Crazy Lake (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Dudebro mtn dew commercial bikini fest! ...Yawn
pinchpot19 February 2018
Nothing to see here folks. This is a movie written by, for, and starring dudebros, with about as much effort and intelligence as that implies.

Despite stealing it's ingredients from far more competent slashers, this doesn't even really feel like a horror movie. This feels like a Mountain Dew commercial. Lots of slo mo lingering shots of girls butts in bikinis, dudes flexing, and constantly pouring water on themselves, to rave music. A ton of obnoxious stereotypes. Generic plot. Oddly tame kills. A bunch of craft store paint looking fake blood. Amateur camera work....and a completely uninspired plot.

Despite setting the bar extremely low, it still manages to disappoint. Lazy filmmaking 101
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I don't write reviews, but...
OohLaLlama22 July 2017
I'm a HUGE horror fan but this film is just so bad. I tried really hard to carry on watching but we couldn't take any more of the constant parading of the (bad) characters. Poor acting, terrible characters, awful music Trying to be a movie that it just isn't. If you have seen movies such as 'Shark Night' or the 'Lake Placid' series? Yeah, it's not even up there... It's not sexy, just silly

Actually, as another reviewer pointed out, it was like watching some bad advertising promo. Couldn't have put it better myself!
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Avoid This Lake
shawnblackman22 July 2017
This place got its name because years back, hospitals and clinics used to toss their most troublesome, psychotic patients into the lake to drown. A group of friends visit the cottage for the weekend, which just so happens to be on Crazy Lake. Are there escaped patients still running around or is the place haunted, because they start to die, one by one.

The first five minutes has a couple in a tent being attacked by a Jason knock off with a machete. Wait, I've seen this film before and then for some reason the director has a few scenes that seem to come off as commercials for some beverage, with the quick editing, loud techno, reversing and fast forwarding etc. Don't forget the shirtless guys and bikini clad girls. When you get over this crap you get to the meat of the story which is really bologna because there is no story.

The violence is kept to a minimum with a few stabs and throat cuts. Most of the characters are annoying at best. For some reason though I liked the ending which is why I didn't give it a 2. Don't bother swimming in this lake.

4 eyes on a skewer out of 10.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst teenagers on vacation I can think of
guttersnype-3337328 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The movie loaded its cast with large breasted, big bottomed girls and nudity to try and take focus off the terrible plot. The actors are so bad that a high school drama club would be ashamed. For some reason they had to add a very lengthy slip-n-slide montage, which doesn't even add any sexiness to the movie. A killer picking off characters one by one has been done so many times that it is beyond cliché. There are no thrills, no scary moments and even the gore is diluted. The ending is the worst part of the whole movie. I would not recommend this "film" to anyone and I am certainly never going to watch it again.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great little slasher... I can't believe no ones reviewed this yet!
kyliek-5597621 July 2017
A group of young and dumb guys and girls go out to a cabin in the woods, but someone else is already there, and they aren't looking to party. If you are a horror fan, you will love this. It has blood, it has gore, it has a fun twist that I didn't see coming, and it has any horror fans favorite kind of ending. It even came equipped with a mid credit extra scene at the end. If you're anything like me, you probably skip past movies with no reviews, but this one is absolutely worth watching.
12 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Soft porn
iceman8886929 November 2017
This movie is fully based around the female assets. Half the movie is slow motion on one or all of the females while they are half naked. The story, if there really is one, is trampled by the continuous close up and slow motion of every half or more naked female in the movie. I cannot really say the acting is good because they don't spend much time acting, they spend more time parading around in almost no clothing. If you want porn, go find a real one. If you are looking for an actual movie, look somewhere else.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
You get exactly what you'd expect
tattoopig24 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A really nice little Slasher film...it is mostly paint-by-numbers, with everything quite predictable (especially the last ten mins), but now and then a curve ball is thrown at the audience. Also nice to see the guys get stripped down to their undies and not only the girls for a change! So a bunch of youngsters head off to a cabin by the lake and get slaughtered by a maniac...there is a connection between one of the characters and the killer...there is a twist at the end...there is even a mid-credit surprise! I enjoyed this film because it gives you exactly what it promises - young people getting drunk, naked and doing extremely stupid things in the face of death. The film makes no excuses and does not try to be anything other than mindless fun. It's like a mash-up of an MTV music video and a really bad 80's slasher film. Best watched with your mates while drinking shooters.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
student project
sokolov-8647711 February 2021
Good student movie, beautiful young people. Good laugh.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shockingly bad
kdycer4 February 2020
Who actually gets paid to come up with this drivel?! Why is crap like this still allowed to be put out?! It's the same film you've seen a hundred times before only worse. No attempt at an original storyline, poor acting and annoying characters who quite frankly deserve to die. Avoid at all costs.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great movie
sarfarazmohammed21 October 2018
I love these type of friends hanging out movies in the wood and than getting into sh#t....great directions. Ive seen worst ..this one is still good
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
You can't float to the bottom.
nogodnomasters8 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The film opens with background information and story. The government would take crazy people, tie concrete blocks to them and watch them "float to the bottom." Not sure why, but that is the back story as a bunch of hard body teens head to the proverbial cabin in the woods by the lake. We already know the killer is a guy named Harry (Tom Latimer). At 45 minutes into the film, we know there is an added dimension coming.

This is an 80's style slasher film. It has plenty of killing with a blade and lots of blood, but it is light on the gore special effects. It has the typical 80's nudity, a short lived strip poker game, and creepy caretaker. We also can easily figure out the "final girl." I liked it as good throwback entertainment. The dialogue was fine. Filler material included adults using a slip and slide which can only look fun in slow motion and bikinis. The film formula was missing the stop at the crazy local store owner played by either Sid Haig or Michael Berryman.

The copy of "Crazy Lake" that I viewed had "Ripper Lake" as the title. Need to work on that.

Guide: F-word. Nudity (Skyler Joy, Allis Bodziak, and thank you Libby Blanton) If you step on a rusty item that punctures the foot, a tetanus shot is normally in order. Just saying, but I'm not a doctor. I just played one growing up.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's a good movie!!!!
therightone-0463322 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I liked this movie. it had killing in it and mark got the cabin after his uncle died, but i wish mark's cousin didn't kill him because they could of worked together as a team since they are family. so no i didn't like that one part when he did that to him and also it didn't make sense at all!!!
1 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Average horror movie
davidt-738594 October 2020
Probably have seen this plot a bunch of times group of friends going to a remote place to party. U got your creepy dude that warns them of danger in some way shape or form, nudity and people slowly dying off one by one.

Movie only goes for 80 mins and takes a while before any main characters are killed. Doesn't really get going until the last 20 mins some good parts but overall average movie.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed