Food Wars (TV Series 2015– ) Poster

(2015– )

User Reviews

Review this title
50 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Food Wars!
Tweekums4 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Protagonist Soma Yukihira works in his father's restaurant and hopes one day to surpass his father's culinary skills. He also believes that one day he will take over running the restaurant but when his father takes a job overseas and closes the restaurant he finds himself at the prestigious Totsuki Culinary Academy; a chefs' school where only the very best graduate and failing even one test will lead to instant expulsion! On his first day there he proclaims that not only does he expect to graduate he expects to be the top student! This doesn't make him too popular with many of the other students but as the series progresses he passes test after test as well as challenges with rivals; during this time he also helps others and even risks his place at the school to support those he believes are being treated badly. By the end of the final episode he is popular but still far from graduating.

This series was rather fun; Soma was an enjoyable if somewhat arrogant protagonist and the supporting cast were entertaining too. The food is almost as much a star of the show as the characters and we are left in no doubt when the judges enjoy a particular dish… their reactions are almost literally 'food porn' as they are shown in a state that borders on sexual ecstasy! This doesn't do too far though; it is just an excuse for some moderate fan service. The various competitions are surprisingly exciting and it is always interesting to see what exotic dish each of the protagonists will come up with as they combine cooking styles from many sources. Strangely we never see the students actually being taught anything and they seem to do well in their challenges because of knowledge they brought with them rather than anything taught to them… this doesn't really matter though as it serves the drama to have each person have their own special ideas. Given that the series ends before his graduation it is quite possible that there will be further series; I certainly hope there are as it was rather fun.

These comments are based on watching the series in Japanese with English subtitles.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It was hilarious but I found it could be less over the top
Irishchatter2 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Now the humour was great like it made me laugh, but I found there was room for improvement regards to the storyline and the humour itself. It's always every time a person tastes such delicious food from Yukihira, they turns this from cooking style anime to a kind of Hentai style anime where people tend to take off their clothes. It personally made me very bored in that way, I mean that's pretty unrealistic.

I mean who would you honestly see a person having their clothes off just because they tasted such yummy food? That's right, absouletely no one, why the hell can't the writers think of something better rather then turn this into a hidden porno?!

Aside from the cons, I thought the food was mouth watering and the character Yukihira was a pretty likeable character on this! He definately would beat Gordan Ramsay and Jamie Oliver if he had the chance haha!

This isn't my favourite nor the best anime I've seen but I'll give it a 7/10 for Yukihiri plus the delicious food I would love to try from Japan! ^^
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best ecchi series I've ever seen. Never fails to calm me down after a long day and revive me
dussaultjulien6 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This show is by far the best ecchi series I've ever seen. It's got heart, food and one great storyline. I highly recommend this series.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Like Bleach but with Food
scythertitus28 June 2020
A relative novice, but with tremendous potential, enters a high stakes environment filled with elites specialists in their own types of combat: cuisine cooking.

The story and directing style mirror shonen anime, but in a slice of life setting. It's a bit like Bleach, but with a little Ecchi mixed in due to the reaction to the Bankai of the food when it is tasted.

All in all its pretty hilarious, with a motivational setting and a good cast of characters, even if the basic premise for the joke is mostly one-note.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Animation with Food being the star
mayank0987626 January 2018
An anime on food sure piqued my interest. It was good enough for binge-watch, the highlight is the display of one scrumptious dish after another. The animation is really good in displaying the dishes, from presentation, to aroma, to inside filling, it's able to capture the essence of well-made dishes. The story itself is straightforward, a young boy's dream of becoming a top chef, it covers his growth and battles in a culinary school against others with similar dreams, although unoriginal it works. The characters come in different colours and unique personality but in the end all likeable, there is no evil person here. There is one problem with the anime, it may be the highlight for some or put others off, the extra dose of ecchi and fan service, it does go overboard in expressing characters' reactions after they eat the food, still, it's an anime, and is kind of expected. In the end, it was a very entertaining anime for me, I ended up watching both the dubbed season 1 & 2 and really enjoyed them.

Got back to season 3 after a break of three years, didn't enjoy it as much, felt they are dragging the anime now.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
How to destroy a multi season show in less than 12 episodes
nodlimax30 August 2020
Warning: Spoilers
1. Produce a story that most viewers will enjoy with a good focus on a specific topic (food in this case), enjoyable characters and lots of fun fan service. 2. Continue that approach more or less successful in season 2-4 3. Produce a fifth and final season that throws out basically any rule and concept you've previously established in favor of complete nonsense ideas and a absolutely horrible antagonist

Shokugeki no Soma was previously in my personal Top10 list for best anime. I really enjoyed this show. The ideas with the recipes looked really good and the characters and their reactions to said food combined with the fan service made the show very entertaining.

Then the current 5th and last season started. Oh boy did we go off the rails with this one.

Season 4 actually had a pretty good ending even though certain plot threads hadn't been wrapped up (which of the girls gets together with the MC for example even though there was one most likely candidate). The characters had defeated a specific system and established a "new order" in the school. So where do we go from there?

Let's introduce "underworld cooking". Season 5 has a new cooking tournament in which they have to compete against cooks that usually only work for criminals and therefore basically are only found in the underworld. On first glance you may think it's interesting. However the execution is horrible.

What do you think underworld cooks do different from normal cooks? Ingredients? Most likely because you may be able to cook some animal meat that usually would be on a list of endangered species. Nope it's not about that. Instead we get absolutely ridiculous tools like chainsaws that are presented fine cutting tools with the ability to apply spices. Another tool allows to suck out juices and blood from the meat. We have assassin claws that also basically are there to do cutting and provide flavor. We also have a special shaker tool that allows for better consistency of things you put inside. How about balls that you have to juggle to create heat which then supposedly improves the ingredients somehow?

First of all these tools are completely stupid in their design. Also how does this relate to underworld cooking? Anyone could come up with these cooking tools or get one if they existed. This doesn't make these guys any different from normal cooks. It's basically just "ohhh, these guys have some dark design and tools. Therefore => underworld cook"

Then we have the main antagonist whose "power" is to take any of previously mentioned cooking tools, touch it once and then use it to their full potential. No training is required. Good recipe ideas? Who cares? I can win, because I can use all cooking tools to perfection...

And also the question "who cares about the recipes" is also pretty relevant, because the writer obviously doesn't care anymore. Most dishes are just shown for a moment without providing any context on what went into them. They are just delicious. What exactly they are? Imagine that for yourself.

In the most recent episode 9 of this season also various matches were thrown onto screen at an insane pace. Characters that were pretty important in previous seasons were basically thrown to the side in matches where the outcome was obvious the second they were announced due to how story is structured. Some reveal is made for a character where most people already knew who that character would be in terms family relationships because it was just that obvious.

I'm really frustrated now with this show. They should've stopped after season 4, because season 5 feels like no care went into the story anymore and the writer just wanted to be done with it.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wacky and fun, sometimes too much and sexualized
william-eugensson8 March 2021
Entertainment value: 9 It is a rollercoaster of entertainment, mostly very entertaining. It does get a bit repetitive.

Visuals: 5 Nothing special tbh.

Soundtrack: 7 Some songs are quite good.

Plot: 7 It is such a strange take on the high school drama, fun at most times.

Characters and dialog: 8 It is a thin line between what characters that are too extreme to the ones that is hilarious. Some are great and the dialogue and voice acting is great in general.

Total: 7,2
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well there you have it I got served
H0kv58 July 2021
This was like pop and slice and many more than you can imagine,brilliantly done Kudo bravo you got me cooking thank you(Ari ga to).

Wow this was amazing,it actually did add new menu to dish course cause it just had to be that good.

This was a million time worth it,
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So much fun, and the FOOD!
cb_whitewood21 January 2021
I'm writing this after finishing season 2 of Food Wars, and I forgot just how fun and entertaining this show is. Once you get past the sexual overreactions, it's way easier to get invested in the characters and wait in anticipation for the food they would make.

Maybe not one to watch with the family, but definitely a good one.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very unpredictable
bdnahian16 May 2021
This anime is very unpredictable. You can't predict exacly what's going to happen. That's got me interested. You really should give it a watch. Also the art is also top notch. I really recommend it to watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best shounen anime
akarunkumar-486133 October 2021
This anime is good. The display of taste of food is super awesome. The MC character is perfect. It inspired me to cook. It taught me how good is food and how naive I'm in tasting foods. It made me love cooking.😍
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Over the top dramatic and i love it
trcky12 April 2019
Ecchi is used a little too liberally. When it's used in the first few episodes, it's done for emphasis on the effect on the eaters. But the fact that it's now used in nearly every instance of food consumption has caused it to lose its effect as a tool and is truly just fan service at this point.

BUT... the rest of the series is SO good. Over the top dramatic moments paired with over the top musical score and characters who mature and grow... All great stuff. Some ridiculous moments still bring the laughs and the food p0rn is the stuff of culinary wet dreams. Not for kids or prudes. But if you liked Paul Verhoven's take on Starship Troopers, then i feel there's a similar use of hyperbole for entertaining effect in this series. Can't wait for the next season!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny and heartfelt
trcky16 November 2020
This is prob my favorite anime ever. I'll admit it, the fan service drew me in, but what i found inside was a true gem of a dish that made me laugh and cry, and in the end left me with a warmth in my soul, much as I'd imagine Megumi's cooking to feel like.

The comedic gags throughout the series are pretty solid, but the sentimental stories are really what kept me coming back. Soma's rivalrous but fun relationship with both his dad and his friends set just the right tone of tenseness and tenderness throughout the series. When he or his friends or themselves at risk to support each other, it builds just the proper tension to enhance the artwork and visuals of the cooking scenes to be hyperbolically over the top dramatic.

And speaking of dramatic, the musical score throughout the series is exceptional! I had the season 1 ost playlist on YouTube last night as i was doing my own cooking in my kitchen and the time flew by and my dish ended up tasting like joy and love!

I'm glad the series ended in season 5 as you could tell the writing was running out of steam, as they all do in most series. The final season starts off a little lackluster and the storyline is a bit contrived, but midway through, it starts to pull in the
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore the haters
kwesib-3217923 August 2021
Before I watched Food wars, I was influenced to add it to my list of "unimportant but must watch anime". This is because of how a certain group of netizens over dramatised the show's fan service as well as their hate for the season 5. I went into the show expecting nothing. After watching all 5 seasons, food wars is definitely a top tier. First of all, the only weird moments of fan service are the foodgasims, just that. If you can get past that, you'll find out that Food Wars is a very serious show.

The plot is unoriginal. It has the shounen highschool story with a determined protagonist. If you are familiar with highschool anime such as My Hero Academia, you'll notice similar themes in Food Wars. The major unique trait of Food Wars is that food forms the abstract and most important feature of the show. But what makes Food wars great is how unpredictable it is. The anime offers something anew and fresh off the table. Each season gets better and better. The 5th season which people hate the most wasn't that bad. In fact, it was a good ending although it could have been better. The English Dub is also as good as the Sub although some have complained about Erina's Valley girl accent.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Neat idea, lazy, cliche writing.
jeremy-david-kuehnau9 April 2018
I was originally mislead by this anime, due to the fact it starts off in an oddball way that suggests it's going to be more akin to a comedy, fantasy adventure that focuses on cooking. They had some interesting early characters that seemed more like enemies from One Piece more than anything else.

That quickly changed within the second or third episode and the anime basically devolved into a cooking drama with some bits of comedy here and there. At first I was disappointed with the direction the anime looked like it was moving in, but then that changed.

While the anime wasn't what I expected it to be from the first episode, it still seemed pretty good, the writing seemed decent and more importantly, the plot moved quickly.

Unfortunately, every season after that just continues to go down hill. It's more like a dramedie by season four, but it's not really written funny, the series just relies on a lot of overused anime tropes and funny faces more so than anything else.

The fan services has continued to get worse and worse with every episode. At first it started off with once in awhile and it has now gotten to the point, someone's clothes aret eploding off their bodies from eating some noodles or something every single episode. This just feels lazy, like they can't even rely on their own writing to keep the viewer's attention and instead has to rely on sex.

I had high hopes for this anime, but by season four it just falls flat on it's face.
7 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favorite anime ever
ashomkarp10 August 2020
Even now I am watching the 5th season of food wars and still I love it though it's just cooking series but I was here because of beautiful music and animation and also for the story and I am satisfied.

I want souma and erina to marry in future(I haven't read the manga so I don't know about it) please make the six season too (maybe)
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
entertaining
ajmalariz4 May 2021
This started soo weird i honestly dropped this and it took me a long time to start this again but im glad i did! I love soma and the other students! I honestly love everything except the reactions😭😭 and time flies fast when i watch this.... i didn't realize i finish everything in less than a week. This is a good anime definitely worth watching with great characters!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It will soon lose its potential by 5th season!!!😥😭😣
kakarlafardeen25 July 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I would recommend you to watch till 4th season and probably don't watch 5th season if you're a fan of soma yukihira.I thought soma yukihira would win the blues as 5th season is the last season but they made erina win the blues which is a huge dissapointment and not to forget this is the last season of food wars. I'm sorry but soma does not win the blues hearing that I did not watch food wars season 5.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Masterpiece
rupakiro15 October 2020
If u love Anmie, it's a must watch for u. It's made soooo beautifully that I m amazed I didn't get to know about this series earlier. U ll be amazed with how much detailing n crisp this series has been made.. n worth every appreciation one has given.One of the best!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bravo! Bravo! My favorite anime of all!!!
deverichmarissa7 February 2021
Food wars is the best anime ever I remember watching this for the first time and immediately fell in love with it I absolutely love food wars everything about it is so awesome and excellent the whole plot, the characters, EVERYTHING food wars is my life!! If I were to give it 100 I would!!!!! 10/10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Most useless character
wurstbaum3 August 2019
Megumi is the most useless, annoying and braindead character I've ever seen. What is she doing in this school? She's so bad she wouldn't have a chance to pass the entry test! Never!
0 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
HILARIOUS
kimsakardashian16 September 2021
Pls watch this, if you love food and want to have a great laugh food

10/10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Amazing first two and half seasons, but Central arc ruined the show
kulaivadiraj14 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I just finished binge watching the whole show on Netflix. I have to say, the first two seasons of the show were gems. And the third season starts off well with the festival arc, but once Central arc began this show started to fall down and when eizan rigged the food wars, this show hit Rock bottom. I wanted Soma to become first seat on elite ten, but not like this. I wanted him to grow and best the first seat to become one and that would've been the most logical reasoning. Instead they chose to go with rebels vs Central team food wars. The fifth and final season was a last nail on the coffin and the ending (finale) had zero impact on me. So many loose ends at the end. The reason I'm giving it a six is because the first 2 and half seasons are amazing. The first arc where soma mingles with everyone, then the training camp, internship arc, Autumn food wars and the summer festival arc (sorry if I'm naming them wrong) were so good that I finished them in 2 days. But I had to take 3 weeks to finish the remaining show. Biggest reason: Central arc which is very long and meaningless.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's amazing and heartfelt!
janajarata13 October 2018
This is a masterpiece in its own. A masterchef-chef wars-cooking show with a heart. I enjoy Yukihira's adventures while learning how to cook in different ways. It is light and fun and easy to follow.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Cooking has never been enjoyable than ever before!
geovannyboss14 August 2020
At first I was disappointed with the direction the anime looked like it was moving in, but then that changed.

Shounen Jump's titles tend to have a focus on three key criteria. Friendship, effort, and victory all shine through to an extreme. Souma plays the character that we all wish we could be. Someone who pushes themselves to the furthest extent and gets results. Food (Orgasm) Wars are definitely interesting. It uses a very standard story model, but this standard story somehow made me enjoy watching. Some stories are cliche but still entertain you. I think food wars has achieved this.

The sound and artwork are superb, the sound builds the atmosphere while the artwork adds even more awesomeness to the show and food. The animation completely satisfy the food that they eat in that it certainly makes me hungry as hell just watching this show. Orchestral music pumps up your blood during the challenges, and the first ending really stick with you.

Plus: Excellent food facts Extravagant aesthetic Intense pacing Crazy reactions

Minus: Slightly repetitive despite the plot-twists The same jokes get old fast Poor character development

Story: 5 Art: 7 Sound: 8 Character: 5 Enjoyment: 8 Overall: 7

I really enjoyed this show. It is entertaining and hilarious. The only problem is that you just need to keep eating when watching because if you don't, it's real torture...
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed