Surviving Confession (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Exploration of human psychology
marcofranchino2 June 2020
When a young woman visits a priest for a confession, the two start an unlikely conversation and the more it goes on, the more he feels conflicted with his faith and by the end he has his world turned upside down.

This is a surprising good movie. Dialogues constitute almost the entirety of the film and they are really well written, sustaining the dynamics among the characters. The dialogue between the priest and Amber, the young woman, is interspersed with different confessions, meaningful conversations with various characters that enrich the story. Small-scaled in term of movie-making, this is huge in term of exploration of human psychology and that makes some of the best cinema.

Challenged on love and life by Amber, the piest's faith falters. A confession without guilt seems ultimately to push him to reject his vows, seemingly having lost trust into this sacrament. Is confession still relevant in this modern world? Will the priest leave the Church? What is Amber motivation to look into confession? All these dynamics will find a satysfying conclusion rich in significance.

Highly recommended.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Impressive
terrazygotes-308811 March 2020
First of all, the writing of this screenplay is superior to almost any film, that I've seen. It explores the human condition, of those, who choose to represent a religion on the front lines, their needs, duties and self-evaluations. It focuses on the human behind the collar, behind the symbolism and mystique. It is very much like a play, taking place in one location, with the protagonist using soliloquies to confide in the audience. It is a film about ideas and emotions. The acting is also superior. It needs to be, to render such a simple set-up so powerful. It succeeds amazingly well, at this. The photography and staging are very well done, which I suppose is the main job of the director. It has a wonderful sense of humour, to balance its wrenching pathos. I grew up, indoctrinated in this particular religion, which of course gave the film a particular significance to me. This is a small drama, for deep thinking, and emotionally open adults.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Shaking my head over these reviews.
kkmmbbtx30 August 2020
I have no problem with the subject matter. I am a "thinking" person. But the acting in this seemed generally so amateurish, it seemed some strange church production. Really... Overall the subject was good and important. Some people called it a dark comedy? It was just a bad job... So sorry.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Engrossing
jbhiller23 August 2020
This movie shows that you can make a great film with little resources. All you need is a good story, good writing and great acting.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Artistic and faithful.
gryanhart27 August 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The trailer is titillating, but misleading--the movie was far better than expected. This is a serious work of art and the editorial bias of the film seems to me to be consistent with Christian faith.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie!
Wilson-kavu26 August 2019
I have to admit that I was not expecting the movie to be as good. I genuinely enjoyed the film until the end and the whole theme.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The truth and mind games can be shocking
awiemultilandckg22 March 2020
I watch the movie without knowing the plot at all and I very recommend it. At the first scene, I thought that this movie is like another "slapstick comedy" about church's daily life out there. And I was hoping the first confessor build the light comedy nuance, and it did and I got the message. But the movie atmospheres changes for as the scene pass after scene, it builds my couriousity more and more. And you will not realise the changing atmospheres of this movie at all, because of your couriousity. It open my eyes about the truthfull of our public sociality, culture, and the innerself as a modern human as the believer. The acting is natural, exception for the young woman. I believe, she got driven out of the church from the first she behaving rude to the priest there.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A nice little indie
wayofthewest-4306313 August 2019
I admit I caught this film because I know the director (full disclosure) but it's a genuinely nice piece of work, with funny dialogue and interesting ideas, especially considering it was produced on such a small budget. Bodes very well for future projects from Mr. Tibbenham. Kudos also to Clayton Nemrow, the beleaguered priest at the centre of the film. He's a charismatic actor, funny and compelling to watch, even when just in his little cloister--so important as he carries much of film.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprise and delight
mihaicioinea21 August 2019
This is what this movie did for me. This little gem is all about faith, love, rise and fall, with a splash of comedy and a really great set of characters. Enjoyed it and totally recommend it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Easy to get into, worthy of staying till the end.
shahyaan-0839616 January 2020
Came across this little one through recommendations. Not my usual choice of films, bit thought why not? Leads you into the darker side of people's lives. That's the bit the at kept me watching. Can a man of the cloth deal with all of these sins, whilst battling his own?

A mix of humour and intensity. The characters really lead you in as if you are a part of their drama. Quality work and amazing style from this crew. Hope to see more in the future.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very entertaining
francescabella20 January 2020
This film is funny and authentic but also very emotional and touching at times. I thoroughly enjoyed it and really connected to Clayton Nemrow's character, he was very accessible, entertaining and a great actor.

I thought it was made well and loved the simplicity of the setting.

Definitely worth a watch!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie
robertadamson-1163915 July 2020
Sucked me in from the start and watching the character's struggles was engaging through out (especially if you grew up Catholic). Towards the end I was worried we weren't going to get a particular pay off but everything concluded really and left me satisfied.

Great performances and really enjoyed the score - really recommend this one!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great film for those who enjoy thought
zachmirer12 August 2019
What this film lacks in new and changing physical environments it makes up for with its writing and perspective. A majority of the film takes place inside a church confessional. At first, I was concerned about whether or not I would enjoy the movie because of this lack of changing scenery. However, it's very character-driven. The dialogue offers different perspectives on some prejudice commonly directed at Catholicism. The film could be difficult to appreciate if you can not empathize or relate to any one of the characters or what they're going through.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Something to make you think
pietro160526 January 2020
The movie has a calm, but very enjoyable pace. Nemrow is brilliant and manages to pass to the viewer a wide range of emotions. He makes us think and entertain us at the same time. The dialogue between the two priests is a real highlight and something I will remember for a long time.

Very enjoyable
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Charming, Funny and Eminently Watchable
bombaymish1 August 2019
This film has a lot of heart, and impressive what they manage with so few locations. The confession box has much opportunity for interesting characters, secrets, stories and misunderstandings.. They succeed in making a charming, funny watch.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great start for an up-and-coming director!
AlexKunzelmann14 August 2019
The first thought I had when watching this independent film was how polished it looked. The small, confined sets really fit the aesthetic of the film and, thanks to excellent lighting and cinematography, really turned what could be seen as a low-budget project in to something that wouldn't seem out of place on the big screen.

Director Matthew Tibbenham was able to bring some brilliant performances out of the cast, the standout being Clayton Nemrow as the lead 'Father Morris.' You really felt the plight of an empathetic, human just trying to do his best with the struggles of day-to-day life in the church. Some of the stories were quite touching and really showed the human side of life's tragedies.

Another feature that really had an impact was the score. The music really fit the mood of each of the individual scenes and brought the film together as a package.

Really great job from all cast and crew involved, and I'm really looking forward to whatever Tibbenham has in the works.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoyed immensely
aaronmeszaros18 August 2019
I really enjoyed watching this movie. My partner and I sat glued to it. The characters are so well drawn out and leaves you feeling like wanting more!!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Powerful and thought-provoking
haydn_worley1 August 2019
Surviving Confession is a very mature film, yet very accessible. It covers strong themes sensitively and skillfully, while the power and impact is subtle yet impactful. A thoroughly entertaining and thought-provoking indie film.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An interesting exploration of humanity, with heart and humour!
minicollett17 September 2019
This is a really great independent film, shot really beautifully and such a clever use of this location! I really enjoyed it. Genuinely funny, it is a tiny bit slow in places, you might wonder where the film is going... but there's an incredible payoff at the end, so stay for that! Absolutely fantastic performances from all of the cast, in particular Clayton Nemrow as Father Morris and Jessica Lynn Parsons as Amber. Matthew Tibbenham directs an interesting exploration of humanity, with heart and humour! Surviving Confession is definitely one to watch!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Give it a chance
rgaborno-1744028 August 2019
While this film was obviously made on a micro budget, it's writing and direction shine through. A compelling watch.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Watch
vamsitiguti15 August 2019
Surviving confession discusses a bold theme - role of confession without guilt.

All characters exhibit the same attitude towards life and the vacillations of protagonist's character trying to be true to his job and at the same time, fighting the belief systems in the modern world is portrayed well.

Amber brings freshness to the film. Her attitude towards the whole system of confessions and the way she deals with her own problem is heart touching.

The climax is the most effective part of the film. It was handled well.

All in All a good watch.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed