A Christmas Mystery (TV Movie 2014) Poster

(2014 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Christmas, Mystery, Romance - 3 Great Components
julie_comer1 December 2019
Someone gave a review that they didn't know where the dog disappeared to. Evidently, they didn't watch to the end of the movie. I love this movie it show heart, compassion, and not your usual holiday movie. The only reason I give this an 8 was because it wasn't like a Martin Scorsese movie or a huge masterpiece. However, it is truly enjoyable with just the right amount of each component. There was a few discrepancies but they weren't really too obvious.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So what happened to the dog?? (The real mystery ;")
drcassie17 December 2017
Did I miss something?? The hero (and sometimes, the heroine) carries small dog, Murray I think, with him everywhere for maybe 45 minutes of the film. Then the 2 humans leave the bed and breakfast to pursue leads. The night before, the guy slept in car, dog stayed with her due to suspicious landlord and apparent break-in. But when they leave, no mention of dog he always keeps with him. They left little Murray with a dwindling bag of dry dog food in the place that had been broken into? Did Murray demand a bigger salary? Did actors, producer, director, even dog's real owner, forget the little guy? But whew. At the 'tail' end, they're all together celebrating Christmas. Murray is quietly sitting on the sofa. Did he hitchhike back?? We just don't know. Signed, Friend of Murray
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A blend and flat Christmas romance mystery.
Apocs18 June 2017
I am most of the time able to find some positive things to say about a film but regarding this "mystery" the only thing i can think of, and then i were forced to think both hard and long, were and is the great Christmas decorations in houses, shops, boats and on people ( the great knitted Christmas sweaters......in L.A ). The story is blend, colorless and flat. When it comes to the acting it is totally one dimensional, absolutely zero depth in the characters. And that actually makes me sad when the actors personality actually shines thru so much and the seem like very nice people, so i can imagine the set must have been just a delight and a wonderful time for all. To bad that the director did not have the skill to use that dynamic. It was like looking at the nicest of people, trying the best they possibly could with a script made for a middle school nativity play and directions given a prison chain gang.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible movie
lrlewis-4751422 August 2016
Just watched this movie ; I had to write review and warn others. Worst TV movie I've ever seen and I've seen a lot of TV movies in 60 years! This girl can NOT act ! Truly a waste of film.

Horrible! Don't waste your time ! Weak story but plausible. Where did this actress come from? Really bad!

Who thought this movie was good? I mean, Really? I doubt it will ever replay on TV! Maybe she needed to fulfill contract or something. No emotion whatsoever . A score of 1 is way too much. It was like a bad dream. Can't believe they would produce this. Be warned! Even the ending was bad!
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty good feel good chick flick
rhodascormier14 November 2020
So although yes it's a tv movie and maybe s little cheesy dialogue at times, I think it's wayy better then the reviews are giving it. The characters are likeable, plot believable, and casting)scenery not bad. There's good chemistry between the two main characters and acting could be a lot worse. Overall would say it's worth watching..
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
When is Daddy coming home?
nogodnomasters11 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is a 2014 made for TV movie rated PG. As a child, Rebecca's;s dad goes missing one Christmas. He was a policeman and was on a case. Years later when her mother dies, she comes home and discovers Christmas cards from an unknown sender. She hires a private investigator and goes Nancy Drew over the letters. Not too hard to figure out in this formula disaster.

Ryan James Bittle, who plays the detective is clearly the love child of Caspar Van Dien. The acting wasn't there. The film had a few cute moments, but otherwise it was fairly lame. For those who would like a simple Nancy Drew/ Scooby-Doo Lifetime mystery, this is the film. I had a hard time stomaching the whole thing
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Christmas Mystery? Or a Christmas Romance?
lavatch23 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Much of the dialogue of "A Christmas Mystery" seemed telegraphed and stilted. While the filmmakers tried to develop a compelling narrative about the search for a stranger in the life of the deceased mom of the protagonist, Rebecca Clark, the film juggled a romantic connection between the private investigator and Rebecca to the degree that the love story took over the film.

When Rebecca was a child, her dad went missing under suspicious circumstances. It is only in the homestretch of the movie that the story of the father re-emerges. The action was far too pat in tying the Charles Peterson story researched by Rebecca to the personal drama of her family. The convoluted "mystery" of the film's title never developed enough tension, and it seemed like filler, sitting in the backseat as the romance unfolded.

The film tended to turn into comedy in a series of nearly farcical occurrences at a homey bed-and-breakfast. It made no sense to force Andrew to sleep in the cold, dank car, opposed to sleeping in the room with Rebecca. The forced entry into the room by the villain also seemed far-fetched. The most outlandish moment was when Andrew purchased an expensive jewel as a gift for Rebecca at a time when he was sleeping in the car!

While there was good chemistry between the private eye, Andrew Steele, and Rebecca, it was too far-fetched to believe that he was concurrently working for Rebecca and spying on her for another client. That's not a way to build trust in either a business or personal romantic relationship!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
ppbkwrtr11 November 2020
Esme cannot act! One of the worst, flat, uninspired, horrendous jobs of "acting" I've ever been unfortunate to experience. I couldn't even finish watching it! To hook the viewer, you need characters that you can cheer for. I strongly disliked the female protagonist from the very first scene. When I found that I not only did not care how she fared, that I actively wished someone would smack that snotty act off her smug face, I turned the movie off. Who the heck ever called this woman an ACTOR???
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
esme
heinzezulma21 August 2020
She is the worst actress in the world😭 and what happen with the dog ,where they live him.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not much to like
junkmoi29 December 2020
Couldn't watch the whole thing. Didn't find either lead very likeable. When the post office employee started letting them root through old unclaimed mail, I gave up.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What happened to Murray the dog ???
maryann451014 December 2020
Where did Murray the dog go ?? Best part of the movie . He had a small bag of product placement dog food and no water dish . Poor Murray .He was adorable 🐾🐾🐾🐾 the rest of the movie ...meh
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not good
Jackbv1237 November 2020
On the positive side, I'll say this is a different kind of story for a "Christmas" romance movie. It's actually a mix of romance and mystery with criminal implications.

The acting is poor. Esmé Bianco is totally flat. Ryan Bittle tries to hard. Their chemistry is forced, so not really any. Much of the dialogue is bland.

The story does some cliché things and some stupid things. Mystery phone calls by the partner. All the scenes of someone hiding in shadows and following the heroes. Tough guy in prison who overacts badly. A romance that develops out of nothing, except maybe bonding over the shared danger. Oh, and the cute anagram.

The whole chase seems a little unnecessary. The bad guy would have been better off leaving everything as is.

Where did the dog go? Simple. The writers didn't need him after he caused the clerk to sneeze at unfortunate times.

Did anyone not guess who Jack is?

The only tie to Christmas is some Christmas cards.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed