School of Rock (TV Series 2016–2018) Poster

(2016–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
If only there were negative star ratings.
Sami Wetzler26 March 2016
I made an account for this website JUST to complain. This show is a prime example of how to ruin something good. Yes, all of the new kids shows are terrible and full of terrible jokes and references but that isn't what made me so irritated that I wanted to leave a review. What bothers me is that this is not a 'school of rock.' It isn't rock at all. This music is the music that you would hear at Taco Bell. The REAL School of Rock was awesome so why mess with it? Just leave it alone. That movie actually used REAL rock an roll. This show is just going to make this new generation much worse than it already is. Makes me so mad. I've never felt the need to go through the trouble to leave a review for anything but I did not hesitate to complain about this.
45 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie is about the power of classic Rock 'n Roll, not this crap.
nalismythe18 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I have never been so offended and insulted by a TV show in my life. As someone who was brought up with this movie and lives in a household of this kind of music, it actually breaks my heart, like it physically makes me want to cry. This isn't even rock music. Rock music is every song and artist sampled in the movie. Does anyone remember that scene where Dewey has every genre of rock music written up on the blackboard and every band that plays that kind of music? Does anyone remember that scene where he's asking about their influences and he mentions Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Motörhead? Now they are examples of "rock" music. Not this crap that sounds like modern day pop songs that belong in the charts that will be downloaded off iTunes a million times by tween who think they that they are listening to something cool. Also, where the hell is Katie? She is such an important character in the film. And Tomika is this big black girl with an incredible Aretha Franklin voice. And another thing, Jack Black is the only person who can ever play Dewey Finn, not this idiot. They're not even all wearing the same uniform for god's sake! It's supposed to be a prestigious private school, and that main girl would never be allowed to wear Converse. The uniforms is what makes it Punk! I know it's supposed to be "family friendly", but it completely ruins every aspect of the original movie. The original film is all about finding out who you are and not letting other people tell you otherwise. It's about the power of classic Rock 'n' Roll. Nickelodeon, please, for god's sake, please stop airing this. I have a very strong emotional connection to this movie, and I know I'm not the only one.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I was expecting "Rock Music"
sonicrox25 August 2016
I enjoyed the 2003 original "School of Rock" movie, when Nickelodeon announced they are making a series based on the film I was quite interested. The cast looked similar but the songs weren't sounding right. They all sound like modern Pop songs. They aren't rock songs. Where is the "in your face" attitude that the original movie had which make me felt like they were in a rock band? This is just sappy pop stuff. I expected better from Nickelodeon but then I guess we have seen another show with the "Disney curse". Nickelodeon are trying to copy the style of Disney's shows because that's how Disney became "successful" in the 21st century. These are sad times really. Also is that really her voice or are they using Auto Tune? I know this show is for kids but it would be better if they would be introduced to ACTUAL rock music.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Infantile
writerjims21 March 2016
Why must every Nickelodeon and Disney show be written at the level of a seven year-old when the target audience appears to be 'tweens'? Look at the feature films aimed at the same audience. Just look at the original motion picture and capture that essence. "Hunger Games" and "Divergent". If they were written at the level of "School of Rock" they would be laughed off the screen. Kids today are informed and exposed to much more than kids used to be. Even the animated films for younger audiences are written with more intelligence and understanding that is far beyond what these 'children's shows' put up on the smaller screen. So please, if anyone associated with these networks reads this, raise your standards of performing, writing and directing.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This show is even worse than FRED and for good reasons
hwy-0344621 January 2018
This show is the bottom of the barrel for Nickelodeon. Many people say Fred: The Show is the worst show of all time on Nickelodeon but he's only one annoying YouTuber that died out a decade ago and that I can agree with. But what School of Rock 2016 did to the movie as well as the entire Music Industry is one of the biggest insults I have ever seen. Not only is this show terrible but there is absolutely little to no respect for the original movie or any rock music that has impacted the music industry since the 1960s. What they play 80-90% of the time is mainstream flavor of the month pop music whether they actually use instruments or not.

Again, Fred the Show is garbage but at least it's able to maintain some of the elements from the YouTube Show. Not many but they're able to retain some. Also, they were able to reuse some jokes from the YouTube video as well as the movies which were still garbage. It was just earnest and didn't act like it was good.

But for School of Rock 2016, it's like as if the Nickelodeon executives said "How can we make the complete opposite of the School of Rock movie? Oh I know: Ignore that they play rock music, replace that with pop music, turn every student from the classroom into a literal stereotype, and add the laugh track every 20 seconds. What could possibly go wrong?"(everything)

Now School of Rock wasn't all about comedy and had its serious moments. But we never forgot that they play rock music and spoke out to what is pretty much what made mainstream music popular in the first place. Rock music had such an impact and it still good as of 2018. Jack Black as well as Miranda Cosgrove had an exceptional performance in the movie and it was so good that it even got a Broadway musical.

But now, the sitcom is just terrible. Not many elements remain in this show and the ones that do remain aren't being used properly. And like before, they switched up the characters terribly. Summer has gone from a "control freak" to an over the top, happy go lucky girl. And should Zack even be Asian (he never was in the original movie)? Also, where's Katie (she had a big role in the film as the bass). I will admit that the guy playing Dewey in this show is not terrible but he is nowhere as good as Jack Black. The only character I can think of that is more interesting that she used to be is Tomika who went from a complete insult of the movie to the only tolerable character. Although I hate the fact that they changed her from a Black, chubby girl to an Australian girl who 1/2 her size, I will say that Breanna Yde is a really good actress and has a lot of potential as a singer/musician and that I have a lot of respect and support for her. But even then, that only when Nickelodeon is not using her as a cash cow or when she's not in every single Nickelodeon show (*coughs The Loud House and Nicky Ricky Dicky & Dawn). And although Breanna gave it her all in later seasons, it wasn't enough to save the show that's trying to be hip, cool, while really, it's an insult to rock n roll.

When I saw the first episode of this show, it looked really good but the rest of the series does not deliver. Also, Nick never brought back the original producer/creator Jack Black, and haven't referred on any rock musician or resources about rock music. They did it without any of these and they messed up BAAAADDDD. The stories are not interesting, the laugh track is overused, the characters are annoying (excluding Tomika in parts of Season 3), and the songs are like I said, mainstream pop songs.

Just because a show is different from its source material doesn't mean it has to be bad. Hey Arnold added a few new elements as well as few gross out jokes "The Jungle Movie" but it still maintained the core value of the original show. But despite the resources this show has, they never used it. Just like PowerPuff Girls 2016, School of Rock crapped on a beloved legacy and true meaning of rock n roll. If Nick keeps going down this path, their sitcoms will truly become known as cheap, uninspired, and lazy (until Cyma Zarghami steps down). That is why I consider this to be the worst show I have ever seen on Nick. Congratulations Fred, you've been dethroned.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
umm....what
nskratt21 March 2016
OK i found several things wrong with this show, 1. it doesn't seem to fall in line with the movie, summer is a control freak, the series portrays her as a friendly happy go lucky girl, tamika is a chunky amazing black singer with a voice that if polished can make your heart pretty close to exploding, series: tamika has none of that, an Aussie actress with a mediocre tailor swift voice ( which may be good if polished, as well as she is a very good actress!). all the cast is wrong and not up to par at all with the movie. the guy that took over jack black's character comes off as extremely annoying and trying to hard, and Pete Wentz you have a great musical career; why? just why?

all in all the songs are at least appropriate for a young audience, but Disney needs to stop trying to fix things that are broken for one and two i'm seriously offended (i do not throw the race card nor have i ever done so being that i am a mix of close to every ethnicity)that you would white-wash a show this much, however i am not surprised. Disney please just stop. thanks
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nickelodeon shows nowadays...
Rick Tonight25 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is pretty much like all other shows on Nickelodeon nowadays. A tween movie about tweens doing some random stuff. The stuff that happen in this show are stuff that would never happen in real life. It isn't like one of those shows you can relate to, or at least enjoy. It doesn't give you some kind of feeling when they are in bad or good situations, you just have that feeling of punching them in the face. Especially the overly used laughing and wooing in the background. The only show I ever watched that was actually good even if it had the the background laughing was Friends, that was an awesome show. Clichéd, Cringey, Really bad acting, and really bad story. The fact that it's a Musical makes it even more worse. It Instead of watching this show, watch one of those really good old shows, like Friends, Seinfield, The Simpsons, and just anything other than this. Here's one show I recommend : Rick and Morty. One of the best shows from the last few years, and the story is just perfect!
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
good show
charlie2 October 2016
this show is actually pretty good. i get why people don't like it because it's apparently a "rip-off" of 2003 sor, but the show itself is great. the actors are brilliant and jokes are well written. after all, nickelodean is targeted towards kid audiences, plus little girls get to look up to the girl who plays tomika, breanna yde, and tomika herself in the show, as it's not everyday you see a girl portrayed as spunky and cool on TV. as for the music, they will be doing more rock music in season 2. it is 2016 after all, and classic rock music aren't exactly most kids listen to these days, so they probably had to blend in with the kids' interests and then add in the rock music later. school of rock on nick is not a bad show. of course they had to tweak the details, otherwise people would say they completely copied 2003 sor. it's also nice to see a bunch of musically inclined kids on nick and have them inspire kids around the world.
10 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Really?
Eric Gillespie6 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
What the Hell happened to the black kids?!? Why is Tomeka white? Where's the flipping diversity? This is a national travesty! I'm regretting wasting my time reviewing this crap. I guess we could just re-image Captain America as a God-Damn Hydra agent. Ah, man. In all seriousness, this show is a huge disappointment. The beauty of the original movie was all the kids were different and individuals. These are just cookie cutter crackers. I don't expect them to play their instruments, or even sing, but at least embody the original characters. And for sure don't have your Dewey act with a shotty Jack Black impression. That might'Be put me over the edge. I refuse to let my kid watch this turd.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
School of Suck
Rachel Woodruff25 October 2017
I know that everyone always complains about "kids shows" like this and yes they tend to be awful with awful acting and awful writing and awful jokes...

But even in a sea of mediocrity the TV version of "School of Rock" somehow manages to stand out as particularly awful.

The acting is atrocious. The guy they got to mimic Jack Black is particularly pathetic, and there's not a single talented cast member to be found among all of the children. Shouldn't at least one cast member be funny or likable?

The music is also incredibly pathetic. It's called "School of ROCK" yet it is full of muzak. Just terrible.

And lay off the laugh track Nickelodeon, you're not fooling anyone into laughing at your awful shows. It's just so bloody annoying.

One of only two shows I've ever forbidden people from watching in my home, and the only one nobody objected to since nobody wants to watch this dreck.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good show
tlayton0622 October 2016
Why does everyone have to be do negative. This isn't the first show created by a movie book etc that didn't follow the original source. The Walking dead doesn't follow the comics except for major story arch's, Shadowhunters doesn't follow the books or the movie exactly they do the major story lines and relationships within the content of the books. There are so many things that kids shouldn't be watching on TV why not encourage them to watch shows like this. Just because this show doesn't have sex, lies drug use etc its a horrible show I think not. Just shows you what we as a society have reduced ourselves to we only want to watch a movie or a show unless people are nude or having sex, they are not ruining lives with their lies and manipulation, cheated and back stabbing. People come on now. What are we trying to teach our children and other generations to come. I think this is a good show that shows kids goofing around going to school playing music. Nobody's dying or killing anyone just a show you can watch with a little bit of comedy thrown in there.
10 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funny witty and fun to watch refreshing.
o o14 March 2016
Refreshing TV show from nickelodeon, some might say it's borrowed from others shows. But this is version very subtle and fun to watch. Maybe some people might not like the show but people who like a laid-back type of TV show. Will love this. There's been recent TV shows there been very similar to this genre, but the reason why this one might succeed is because the lead actor is sort of bumbling funny but yet sincere. I really hope to show makes it , As a parent of a young child myself or young adult I need the show has a lot of good values but yet has very much. The segment of the younger population that nickelodeon is look to perfect.
15 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How pathetic can this show GET?
Pele2life5 December 2016
First of all, I'd like to say, that "Nickelodeon" Is COMPLETELY ruined, because of some stupid nonsense shows, for example "Henry Danger" "Bella and the Bulldogs" "Thundermans" and this is by far the WORST of them. Why you ask? The acting is so terrible, I mean even a 6 year old could've done better than "Freddy" "Tomika" and last but not least, the WORST actor of them ALL "Summer". The plot and storyline Makes ABSOLUTE no sense. It's like watching a show created by small children who have no idea what they just created. I mean, The teacher, is so unbearable, I literally have to hold my breath and try not to choke on my food when I see my little brother watch this show. In short, this show is so misleading and is the perfect definition of "Stupidity". Mark my words, DON'T make any mistake watching this terrible show. I've been traumatized by this, I swear. O' good Lord..
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
School of lame
mahoraner niall12 June 2016
Ever since icarly left the air nick hasn't created one good show (excluding game shakers and Henry danger) Other than that all of the shows s-u-c-k! Thankfully i just grew out of kid/tween shows right around the time icarly ended, but i do watch some of the new ones once and a while, and i could not feel any worse for the kids who have to settle for this low quality entertainment. Im not talking JUST about school of rock, I'm talking about all of their new shows combined. They are just full of terrible jokes, stereotypes, and just plain terrible/confusing story lines

Honestly nick would be better off just playing reruns of shows like icarly, zoey 101, un-fabulous, Ned's declassified, etc than making and non stop playing these lame new shows

Man, I'm glad i was born right before this generation of technology obsessed, frozen obsessed, and low humor kids shows took over
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
WTF, is this garbage??? Awful Show
CrackerJacker6613 July 2016
Awful, awful , awful! What an insult to the classic 2003 film which was a childhood favorite. Nickelodeon turned a great movie and turned it into a horrible, generic, and bland kids sitcom that you see on Disney/Nickelodeon nowadays.

School of Rock, more like School of Pop. Where the hell is the rock music? Why are they singing Meghan Trainor bubblegum pop music?? They ruined all the characters and changed their races and personalities.

Tomika was the chubby black girl with the voice like Aretha Franklin. Now in the show she is a midget tomboy Spanish girl who can't sing for her life. She sounds like a dying cat.

Freddy was the cool bad rebel that had an edge. Now he's a bland pretty boy with no personality.

Summer was the educated, clever, and responsible. She thinks mostly of succeeding and earning good grades. In the show she's a shallow dumb blonde who can't do anything right and thinks about cute boys.

Lawrence in the movie was the socially awkward Asian kid. Now he's annoying and obnoxious comic relief bumbling fool.

Zack in the show is now Asian for some reason.

They guy playing Dewey is trying way too hard to emulate Jack Black down to the voice and hair. He sucks!

And does a 25 year old Kendall Schmidt from Big Time Rush that desperate for work that he had to to return to Nickelodeon for a guest starring role, 3 years after his show ended.

This show is not funny, annoying laugh track, boring characters, the writing is bad. Why was this show made? It doesn't work as a TV show. Nickelodeon please cancel this trash and stop pumping out these awful sitcoms.
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
School of Crap more like
David_Habert1 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Why did Nickelodeon try to make a TV series out of the classic movie School Of Rock, it doesn't work. (This is the first time I have ever rated anything on IMDb a 1 out of 10 and believe me this series deserves it) I suspect that it would appeal to some kids out there, but I believe that that they would love the movie a lot more than this rubbish.

I only had to see the first episode of this program and after it ended. The only thing that was going through my mind was. What the hell was I thinking, that's twenty minutes of my life I won't ever get back.

as a heavy rock/metal fan, I'd would consider watching either the movie or Beavis and Butthead.

Please Nickelodeon cancel this series because you have really screwed up trying to convert the movie into a kids show, the least these idiots at Nickelodeon could have done is include classic rock/metal songs in it. Because by not doing so, they have missed a trick there.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Only good to watch when bored
mindlesspie10 April 2016
Show's these days have no meaning and no taste. This show is another prime example of that. A very disappointing show, even as a tween. I only watch it when I'm bored, and then. Terrible acting, awful plot, and stupid characters. Not to mention it's a New show, so there's not a even going to be a lot to it. If have nothing better to do or you just like to watch crap, then this show is perfect for you! But if you're the complete opposite and normal, stay away from this show!No strong plot, no good characters, bad acting, mixed up story, this show is truly awful, It's just absolutely awful. Why in the world would anyone watch this and enjoy it? I would not recommend!
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Really? What You want !
theoneandonlyjimmypage27 March 2017
If a matter of course , there are the somewhat illiterate who have wolf nip on their minds and on their breakfast plate and who rant and rave endlessly while those ridiculous claims;like bad acting resound! Innuendo? Morbid? Macabre? That'd be positive! These are not words in their vocabulary because they already cornered the market with their elliptical opposition to the established "Funny" School of Rock delivers lots of yucks titters and punchy humor yielding laughs and belly laughs because the characters are are are the funny funny stuff you want to know bi-coastal humor us still en'vogue!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a rip off
jmanbball12 June 2018
Ned's declassified will always be better #Can'tbeattheclassics
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny, warm and engaging.
Joe Hodge17 December 2016
I doubt that most reviewers on here have actually watched more than one episode of this wonderful show. Most of their criticisms are unfair and seem to be entirely based on the fact that the TV show is not like the film. Well, it is not like the film but that doesn't mean it's bad.

First off, this is a loose adaption of the original movie. Many of the characters have been changed significantly. There is also very little focus on rock music itself. However, if you can accept these changes then you will be rewarded by a superbly written sitcom that is laugh-out-loud funny.

The young cast are terrific. In particular, Brianna Yde, who has such a gift for comedy. Yde's timing and delivery are perfect, and she is utterly charming. I look forward to seeing more from this wonderful young actress. Also worth mentioning is Jade Pettyjohn who portrays Summer as a breezy, warm, bubbly girl. This works especially well when played against Yde's biting sarcasm. Aidan Miner is also terrific as the nerdy Lawrence and great at delivering one liners.

The plot broadly follows that of the movie but there is plenty of time given over to exploring subplots. This gives the show quite a bit of scope when it comes to storytelling and ensures each episode is fresh and not repetitive.

Perhaps the biggest challenge this show faces is escaping from the shadow of its namesake. People clearly have certain expectations when they watch the show, when these expectations are not met they dismiss the show out of hand without giving it a fair chance. Just look at some of the ludicrous comments in other reviews.

This show is not perfect, I would like to see a greater emphasis on music. It would be great if the band gave a full performance in every episode. Brianna Yde has a lovely voice and her talents are underused.

My biggest criticism of the show is the use of a laugh track, it's just so intrusive. I realise that Americans are used to canned laughter but to a British ear it's very off putting. The producers need to have more confidence in the talents of their writers and cast. The comedy is so strong in the show that canned laughter is totally unnecessary.

However, these criticisms are minor quibbles. If you can accept that the characters have changed dramatically from their movie counterparts, then you will find a warm and thoroughly charming TV programme. The cast are very likable, the comedy is strong and the stories are engaging. I really look forward to each new episode. It's worth tuning in for Brianna Yde alone (who I am now a little bit in love with).

I highly recommend this show. Give it a fair chance and you will be handsomely rewarded.
5 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
just to clarify
thegirlwhodrawtoomuch9 December 2016
okay, it's not the BEST thing ever, but this is for kids to get inspired and have fun, don't you guys remember how having fun is anymore, you just like to complain about everything? Yes, this show is nothing like the movie, and yes they are not actually playing rock, but it's entertaining, and, again the most important, the kids like it, grown ups(or whatever you are) aren't technically supposed to have an actual opinion about it, so relax and have fun. and don't stop your kid for watching it just because you don't like it, the show is about that too, don't put limits to your kids liking just because you don't. It's just about having fun.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Basically, I wanted to hate this and I couldn't
I don't know what it is, but I enjoy this show. I think it's gotten better and funnier in season 3. I'm a big fan of Jade Pettyjohn, I think she has an incredible future in front of her. Tony Cavalero manages to make every bit as affable and dorky as Jack Black. I wish when I was a kid school was like this!
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
School for the disabled
xoxogossiipgiirll25 August 2018
Worst show, I'd rather watch jake Paul showing of his mercy on replay for infinity and 1 hours. Really boring cheesy music and acting pretty predictable storyline not hot enough store (pardon the pun) (pardon the Moses pun) school of bums
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
School of Rock
trollfelix19 July 2018
School of Rock is in my opinion the best new show on nick since Victorious, because the actors play their role really good, the music, while not staying true to the old movie is really catchy and Breanna Yde is very talented in singing, that the music is good. The jokes are well written and often funny, the story is true to the movie, kids that create a band in school and the situations are very funny and creative, so I can't hate it, it's all in all a very solid show with clever jokes and awesome concepts.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed