The Fate of the Furious (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
478 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Dominic Torreto just went rogue - a well done sequel a bit underrated
ivo-cobra820 August 2017
The Fate of the Furious (2017) in my opinion is a well fast paced a well done sequel. I just got this film on Blu-ray and I just finished watching it what can I say? I enjoy watching this film I had a fun a lot, I love this film to death and I like it a lot. I think is my number one favorite in the series Fast Five (2011) is still my number two favorite film in the series but this one just become my favorite number 1 film. Since Paul Walker died in November 30, 2013 both of the characters Brian O'Conner and Mia Toretto retired and the seventh installment completed the story arcs for both of their characters.

I think Vin Diesel who took over the movie without Paul walker did a great job I also finished him watching in his early action movie xXx (2002) pretty good movie. Dwayne Johnson was far way better than he was in Furious Seven. He had much more to do than in here than he did in the previous film that was my biggest problem in the previous installment. He was only in the beginning of the film and on the end of the film in the final showdown the rest of that film he was absent but in this film he had much more to do. Jason Statham is back as Deckard Shaw and he had much more things to do then he did in the previous film. Charlize Theron as Cipher was outstanding as the bad guy I liked her performance. Michelle Rodriguez as hot chick mom was really great I love her performance in this movie. Nathalie Emmanuel as Ramsey from the previous film is also in here. I love performances from Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges and Tyrese Gibson they were great.

F. Gary Gray did not do a bad job directing this film I thought he was good. I think this movie is a good action movie and way better than the new Transformers films and Terminator films. I rather watch The Fast and the Furious films then those I mentioned. Chris Morgan was excellent writer in this movie.

In this movie Dom and Letty are on their honeymoon and Brian and Mia have retired from the game-and the rest of the crew has been exonerated-the globetrotting team has found a semblance of a normal life. But when a mysterious woman seduces Dom into the world of crime he can't seem to escape and a betrayal of those closest to him, they will face trials that will test them as never before. From the shores of Cuba and the streets of New York City to the icy plains off the arctic Barents Sea, the elite force will crisscross the globe to stop an anarchist from unleashing chaos on the world's stage... and to bring home the man who made them a family.

Also the movie takes on icy plains off the arctic Barents Sea which are cars on the ice, that idea was from James Bond 007 Die Another Day but still the movie borrowed I have enjoyed this movie. Everyone in this movie did great I am so happy I have this film on Blu-ray.

I am not sure if hackers can hack into new cars and drive them during on the road with the computer I don't think that is impossible not with the technology was created in the decades, that's my opinion.

I wasn't happy that Charlize Theron's character escaped but I hope we will see her in the next installments. I hear there are 2 installments planed and the 10th will be last one in the series.

I don't think this movie is great or the best or better than Furious Seven I just think it is a good film.

I love that Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham put their sides behind and start working together. I love the prison escape and love that Jason Statham saved Dominic's son on the plain. Deckard kill Han but he pay for it when he rescue Dom's son. I love the chemistry between Dom and Letty they are still married and together that's awesome.

Scott Eastwood is also in this and even tough he isn't that great he is enjoyable in this flick. I also love the poster and the cover on Blu-ray about this film it think it is excellent.

This film get's a 10/10 I have enjoyed this film a lot the submarine was awesome and I am glad that the crew save the world again.
82 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Cringefest - Stupidity level 11
satanclaw18 June 2017
This was painful. Action? Yes, but we're talking Physics that Sharknado would be ashamed of. Failure to understand or accept how reality works, even at a basic level. If you know the basics of cars, computers or physics, this will inflict pain to your brain.

No part of this movie made sense, it makes all 7 prequels seem like a real life documentary about cars. By far - Worst of the series. By going so far off the deep end, it made it too improbable for me to enjoy.
163 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The worst movie of the series
stevemartis25 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is my first review on IMDb and I'm only writing this because so many reviews are praising this movie! I knew it would be average but within the first 10 minutes I realised how horrible this movie was. From winning a race in reverse gear of a wrecked car to driving ahead of an army without a single bullet hitting them. I know this series has always had over the top action but this plain nonsense. As somebody else said in their review the heists didn't need cars in the first place. I only liked the action sequences between Dwayne and Jason, rest were unwatchable! I feel bad for the people praising this movie.
109 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
An insult to all those who paid money to see it
mr worf20 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Be aware, plausible spoilers I do not know where to start. I thought that I'm used to the cheesiness of the FF movies, but this is......overwhelming. Its like they are making movies for people under 18 only. Whole movie is a load of random c***. Its so senseless, cheesy, unbelievably unrealistic, cliché- ish.....total disaster. They ruined good characters, like deck shaw. In ff7, he was terrifying hit-man. Here, they turned him into a clown who is afraid of his mother. Its ridiculous. Next, is it a bird, is it a plane? No, its......Luke HOBBS!!! My Lord, he is the perfect example of everything wrong in modern Hollywood. Awful acting, cringe lines, superhuman strength (they literally took it to the superman level in ff8) Cipher- theron is a brilliant actor in normal movies, but here they made her a joke. I would compare it to the thurman's poison ivy from 1997. Tbh, roman is the only lightspot. He really is funny, natural funny, not bad humour like others. He is the reason why I made it to the end.
54 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Beyond awful
MovieReviewer10 June 2017
I liked the previous movies of the franchise. They were decent action flicks, exactly something you go to watch in a cinema with friends. But this? This is beyond awful, it's worse than a parody. Every line is a cliché, the acting is not even mediocre, the plot line is exactly like something a 12 year old boy has come up with.

There's no way the 10 star reviews are NOT paid. This movie is an insult to anyone who pays to see it.
102 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Absolutely senseless
damnedwhatuser6 June 2017
One of the most stupid, senseless and ridiculous movies I have ever watched. I wonder only why would Charlize Theron play in something like that? Money must have been very tempting for an Oscar-winning actress to even think about that this could become a good movie with no story, no developing characters, not even a story but just lots of money thrown on some... well I must admit - good special effects. But not worth even a dime to pay for a ticket to watch it, not talking even about the waste of time.
97 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Dom is approached by a mysterious woman that forces him to start working for her and betray his crew
ashmaison3 July 2017
It was literally the worst movie that I watched this year I think...there is nothing in the movie that would make sense. almost everything in the movie is created by computer graphics and not a very good one. There are so many holes in the scenario that makes you doubt that even if you are watching a fast&furious movie! It has severed all its bond with the original F&F franchise that has no identity anymore. It is very usual to see something amazing and out of limits of normal to happen in an action movie but throughout the movie, you will see so many cases that the laws of physics are broken and not in order to achieve something amazing but just out of lack of research and attention to how would some events fold out in the movie. From another point of view, there are so many unnecessary and irrational actions taken in a movie that again makes you wonder if you are watching F&F or sesame street! i.e. if you want to steal a submarine while it is on land you definitely do not need to turn on its turbine! In total the whole plot and chain of events are meaningless. I can just say it takes a lot for me to walk out of a movie but this one made me...and I sat through the Independence day:resurgence!!!
32 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Yet Another Sequel
roccoprobe1 July 2017
Do not bother spending your hard-earned money on The Fate of the Furious. It is yet another lame sequel of one of the lamest franchises from Hollywood. Honestly cannot believe that this is the 8th installment.

The writing and dialog is painfully cliché, like a 6 year old wrote it. The story, despite their intentions is so predictable that you cannot help but roll your eyes for the entire movie.

The acting... ohhhhh... the "acting"... some of the worst I have ever seen. Can Vin Diesel actually get worse at acting? Yes, he can. Even the performances from seasoned actors like Charlize Theron and Dwayne Johnson felt wooden, no doubt due to the horrid script and direction.

Not even the action sequences nor special effects could save this movie, as they were fake enough to repeatedly kill your suspension of disbelief and distract from what little story exists.

Dear Hollywood: Enough with the tired sequels. Enough with super hero movies. Take a chance on some original ideas.
31 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The worst of the lot
er-50012 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I thought the last movie was ridiculous but the Fate of the Furious is a complete insult to the intelligence of anyone smarter than a chimpanzee. From the very first car race the director proves he has no sense of reality or physics, and yes I do realize that this is a movie and action movies do push the boundaries of reality but please lets make it a little bit believable. And whats with all the angry faces whenever someone is behind the wheel of a car. In this movie we see our hero's driving their cars on ice at high speed without the slightest hint of any sliding, not to mention being able to come to a dead stop without so much as a slip of a tire. And we see Vin Diesels car out run a heat seeking missile. But the biggest load of dog do do is when our hero's position their cars around Vin Diesel to protect him from a massive explosion. Seriously. If your a chimp you're going to enjoy this movie but if you're a semi intelligent life form give it a miss.
38 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
No words for this....
dewii25 April 2017
There have been two movies in my life so far, that really had me on the edge of leaving the cinema before it was all over. Both times i decided to sit it through, making me feel dumber with every minute. Where the first of those was an infamous flick going by the name of "Transformers 3" the second was this very.... i don't even know what to call it.

For my faith in humanity to be restored, i REALLY have to HOPE and PRAY that all this 10/10 reviews are some part of a marketing campaign. If they aren't, i can not help but feel tremendously sorry. Even stating things like "FF8 is totally over the top, it just has to be like that, much fun much wow" does not even come close to the point in any aspect. The whole movie is a gigantic insult to every form of intelligence and makes me wonder, how much they had to pay some of the more renown actors, to filth their names with starring in it. Going into detail in whatsoever way would just totally not be worth it, as is paying 6 bucks for this.

I couldn't help but have a special problem with Vin Diesel. His whole appearance, voice, everything, worked absolutely perfect in films like Riddick, to a certain extent also in Tripple X. In this movie yet, his dumb one liners, faked emotions and overall "pretending" (whereas there is no better word for what this movie had all of its characters do for over 2 hours) just has you cringe every minute of his screen time.

Finally DO NOT be fooled: you WILL NOT enjoy any of this movies (ridiculous) "action" scenes, when every other dialogue, story line and every other bit of it leaves you in utter pain.

EDIT: one more mention of the word "family" and i would have puked all over my popcorn.
51 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Exactly what I expected
MHales9422 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This film is exactly what I expected and what is to be expected from the trailer - crazy stunts and lots of talk about family.

What I liked about this film - First of all, the action was great and what was to be expected from this film - don't expect perfect obedience of the laws of physics. Secondly, the story was actually not terrible (this is no Tokyo Drift); the reason's for Dom's betrayal (as seen in the trailers) are very human and feel very real and the redemption of some of the characters was earned (on the most part). Thirdly, Charlize Theron was great, as usual, as the villain Cipher.

What I didn't like - Firstly, Helen Mirren's accent was terrible although was warranted by her character. Secondly, as mentioned, the laws of physics get broken at times (the wrecking ball (again from the trailer) is a perfect example).

Final thoughts - This film is a great addition to the Fast and Furious franchise. It is what we've come to expect from these films over the last almost 20 years and I'm interested to see where the story goes from here as, according to the cast and crew, there are only two of these left.

In terms of the score, I couldn't not give this an 8/10. Not a perfect film by any stretch of the imagination but for what it tries to do, it hits the mark.
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Must to watch
Cristi Ionut22 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It's a very nice movie.It wasn't like the first movies with exciting racing, it was more an ACTION/COMEDY MOVIE. From my personal opinion Dominic Torreto (Vin Diesel) was the best character. Luke Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson) and Deckard (Jason Statham) makes the best comedy on this movie. Cipher (Charlize Theron) it looks very nice at 41 years old. Per total movie was good, must to watch.
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Logic is tossed out the window.. but still a FUN, exciting movie!
izodmartin22 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Mild spoilers.. Action, humor and great special effects. I loved this movie once I shut off my logic side.

I mean really.. if an EMP goes off the electronics are fried for ever. they just don't reboot. Most of the cars in the hacking scene were not even self driving.. so it would never work (barring the possibility of hacking that many items at one time.

But again, don't think.. just enjoy the ride.
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
FF8 Review
Anish Misra19 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The Fate of the Furious is a film directed by F. Gary Gray. This film series is one of the most anticipated every time it comes out. And yes, I too have expectations from this franchise. And yes, it delivered.

Plot: Dom gets sucked into the world of cyber-terrorism after Cipher threatens him.

Story and direction: If you decide to watch this series actually with some story in it, please don't go to the halls. It is basically for hardcore FF fans. I myself was a fan of the series only after the fourth part (since most of the racing is finished after the third part). This part of the franchise links both the 6th and 7th parts of the film, which I quite liked. The twist which is revealed quite early in the film was not actually something that was satisfying. Cipher's character is one hell of a bad-ass character written. I thought nobody would beat Jason Statham character in FF7. But hell yeah Cipher is the best villain in the entire franchise till now. I hope they bring her in future installments (Yes, 2 more parts are still there).

Acting: Vin Diesel was good in this part too. We see the old Dom Toretto . The Rock who people quite missed in the seventh part (I also) was back with some Major chunk of role in the film. Jason Statham was also good. Tyrese, used as comic relief in the film gives many laughs. Also providing laughs is Scott Eastwood, playing Nobody's assistant. We also see him driving some cars and getting to action (which I didn't expect). But yes, a special mention to Charlize Theron. Although she didn't have action scenes to support her role, the role was well written and executed with perfection by her. Kurt Russell too was good.

Other departments: Music used by Brian Tyler was good. The VFX was also great. And yes, the stunts.. With each of the franchises we see a great number of action sequences (that is what basically this film is made for). And hell yeah, I was impressed with each of the action and stunt sequences. I watched it in 3D. Which made the fun even 3 times better.

Favorite Scene: I guess it would be the scene where Rock cheers the girl's to victory and has some sort of victory dance in the beginning of the match. That was quite funny to watch. He even forces an official to cheer for the girl's victory.

Verdict: On that note, I would like to say that FF8 delivers. Although it has some minor mistakes, I came out of the hall satisfied. There is even another tribute to the character Brian on the film (hell I miss you Paul Walker). It is less entertaining that the seventh part, but satisfying.

I will give this an 8/10.
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
I really respect how diverse a cast this franchise has always employed!
Hellmant18 April 2017
'THE FATE OF THE FURIOUS': Four Stars (Out of Five)

The eighth installment in the immensely popular blockbuster franchise, and only the second chapter not to include the late Paul Walker (following 2006's 'TOKYO DRIFT'). Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Michelle Rodriguez, Tyrese Gibson, Chris Bridges, Nathalie Emmanuel and Kurt Russell all reprise their roles from the other films; while Charlize Theron, Scott Eastwood and Helen Mirren join the cast. F. Gary Gray (who's best know for helming 2015's 'STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON') directed this installment (he's also worked with Diesel before on 2003's 'MAN APART', and with Theron on 2003's 'THE Italian JOB'). It was once again written by Chris Morgan, who also wrote the last 6 chapters in the series. The film is also (once again) a huge hit at the Box Office, and it's also gotten mostly positive reviews from critics as well (like all of the other recent installments in the series). I enjoyed it too.

Dom Torretto (Diesel) and Letty Ortiz (Rodriguez) are on their honeymoon in Havana, when Dom is approached by a cyberterrorist known as Cipher (Theron). She seduces him into working for her, by showing him a picture of something that's obviously very important to him. Dom then betrays his team, and steals an EMP device from them. Agent Frank Petty (Russell) then recruits Letty, Luke Hobbs (Johnson), Deckard Shaw (Statham) and the rest of Dom's team to help them catch Dom, and stop Cipher.

The movie is action-packed, but it's also way too long (at over 2 hours and 15 minutes). For me, it definitely starts to drag a little in the middle of the film. I wasn't a big fan of the series when it first started, but I've been really impressed with the last several installments, and I think this is one of the best ones yet. It's not as good as the last chapter in the series, because that was a really fitting (and quite beautiful) tribute to Paul Walker, but it might be the second best one yet. And I really respect how diverse a cast this franchise has always employed; it's probably the most diversely cast blockbuster franchise in cinema history (but 'STAR WARS' is catching up to it though).

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: https://vimeo.com/213917579
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Dom encounters an unusual woman during his honerymoon, that causes acts of betrayal, and forces the crew to fight to make to make them whole again.
Celeste S23 April 2017
While Dom(Vin Diesel) and Letty Ortiz(Michelle Rodriguez) are on their honeymoon, he is challenged at an auto show to race against a local street racer, Fernando. Although Dom barely wins the race, and earns the respect of Fernando. Dom allows him to keep his car, and initially gives his show car to his cousin. Afterwards, Dom meets an intrusive woman Cypher a cyber terrorist (Charlize Theron) who forces him into working for her, to retrieve the EMP, and betray his team. Luke Hobbs(Dwayne Johnson), Roman Pearce(Tyrese Gibson), Tej Parker(Chris Ludicrous Bridges), Ramsey(Nathalie Emmanuel), and Letty Ortiz(Michelle Rodriguez) are then forced to find Dom, so they can take back the EMP and stop Cypher before she wipes out the world with high tech weapons. Directed by F. Gary Gray and written by Chris Morgan, The Fate of the Furious is a "Thought Provoking", and "Fast Paced Action Thriller". People thirteen and older will definitely enjoy seeing. I really liked how the message of "The Importance of Family" stayed consistent throughout the film. As Dominic Toretto says "You never turn your back on family". I really liked that. I also, enjoyed how all the characters came together during the whole movie. The way they thought, spoke, and how their demeanors changed from beginning to end made sense, and was well thought out. I did not like how Cypher used Dom's code of "Family First" to try to manipulate him into thinking it is the wrong decision. Other than that, I absolutely loved it.
33 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Flawed but Fun
Hold_the_door19 April 2017
The eighth film in The Fast and the Furious franchise, "The Fate of the Furious", might not be the best in the series, but I must say, it's pretty damn good and just as fun and entertaining as I expected. The franchise as a whole, for what it is, it offers great entertainment, especially with its latest instalments.

The Fast & Furious family is back, but this time things will get serious. Dom is going evil and betrays his friends and family to work with Cipher (a.k.a. Charlize Theron), a cyberterrorist who is really evil. And that's not enough to describe how wicked she is and all the things she does.

The movie is full of twists and surprises, although it should be said that these twists are not something none saw coming. They are quite predictable. That's a problem with this franchise - and I believe every franchise and movie that has mainly to do with car racing. Don't expect much story wise.

However, it gives you what you want. It gives you action, fun, family spirit, cars, racing, and Vin Diesel, the Rock and Jason Statham kicking ass - Tyrese Gibson is also a scene stealer. It lives up to what you've come to expect from FAF. Do you really want more?
33 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Ridiculous But Fun!
steve beard15 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "The Fate of the Furious", starring Vin Diesel-The Last Witch Hunter, Saving Private Ryan; Jason Statham-The Expendables movies, The Italian Job_2003; Dwayne Johnson-Ballers_tv, San Andreas; Michelle Rodriguez-The Machete movies, Lost_tv and Charlize Theron-The Huntsman movies, The Italian Job_2003.

This is the 8th in the series-with at least 2 more on the way-and it is just as much fun to watch as the previous ones-car stunts, etc.-and just as ridiculous, plot wise. But the plots are not why they are so much fun to watch now, are they? This one starts with Vin & Michelle living in Cuba, where they are taking it easy, living the retired life. Charlize shows up, shows Vin something on a phone-which we don't find out until later, exactly what it is-and Bam! Vin sabotages the next gathering of his 'family' while they are on a mission, which puts Dwayne in jail and Vin on the run, working for Charlize, who turns out to be a big shot cyber terrorist that has some kind of a master plan involving Vin stealing things for her. While Dwayne is in jail, he runs into Jason, the bad guy from the last movie, and you just know that the sparks are going to fly. There are lots of fights, car stunts, car chases, cars falling out of buildings, Heck, there is even a car chase with a submarine! I can pretty much guarantee that you will not be bored. You might role your eyes in disbelief but you will be entertained! FYI: They do mention Paul Walker's character briefly but he-or any CGI version of him-does not make an appearance on screen. Vin does make a minor tribute to Paul's character, though. There are no scenes during or after the end credits, so there is no need to stick around. It's rated "PG-13" for violence, destruction and language and has a running time of 2 hours & 16 minutes. If you like the series, you should enjoy this one, too. I did and would buy it on Blu-Ray.
33 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Very Furious, Maybe Too Fast
MItTiger15 April 2017
Going to get straight to the point with this movie:

1. Great Action; keeps you on the edge all times

2. Strange & Unnecessary Dialogue; Some times in the most serious of scenes they started cracking jokes which ruined the atmosphere

3. Good Storyline; Connects well to previous films, and all the actors did a great job with the characters

4. Very Clichéd; The dialogue and some key scenes (especially with the villain) were predictable and didn't offer anything new

5. Too Much Comic Relief; Too many jokes and humor

Overall this movie had great potential to be something absolutely fantastic but is cut short by the film's quirkiness and lightheartedness which at times did not blend well with the story's dark tone. Very similar to the tone mix in Avengers: Age Of Ultron.

But judging based on action, which mostly everyone probably watches this movie for, the action was intense, fresh, and exciting and was very enjoyable for me.
33 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Slam bang, wall to wall action with adequate humor & even good emotional worth
dangkoen14 April 2017
The Fast & Furious movies are never going to win any Oscars, but on an action level they do deliver. Producer Vin Diesel & the team of filmmakers - in particular the second unit - were indeed able to up the ante for the action sequences as mentioned starting from the 5th installment, giving viewers some of the most daring stunt work put to film in recent times.

For deep, intriguing plots you're at the wrong address as well, the story is so absurd. But it works for this franchise as the cast is clearly all in to have a blast, especially Charlize Theron who stands out as the psychotic villain, & they even carry the emotional scenes quite well.

Keep the momentum going & they are sure to have mega fire hits with installments 9 & 10! Bring them on!
33 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
"Fate" Is More Ridiculous Than Furious
timothyalanwilliams7 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I remember seeing the preview for "The Fast and The Furious" back in 2001 and thinking "That movie is gonna bomb! Who wants to watch a movie about street car racing?" Little did I know that a movie studio's idea of re-imaging the cult classic, "Point Break", with street cars instead of surf boards would turn into a box office hit and make Paul Walker and Vin Diesel household names. Diesel and director Rob Cohen abandoned the sequel, "2 Fast 2 Furious" with Walker starring and John Singleton directing. It couldn't match the success of the original and most thought the franchise was over. Then up-and-coming director, Justin Lin, attempted to breathe life back into franchise with a whole new cast on a new continent with "The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift". Although the film bombed at the box office, Vin Diesel saw potential and inked a deal with Paramount to get the original cast back together with Lin directing and shifted from just a street racing movie to more of a straight-up action flick. 2009's "Fast & Furious" was the revival no one saw coming and jump started the franchise...uh, so to speak. Each sequel after ("Fast Five", "Fast & Furious 6", and "Furious 7") got bigger, bolder, and, at times, to more ridiculous than furious. But each one dominated the box office and turned out to be quite entertaining popcorn flicks. After the tearful farewell to Paul Walker (who died tragically during a break in filming) at the end of 7, I wasn't quite sure how the franchise would move on. The bond and chemistry of Walker and Diesel were the key components of the previous movies' success. And I have to say, "The Fate of the Furious" suffers from Paul's absence. The movie is still full of action, and even more street racing and car chases than the last few movies. But that's no surprise with new-to-the-franchise director F. Gary Gray who took movie car chases to a new level in "The Italian Job". But even with those cool car chases, The Rock going toe-to-toe (again) with Jason Statham, and new villain Charlize Theron, "The Fate of the Furious" feels like it's running out of gas. If you are looking for a solid story line, this isn't for you. But if you just want some ludicrous action (pardon my pun), some amusing wise-cracks from Tyrese Gibson, and a hint of high-tech hi-jinks to save the world from a ruthless hacker then 8 just might be in your fate, Side Note: I am hoping that The Rock gets his own spin-off movie based his "Luke Hobbs" character, because he is becoming bigger than this franchise can handle.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
corrupting his beliefs drives a wedge in his fate for family sealing the deal by taking on his own team
2karl-23 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
fate of the furious is epic in cars and it has a evolving story its not quite the same as 7 as it had an emotional element to the last but this is a different animal to it but quite the blast it boys and his toys you will always for me I'm guaranteed to be at the front of the q for the cinema for fast films and this is not different its 2h 16min | Action, Adventure, Crime 9/10 When a mysterious woman seduces Dom into the world of terrorism and a betrayal of those closest to him, the crew face trials that will test them as never before. Director:F. Gary Gray has taken over from the regular directors he has his own action finger prints on this film as he has done the Italian job and the intense negotiator so he does a great job of giving it a twist in this film so with the fast serious like bond it globe trots from Cuba to Berlin to new York and Iceland there is a few twist in this but you can see them coming ow that Dom and Letty are on their honeymoon and Brian and Mia have retired from the game-and the rest of the crew has been exonerated-the globetrotting team has found a semblance of a normal life. But when a mysterious woman seduces Dom into the world of crime he can't seem to escape and a betrayal of those closest to him, they will face trials that will test them as never before. From the shores of Cuba and the streets of New York City to the icy plains off the arctic Barents Sea, the elite force will crisscross the globe to stop an anarchist from unleashing chaos on the world's stage... and to bring home the man who made them a family Indeed, no eighth movie in any franchise has any right to be as fun or effective as Fate manages to be. Jason Stratham and Dwayne Johnson poking fun at their action man status live it up with their charismatic styles and Jason Stratham being on nanny duties while killing baddies is a massive But in fact, I do not really understand how to evaluate this movie.Theron is very good as Cipher, though I'm loved how much I like the hacking/terrorist side of the villain. The "God's Eye" was very interesting part of the movie and that's easily the case with Cipher. I'll buy into Dom's crew taking down anybody with the rules (or lack thereof) that the franchise has set, but I'm sure that everyone loves street racers but they get boring so taking on techies. I'd rather have a villain that our heroes can punch, which is why the last few films have been ecciting The film is even capable of surprising. began to play, Statham is a cute nanny.

heer is treat Charlize Theron does a fine baddie kick ass from the control room likes to have the world at her feet corrupt people and get under peoples skin and targets dom to help kick off her plan she has something on him and she brings hostages with her and a baby to boot she wants her new lap dog to rob and steal an emp and nuclear codes along with nuclear codes so with dom leaving his co stars lap up the one liners the action is amazing in Cuba with a bang up car in a street race going 200mph and the whole group taking an emp and then taking out bad guys with a wrecking ball wow and the highlight nearly is zombie cars in new York as dom gone rogue as his family wonders what the hell is going on so as they chase dom you probably saw the cars holding his Chrysler and then the arctic chase what an end to the film with tanks flash cars submarine chase and missile explosions and car jumps is wild imaginative ottt its well worth the watch just leave your brain at the door and just enjoy the with banter and Kurt Russell has a new sidekick Clint Eastwood son Scott Eastwood little nobody pretty good action with him taking control as Mr nobody's sidekick
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Manages to remain a strong franchise, despite the absence of Paul Walker's character.
Anurag-Shetty21 April 2017
The Fate of the Furious continues with the story of Dom(Vin Diesel) & his crew including Hobbs(Dwayne Johnson), his wife Letty(Michelle Rodriguez), Roman(Tyrese Gibson), Tej Parker(Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges) & Ramsey(Nathalie Emmanuel). Dom is coerced to work with Cipher(Charlize Theron), who brings him into the world of global terrorism. Now, it is up to the rest of Dom's crew, to stop Cipher & Dom, before it's too late.

The Fate of the Furious is a highly entertaining movie. All the action set pieces in the film are mind blowing, especially the New York set piece & the climactic set piece. The 3D definitely enhances the action on screen. Director F. Gary Gray has successfully taken the reins from Furious 7(2015) director, James Wan. However, I liked Furious 7(2015) better, because it had more of an emotional impact, due to that fantastic tribute to Paul Walker at the end of the movie. The plot of the film is obviously nothing to write home about but, that is what is expected from the Fast & Furious franchise which is known for its insanely ridiculous yet epic, action set pieces. A note on the performances. Vin Diesel is effective as Dom. Jason Statham is awesome as Deckard. Dwayne Johnson is superb as Hobbs. Michelle Rodriguez is amazing as Letty. Tyrese Gibson is hilarious as Roman. Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges is impressive as Tej Parker. Charlize Theron is spectacular as Cipher. Theron steals the show in every scene she's in & is the best villain so far, in the Fast & Furious series. Kurt Russell is good as Mr. Nobody. Nathalie Emmanuel is great as Ramsey. Luke Evans & Elsa Pataky are outstanding as Owen & Elena, respectively. Kristofer Hivju is perfect as Rhodes. Scott Eastwood is brilliant as Little Nobody. Look out for a memorable cameo from an established thespian. The Fate of the Furious is a must watch for all the die-hard fans of this never ending franchise.
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Entertaining as usual
david-sarkies14 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It certainly seems as if the franchise has basically because a cookie cutter when it comes to these movies, but then again it isn't really a bad thing. In fact I have to admit that I really enjoyed it. Okay, this movie certainly isn't one of those movies that would be renown for its character development, and deep seeded themes, but it isn't supposed it be, though they have changed somewhat since the original films, and even those where they were simply chasing down drug barons. However, I do note that they weren't able to resist bringing in another FBI agent in these later films, he does come across as somewhat less corruptible than Brian was.

While the film doesn't begin immediately after the end of the previous film, it does sort of follow on. However it is interesting how there seems to be more and more characters being brought into the franchise. For instance Stratham, who was the bad guy in the previous film, is now on the team, even though there is some animosity between him and Johnson. Also Johnson is playing a much bigger role than he did previously, but then that does have something to do with the previous major star not actually being available any more.

This time Dom apparently goes rogue, or at least that is what the trailer led us to believe, Okay, a part of me thought that the trailer had revealed way too much, and I a part of me suspected that I had worked most of the film out. Okay, the submarine chase at the end of the film was probably what I was referring to, though as it turned out there were a number of aspects that I suspected I had an idea about but it turned out that I didn't.

The other interesting thing is that they have certainly moved away from the 'let's bust another drug dealer' type of movie to making it one of those black-ops, undercover, lets save the world type of movies, that happens to involve fast cars. This, I have to admit, is a good thing. The other good thing was some of the really subtle humour that popped up along the way, as long as the really blatant jokes, such as the ones involving the orange Ferrari. However, in the end it is one of those pretty cool action films that you can pretty much sit back, enjoy, and completely turn your mind off for the two hours it takes to finish it.
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews