Jesse James: Lawman (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Not even a good Saturday afternoon rain out movie
pipelinerer10 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I love Westerns & actually almost any genre of B-Movies on a Saturday rain out when I am not on my horses but.. "NO". This movie did have two good actors in it but once I saw the "YOUNG JESSIE" I was wanting to see more of Kevin & Fonda during the movie, they were the only two who could have carried this story but were simply not utilized correctly & very little. So again even at a worse case scenario I expected a good rainy Saturday movie when I saw their names. The story line seemed good on paper for a good B-Movie but couldn't pan out on screen. Even the action scenes were hard to watch as the actors didn't seem to be tough enough to play the parts of the real life tough guys they were trying to portray. Again Kevin or Fonda should have been used more. I wouldn't go out & say I want my 77.min of life back but this video will never make it to my Western collection I have amassed.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What were they thinking ?
thomson762511 September 2015
Having enjoyed Kevin Sorbo's previous forays into the western genre, I settled in last night for what I hoped would be an enjoyable viewing of this latest release. Suffice to say that it was not the experience I had anticipated. This film has the look of a film student's first attempt to create something in his back yard. There are only 2 performers of note present (Sorbo and Peter Fonda)and the remainder of the cast could literally have been picked off the street with equal , perhaps even superior, results. The acting is atrocious. The fight scenes (both fistfights and gunfights)are perhaps the worst that I have ever viewed in film. The film gives the impression that it had a budget of $10.00 at most. One would have hoped that the presence of Sorbo and Fonda would have elevated this somewhat from the dismal effort that it is. Unfortunately, the film has the opposite effect. The surroundings are so hopeless that the 2 "stars" are dragged into the quicksand that is this film. Sorbo is easily the highlight of the film (even in one of his weaker performances) though he is far from good. Why in the world he and Fonda lent their efforts and names to this mess I have no idea. Send your kids out to film themselves playing "cowboys" and watch the results. You will see a finer cinematic effort when you do than this film provides.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
mthibeault-5002121 March 2018
Truly an awful film. Not even the kind of awful you can enjoy by laughing at it. Just awful in every way. I am angry and want my time back for watching this garbage.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
brianbastable10 September 2015
This has got to be without a doubt the worst film i have ever watched, i gave up halfway through, the storyline is basic to say the least and the quality of the filming and acting look amateur at best, this to me can only be an attempt to winkle money out of viewers by putting the minimum effort... I'm still stunned that someone has actually released such rubbish for public viewing, its actually quite cringe worthy watching it. I wish i could find something positive to say about this film but I'm afraid i can't. The film is slow, Jesse looks like a nerd with stick on ginger sideburns, he clearly has not been schooled in horse riding and it shows, even the costumes are modern with modern wax jackets??? i mean what were they thinking? i would love to know the budget for this film, maybe £100 for the camcorder?? and a donation to the wild west theme park set they hired!!
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utterly Dreadful
mabuhay_20006 November 2015
This is the worst movie I have ever seen. It's not even Z grade.

The acting in terrible, the action is feeble, the costumes are ridiculous, nobody can ride a horse properly. The gunfights look like the stood there shouting "bang!" when they pulled the trigger.

Fonda never leaves the room he's in and delivers his lines like he has never acted in his life. Sorbo looks like he just isn't interested. And that's hardly surprising, frankly. I can only assume these two are so hard up that they signed up for this turkey.

Avoid, at all costs.

Even if it's in the bargain bin!
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just dire
Prismark109 October 2017
A small town is run by outlaws led by villainous Hoyt Killian. The mayor is powerless, the sheriff hires outlaw Jesse James to infiltrate the gang to put an end to their plans.

Kevin Sorbo tells the the story in flashback hinting that he is the older Jesse James. Peter Fonda plays the mayor but he must be had been in desperate need for money.

The film is amateurish, not only because of the turgid script but it is also badly made. You have gun scenes where you see actors standing behind trees just pointing and shooting. My young son could had got better results with his smartphone.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Writer, Director, Producer, Cast, Crew.... All Should Be Ashamed
filmpudding21 October 2015
This is a horrible excuse for a movie and I use the term movie very loosely here.

The plot/script has the depth of something written by the average grade schooler. The movie is only about 70 minutes long plus credits and even that is a huge stretch for this basic plot, there are no twists and turns at all.

The only reason to watch this poor excuse for a B movie (and really it is more like an F or a G movie at best) is that Kevin Sorbo and Peter Fonda are in it. How they got these guys to be in this movie is beyond me. They must have thrown a ton of money at them (which I believe since obviously no money went into the actual producing of this low/micro/zero budget mess). They must have fired their agents after this since they obviously did not read this terrible script before signing on to do it. How can this embarrassing non movie be anything but horrible for their careers? Peter Fonda won an Oscar and now he is somehow doing crap like this?

It probably also helped that their parts in this movie probably only took about a half hour to film. Which is another problem in this movie, the two "stars" on the poster are almost never actually in it. I hate movie posters that lie like that, such a rip off. Instead we get no name actors to go alone with the no name, zero talent production team, who should all be ashamed of their lack of talent and their lies in presenting this as a movie starring Kevin Sorbo and Peter Fonda.

The acting is terrible by the way. Just not as bad as the script and direction. Or lack of script and terrible direction I should say.

A terrible effort all around though I don't think any real effort went into this.

The costumes and set are even pathetic. Couldn't they at least have put a little effort into this thing?

A blemish on Peter Fonda's acting resume, nothing more, but luckily this non movie is already forgotten so hopefully nobody else ever makes the mistake of trying to watch this travesty.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
HE MAY BE AN OUTLAW, BUT HE IS A PROFESSIONAL
nogodnomasters14 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
J.Frank Dalton (Kevin Sorbo) is being interviewed about his claim as to being the real Jesse James, whose death was faked. Dalton tells a far fetched tale where he cooperated with a lawman (Lawrence Evenchick) in order to take down Killian (John N.E. Hill) a local outlaw. Exactly how his death was faked was not mentioned in this film.

The movie was bad. The acting was super bad. The characters were stiff. Peter Fonda had a minor role as the mayor. Nice opening film of an owl and scenery.

Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.

Historically there was a man named J. Frank Dalton who signed an affidavit claiming he was the actual Jesse James. He was interviewed and his story didn't wash with the relatives of Jesse James. In 1995 the body of Jesse James was exhumed for mtDNA testing, showing that Jesse James was indeed Jesse James and was killed by Bob Ford.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Jesse James Stories Die Hard
hi_kurt15 October 2020
I felt compelled to review this movie because those other few that did either didn't give it a chance, don't have an open mind or haven't seen a variety of films let alone enough Westerns to appreciate this one; it's like a book/story on film. I'm a fan of Kevin Sorbo & Peter Fonda and if their names wouldn't have had top billing I might've passed YET this wasn't too bad at all plus I liked Andrew Galligan as James along with the other cast.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed