Escape from Room 18 (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Powerful and moving story
bodhipuff30 January 2018
This is truly a story of redemption unlike any other. Whether you are religious or not, it is extremely moving to see someone so lost move between a world of secret organized violence and hatred to a state of compassion and public atonement. The strongest components of the film are the interviews and the footage of two people reunited and determined to witness and validate the pain and suffering of the Holocaust. It is truly a miraculous story to me, even though I myself am an atheist. I hope other people will watch and listen, and come away from this film with an open mind and a broader perspective of what is possible in life. More stories like this are greatly needed to help heal the violence and xenophobia our world experiences.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent documentary
alexisfar20 March 2021
This was an amazing story between two friends filled with hearts and tears. It is a story that shows how love won at the end between two unlikely friends. A story of hope teaching us that light will always overcome darkness. A must watch that I will share with my friends and I can watch it again and again.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
From Neo-Nazi to loving Jewish son
lyndi_rose19 April 2017
This emotional roller coaster shows the hate of a Nazi skinhead to the hope of a man with a brain tumour. I watched the momentous journey of John Daly as he faced numerous life challenges and saw him come out a more loving son and devoted friend. Try watching this movie without crying. I couldn't.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Escape from Room 18" is a powerful documentary that leaves a lasting impact.
Recently, I watched Escape from Room 18, which I was quite anxious to view having spent my high school years in the very town where the events told within occurred. It was my home town still as John and Kevin were caught up in the events. Seeing John's story depicted so poignantly, kept my undivided attention throughout, but once his and Kevin's journeys to concentration camps began, I was unable to hold back tears. I was immediately brought back to my own visit there two years ago. As a Holocaust researcher, writer, and the distant descendant of Holocaust victims, I watched with avid interest as John and Kevin discovered the truths that once they were blind to. The filming was so well done that tears flowed freely as I witnessed their transformation and as I actually felt their growth as people. This was incredibly well- done and has the potential to leave a lasting impact on those who have chosen the wrong path and those who are in any way intolerant. I sincerely hope people around the world get to watch this powerful documentary. You never know whose life it might change or the lives it could save. I thank the participants for courageously coming forward with this story, and thank you, Daniel Brea for sharing these important messages in such a memorable way.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One man and his journey home.
kimvadas19 April 2017
Haunting.....that's the word that I kept thinking as I watched - from the imagery to the music and all the way through the narrative. Daniel Brea and Yan Fisher-Rom do a phenomenal job of telling John's story in a way that is compelling, while remaining respectful of the man he has become as a result of this journey. *Escape from Room 18* isn't your typical documentary about radicalism and a neo-Nazi movement, nor is it characteristic of most Holocaust films. It takes great strength and humility to tell this story.......Don't stop. It's about change and growth that transcends race and ethnicity, and ultimately a message of HOPE.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Film!
ginamariefernandez23 April 2017
This film really brought to light that gang activity reaches to even the smallest of towns and spreads hate to every corner of the world. I love how it explores the transformation a person is capable of making. This film had my attention throughout its entirety. The emotions in this film are raw and absorb you into the real-life story. I highly recommend this film to any audience.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An incredibly powerful film
jstttct27 April 2017
This is an incredibly powerful film, documenting two men's journeys from hate and violence to some kind of understanding. At first it's hard to understand how John Daly, a Jew, could have been an officer of a neo-Nazi organisation, but the film explains the circumstances and charts his path to the realisation of what he has been through and the effect his actions and life have had on others.

Daly's friend from the Nazi group, Kevin Connell, has made his own journey from Southern States fascist to understanding the real effects of racism, and the connection between The Holocaust – a phrase that is used today with little real understanding of the horrors that took place – and the actions and attitudes of present day neo-Nazis is made very well. An unusual film, both harsh and emotional, and one that stays with you.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing documentary!
karel-8051528 March 2017
"WOW!!" is what comes to my mind after watching this well and respectfully made documentary by director Daniel Brea and producer Yan Fisher-Romanovsky.

"Escape from Room 18" brings an honest story with a message for today, but it doesn't end by just "telling a story": it also shows the "why" and "how". This specific story is about "neo-nazism" but the "mechanisms" are the same as any other form of radicalism and fundamentalism. That is why this documentary is an important tool in this fight. When you have to "sanction", it is too late. This film might actually help with "prevention". It should (also) be viewed in schools and correction facilities - as a warning and especially as a testimony of hope.

I had some moments that I noticed some tear shaped drops in my eyes, but deny every rumor that it was caused by any other but (highly possible) allergy related symptoms.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
IMPACTFUL STORY
eddieeniel27 March 2021
Very moving and impactful story. It has a surprizing twist and an amazin change in the characters lives. Highly recomend it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed