Patient Seventeen (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
53 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Interesting topic - bad execution
fido234 February 2018
The topic is fascinating however the was was executed with many directive and design flaws that didn't work for me and brings to little to the table.

Also needs more background information on both technical (eg isotopic count) and the given subject. Instead the film was stretched with overly long scenes that are neither interesting nor informative, It completely fails when it tries to be emotional or dramatic. I would not want to be in a documentary made by this director.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Where is the zero star option?
mastrait10 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
0 Stars - WOW, and yes I did watch the whole thing. It was what I'd expected, but Ken Ham, (Queensland Institute of Technology (B.AS.) University of Queensland) the guy who built the Ark reproduction has a better scam. (u mm... I meant science)

I DARE you to watch this and tell me I am wrong!

The "Nano-scientist," (just listed as Christoper C. in the credits,) was some guy in a shed, looking up information from a high school level textbook, "Modern Physics" by Hans C Ohanian (1986), and yes I looked it up, but by using Google, along with an old classroom size periodic table. Believe it or NOT!

As far I could tell, there were only to people that had degrees at all in this film, the main character Roger Krevin Leir, graduated with a bachelor's degree in Science from the University of Southern California in 1961, qualifying as a podiatrist three years later. I could not find any advance degree listed, my guess is to "qualify" in 1961 as a podiatrist was not as rigorous, but I'm not sure why one would not flaunt your credentials a bit.

The surgeon who actually performed the operation was only listed as Dr. Matrisciano. Boy, was it hard to find him! Doing an in-depth Google search, it was hard to really link the doctors together, go figure!

In the movie, Dr. Matrisciano explicitly states "just some small foreign object. I just removed it, up to the tests to see what it is" In the one and only Google article I could find to tell me who/if he was a real doctor stated;

""Dr. John D, Matrisciano. "I know nothing about UFOs or implants," Dr. Matrisciano said after the operation, "but I think that's what is needed in this case; to be objective.""

The article also makes it clear this was Matriscianos' first operation done for Leir. Dr. John D, Matrisciano still seems to be working in Thousand Oaks California, and has what someone would expect to find, some link to credentials.

Well there, my guess is I spent more time researching this online than any of the above spent on contemplating how silly they all appear in the film. Or maybe they just wanted a quick buck, and thought anyone that matters would never see the film?
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Amateurish... based on BS
andletlive30 December 2019
Poorly written, repetitive, uninterested in facts... not worth the time.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The editor must have known
themadcamel15 July 2019
I've watched 100s if not 1000s of documentaries... this is hands down the worst I've ever seen. It was even more boring than a documentary about a small family of Aphids my nephew made in primary school. The only question I was stuck with at the end of this piece of garbage is how on earth did this embarrassment make it to the public domain and not my Nephews Aphid anthology? It literally baffles the brain?
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Uninformative, deceptive
farmeglio20 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie presents "evidence" that is never documented, makes claims that have no support in science, and the "scientists" who speak in favor of the supposedly alien device do not identify their full names. Nor do they supply the scientific formulae which would show the device has isotopes that do not exist on earth.

The whole thing is wishful thinking disguised as investigative reporting.

The party who will not release the device once extracted is apparently the patient himself, it seems. Yet no reporter asks him, "How come you won't tell us where the device is so we can examine it to see if the claims you and your medical team are making are true?"
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute and Utter Garbage
higgins_Andy12 February 2018
This "documentary" is a joke. Leir was a crackpot podiatrist. The surgery performed was technically awful (they didn't even shave the area). Leir sounds like he's drunk throughout the film and the narrator sounds like a poor man's Christian Slater. Just awful.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
As dismal as filmmaking gets
jake_fantom8 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
In its relentless quest for cheap content to fool its subscribers into thinking they are getting something for their ever-increasing subscription fees, Netflix has come up with this inanity - an amateurish hodge-podge of UFO nonsense about sinister aliens implanting horrific devices (that look like tiny splinters of glass) into the bodies of poor devils who appear more than anything else to need psychiatric care. The usual suspects are all here, with a particularly goofy emphasis on "experts" who include a podiatrist (now dead), and a couple of "scientists" who appear to be conducting experiments in their garages with the kind of oscillators and other apparatus usually seen in low-budget 1950s science fiction flicks. Best of all is the the narrator and "filmmaker," a guy with four names none of which will be repeated by me. He drones on in a high-pitched whine, intoning lunatic bon mots about the importance of his work to humankind, and occasionally throwing in a "Wow!" when one of the scientific "authorities" reveals some thoroughly prosaic factoid about the business at hand. For the record, none of the people involved in this scurrilous enterprise will cooperate with any scientific body that could validate (and much more likely, invalidate) their imaginative conclusions. Sadly, with just a little tweaking, this could have been a truly hysterical mockumentary. The only saving grace I can think of is that this film may inspire some 12-year-old aspiring filmmaker with two dollars and a dream. Because this film proves conclusively that ANYONE with a couple of bucks and in idea, no matter how nonsensical, can produce a documentary and have it broadcast on Netflix. God save us.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Zinc 64 and 66 are the most prevalent isotops of zinc
benniegrezlik14 July 2018
The "researchers"/"scientists" made a big deal that zinc 64 and 66 were, like, from another galaxy. It took me two seconds on Wiki to learn that zinc 64 comprises almost 50% of all zinc, and zinc 66 comprises almost 28% of all zinc. That means zinc everywhere, even on earth. This one little factoid tells me that the whole "documentary" is much ado about nothing. Pure BS. Thanks a lot, Netflix.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
sophomoric garbage
MannyInNewYork30 March 2018
The intro has a voice over and the speaker says he is going to "weaponize my curiosity ". Right there I knew the screenplay was written by an idiot. I could not get past 15 minutes of this amateurish at best , sleep inducing junk. Weaponize my curiosity, really? What the hell does that mean?

So, I have no right to comment on anything but the first 15 minutes. It was a snooze-fest. Poorly written, uninteresting and a turn off.

On the upside, I didn't have to sit through an hour before deciding it was a waste. That was apparent very, very quickly.

How does someone get backing for something so bad ? That's the real "mystery".
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
really interested in UFO films and documentaries, but definitely not this!
contactmaz8 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was really looking forward to watching this but I was extremely disappointed. The abductee/patient 17 was good and very believable actually and I enjoyed hearing his views/ideas/thoughts. I enjoyed hearing about what he would do to them were he to meet them (again)! However, the other people or experts involved were too 'on the fence' with nothing definitive at the end. Throughout the film, it appeared that something amazing was going to be reported only for the ending to leave the viewer thinking, "Oh, was that it, was that their so-called verdict?". The metallurgy guy was irrelevant if there was not really a "WOW" factor in his analysis. The physicist at the end was good and he seemed to be convinced but his report or views were not followed through further enough. This then led me to think that the documentary seemed to ignore his findings. I think more should have been reported or done with regards to the testing of the implant, much more. Nothing was reported on the whereabouts of the device and patient 17. What happened to them? Oh, and before I forget, the filming was atrocious! Many times, the blurring of an initial scene was off-putting and if it was intentional, for special effects, it was a bad decision. If not, the filming was crap. Wouldn't really recommend this unless there is an extended edition where there is further analysis on the implant to confirm that this is, indeed, a 'smoking-gun' piece of evidence for the UFO world.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible......Just.Terrible.
pamelonians7 February 2018
This is the worst "documentary" I have ever seen. I would rather have actually been abducted by aliens and implanted than to have watched this garbage. This might as well have been made by a couple of 14 year olds equipped with an iphone. The most scientific aspect of the entire film was when "Steve the scientist" (in his personal laboratory that looks like a renovated outhouse) pulled out his periodic table of elements to intrepret the alleged data; but what really puts this film over the edge of barely tolerable is the narration by the film maker himself. Terrible.
29 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A fascinating subject but no evidence
willesloco-5307421 January 2018
Who were these "doctors" and "scientists" they are not formally identified in the credits and they all seem to have their own agenda. Why not take the sample to an independent lab for testing and interview the lab technicians. Very disappointing. I would bet my left nut that a few characters in the "documentary" were paid actors.
23 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Trivia
atilley-814-63160916 February 2018
Look at the "Trivia" section of IMDB. It seems this is mis-labeled as a documentary. Shouldn't it just be "fiction"? The whole thing is a student film and is "Solely fiction" WTF? Talk about disinformation!!! Glad I read the TRIVIA section (I'm upset about that information being in the "Trivia" section because it's not "TRIVIAL" to know it's FICTION!) before I formed any kind of real opinion. People will believe anything with very little evidence if framed in a "Realistic" way.

If this "Renowned" filmmaker was going for exposing how naive and easily led humans are, he got it!
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Drawn out with no conclusion
nina_568226 October 2017
I was really disappointed with this documentary, as was my partner. Promised to lead us down a path of discovery only to constantly hit dead ends. There was no balanced argument, and out of the whole 80 something minutes about 5 of those were interesting. Nah, there's much much better documentaries covering this subject area out there.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Only for the totally delusional seeking confirmation bias for their crackpot ideas.
Delusional "investigative journalist" makes a documentary that would make Werner Herzog roll in his grave with its lack of objectivity and impartiality. It follows some poor dope ("Patient Seventeen") who has been convinced by possibly the worst friends ever that he has an alien implant in his leg. So he does what any sane person does and goes to see a Doctor Roger Leir, who has been suspended from podiatry for performing the same sort of unnecessary surgeries he is about to oversee in this film. Laughably using a stud finder and an ultrasound, he convinces this poor dupe to have the object removed. He then has the object examined under an electron microscope where... spoiler alert... the results are inconclusive. Good thing this documentary was only made for confirmation bias
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yaaawwwnnn
michaelbohan-589286 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Basically a really really slow documentary discussing a tiny bit of metal in a man's leg which pretty obviously got there when riding his motorbike.

The experts are, well not experts.

Utter nonsense
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Buffoonery at its best ...
merrill-5822430 October 2019
Ever notice how the narrator's voice sounds like most the dweeby voices you hear in conspiracy type theory documentaries? I call it your Loose Change voice. I wanted to put 10 to see if I could erase the 1 part, thus making this a big 0. This was quite possibly the worst documentary I have ever seen. I think the people in this tripe come from a different solar system, let alone Earth!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How...
kfun904 February 2018
Can anyone even take this seriously? If you have even the slightest background in any scientific field, you know the interpretation that this Steve guy (might I add he was arrested back in 95 for suspicion of involvement with the Oklahoma City bombings) was ridiculous. This "documentary" failed to supply any real scientific evidence or interpretation. Let's just call it what it is... a mediocre, at best, sci-fi short on Netflix.
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
discombobulated
gdirect5 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This documentary is so poorly executed, feels like a high school project. The so called "SCIENTISTS" were a complete joke, especially the dude that looks like he just woke up in every scene. I have one suggestion for the director, you need to have a comparison to help explain what you're trying to reveal. Start with a few items describing their elements before you start your hypothesis. The science dude was barely audible, hard to understand, and sounded like he needed another hit of whatever he was on. The actual patient did a better job throwing actual questions and realized some improvising was needed to help connect the dots. Why on earth would you spend so much time and then end up getting crap reviews. Uggghhhh, this is just a sham of a documentary!
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Interesting but the "science" falls apart
ericbordelon6 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This is an interesting, and entertaining, romp into the world of Ufology but ultimately the 'science' seems to fall apart pretty quickly. A quick Google search can clear up some of the questions about the elements and isotopes being 'rare' and 'created.' For example Zinc 64 is the most abundant isotope of Zinc, yet they claim it couldn't come from Earth. Seems like all the 'scientists' are misleading and looking for proof it came from aliens rather than using a real methodology. Like another reviewer said, probably was a motorcycle chunk or road debris.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Conjecture, Straw Arguments, Speculative B.S.
nightengale-3159410 February 2018
One of the worst films I've ever seen. The level of speculation, conjecture, straw arguments and leading "questions" reveals a gross ineptness, and disregard for factual scientific study (or method). If you like conjecture, illogical arguments and claims, speculation and gigantic leaps in logic and facts - watch this film, otherwise, you're being played just like the author is / was. A terrible movie that pretends to pass of "astounding evidence" which is literally non-existent. And the ending - oh boy, how convenient that was.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I was entertained, but still don't feel very informed.
lonniew15 November 2017
I was entertained by it but don't expect the holy grail of information. I've followed the doctor's work for a while and always found it fascinating, I was hoping for something more I suppose.

Still, this was leaps and bounds beyond other similar UFO/Alien themed documentary if you ask me.

If you have some spare time, give it a go.. That's essentially what I did. I wouldn't mind a follow up honestly, I still can't see giving it beyond a score of 3
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Misinformation/unscientific
jeffreytmahoney26 April 2020
The "experts" have questionable credentials and obvious biases. The narration is annoying.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bloody Boring
mattmaylett-4756717 May 2018
Don't waste your time. This show was shot on some kid's iPhone and is incredibly slow. Never at any point of watching this did I feel like this grabbed my attention or made me want to know more.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage
benjaminplum5 July 2019
Poorly made and lacking any actual information. What more needs to be said? Don't waste your time.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed