other good reasons to watch it. Any bad? Yes, this movie looses speed halfway and becomes a bit tedious. An half an hour could have easily been cut out of the middle part of this movie, but please be patient and keep watching (or skip a few minutes), because the final of this story is mind boggling surprising.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Way better than Greenbook.
subxerogravity18 April 2019
So the fact that this movie came out in April means its chances of getting nominated for an Oscar are slim, which is tragic. I feel like this story about two people from completely different worlds that hate each other coming together through communication (with a slight push), is more insightful than what Greenbook Sam Rockwell gave a stellar performance in this movie. I think it's similar to what Ed Norton did in American History X so long ago. I loved Teraiji P. Hensen in this one as well. What a great combo of actors going on here. It's a very uplifting and heart warming story, but at the same time it's real. Does not feel like magic happen, only understanding. This should be what the academy is looking at.
6 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thought Provoking and Interesting
stevendbeard22 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "The Best of Enemies", starring Taraji P. Henson-Empire_tv, Proud Mary; Sam Rockwell-Vice, Poltergeist_2015; Babou Ceesay-Into the Badlands_tv, Rogue One:A Star Wars Story and Bruce McGill-Rizzoli & Isles_tv, Animal House. This movie is based on a true story about a civil rights battle in North Carolina in 1971. It was basically between Taraji, a civil rights activist, and Sam, a Cyclops in the Ku Klux Klan, but there were others involved, too. School integration was the hot topic of the day and after a fire destroys a black school, things get even hotter. Taraji spearheads a movement to integrate the children into the white school but Sam and his friends are totally against it. Bruce plays the local councilman that doesn't want change but tries to keep his beliefs hidden. He is more worried about votes. Babou is a problem solver from out of town that comes to try and settle things with a Charrette. I've never heard of a Charrette but from what I can gather, it is where people from both sides have discussions and try to work things out, verbally, without resorting to violence. During the end credits, you see the actual people and hear what happened to them. It's rated "PG-13" for racial epithets, violence and some suggestive material and has a running time of 2 hours & 13 minutes. It is thought provoking and an interesting story but I don't think I would buy it on DVD-once was enough. It would be a good rental, though.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Best of Enemies
JoBloTheMovieCritic20 July 2019
8/10 - great Civil Rights biopic, but what really makes this film stand out is Taraji P. Henson's phenomenal performance
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A bit long! But surprisingly touching at the end! Should watch it!
kwenchow7 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This film is about a black people "Ann" and a white people "C.P." getting vote of a school integration issue in 1971! Entire film is a bit long but still worth the time watching! At the beginning, Ann refuse to be the co-chairman of the charrette because she against C.P., she compromise after another black people "Howard" call C.P. as brother! Ann also helping C.P. autism son moving to another room at the hospital! On the voting day, when come to the crucial eight vote moment, C.P. decide to vote yes instead of no! Because C.P. saying the motto of the Klan he join is look out for each other! After this outcome, his gas station burn down by some white people who upset about the result! But because of his noble act, all the black people car flooding his gas station to fill gas! That's all! A quite good movie indeed!
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
THE BEST & WORST OF HISTORY...!
masonfisk29 May 2019
The recent cinematic racial history lesson from a few weeks ago starring Oscar winner Sam Rockwell & Oscar nominee Taraji P. Henson. In the early 70's, a school fire forces a Southern community to consider integration so a committee is formed headed by a Grand Wizard of the Klan & a politically minded black woman to argue the pros & cons of this proposal. That we have the traditional battle between people from different corners of an issue only to come together at the end may be an old construct even in Homer's time but when done well, it works which this film does so w/o any extremes pushed one way or the other. The performances ultimately hold this sermon together w/strong support from Anne Heche, Bruce McGill & Wes Bentley but just covering an important moment in history does not make an important movie.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A Good Story, Unremarkable Film
truemythmedia23 July 2019
Once again I find myself in the undesirable position of reviewing a movie that I believe most people will really enjoy if they watch it but that I found pretty hum drum. There are flashes of great acting in the film and the story really is extremely inspiring. If it wasn't a true story the plot would sound like some overcooked Hollywood invention but it isn't.

Ann Atwater really was a loud, intrusive, and motivated woman who seldom took no for an answer and C.P. Ellis really was a racist bigot who organized KKK rallies and demonstrations. They really did become friends and changed the course of history and the town in Durham, North Carolina.

Unfortunately while I think I would love to hear and Episode of "This American Life" on the subject or a feature documentary on the story, this film does little to earn its existence as a film.

be 4.jpeg Cinematically, the film does nothing to tell the story in any other way than in the standard Hollywood Studio coverage with which they shoot every other movie. It seems that there are a host of film makers that think that film is primarily a means for delivering information. In this regard the film is competent. At the end of the film, you can tell the story of C.P. and Atwater though I doubt anyone who felt one way or the other would have had any change of mind throughout.

The film relies on the Racial Drama Genre's tropes and character archetypes with rarely a deviation. The acting though mostly competent is over acted in many scenes and the costuming/aging of Atwater (Taraji P. Henson, "Hidden Figures") simply looks terrible in several scenes. Why they couldn't have just gotten and overweight woman to play this role is beyond me.

I feel about this film the way I feel about many Christian films. It seems like they are made for choir. It seems like they are made without an eye for imagery, composition, connection through editing that make film what it is. To a large degree I could have closed my eyes and gotten as much out of this film just by listening to it as if I had watched it intently.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very fine movie
richard-17875 April 2019
There have been a series of movies lately on race relations here in the U.S. during the 1950s and 60s, among them the Oscar-winner *Green Book* and *BlackKKlansman*. I think this movie trumps them all. The acting is first-rate, the main characters are actually given time and room to grow and change, rather than just remain two-dimensional stereotypes. One previous reviewer found the pacing slow; I certainly did not.

Near the end of the movie, CP's speech, which is very moving, comes somewhat out of left field, in that we had not previously seen the character speak with anything like that eloquence. Still, that's a very small nit, one that in no way detracts from the very real emotional power of this movie.

I strongly recommend it.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Captivating Messages and Storytelling
rannynm6 April 2019
The Best of Enemies has some truly captivating messages and storytelling, but its presentation of the segregation debate can get lost with the lack of background insight. Still, the excellent performances here carry over some of the weaker writing. Anyone interested in docu-dramas might want to check this out.

The film centers on the most unlikely relationship between Ann Atwater (Taraji P. Henson), an outspoken civil rights activist, and C.P. Ellis (Sam Rockwell), a local Ku Klux Klan leader. The two reluctantly battle over the desegregation of schools in Durham, NC during the one of the nation's racially-charged turning points. C.P. slowly feels drawn towards Atwater's commitment to her people and becomes a frenemy. Can love trump hate?

First, Taraji P. Henson, is fantastic as Ann Atwater with her acerbic nature, but heartfelt fight for the poor and oppressed. She respectfully handles the rebellious, yet kind-hearted nature of the real-life figure. But, the drama's center comes from Sam Rockwell, as C.P. Ellis, who is my favorite character despite playing an initially despicable figure. His redemption is naturally done, and the messages never feel forced here. The two really work well off each other, and their chemistry is hilarious to watch. Babou Ceesay, as Bill Riddick, gives another great performance with his contributions to the segregation debate being another interesting learning experience.

Robin Bussell spectacularly writes and directs with the events presented in a clear, chronological order. But the pacing can be lost amongst this, as the film really stalls when juggling multiple real-life figures. It's the individual moments that stick, because she knows how to write human and relatable characters. The racial tension feels real here, as did the moments of unity. My favorite scene is the final verdict as the scene is filmed so well, leaving the audience unnerved at each person's decision. Still, it's C. P.'s monologue that sells the scene, which I just can't spoil. Seeing is believing. However, in addition to many moments of rocky pacing, the movie's focus on other characters, especially Atwater, is quite minimal and scattershot at times. C. P.'s development is forefront and that's understandable given he is the most complex character. I would have loved to see more personal looks at other characters.

The message of this film is that love is the greatest asset in any debate. We can all learn to reconcile our difference and just love each other. I give this film 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 10 to 18 due to mature themes and racist language.

Reviewed by Arjun N., KIDS FIRST! Film Critic. For more reviews by youth, visit kidsfirst dot org.
21 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Best of Enemies (2019)
fntstcplnt11 February 2020
Directed by Robin Bissell. Starring Sam Rockwell, Taraji P. Henson, Babou Ceesay, Bruce McGill, Anne Heche, Wes Bentley, John Gallagher Jr, Nick Searcy, Gilbert Glenn Brown, Sope Aluko, Caitlin Mehner. (PG-13)

Durham, NC, 1971: the issue of school integration is debated within a citizen-based focus group, with a final vote among twelve selected members to determine whether the measure is passed. Co-chairing the group are Civil Rights activist Henson and president of the local KKK chapter Rockwell; will they remain hostile from beginning to end or will common ground be established and grudging respect be reached? A premise as inconceivable as this one can only mean one thing--it's based on a true story. Rockwell and Henson do credible work, though they're just doing variations on earlier recent performances ("Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri," "Hidden Figures"); the material--regardless of its authenticity or lack thereof--is manipulated and contrived for facile impact, but that's far more forgivable than the decision to focus so much more time on the viewpoints and personal life of Rockwell's character than anyone else (after the situation is established, few scenes focus exclusively on Henson, and hardly any at all even touch on the students that this proposal will be affecting most directly). The cornball denouement would thwart a better film, but following all the easy and slanted maneuvers that preceded it, just elicits a "may as well" shrug.

40/100
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing!
Analog_Devotee12 September 2021
Absolute phenomenal true story made into an equally phenomenal film. This one takes place practically in my backyard!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great Moment in History.
kz917-18 July 2019
So you can teach an old dog new tricks!

Great job by all the actors.

Enjoyable all around.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Predictable
drjgardner5 April 2019
This film is predictable from beginning to end, but that doesn't mean it is without some good qualities, including excellent acting from the two principals and a good re-creation of the era and the location. I'm not sure the music worked and the photography was pretty pedestrian. But the story was great and apparently based on some truth. Wait for the end of the film when the real characters are given some screen time.
4 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Rich, Substantive, Moving. Go See It!
Danusha_Goska7 April 2019
"Best of Enemies" is a great movie and you should go see it. It's getting mediocre reviews, and that's disgusting. So many of us yearn for thoughtful, substantive, adult films. "Best of Enemies" is just that, and critics are attacking it because it isn't radical enough for them. Defy these losers. Go see "Best of Enemies."

It's 1971 in Durham, North Carolina. C. P. (Claiborne Paul) Ellis (Sam Rockwell) is the Exalted Cyclops of the local KKK. Ann Atwater (Taraji P. Henson) is a black activist trying to get decent housing for black people. A black school burns and blacks petition to attend the local, white school. Black activist Bill Riddick (Babou Ceesay) comes to town to organize a charrette. No, I'd never heard of a charrette, either. It's a French thing. People with opposing viewpoints are organized into discussion groups with a strictly imposed deadline. They must vote in a supermajority to approve any proposal.

C. P. Ellis' Klan is shown violently menacing white women. This is interesting because one justification offered for the Klan's existence was its purported protection of white women from black men. Ellis and his crew shoot up a house inhabited by a woman with a black boyfriend. In another scene, Klan members threaten a white female charrette participant to make sure that she won't vote for blacks to enter the white school.

Ellis' change is subtle and slow. There are no crashing music epiphany scenes. The movie is grounded in gritty day-to-day interactions, like Riddick compelling Atwater and Ellis to eat a school cafeteria meal together.

The entire cast is excellent. The production values are high. Clothes, cars, the songs on the soundtrack, evoke 1971 in the South. One drawback. Making a charrette dynamic drama is a challenge, one the director doesn't quite rise to. Some exposition scenes do drag. "1776" made the writing of the Declaration of Independence very dramatic, and "Mr. Smith Goes to Washington" and "Twelve Angry Men" made a filibuster and jury deliberations dramatic. I wish director Robin Bissell had taken a cue from these films.

The African Americans in the film are all saintly; most of the whites are sweat-stained, racist wretches or too cowardly to live up to their anti-segregation beliefs. It's patronizing to depict African Americans as flawless. We know that that era included hate and violence on all sides, including white-on-white (Viola Liuzzo and Jim Zwerg) and black-on-black (The Black Panthers and Malcolm X).

Further, the film fudges Ellis' Road-to-Damascus moment. "Best of Enemies" depicts Atwater showing small kindnesses to Ellis. The cinematic Ellis concludes that blacks are not inferior. In fact, though, Ellis' own memoir, he talks about growing up poor and being ashamed of being poor. He worked hard and could not get ahead. He was bitter and resentful and looking for someone to blame. The Klan encouraged him to blame blacks, not rich whites. As a Klansman, Ellis rubbed shoulders with wealthier whites. Outside of Klan meetings, though, those rich whites would cross the street to avoid him. Ellis concluded that desegregation would ultimately be best for poor and working class whites. None of Ellis' class struggle makes it into the movie. Hollywood has a hard time talking about poor whites.

There is a very handsome, very scary Klansman in a small part. I didn't remember seeing that actor in anything before "Best of Enemies." I made a mental note to google him. Darned if it isn't Wes Bentley, who made such a splash in 1999's "American Beauty." After that success, Bentley became a heroin addict. He's back to acting now. We wish him all the best. He has the star power to fill the screen. I found his Klansman genuinely scary.
24 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent movie, great story, outstanding cast, must see
JohnRayPeterson15 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Skipping the IMDb storyline which you probably consulted already, and trying to avoid matching the quality reviewing expertise of ferguson-6' s review (you must check his always), I'll simply try to convey the feeling I got from watching 'The Best of Enemies'.

First, true stories of real people and of events that mattered are something I take seriously as we all should, and when they reveal a person's journey from a dark place to one of enlightenment, that always lifts my spirit and gives me just a bit more hope. This movie should do just that; it did for me.

The message I got from the movie echoes the words of former White House residents,"When they go low, you go high!" Oh, it's not an easy thing to do, but when have great accomplishments ever been the product of easy and simple efforts? Exactly!

Sam Rockwell's character, C.P. Ellis, experienced that aforementioned journey in the movie, albeit unconsciously and with much prodding from Ann Atwater, played by Taraji P. Henson. It's a site to behold because of the realism they brought to their performances. Then at the end we saw C.P.'s epiphany and some of you may have anticipated it while others, like myself could only brace themselves for it to happen. We are lucky to see in the epilogue, video clips of the real C.P. Ellis and Ann Atwater, and they make us realize just how 'on the money' the story and the performances were.

'The Best of Enemies' may not have had the pizzazz of the movie 'Green Book', music tends to provide that, but it had more substance because the lives of so many Americans have been touched by the outcome of the events C.P. and Ann can be credited with. See it!
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Superlative!!
MikeyB17934 December 2019
I felt the performances of Taraji Henson and Sam Rockwell were outstanding. I did not feel, as in the two other movies released last year (Blackkkklansmen and Green Book) that these were caricatures. The portrayal of the recruitment tactics of the KKK felt very authentic

I also felt the story to be superior. One feels the gradual changes in Sam Rockwell's character.

I particularly enjoyed the DVD outtakes showing the real Ann Atwater and C.P. Ellis - the movie was an accurate portrayal of both.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed