4.7/10
65
7 user

High Resolution (2018)

High Resolution, an adaptation of Tao Lin's novel Taipei, tracks Paul and Erin as they confront what it means to be young and in love in the early days of the 21st century.

Director:

Jason Lester

Writers:

Jason Lester (screenplay), Tao Lin (novel)
Reviews

On TV

Airs Wed. Nov. 21, 7:00 AM on TMC

2 wins. See more awards »

Photos

Learn more

More Like This 

Galveston (2018)
Action | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

After escaping a set up, a dying hitman returns to his hometown of Galveston where he plans his revenge.

Director: Mélanie Laurent
Stars: Ben Foster, Jeffrey Grover, Christopher Amitrano
Above Ground (2017)
Crime | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.5/10 X  

A divorcée's love for her ex-husband pulls her into a deadly crime ring when he goes missing, and the local authorities refuse to search for him.

Director: Thomas Rennier
Stars: Clayne Crawford, M.J. Brackin, Heather Roop
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

The first film to expose unsolved wildlife deformity outbreaks and where they may lead.

Director: James Ojala
Stars: Stephen Tobolowsky, John Hennigan, Lisa Sheridan
Domain (2017)
Drama | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.4/10 X  

After a deadly virus wipes out most of humanity, the survivors are forced to wait in self-sustaining bunkers with a networked video interface for communication, but one by one, they start ... See full summary »

Director: Nathaniel Atcheson
Stars: Britt Lower, Ryan Merriman, William Gregory Lee
4/20 Massacre (2018)
Action | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4/10 X  

A group of five women go camping in the woods to celebrate a friend's birthday over 4/20 weekend. But when they cross the turf of an illegal marijuana grow operation they must struggle to survive the living nightmare.

Director: Dylan Reynolds
Stars: Jamie Bernadette, Vanessa Rose Parker, Stacey Danger
Terrortory 2 (2018)
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.2/10 X  

The sequel to the hit anthology film: Four chilling stories tied together by one man traveling through the terrifying land known as The Terrortory. Featuring monsters from the first film--... See full summary »

Director: Kevin Kangas
Stars: Stormi Maya, George Stover, Ali Lukowski
Spell Reel (2017)
Documentary
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Filipa César turns his gaze to Guinea-Bissau, where at the beginning of the 1970s the advocates of a militant cinema captured the freedom struggle and the first years of independence.

Director: Filipa César
Painless II (2017)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

Henry Long desperately seeks a cure for the condition that leaves him unable to feel physical pain.

Director: Jordan Horowitz
Stars: Joey Klein, Evalena Marie, Kip Gilman
Edit

Cast

Credited cast:
Ellie Bamber ... Erin
Justin Chon ... Paul
Hannah Marks ... Leah
Josh Salatin ... Beau
Katherine Reis ... Maggie
Miles Robbins ... Calvin
Wai Ching Ho ... Paul's Mother
Perry Yung ... Paul's Father
Susanna Guzman Susanna Guzman ... Marsha
Quentin Mare ... Erin's Boss
Rest of cast listed alphabetically:
Niru Anya ... Gallery Patron
Julianne Arrieta ... Waitress (as Julianne Alexander)
Natasha Arselan Natasha Arselan ... Bookstore Questioner 2
John Brodeur ... Reader
Jay Feng Cobb ... Café Owner
Edit

Storyline

An adaptation of Tao Lin's beloved cult novel "Taipei". As one relationship collapses, another blooms for Erin, swept into the world of Paul Chen, a mysterious, charismatic author. When he proposes documenting every aspect of their courtship in an epic laptop-filmed "documentary", the couple enter into a performative bad romance, fueled by substances and sleepless nights.

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

based on novel | See All (1) »

Genres:

Drama

Edit

Details

Country:

USA

Release Date:

8 September 2018 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

Taipei See more »

Filming Locations:

Brooklyn, New York, USA See more »

Company Credits

Production Co:

No Face Media,Teenager See more »
Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

See full technical specs »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Future cult classic
9 October 2018 | by ljcp-90226See all my reviews

Watched on Showtime. Adaptation of the Tao Lin novel "Taipei". Changes some elements of the book but preserves many others. Loved this movie's visual style and interesting narrative, and got swept up in the romance even though I could tell it was going nowhere good. Think this will become a future cult classic in the vein of "Enter The Void" or "Trainspotting".


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 7 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page

Stream Trending Movies With Prime Video

Enjoy a night in with these popular movies available to stream now with Prime Video.

Start your free trial



Recently Viewed