One Note at a Time (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A monument for all New Orleans Musicians
I never saw such a wonderful documentary! I was moved and inspired. The film shows the spirit of this wonderful city New Orleans and its innumerable talented musicians. This film is a must!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing heritage
pauladrivers20 June 2020
Worth seeing for footage of those no longer here who contributed to the amazing music and culture that makes New Orleans.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Uplifting and heartbreaking portrayal of musicians' lives
zardox2 May 2017
Music heals the masses, but who heals the musicians? An accurate portrayal how important The Musicians Clinic is to the music community. In a city that values music, the clinic helps keep the music alive by keeping the musicians healthy. Reneé Edwards presents a poignant documentary that leaves you cheering for the clinic, rooting for the musicians, and mourning those who have been "called home". If you want to know New Orleans, this is a "must see".
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful film, uncovering the heart and soul of New Orleans
johnhoare658 October 2018
Told with passion about people who have dedicated their lives to music. And the music is all here; lovely!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This "Second Line" parade response to Hurricane Katrina is beautiful and deeply moving
henry-cobbold15 May 2017
A beautiful, moving documentary about New Orleans musicians that is itself a "second line" parade to the devastation of Hurricane Katrina. Masterfully put together over many years it is a beautiful love letter to New Orleans by an English director/editor at the top of her game. More please!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Genuinely inspiring and beautifully filmed
roblord23 April 2018
Wonderful heartfelt film making by director Renée Edwards and what an incredible story and collection of such charismatic individuals she has gathered in her film. I was very moved by it. I plan to visit New Orleans later this year and I really feel like this film has given me a brilliant introduction to the spirit of the city and its musical heritage. Highly recommended.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great film with a lot of emotion and great music
SoulNazemi6 April 2017
Didn't know what to expect when I went to see this film, I thought it was beautifully shot, filmed and edited well thought out and the people that were interviewed were amazing, what a great historical film for future generations to come. a must see for people who love music and and a deeper understanding of human nature. Has something for everybody ...my favorite quote from the film "I want to die healthy"
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A real joy
alan-fitter27 September 2018
This is a superb documentary about the music of New Orleans post Katrina. it was a long time in the making and a number of the old musicians interviewed die during the filming but don't let that put you off as it's really uplifting a joy to behold. I watched it on my ipad on a plane whilst flying to New Orleans and it wasn't diminished by the small screen. A real (or should that be reel) labour of love from Renee Edwards. Her love of the city and the New Orleans Music Clinic shines through.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Poignant look at the cultural icons sustained by compassionate health care.
bb-809-69469511 April 2017
As the debate rages in the USA about cutting health services to the working poor, it was indeed heartening to see a health care team who preserves culture by compassionate care of the USA's cultural icons. A brilliant, life changing film. Fantastic music as we peek into the keyhole at the lives of great musicians in the birth city of American music.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must see docu about the heart and soul of New Orleans post Katrina
mandysteele9 September 2018
Funny, sad, educational and inspirational we get to see how New Orleans was really affected by Hurricane Katrina. The priceless contributors and beautiful cinematography bring together a story of struggle, injustice, hope and the selflessness of charity trying to get through the worst of times imaginable. Go see this and download the gorgeous soundtrack. I only hope that the New Orleans Musicians Clinic can keep going somehow.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I had no idea
chaceoldmixon4 April 2017
This film is a must-see for anyone who cares about music, particularly Jazz. I had no idea what working musicians face in day to day life and I am left with a new found appreciation for people that are committed to the existence of an art form more then they are of their own well being. Perhaps with films like this one, we can preserve the easily over looked parts of our culture in a tangible way one note at a time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A brilliant documentary
lizzie-908004 April 2017
A decade since its inception and four years in the making, this documentary is both moving and thought provoking at the same time. A beautifully made film with a cast of colourful characters and a real insight into the music scene in New Orleans, it is well worth the watch. Highly recommended.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Amazing Film
anitamuir7 April 2017
A fantastic film. I learnt so much about the music scene in New Orleans. You fall in love with all the characters and their own stories, told through their own words and with the use of some great filming. It makes you feel like you are really there and that each character is part of one big family committed to sharing their musical talents whatever life throws their way. Inspirational and moving.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Alive with the Joy of Jazz
carolineelee8 April 2017
One Note at A Time

This film was spell binding to watch, as it unrolled the reality of the everyday lives of the musicians through their voices, music, beautiful footage of the city and the work of the New Orleans Musicians Clinic.

Heartfelt, 4 years in the making, a mountain of footage intelligently edited, it gives a richness and depth of vision, revealing the lives and deaths of the musicians that give New Orleans its place on our collective cultural map.

Alive with the joy or jazz it invites us look past the tourist brochure and treasure what we find.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Accurate and Authentic
felicemguimont8 April 2017
Being a native and lifelong resident of New Orleans, I've never seen a film that captures the true essence and nuance of our beautiful unique culture like this project. I never imagined sharing the story of horrific loss and devastation as I couldn't fathom what we experienced here ever coming to pass. I appreciate Renee's respect and gentle approach in depicting our stories and am forever grateful for her efforts of having our stories told.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
As Beautiful and Unique as New Orleans
krelf-796499 April 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this film and was doubly pleased to see it in the great city of New Orleans. One Note At A Time premiered as a featured documentary during the annual New Orleans Film Festival.

This beautifully photographed story of New Orleans jazz, the devastation of hurricane Katrina and the rebuilding of lives and communities was emotionally touching and engaging. The backdrop for the dialogue was the New Orleans Musicians Clinic, a care giving facility that helped musicians rebuild their health, their lives and their love of community.

The actors--musicians, doctors, nurses, locals and patrons--told their stories themselves. And they were simply amazing.

The mighty Mississippi showed the power of nature and of the years taking their toll. Time-lapsed photography filled the screen with the strong currents of the river, the light of dawn and dusk, showing the beauty of the city.

Shelton "Shakespeare" Alexander contributed greatly with his spoken word that added to the story telling.

This is a great film and I highly recommend it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautifully filmed documentary
helenaappio-1275311 April 2017
What a beautifully filmed documentary and a wonderful record of musicians who I'm sure if they had not been filmed for this documentary might have been forgotten. The film also tells the story of a dedicated medical team who have devoted themselves to providing medical care for musicians. This is a labour of love by director Renee Edwards.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Keeping the cultural traditions of New Orleans alive
vmiller-130206 May 2017
Wonderful doc about a committed and devoted New Orleans Musicians Clinic battling for the health of New Orleans musicians and burning the cultural flame of the city. Overcoming continuous funding challenges and the erratic musician's lifestyle, NOMC has identified a need and prevailed where no one else could. Highly recommended.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wonderful documentary that shows the real New Orleans music culture
ericadudas16 May 2017
One Note at a Time captures important moments in New Orleans' cultural landscape right after Hurricane Katrina almost washed it out, never to return again. The film also features the unique story of the New Orleans Musicians' Clinic, an important health care resource for local musicians and their efforts to keep local music alive. Highly recommended. A labor of love 10 years in the making! A documentary for any true cultural historian or jazz fan!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Insightful
themessengerworks23 May 2017
From my perspective, it was a blessing to see the reality of the progression of the Music Communities of New Orleans (including the venues, the patrons, the musicians, the New Orleans Musicians Clinic, et al.) through the years post hurricane Katrina. Seeing old friends in their "element," just the way I remember them, warms my heart. Seeing new friends before we were friends makes me smile. And, seeing musicians that I never had (or will have) the pleasure of knowing personally, and hearing of their experiences was enlightening. One of the key moments of the film that worked its way into my conversation of thought, is witnessing Wardell Quezergue, Sr. in his element towards the end of his life, producing and approving music recordings. As a composer, this was a momentous moment for me. There are many compositions/recordings that I must "let go" in order to complete more present works. Thanks to you for this. You are a part of my journey.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An embarrassment of riches
jsparks-66 April 2017
New Orleans music is an embarrassment of riches, but those who make that music are surprisingly little known outside of the city. How do you explain the difference to the uninitiated between "the music business" and those who make music because it's who they are? One Note at a Time does it beautifully in its intimate depiction of the lives, circumstances, and hearts of our national treasures. To know them is to love and care about them, and the more people who are made of aware of them the better chance the New Orleans Musicians' Clinic has to raise the money needed to assist and support the lives of those who give so much to the soulful culture of a great American city.

The film had a profound effect on my husband and me, reigniting our passion for the city and inspiring us to increase our own ongoing support of the extraordinary NOMC. Hopefully that feeling spreads like wildfire as the film reaches ever-larger audiences. The clinic's work is so important and can be a model for other cities and their particular needs.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absorbing and original documentary
mike-2550528 August 2018
A different and compelling account of the plight of artists, with a variety of great music. Thoughtfully constructed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The music is a joy and what a city
dictynna-378139 September 2018
An unmanipulative documentary that takes an unusual route into the city of New Orleans post-Katrina, via a clinic for musicians. The music is a joy and the characters extraordinary. What a city.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully told
samanthaknights-0153915 October 2018
This is a beautifully shot and told film which takes a refreshingly different look at the issues surrounding New Orleans post Hurricane Katrina. It explores issues such as healthcare and death in a suprisingly upbeat way. Renee is a great film maker and her award winning film deserves all the praise a thousand times over.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed