American Warfighter (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
46 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Amateur hour + fake reviews = don't bother
TheTopDawgCritic12 April 2019
Actor, producer, writer and director Jerry G. Angelo wore all these hats, as one would in a high school drama class to create a project that's been done many times before, and thus also over-cliched. The directing is the only fairly decent quality of this film, and even that felt amateurish. The acting is sub-par, even for c-list actors, probably from the lack of directing the cast effectively. None of the cast were convincing, and they all seemed to struggle in the acting department. The screenplay was all over the place and the slow dragged-out pacing made the 105 mins feel like 3 hours. The sound was way off and distant, no boom mics? The score was too evident and annoying. A huge pass on this one, and ignore all the fake reviews. It's a very generous 3/10 from me
52 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe the positive reviews
Netjer-y-khet12 April 2019
Nonsensical rubbish, rotten acting and actors that simply don't fit in many of the scenes. It simply is unconvincing. Sad to say, this movie's current 8.7 rating appears to be yet another colossal up-vote by cast, crew and all their extended families.
70 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
yet another colossal up-vote by cast and crew
omidebran12 April 2019
"current 8.5 rating appears to be yet another colossal up-vote by cast, crew and all their extended families." I Agree.
55 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
terrible
alphanull12 April 2019
Awful production values, awful acting, jingoistic and cliched. just terrible.
44 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
boring
sixtythunder10 May 2018
Movie was slow and not that good in anything would not recommend
43 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dont bother
goblyn-7866913 April 2019
Not good ,would not recommend ,like another review said jingoistic ,testosterone fuelled meh fest .
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They ARE delusional:
dnob-5870713 April 2019
Let's put things in perspective. Green book is an 8/10. Midnight Express is a 10. As IMBECILES (with respect), if you rated this over 5 you require blacklisting!
16 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible movie, deceiving rating!
demidenden13 April 2019
This movie was terrible I have never seen anything so slow with such terrible acting. Not sure how it even has a rating over 5!! Dont waste your time
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Z grade movie
mark-290913 April 2019
I know there are B grade movies, but this deserves a Z. Terrible acting, terrible production, just all round bad.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Insult to Seals
rhodeosc28 April 2019
This is the worst excuse for a Navy Seal movie EVER!!!! Don't waste your time. They obviously spent little to no time researching actual seals and spent no time at all with actual seals. They don't even hold their weapons correctly. This is awful.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
To Fake Reviewers Out There
bilismit13 April 2019
You guys do know you are your own worst review. As soon i see a movie with all 10 stars and words like masterful and genius for something that is an obvious waste of time, i will pass that movie. You simply cannot say it's the best movie you ever saw, to do that would mean you never ever saw a movie until now. If you want to fake the ratings, you have to keep it real, give it 6 stars, 7 tops. Those are some believable ratings. Any movie that has your rating is the movie that cannot make it on its own, and therefore not worth watching. Fake your own fake reviews, you are way too obvious.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I couldnt give a 0 but 1 get the gist.
rebornblr-0637118 April 2019
Great another terrible Navy Seal movie riddled with a shaky p.t.s.d. twist. It is just FLAT OUT AN ABORTION OF A MOVIE! I literally never seen a worse display of acting! I've seen any b,c,d ect movie but this one was just the worst! Dont do it u wont finish it anyway
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not Expendables ot GI Joe
ajwinslow-124 June 2019
I think that most of the reviews for this movie were written by video game warriors looking for the next installment of The Expendables or GI Joe. This is more for those that have actually been there and done that. If you're looking for a high budget full auto shooter Rambo flick, keep moving. If you're looking for a drama that accurately portrays true life and the issues faced by returning servicemen, give it a try.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe the fake ratings! Waste of time.
pickleinabag18 May 2019
There isn't anything in this movie that is believable in the slightest. The acting was really bad. I can get past that because these are basically b or c list actors, but the script was just terrible. None of the characters are convincing and you don't really care about them either way. The action was sub par for a war movie. The music didn't really fit either and the effects were really bad too. This movie is just all over the place. It has a nice message and could have been decent, not great though, if properly written and directed. That being said I rarely watch a movie where at the end I feel angry or at least cheated out of my time. This is one of those times though. Skip it. You won't regret it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sucks Ballz,,,,
junobug-2313916 May 2019
The SEAL Load Outs looked awful. AR-15 had no ACOG, Halogen Weapon Sights, PEQ-13 or Suppressors. They wore awful bright white badges which you could see from space. The main actor plays a Officer: Lieutenant, in the movie and the whole time in the movie, he acted more like he's an idiot and never leads his team. Their load out for cammies were awful because SEALs don't wear generic cammies. Their load out for boots sucked too,,, it looks like the movie was on a very limited budget that their AR-15s came plain with just iron sights.When it came to details like weapons, they were far off, and SEALs are known for carrying the best stuff like customized weapons and gear. None of them were using military terms during the movie. I don't think any of the characters were in the military and how the Teams work either. There was no professionalism in the movie. None of them acted like a SpecOp person but like lame idiots who gave the US Navy and the Naval Special Warfare a bad name.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage
matt-001347 May 2019
Horrible acting, I've seen more believable 80's porn movies
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Watched this due to the positive reviews. They are all liars!
Sleeper-Cell30 April 2019
Or maybe are the film crew and their relatives or just have plain bad taste.

As mentioned, when I first decided to watch this film it was rated at 7.5 it is now a more realistic 4.9 but it still deserves much lower.

The film starts off promising but it declines early on. The acting is atrocious and the quality of the cinematography is more akin to a group of friends making their own film in their spare time.

The ending is absolute nonsense and given this mess of a movie is dedicated to service personnel is disgraceful rather than a tribute.

Just don't bother with this nonsense.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very poor
djshadowfax29 April 2019
I managed to make it through 10 minutes until I picked up my phone. Extremely poor acting especially the military scenes, poor dialogue, terrible camera work and atrocious lighting and sound which it basically all that a movie contains. Don't waste your time.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible
zathan-3284814 April 2019
Nothing good about this.. Acting, story and everything else is hopeless. Did not manage to watch the full lenght of the movie
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
dissapointed
lasithamarasinghe14 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Gun fights and sounds and all are very immature. Actually I watched it bcz of the score it had and had to revisit confirm the rating. dont waste your time by watching this
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
sooooo bad
slawxx13 April 2019
Wish i could give 0 , waist of time e eeee eefdafqffqwfqwasfq ewqd
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Masterful Insight
creativerevelation29 April 2018
Normally we cheer our heroes on for their outer deeds and personal courage as they gain momentum over their inner & outer struggles, putting back the pieces previously taken from their psyche. In Jerry G. Angelo's film,Warfighter, whilst full of incredible action and suspense, we are transfixed with the wheels coming off in our hero's inner world as & when he (and his family) experience it. A realistic and masterful view of the battle fatigued mind that cannot rest, that must go on, that is duty & brother bound, a specialist that cannot be replaced, as duty is always pressing and it requires all of him. My hope is this film will help us to continue to identify better the signs of PTSD in our brave brother and sister Warfighters to understand them as whole humans, not just fighting machines. This film lays out signs on a path, we, as a society, need to follow to help heal & possibly prevent our heavily traumatized veterans.
21 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Overrated
sebsworld19 April 2019
Film is okish, they could have improved it if they halved the length of most of the scenes. Some of the acting isn't good. I think they are a number of fake 10 reviews. I would rate about 4 to 5, but will give this a 1 as to balance the score better.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Meh
LoremIpsum32118 April 2019
IMDb is getting flooded with fake reviews. Nowadays you can't just read a positive review without checking the profile whether or not it may be legit, and everything beyond 7 stars is usually fake, no matter which film. If this continuous nobody should bother visiting anymore.

Here is a good example that all those saying it's a great film are in some way or another associated with the film crew or simply took a bit money. Click on their rotten profiles and see for yourself.

To the the film itself: Practically zero redeeming qualities. I just added an extra star for the locations. Bad acting, amateurish directing and editing, lame combat scenes without much of an understanding on what to do, they even momentarily cease fire to have a chat while enemy combatants are closing in. Seriously? The PTSD addition could have been interesting, instead you end up thinking "WTF!?!".

So the message might have been honorable, the execution certainly was not. Watch "13 Hours" instead if you want to see pros depicting pros.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Aviod
spmould18 June 2019
A car crash of wooden acted cliches. Cut out the middle man and stick needles in your own eyes
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed