The Prodigy (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
407 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Evil Reincarnation
claudio_carvalho15 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
In Ohio, police officers kill the serial-killer Edward Scarka (Paul Fauteux), when one of his victims flees from him and discloses his hideout in a farmhouse. Fifteen minutes later in Pennsylvania, Sarah Blume (Taylor Schilling) delivers her son Miles Blume (Jackson Robert Scott). Soon Miles becomes the pride and joy of Sarah and her husband John Blume (Peter Mooney) with his intelligence. When Miles is eight years old, his parents note his aggressive behavior and Sarah records his words during a nightmare. She brings Miles to the psychiatrist Dr. Elaine Strasser (Paula Boudreau) that shows the tape to Dr. Arthur Jacobson (Colm Feore), who is specialist in reincarnation. Soon he concludes that Miles is possessed by an evil entity and may lose his soul. What will Sarah and John do?

"The Prodigy" is a predictable horror movie with a story of a child possessed by an evil reincarnation. Despite the well-known theme, the screenplay is not bad and keep the attention of the viewer. Therefore, it is worthwhile watching this film with lower expectation and the viewer may have a surprise. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Maligno" ("Malign")
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
He's in here
nogodnomasters15 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Miles (Jackson Robert Scott) is a child prodigy or "smarty-pants" to use the film technical term. We discover early that he is the reincarnation of Edward the serial killer (Paul Fauteux) who was shot and killed minutes before Miles was born. Edward is back to kill the one that got away and it isn't long before the parents realize Miles is messed up and he is looking at ink blots.

The film is pretty much what you expected. The ending could have gone a number of ways. They opted for the sequel version.

Guide: F-word. Brief male nudity.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Nothing out of the ordinary here...
paul_haakonsen13 May 2020
When I was given the chance to sit down and watch this 2019 movie titled "The Prodigy" from writer Jeff Buhler and director Nicholas McCarthy, of course I took the chance. I mean, the movie does have a rather interesting cover and a horror movie that has some scary child in it usually tends to be worthwhile watching.

Usually...

"The Prodigy" was not particularly interesting, nor was it scary. If it was anything, it was predictable. Which was a shame, because that factor definitely took away a lot of enjoyment from the movie in my opinion.

I wanted to like "The Prodigy", I really did. But it was hard to like it because the storyline was just less than mediocre, and it wasn't a particular scary or disturbing movie in any way.

It should be said that they had some nicely casted actors and actresses to perform in the movie, and it was nice to see Colm Feore make an appearance in the movie.

"The Prodigy" just failed to cut it, and it wasn't a movie that really was particularly outstanding in the horror genre. Especially since it was so frightfully devoid of anything overly scary.

I will say that the concept of the movie was good, and there definitely was a lot of potential there - untapped and squandered potential, I might add.

My rating of "The Prodigy" settles on a less than mediocre four out of ten stars. I've seen the movie and can tick it off the watch list, but this is hardly a movie that I will be returning to watch a second time, as it just didn't have the contents to support multiple viewing - hardly had enough for the first time, to be honest.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Intense
Gordon-1114 August 2019
This film tells the story of a young boy who is gifted but behaves erratically.

The story is pretty intense, and it keeps me guessing how it is going to end. The child actor is very good in the alternation of delivering a chilling look and a cute look. I think this thriller is worth watching.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Indifferent
neil-47625 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The film opens with us seeing Sarah give birth to baby Miles at the same time as a torturing murder is killed by police. As Miles grows, he is very advanced for his age, but he begins to show some worrying tendencies. Advisors come to the conclusion that he may well have had a serial killer reincarnated within him.

This is not so much a horror film as a psychological thriller with mild supernatural overtones and some blood. It is completely predictable from start to finish, has a couple of made-you-jump orchestra hits, and a decent performance by Jackson Robert Scott as Miles.

Having told you that, you really don't need to go and see it, because it will hold no surprises for you, it's that obvious. The only question would have been whether Miles is actually host to a serial killer or not, and the film more or less answered that in the first couple of minutes.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Average at Best
view_and_review10 February 2019
The Prodigy is a horror movie about a young boy that shows signs of advanced intelligence but also signs of more sinister issues. From early on it is clear that everything is not quite right with Miles Blume (Jackson Robert Scott). The key is to 1.) find out what's wrong and 2.) find out how to fix it. They find out what was wrong but the solution was the biggest head scratcher in my humble opinion. Not that the solution defied logic, it's just that it didn't seem to be the best course of action-but hey, worse solutions have yielded positive results.

The movie was chilling. That usually is the case with a scary movie with the central figure being a kid. There were a couple of jump scares but only one that was a quality jump scare. Most jump scares are somewhat telegraphed in their set up, the best ones are those that aren't set up at all, just BAM! Out of nowhere.

Up until the end I thought this could be an above average movie. By the end it was average at best.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Exceptionally predictable and underwhelming effort
kannibalcorpsegrinder10 June 2019
Following the birth of their son, a couple is overjoyed when they find out he's supposedly a genius child, but once they are witness to strange events and interactions with other kids they slowly come to believe his stories are due to the reincarnated spirit inhabiting him and try to stop it.

For the most part, this one was exceptionally routine and predictable. What really tends to work nicely here is the expected scenes of the kid snapping and committing all the strange incidents. The early scenes of the couple discovering the true nature of his condition start up the first half rather nicely, effectively giving this the perfect lead-in to the overall discovery of the kid. The verbal threats he utters against the mother, speaking in unusual tongues, the interviews done with the social workers and the interaction he has with the other kids all start rolling this along and prepares this one for the big finale where the action and intensity picks up considerably due to the evil child getting into more creepiness with his actions. There's some fun to be had with that aspect of the film. That said, there are still many flaws here. The biggest issue to be had is the fact that there's not much in the way of detailing anything original in the setup featured here. The formula of the gifted child who's just a bit too different to be normal but nobody else is capable of seeing that due to the innocence of the child doing it that has everyone fooled just seems to be so rudimentary and expected that it's really not shocking once he snaps and goes crazy. With a vast majority of these scenes coming about due to the wholly expected trope as the carelessness of the parents to ignore everything that's going on around them and deny everything that he's doing simply because he's their son, this formula is exceptionally apparent throughout here with very little exceptions. The other problem here is the rather bland and non-horror first hour that really has so little to actually evoke scares or suspense. Since this is all based around the growing concerns of his behavior and the realization of his current state before focusing on the road to get revenge, the setup here doesn't really generate any kind of scares or shocking moments at all beyond the concept of what the kid is doing. There are vague threats and some imposing actions towards others, none of the scares here really generate any kind of shocks or suspense leading up to the eventual revelation. This ends up offering a rather bland experience with no jump-scares and far too much reliance on the potential for something to happen yet never ends up going there as it forces plenty of expected behaviors from it. These here are what end up doing the most damage against this one.

Rated R: Graphic Language, Graphic Violence, violence-against-animals and children-in-jeopardy.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Scary in parts but irritating
phd_travel31 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The premise is quite good. A child is inhabited via reincarnation by a serial killer. But the execution has unnecessary shock tactics. They need to look to Damien Omen movies on how to build up tension.

The irritating ending brings down the movie. Even if she loved her kid how could she go to the innocent woman's house? Lost sympathy for the characters then.

Taylor Schilling looks quite scared. The poor kid actors having to act such gory things. Does it do any damage to them.

The title is not right. He's not a prodigy. Not great but some scary parts.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not original but not bad.
deloudelouvain26 April 2019
In the horror/thriller genre The Prodigy isn't a bad movie. It's not totally new, this story has been done before, but nonetheless it is entertaining. Maybe the mystery is revealed a bit too soon, they could have dragged it a bit more, I would have elaborated the story of the serial killer more, but even then it still has a dark ambiance and there is the mandatory suspense. It's nice to see Taylor Schilling in something else than Orange Is The New Black, I thought she did a good job. As well as the young Jackson Robert Scott (remember little Georgie Denbrough from Stephen Kings "It"), he was freaky when he needed to be. All in all The Prodigy gave me the entertainment that I was expecting so I'm not disappointed like some others aparently are.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ready or Not!!!
lavatch24 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
In the bonus segment of the DVD of "The Prodigy," director Nicholas McCarthy raised the following question that he believed was the heart of his film: "What would we do in a society where kids could kill?" That question was the subject of the 1954 William Golding novel "Lord of the Flies," which described a society run amok by youngsters who succumb to their baser instincts.

But "The Prodigy" never approaches the profound insights of "Lord of the Flies." As a horror film, McCarthy and other film personnel used the word "dark" over and over in their DVD interviews. But the film artists never seemed to realize how dark their film was and the degree of unpleasantness suffered by the audience with the progressive violence in the film.

In the bonus track of the DVD, McCarthy alluded to the film version of the novel "The Exorcist" as a horror classic. But "The Exorcist" had a strong element of humanity in the characters of the priests and the caring mother in their attempts to free the daughter from possession of the devil. "The Prodigy" is very similar in scope to "The Exorcist" with the difference that the priests are replaced by psychologists and the child is not "possessed" by the devil, but a victim of "reincarnation" of a serial killer.

As opposed to "The Exorcist," the psychologists-as-healers drop out of "The Prodigy" at the midpoint. And the mother, who should be the figure of love, fecundity, and regeneration, instead becomes a would-be-killer herself, who is deluded into thinking that driving all the way from Pennsylvania to Montgomery County, Ohio and committing murder will save her son. Another interesting character that drops out of the film is the father, who seemed to have the firmness that his wife lacked in dealing with his little maniacal prodigy.

The production values of the film were good, the performances were solid, and there were some creepy moments with the antics of the little bundle of joy named Miles. But the darkness of this film grew exponentially to the point of nausea. Starting with the senseless violence perpetrated by Miles against the babysitter after she says, "Ready or Not!" for a lively game of hide-and-go-seek, then gets her foot mangled, the unpleasant acts were gratuitous and overwrought.

Little Miles did not suffer from Oppositional Defiance Disorder (DDD), but experienced instead a case of two spirits warring for his soul. The exploration of the conflict of good versus evil would have been much more insightful than a case study of what society would look like after the unleashing of the Mad Hungarian beast within little Miles. The obvious answer to the filmmaker's question is that it would not be a pretty picture, just like this film
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
my notes
FeastMode27 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Well made horror flick. very creepy with an intriguing story and some really scary moments (1 viewing)

SPOILERS

the old faced child moment really creeped me out. and the jump scare where the son run towards the mom and ends up being the adult, it made me jump so much that i scared filfil who was sitting in my lap, he jumped off me so quick and owned my leg. it was pretty hilarious and a beastly jump scare
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
9
Edvis-199718 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Brilliant movie. Very intense wasn't very scary but had a lot of action going on. Liked the main idea about someone inside the boy and the plot was continuous it won't surprise it or you won't find scary jump in this film but it's very nice movie for 2019.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What a pleasant surprise at the movies
85122210 May 2019
Greetings from Lithuania.

So i just came back from a premier of "The Prodigy" (2019). I haven't seen any trailers of it, haven't read synopsis, no critics or IMDb before seeing it - only a poster from which i knew this is going to be a horror thriller with actress i really liked from that women prison drama / comedy - that is it. And i can tell you,without any spoilers - "The Prodigy" isn't a straightforward horror movie, but a thriller with some scare jump moments. And what an effective little bloody good thriller this is! It was superbly directed, superbly acted by Taylor Schilling and even more by a little Jackson Robert Scott who stole every scene in my opinion - his acting was one of the few reason that "The Prodigy" actually was one of the very best thrillers i saw in a movie theaters in some time now - he was simply brilliant.

Overall, i really enjoyed seeing "The Prodigy" without any expectations. It has very good (kinda original) story, good script, very good acting and directing. This is one of the best thrillers in a recent memory.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie is awful
jacobjohntaylor127 June 2019
This is one of the worst movies ever made. This has an awful story. It has an awful ending. It is not scary at all. You know when say something is a 5.9 you are saying it is a good movie. 5.9 is overrating this movie. I give this 1 out of 10. This is awful. Do not see this awful movie.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Different take on over-used genre.
paulclaassen29 October 2019
'The Prodigy' is an interesting take on the possession genre. This is the story of evil being reborn in an infant, and the evil trying to take control of its host as the child grows older. Evil manifests itself through the child, and this in itself can be rather creepy.

The beginning was pretty formulaic, but as the film progressed, it became more compelling, with a few twists. The film is also very unpredictable. Taylor Schilling was excellent as the mother, while Jackson Robert Scott was good as Miles, the 'possessed' child. He has an incredible cold, creepy stare.

Note, the film might not have the ending you'd expect, but this is a rather well executed film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
its not that bad!?
ops-5253524 April 2019
Prodigy is an horror drama with lots of correlations to the horror blockbusters ''the omen'' we are following the growth of a boy with sinister aliens within, it a kind of sole jumping,as when a man dies his sole take mansion in a newborn body, kind of reincarnation.

its a movie with lots of suspence and the childacting are very good. the story and plot has its loopholes that makes some of the real horror seem daft. the score are well embroidered into the film, and the lightsetting are cfredible and makes some boost to the flick.

its well worth a look if you believe in superstition and reincarnation. so mthe grumpy old man thiks that to kill the beast is best, but its still alive for a sequel to come so join the consept.its recommendable watching
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Creepy concept but poorly done film.
cruise019 May 2019
The Prodigy (3 out of 5 stars).

The Prodigy is a decent horror film which gives a creepy tone over any scares or suspense. It does play around with a creepy concept idea of reincarnation or possessing ones body. The direction by Nicholas McCarthy does not really hold up the film with a proper storytelling, developed characters, and it lacks in delivering any suspense or scares.

The plot follows Sarah (Taylor Schilling) and John (Peter Mooney) having their first son Miles (Jackson Robert Scott). Except their son is unique. His cognitive skills are advanced; he is a sweet kid who learns faster than others. When the son begins having nightmares and starts rambling about a foreign saying. His behavior becomes more aggressive towards others.

The plot was decent. The script and direction was all over the place. The beginning of the movie opened with a lady escaping from her capture. Then, a moment later a SWAT team tries to arrest a strange psychotic guy. Which then leads to this happy couple that are excited to start a family. The editing of the film does make every dramatic moment felt brief. Miles attacks another student in school. A second later, he is being evaluated by a psychologist. The film moves at a brisk pace with no character development or giving enough time for the story to develop.

The film does lack in scares as well. The creepiest feeling ever is when Sarah is waiting in the hallway as Miles runs up to her for a hug which surprises her with some creepy old man. Otherwise, the film is kind of boring and lacking in thrills and suspense too.

Overall, The Prodigy is a fair film. The concept idea is creepy. The direction, script, and story development really falls apart with a lazy direction.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Prodigy loses its intelligent setup by succumbing to generic jump scares.
TheMovieDiorama19 March 2019
Think 'Orphan' with a dash of every other generic possession film you can think of. Just another "evil child" flick with minimal thrills, scares and one heck of a predictable story. A newborn child rapidly develops his brain quicker than most, to which he soon starts acting strangely and violently when he turns eight.

McCarthy is not the most well-known horror director, however he certainty does have an eye for atmospheric shots and suitably dim lighting. A young Robert Scott played the prodigy son brilliantly, by simply changing facial expression he was able to convey a murderous twinge to his character. Oh, and a few sentences about phallic organs that made me laugh out loud (although somewhat conniving...). There were one or two ominous moments, particularly when the son runs towards the camera in the dark, and I did jump out of my chair twice. Not because it was scary.

No, unfortunately this film graces us with the loudest, most obnoxious jump scares possible. Boy turns to mirror? Loud piercing noise! Light doesn't turn on? Block your ears! Boy says "I love you"? Well, you get the idea. As a horror, it's not scary. The themes of reincarnation and rebirthing have been executed before countless times, consequently making this experience a rather dull affair. Schilling and Feore's parental performances were mediocre at best and the film concludes unsatisfactorily in an attempt to open up for a sequel. A few plot decisions, such as the mother's choice to visit a victim's house, was just diabolically stupid and selfish. I mean really? These characters just didn't think like rational human beings, and that's what made the film worse. They all conformed to typical horror tropes, making this a highly unmemorable flick. Best to use your brain cells somewhere else.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
He Took MY Hand!!!!!!!!!!
wandernn1-81-68327425 May 2020
Okay here we go time to buckle up!!!!

-1 Star for opening HOOK scene not having much relevance at all to the next portion of the movie

+1 Star for Miles truly being a good little %$^^$$. :)

Okay this movie was okay , but just okay. It really doesn't achieve levels of greatness It's an average movie. You want to watch some good movies about some bad kids? Hmm The Good Son comes to mind. And of course nothing will likely ever top The Omen and Omen II.

This one gets a passing grade but just barely.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A horror film that feels a class above the usual
jtindahouse3 June 2019
How I love an R-rated horror movie. The reason? It completely opens up the limitations on what can happen. PG-13 horror movies are predictable almost down to the detail. 'The Prodigy' managed to catch me off guard multiple times. The strange thing about this movie though, is that even though it's clearly a horror, at times it doesn't feel like a horror. Even though there is a supernatural element, it often just feels like an extremely dark thriller. This isn't a 'Children of the Corn' type movie where every character must be dispensed of one by one. There is more going on than that, and I liked it.

There is actually a lot of patience in this movie. Almost the entire first hour is spent explaining and setting up what it actually going on. Not in a tedious or boring way though. It never feels dull or dragged out. You just sort of think at about the 60 minute mark, I'm really enjoying this, but come to think of it not a lot has actually happened. Then in the final third things kick into gear and the film took me to some places I didn't expect to be taken. I really liked the handling of the end of this film.

'The Prodigy' is well made, well acted, fun horror film that I thoroughly enjoyed. I could see sequel potential in this too. Perhaps with entirely new characters using the same "prodigy" concept. I'm not sure how this did at the box-office as to whether that will actually happen or not. But if they do, I'll be there to watch it.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bland as a sugar-free bag of sugar
dfranzen709 May 2019
Just too much sameness. Supersmart kid appears to be possessed; mother wants to find out what's up. The movie has so many elements you've seen before. Random acts of violence by a tiny tyke. Fear of the supernatural, stoked by professionals who should know better. Two parents, one believing it's something beyond science and one stubbornly refusing to believe such. The movie takes so long between scary scenes that one starts to anticipate there being a big switcheroo, some kind of twist that'll salvage the boilerplate plot. But alas and alack, it's just another good kid inhabited by bad dude movie. Like if Chucky were a real boy.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Alright As A Rental
stevendbeard25 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "The Prodigy", starring Jackson Robert Scott-It_2017, Fear the Walking Dead_tv; Taylor Schilling-Orange is the New Black_tv, Argo; Peter Mooney-Rookie Blue_tv, The Artists and Colm Feore-Thor, The Chronicles of Riddick. This is a horror movie with an 8 year old boy as the protagonist. It starts with a young woman escaping from a serial killer in the woods. Then, it switches over to a different city where Peter & Taylor are expecting their first baby. It goes back and forth between the two scenes until the serial killer is cornered and killed by the police. Well guess what? That is exactly when Taylor & Peter have their little baby boy-Hmmmm, I wonder if there might be some kind of a connection here? Anyway, the boy starts acting a little strange. He is highly intelligent. He doesn't get along with any other kids. He gets into fights. Walks around carrying sharp objects, well, you get the drift. Jackson plays the 8 year old boy. Oh yeah, both the serial killer and Jackson share something else; Heterochromia, which is having two different colored eyes, in this case, one brown & one blue. Taylor & Peter finally hear about a doctor that specializes in situations like theirs and they head off to get help. Colm plays the doc. You do find out why the killer came back in the first place. It's rated "R" for violence, disturbing & bloody images and sexual content-including nudity-and has a running time of 1 hour & 32 minutes. I don't know if I would buy it on DVD but it would be alright, as a rental.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This film documents the National Emergency posed . . .
tadpole-596-91825612 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
. . . by America's current migrant serial killer invasion. Hopefully THE PRODIGY's revelations have been highlighted during many of Leader Trump's recent Daily Briefings, so that the insidious migration of foreign butchers into our U.S. Homeland can be banned, stopped, and curtailed AT LEAST until the Year 2100 (if not permanently!). Even a quick end to the importation of nefarious slayers such as "Ed Scarka" still leaves the USA with countless "ticking time bombs" roaming our streets and neighborhoods, who were NEVER thoroughly vetted! THE PRODIGY discloses that there's a 50-50 chance that outsiders previously allowed to cross our borders actually are reincarnated demons! These ghouls would as soon chop your hand off as to give you a light. Leader Trump MUST vastly expand America's existing network of high security detention camps in order to house ANYONE who's entered the USA since 1950, as well as ALL of their descendants, until a panel of REAL Americans can vouch that they're not reincarnated mass murderers. Even the most innocent-looking toddlers of foreign origin will gut you like a fish, when they're under the influence of Foreign Reincarnation Powers, THE PRODIGY reveals. Please back Leader Trump as he declares a National Emergency this week, in part to fight against this wave of Demonic Insurgents , as pictured throughout THE PRODIGY.
5 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why nowadays all horror movie just good at the opening? Pathetic!
kwenchow27 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The movie start with a female hand get chopped off and then a serial killer get killed! After that downturn really quick! Depict a woman give birth to a child and raised him until 8 years old! Too slow and too much boring conversation! Many plot holes! Why even the title is 'The Prodigy'? Entire film did not describe how genius is the boy! He lie on the table drawing nonsense when teacher asking question! Bullying his classmate! His parent knew he possessed by the so called serial killer! Find a so called psychic to cure him! His father even runaway when his son misbehave! Silly storyline really! The most silly at the end! His mother knew the entity is possessed his child body to revenge a lady! She really think she can help the entity to kill the lady and make thing right! Silly enough! But she don't even can do it! At the very very end, the entity say her child already dead, she decide to kill the child and instead herself kill by a man! This scene really freaking predictable! Most intense scene is the entity slice the female stomach at the end! Not recommend at all!
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good Kid
dar041723 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Horror film with a different ending that you wouldn't expect.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed