Shaft (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
243 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
So refreshing
lefteri-3821818 June 2019
It was nice to see a movie that didn't have a social or political agenda behind it and didn't pander to people who are easily offended. This movie showed that not everyone likes being a sensitive soft person. I really hope that movies can continue to break boundaries like this because it's a refreshment of our ability to enjoy humour without taking it personally. Plot was awesome and solid and the humour made it unbelievably enjoyable.
248 out of 374 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Politically-Incorrect Fun
sme327 June 2019
While watching this film, one might constantly wonder "How did a film like this get made in 2019?" Shaft is a wildly politically-incorrect film. It feels like a mediocre 1980s action comedy, but it is almost always fun to watch. Jessie T. Usher struggles to compete with Samuel L. Jackson and Richard Roundtree, which makes the film uneven. Jackson breaks no new ground with his performance, but he is a consistent delight to watch.
90 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Why was this made
cupofsoulshow11 July 2019
"Shaft" is an icon and so was the original movie that came out in 1971. Richard Roundtree changed the narrative of the black leading man by playing a crime crusader for the people. We fast forward to 2019 and this latest incarnation of Shaft. Samuel L. Jackson is back as John Shaft Jr. and this time he's not only fighting crime but having to face his parenting failures.

Jessie T. Usher formerly of "Survivor's Remorse" joins the franchise as J.J Shaft. He's everything his father isn't. He's polite, politically correct, respectful to women and works for the man. Regina Hall is Maya Babanikos Shaft's ex-wife and JJ's mom. Tying in the old to the new is Richard Roundtree as the original bad mutha but this time in a supporting role. I now have stated all the good things about this movie the cast.

The plot is a mix-up of terrorist, drug addict mixed in with veterans suffering PTSD. This starts off a series of events connecting father and son to notorious drug pin Gordito. There was an opportunity for some great storytelling, however, it was never executed. JJ is everything Shaft Jr isn't. He grew up in the suburbs, attended college and is a data analyst for the FBI. He solves crimes via intelligence, unlike his father who likes to knock heads. JJ was sheltered and protected by his mother. John Jr. wasn't coddled. So naturally, upon the first contact, it sets up for a humorous interaction. So please explain why the writers opted to go for predictable dialogue. We know that Shaft is a lady's man, but did we really need to see him with glitter around his mouth. Also, the usage of the P word as in cat to assess JJ's manhood also didn't help matters.

Regina Hall coming off a great year was misused in this film. She has great comedic timing but was relegated to a chick role. In other words, she wasn't given much to do. Alexander Shipp is Sasha Aries JJ's childhood friend and crush. She too was relegated to playing pretty.

Wait it gets worse. There's great banter between Father and Son as they try to get to know each other while solving the said crime. The sad part is that it's clouded amongst homophobia and misogyny. If this were 1974 this might work but it's 2019. You can make a movie about a sexy private eye without resorting to frat humor. I have given up on getting quality from Samuel L. Jackson. It's obvious he's check chasing however Reginal Hall and Jessie T. Usher deserved better. Kenya Barris yes "Blackish" creator helped pen this juvenile script. Shaft provides a few chuckles but is it worth the price of admission. The answer is a hard NO. Don't even rent this just wait for it to appear on HBO or BET.

This is just a colossal waste of time.

Scale: This movie receives a two for horrendous.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful, terrible, tedious, boring....
ibimac-570-37426529 June 2019
Completely unfunny, poorly acted tripe I can't be bothered to even to review it. I recommend you DONT watch it.
34 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sam jackson makes this movie
acluff12318 June 2019
When I attended this film I did not expect much. Another action thriller with corny jokes comparing young generations to old. But what i got was the complete opposite. The film is not for people who give up in the first 30 min. JJ ( the title character) did not carry the films first opening scenes. But the moment Sam jackson becomes fully immersed is when this film takes off. I could not stop laughing as every joke is just awesome. It is profoundly unapologetic with some jokes, unafraid of offending, something I craved for a film trying to show the differences in ideas between new and old generations. I was very surprised by this film, and although the end scenes are a little ho hum, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The son, who was slightly annoying in the beginning, does go through a transformation. Do not pass off this movie as a lame action film, because you will be laughing endlessly. The soundtrack was killer as well
91 out of 162 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Substantial Pile of Garbage
qormi4 July 2019
Here we have 70 year old John Shaft and his 30 year old girlfriend tells him he has a big fat ****. That's all you need to know.
23 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Neither style nor substance.
Troy_Campbell30 June 2019
Coming 19 years after Samuel L Jackson's big-screen Shaft, and almost five decades after Richard Roundtree's original portrayal, this sequel's attempt to modernise fails epically. Following John Shaft Jr, a nerdy-cool FBI data analyst with huge Daddy abandonment issues, this outing neither excites on a primal level nor subverts in an amusing way. Jessie T Usher is mediocre as the new-age iteration of the titular badass; he shares decent chemistry with Alexandra Shipp as long-time besties with feelings, but he lacks the requisite charisma. Jackson returns as Papa Shaft, still violating human rights, showing women half his age a good time and walking out in front of traffic, but his swagger can't disguise that he's actually too old for this sh...aft business. The action is dreary, the violence is mean-spirited and the sporadic moments of flashy filmmaking - slow-mo bullet streams, etc - feel desperate and very early 2000s. Morally, tonally and narratively all over the place, Shaft is neither style nor substance. A hard pass.
44 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bad script. Worse acting
I have often thought they should make a sequel to Shaft so when I saw this on Netflix I was very excited. Sadly that excitement quickly turned to disappointment as I say there cringing thru the atrocious dialogue and dismal acting. Even Sam Jackson is bad in this movie. I can only assume he had already agreed to do it years ago and when it came to it, didn't put his heart or soul into it. Deffo one to avoid! If you want a decent Sam Jackson movie then watch the Hitmans Bodyguard. Also on netflix
47 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mediocre at best
jangojamie28 June 2019
Poor acting, outdated, terrible humour. Tons of potential to be a great sequel but just failed to grab your attention at any point after Samuel Jackson left any scene.
36 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
WTF
sungjew-769-8826553 July 2019
What a noisy film! Last century's Shaft almost a classical, and this one is garbage. I only watched 15 minutes then decided turn it off.
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Could have been good but...
kjr10730 June 2019
I enjoyed the original Shaft movie. It established a strong, outspoken character and carried that character through subsequent movies into the early 70's.

Samuel Jackson's reprise of the character in 2000 paid homage to the original and did a good job of transporting the character into present day.

This film is a poor sequel to the 2000 film. Shaft's son is now grown and is the punchline to almost every (poorly written and acted) joke. In real life he would die the moment he walked into a rough neighborhood. Jackson is older and despite attempts to hide it (turtlenecks?), shows every bit of his 69 years. Driving an old muscle car is cliched and the banter between him and his son is forced and seldom funny.

This movie is a cheap attempt to cash in on the sequel machine that Hollywood is milking as they lack original ideas and movies.

Very poor movie. Give it a pass and watch something else.
27 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Movie was great. Laughed the whole time
zimi_jd14 June 2019
What's with the low rating? It's crazy. I kind of loved this movie and was engaged from start till end. I'd definitely recommend for a fun filled action movie.
94 out of 179 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"Kiss her!" - Netflix screwing up again...
klapka1 July 2019
The only good parts of this movies are when you see Samuel L. Jackson. The rest... is total BS. Netflix manages to destroy another good sequel.
31 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Expected more...
CyrusXxXxX29 June 2019
Somehow netflix ruined this movie. Jessie T. Usher failed to meet up compared with Samuel L. Jackson and Richard Roundtree.
38 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
They wrecked Shaft-ness.
obamashines29 June 2019
I just revisited Shaft (2000) last week after so many years; in the anticipation of viewing new one this week. Amazingly Shaft 2k is still way cooler than this one. Half baked storyline, scripting, subpar acting (apart from Samuel L. Jackson) makes it unbelievably drab watch. Felt like watching series pilot where new actors are trying to find their identity into the characters and still learning to grow into those rather than being them. Netflix shouldn't have made this or should have put more heart into rechanneling the soul from old to new.
46 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Written by kids for kids
marcos-7393328 June 2019
Reminds me of the things we used to laugh at in grade school. Only Samuel Jackson makes it worth watching, although they've adolescentized his character. Too bad the movie wasn't written by adults, because it's a good concept that could have made a decent movie.
46 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great fun
GazWatson28 June 2019
Yeah, there's not much depth to it, but when a film is this much fun it doesn't need it.
64 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bad sequel
chefjhardy1 July 2019
This movie was just too funny and they turned it into some sort of buddy cop movie. Sam Jackson's character was a bit immature to be Shaft, really took away from the real. This movie was a waste of time and even Sam didn't wanna do all the jokes. Pass on this one
27 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Shaft....more like shafted.
sandragillette28 June 2019
Bad bad bad. Producer had come fusion on whether this was a Disney Shaft or a Samuel L Shaft.....either way neither version worked. I actually cannot believe Samuel.L took this.......its so bad I turned away at some scenes to cringe.
29 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not great
tommytomato-1552213 July 2019
It started off alright then just went down hill, few funny bits but mostly plain and boring, Netflix got it very wrong.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A 70 year old Shaft
ntbenzer29 June 2019
Sam looks good for 70 years old, but playing Shaft is a bit far fetched.. Just another silly HollyWood movie. Turn your brain off and enjoy.
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful
apmurray713 July 2019
If ever a film shouldn't have been made, this is it. Perfect for Trump's America. Avoid.
22 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just awfull
boblockhart3 July 2019
Utter rubbish. Lame story, terrible acting. The absolute pits and one of the worst films I ever saw. Actually, I fell asleep and missed the end.
22 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
data analyst
mommerency_kris2 July 2019
A data analyst .. bachelor at least? i mean where is the street
22 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed
yan14814 July 2019
Samuel is cool.. But this film was so poor, and the cliche rasism just makes people seem victims all the time, lead characters both successful men, not held back by 'the man', so why the cringe worthy race related comments, poor viewing and lazy script writing in my opinion..
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed