Captain Marvel (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
6,660 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Just a girl who won the "over power" lottery without any character depth.
htutmaung5 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
CGI and over power doesn't make a good film. It was like Marvel version of justice league. She could just fly through whatever she wants to destory. There wasn't any display of fight IQ or heart, something you see in Captain America or Iron Man. Just a girl who won the "over power" lottery without any character depth.
599 out of 953 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
7.1????
aikenkatie1 May 2019
Someone's been monkeying with the real numbers, IMBD....you got some splainin to do! Terrible movie all the way around, and Disney? You may want to rethink the man the man bashing approach, as around half of all movie goers are, well, men. ( I'm a woman, btw, just one who won't put others down in order to feel better about myself) Seriously would like to go to a movie for some real entertainment instead of watching someone's else's political agenda garbage push. No need to say anything more about this huge waste of time, money and potential as others have already said it better. Such a shame all the way around.
705 out of 1,166 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How 7.1/10
usmansaleem54225 April 2019
I scrolled reviews more than 500 and almost all of them were below 3. I am wondering how this movie got 7.1/10 rating...
593 out of 978 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Practically nothing good about it besides the Kree commando team
mtlabfall25 March 2019
This film
  • ruins MCU continuity
  • fails to inspire a single goosebump
  • bores
  • exasperates
  • is far too glib
  • tries too hard to be a feminist PSA (*show*, don't preach plz)
  • has a horribly miscast lead hero who is also poorly written
  • made me groan when Nick Fury's eye injury was revealed
  • shows a ridiculously happy-go-lucky Nick Fury that doesn't mesh with his MCU personality AT ALL
  • is possibly the worst MCU film (Ant Man and the Wasp anyone?)
  • doesn't deserve a 7 on IMDB (especially if Wonder Woman, a far superior film, is only .4 ahead)
  • can and should be criticized without political insinuations (i.e, I want female superhero films, just not crappy ones like this).
  • has mediocre at best fight scenes
  • has a sidekick character that - given the circumstances - makes an insanely poor decision to "come along"
  • has a weak character arc, the hero doesn't struggle enough to discover her powers and then has totally OP powers and THEN doesn't fully use them against a certain person (who won't be named, Spoilers)
  • deflated the possibility of having Skrulls as villains for upcoming films
  • made me revise my opinion of Brie Larson as a good actress
  • is regrettably diminishing my interest in the next Avengers movie
  • is regrettably making me wonder if this movie is what we'll look back on and say "Marvel jumped the shark"
865 out of 1,472 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
You don't need to watch this before Endgame
duongvietlinh7 May 2019
Captain marvel doesn't have any impact in the Endgame movie. With or without her it won't change a bit. So... And it's not a good movie anyway.
386 out of 648 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The movie itself is a dull 4/10. But the media narrative ruined it.
konrad-40-20591513 March 2019
What's silly is people like Clark Gregg genuinly believe people are getting bent out of shape because she's a woman. Many of those same people who grew up on strong female action heroes like Ripley, Buffy, Xena, etc ... and who love modern day female heroes like Black Widow, (she really should have had her own movie by now) Scarlet Witch, Wasp, (loved Ant Man 1 and 2) etc ... Wonder Woman especially was well received by everyone, including those who are now being branded sexists . Many of those same people are currently loving Alita Battle Angle ... Weird huh? So sick and tired of these petty identity politics and the typical transparant respons we've seen on Ghostbusters, the new Star Wars movies, and now this. Grow the hell up and stop being so condescending towards the people who pay your bills. Not to mention many of these same people grew up on the very comic books that spawned this whole genre in the first place. One of my favorite comic books was Witchblade, which had a female lead. Noone cares.
294 out of 492 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe the overall number of stars.
When you read the reviews and do a little math it's pretty overwhelmingly obvious that the score has been rigged.
427 out of 725 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Has cool moments, but poor main character writing.
deztron7 March 2019
I've liked Brie Larson in other films, but she showed ZERO range in this. When your main character in a superhero movie is unwatchable, you already have a problem. In addition, Captain Marvel has no weaknesses, which kills the tension immediately. There is no point at which you feel she is in any danger of losing, or any danger at all for that matter.

It's an OK origin story, but it makes no sense as to WHY she's supposedly so powerful.

The cat was good.
3,532 out of 6,269 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst MCU movie by far
bluenotefan23 June 2019
7 as overall rating. non sense. This movie is garbage. nonsensical plot. campy feminist waste of time. Brie Larson's constant smirking gets annoying about 10 minutes in. I could go on ripping this movie ...as a HUGE MCU movie fan I sat thru the whole mess and many others will, but be prepared to be sorely disappointed.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Over-rated
raymj77716 March 2019
They were so busy trying to make a feminist manifesto, they forgot to make a good movie. The forced humor and weak CGI didn't help matters.
697 out of 1,220 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing and just "Meh"
shnicky-774979 March 2019
Over-hyped and very underwhelming and sadly ranks alongside "the Incredible Hulk" in the otherwise incredible MCU. Does not bode well for Avengers: Endgame and Phase 4 if this is the path Marvel is going down
155 out of 258 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I wanted to like it....
kylefast-0248211 May 2019
Of all the marvel films this one is my least favorite. It is very bland, no heart to the main protagonist. Sam J was awesome as he always is, but I just can't get behind the wet blanket playing Captain marvel. sorry future mcu.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
SO bad!
natashabrianez19 March 2019
Bad acting, bad script, bad directing, just bad overall... seemed like I was watching some cliche movie made by a freshman in college with way too much money but not enough skills to pull it off.
346 out of 612 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
We're onto you.
Jouford23 April 2019
Alright, MCU! We get it! White men are universal oppressors of everyone. You've more than hammered the message home now. What a pity you didn't put as much effort into writing a good script, making a decent film, or hiring a female lead that isn't half woman/half mannequin. Dreadful film with a pointless message, whose lead character is also going to spoil the next Avengers movie - simply by being in it.
263 out of 461 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Let's just be honest
Red_Hardigan12 March 2019
I am a Marvel fan. I go see all the movies, then buy the blu-rays. I have character statues, posters and have read the comics including Captain Marvel. There is a reason people become fans of certain things, and those things done well over time generate more fans until it becomes a "Juggernaut" like the MCU has. I fear that it's not unstoppable however, as the sub-par Captain Marvel has painfully illustrated. The movie is a pastiche of poorly written scenes with a bit of uninspired action sprinkled here and there with barely any plot at all. Carol Danvers has no character development whatsoever, no adversity to overcome besides amnesia and no villain to fight. I know there are people saying they like this movie, but I feel like they either aren't being honest or they like it for personal reasons that are not present in the movie. Objectively speaking, in terms of the technical aspects of storytelling, Captain Marvel just isn't effective. Subjectively, I was bored the entire time and the nostalgia parts made me feel as though JJ Abrams was poking me in the ribs asking me if I 'member the 90's. Yes. Yes I do. And for the record, people are criticizing this movie because it was bad, not because they "haaaate the wooomans!" Dismissing legitimate criticisms using this tactic will not produce better films, which is the only thing most people want. The problem is that they built the movie around the idea of "strong woman" and promoted it as an identity film, so when the movie ends up being bad some people rush to defend it because they don't want the IDEA to fail. The movie itself is secondary - just a vehicle to slap their bumper stickers on, which is a real shame because this could have been a great addition to the MCU. I hope they learn something from this, but from what I've heard it appears that Marvel actually plans to escalate the identity politics in the next phase which would be an absolute disaster for them. When pointing to the box office as a defense for how "good" Captain Marvel was, just remember that tons of paying customers didn't like it at all.
765 out of 1,388 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Warning: Waste of money!!
aletheiaxxxx14 March 2019
I REALLY, REALLY wanted to love this movie, but it just didn't do it for me at all. I don't want to run it for others, but WHAT THE HELL was in the studios/producer/writers/ and casting directors Kool Aid? First Ant Man and the Wasp and now you lay this poop on us? I watched it because I'm a Marvel Fan and didn't want to miss any juicy details leading up to End Game, but no, just no. You're better off streaming it online and saving your money. Maybe then Disney will get their act together.
324 out of 574 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
she cant carry the franchise
jdirteh3 April 2019
Her performance was forced, uninspiring and flat! Not looking forward to the next movie with "her" in it....
522 out of 941 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish I could give it zero stars
lurodca1 June 2019
This movie is so bad I thought it was DC. Yep, that bad. What a waste, what a shame.
24 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
What is there to marvel at?
EnoVarma6 March 2019
I was left with the general feeling, that "Captain Marvel" is a major disappointment.

First of all, there is a good story here somewhere, but it's just not well told, and there's too much of it crammed within about 115 minutes. The movie is fast-paced, but never really works, because the pacing is flat and timing is off. Aesthetically, "Captain Marvel" has been processed through the same "Marvel filter" as the rest of them. Dull. The filmmakers (indie directors of the great "Half Nelson") have given absolutely no attention to the music: the score is completely forgettable as are the 90's songs.

As for the themes, the MGTOW people are going to have a field day with "Captain Marvel's" less than subtle "feminist agenda". I'm putting that in quotations, because it's more accurately described as simply female agenda. Which is absolutely fine and commendable; the problem is the infantile in-your-face way the filmmakers address the theme. The movie is set in the year 1995, and it really feels made for that year's audience. "Captain Marvel" lacks a fresh perspective. And, by the way, any fans of "Buffy, The Vampire Slayer" will immediately recognise one pivotal scene lifted from a truly powerful scene in the series finale. In any case, Carol Danvers of the comics was always a decidedly feminist character, so this shouldn't cause any waves. What's lacking, is Carol's wide array of problems: her character history in the comics is one of the craziest in the Marvel universe (which is saying something.). Movie's much simpler.

The biggest disappointment, however, is the resourceful Brie Larson. She's just off. I don't know what happened, but the brilliant actress from "Room" is nowhere to be seen. She was just the wrong choice, I guess. Still, I'm surprised by her lackluster-ness. The cast isn't great, anyways, but at least Samuel L. Jackson and Ben Mendelsohn seem to be having fun.

Unlike me, for the most part.
2,707 out of 5,109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Should have listen to the bad reviews
jesusmontesnieto24 April 2019
The wife wanted to see it and im a Marvel fan so I thought it would be a good idea to watch it for a date night. Long story short, we both left the theater disappointed. Acting, story, and flow sucked.
262 out of 467 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Captain of what....?
gtenalokes30 May 2019
I couldn't connect with her. I couldn't feel her pain and struggle. I didn't enjoy her power evolution. How did she earn her captain title?. Turns out director fury is overrated just like this movie.

Here is a summary: A woman with amnesia and ill explained super powers kicking ass, switching sides and kick ass some more..

It took 2 hours to portray that
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Confusing to say the least
midtra5230 May 2019
You don't know who is the good character and who is the bad. I went to see this with my niece and after seeing captain Marvel act like a rude self centered you know what for quite some time she asks me if she is the bad guy of the movie. I just answered "I think so. It's confusing isn't it?". Needless to say none of us really liked it. I sure wouldn't take young girls to see it as it either really confuses them or teaches them to act like they have antisocial personality disorder.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Captain Meh
morethanmerrick13 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
While the movie was enjoyable to watch at times, I felt like I was watching it just so I wouldn't become lost in future Marvel films. Captain Marvel was underwhelming, regrettably. I truly wanted this to be a knock-out, unfortunately, the KO was my attention. I found myself moving a lot and becoming bored--waiting for 'the marvel' to really take flight. Most of the jokes and '90s pop culture references felt lackluster and forced. "Remember that song, guys? Here it is!" I felt Brie's performance was yawn-able at best, maybe mis-casting or mis-direction is to blame, but something was off. The tone felt like a juggling act. This doesn't feel like a film that is to bring the fourth phase of the MCU, and more like THOR 2: Dark World. All in all, blah blah blah, I only "read" this chapter to finish the book.

Maybe my opinion will change in the future or when Disney gives me money so I can sell out, ya friggin' turds, but I need more than Hentai cats to stay engaged.
898 out of 1,681 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring and dull actually want my money back!!
duaneobrien917 March 2019
I heard about the bad reviews before seeing Captain Marvel but figured from all the reviews saying it's people slayting on it cause she's a women (which didn't make sense as this isn't the first movie we've had a women in the lead role and as a superhero eg wonder women,Alita and ghost in a shell to name a few) I went in there with the mind set it may not be great but good enough...well me,my wife and sister all thought the same...this is rubbish!...the whole time I was waiting to get pulled into the story and get excited to see her use her powers and fly but you sort of see her powers straight away(minus the flying and when you do see it it's nothing like a wow! Moment) you find out how she gets her powers near the middle-end) so most of the film Your just wondering how she got them and when you find out your like "oh right ok was that it" I just felt like it had lots missing to it...I didnt really care much about her..I was never really woried or felt much toward her like I did for wonder women or any of the avengers...I think the actress who played captain marvel was very woden and not a very good actress...scarlet johanson played her part really well In the avengers so hopefully she can get some tips of her!....I was just really disappointed that this is the hero who's supposed to save the day in Endgame...I thought her powers were not amazing and felt like when she used them they didn't really do much(unless your a juxbox or door) tbh if your seeing this to the up to endgame you don't need to!...has nothing in it that ties to endgame apart from the credit scene which you can get on YouTube and tbh it wasn't all that(if you wondering how fury gets the pager.......*Little Spoiler*********** ******************

she gives it to him after he hands it to her earlier in the film but this time she modified it to call her) overall I'd say it reminded me of a Netflix marvel show I'd say it was watchable but nothing more...annoyed at myself for sticking up for it before I saw it and now I actually want my money back!
392 out of 717 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring and overpowered.
mrmacaw-875758 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Throughout the whole film not a single weakness was outlined for Danvers, and for me, this just makes her boring. I could compare her to Superman who I also find to be hugely overpowered, but even he does at least have one weakness.

The film overall was not up to the recent standard of the MCU, especially when compared to highly entertaining movies such as Thor Ragnarok or Avengers Infinity War.

A few moments annoyed me inparticular such as Brie Larson's cocky facial expressions at the end of her unfunny plucky little quips. She just came across as obnoxious.

The humor was poor, the character is so OP. I am dreading her being in Avengers Endgame and the way she has been wedged in so suddenly, only a month before the MCU's main event; I think it's such a bad move. I might have more love for her if she had been fleshed out in several films like other characters. Thor for example is a powerhouse, and his first film was distinctly average, but I have grown to love him over about 5 or 6 films. Captain Marvel is unfortunately being shoehorned in to the MCU and I think it has the potential to ruin the final Avengers film.
1,107 out of 2,084 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed