Big Little Lies (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
173 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Exquisite
vladimir-janic27 February 2017
Exquisite. 'Big Little Lies' takes us to an incredible journey with its emotional and intriguing storyline. The characters are so thoroughly and thoughtfully developed. Nicole Kidman, Reese Witherspoon, Shailene Woodley, Laura Dern gave breathtaking performances. Directing, screenplay, photography, everything is brilliantly done. I would deeply recommend it.
123 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Just Watch It - It's The Show You've Been Waiting For...
lisajoy19607 March 2017
HBO's new limited series, Big Little Lies, is simply outstanding in every way. The casting is perfect - Reese Witherspoon as Madeline, Shailene Woodley as Jane and the always fabulous Nicole Kidman as Celeste - three very different mothers residing in the ultra wealthy enclave of Monterey, California. The show also focuses on Renata (a tense, edgy performance by Laura Dern and the families of the four main characters. James Tupper, Adam Scott, James Nordling turn in great performances, but Alexander Skaarsgard really shines as Perry, Celeste's troubled, volatile husband.

Without giving away the plot, the show is part is Desperate Housewives part Knots Landing and part Secrets and Lies in that it's a drama, a soap and a mystery, all rolled into one delicious package.

Beautiful cinematography and an amazing soundtrack add to the enjoyment. I just binge-watched the first three episodes and they left me wanting more. Just watch it - it's the show you've been waiting for...
82 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Very creative with a sinister wit and some intelligence...
mifunesamurai20 February 2017
I almost gave up on it after the lacklustre and uncreative beginning, but then the clever structure and intricate story-line kicked-in, followed by the interesting characters who are slowly taking form. Their purpose and meaning to the unfolding mystery is becoming evident and damn fascinating. All thanks to the performers who have already got this perfectly down-pat in the first episode, and that allows the story to take shape and meaning for the remainder of the series.

So far this series is more than about fighting mums and a "who-done-it". What is so prevalent in the first episode is the underlying themes of parenthood, marital relationships and school-mom politics. I'm sure the writers will have more juice to add as the series progresses.

For now, it's the mystery that has got me hooked. And to heighten my viewing pleasure, it is the development of the characters and the conflicts surrounding them, and also within, that makes me want to watch it that little bit longer, hopefully right to the very end of the series that is slowly peeling away the hypocrisy and the nastiness of an affluent suburb/town!
106 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fantastic Book translates into Fantastic TV
discostuxxx12 March 2017
I am a big fan of Liane Moriarty and when I read this book I couldn't put it down. Reese Witherspoon has done the book justice as I understand she has produced the series.

It's not often you read a book and the pictures that you form in your mind suddenly become real through a great translation to the screen. Although the book was originally set on the Northern beaches of Sydney the translation to Monterey California is perfect. David E Kelly has written the screenplay and has done an excellent job and dare I say taken a great story and enhanced it beautifully.

The casting is absolutely perfect with Reese as Maddy, Nicole Kidman as Celeste, Laura Dern as Renata and Shailene as Jane. Great choice with Zoe Kravitz as well.

Any parent and especially any mother will really relate to the story which keeps you guessing until the very end. AAA+++
54 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Wow, just wow!
mrocco-12 April 2017
I have HBO and NEVER watch it. I'm not a big fan of what apparently many other people like to watch. But when I saw the commercial for this I was intrigued. I never heard of the book, but highly respect many of the lead actors so I figured if they were involved it couldn't totally suck. Speaking of suck, I was completely sucked in on the first episode. I don't know why but I found this show completely and utterly mesmerizing, all the way down to the music and cinematography. Everyone involved in this from top to bottom hit it out of the park. I've never experienced this kind of life-style (ie mommy, daddy and school politics) but one of my clients who watches the show and lives in the general area said they nailed her experience when her kids were in school.

To put in perspective, I usually work when I watch TV, don't really even 'watch' it, just background noise. Not only did I stop working to watch this, I ran the last few minutes in slow motion to fully absorb what happened. I can't give a show much more praise than that! You'll understand the scene I'm talking about when you see it.
69 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Big Little Show
ReganRebecca4 April 2017
This really is the golden age of TV as proved by the fact that this mini-series stars three incredible actresses (two of them Oscar winners) giving some of their career best performances). Big Little Lies takes a hard look at the lives of women in the wealthy mostly white suburb of Monterey, where you're no one if you don't have a beach front property and where everyone hides their secrets so that they don't risk anyone seeing that their lives are a facade.

The three women at the centre of the story are Madeleine Mackenzie an A-type mostly stay at home mom on her second husband (Reese Witherspoon), her beautiful best friend Celeste (Nicole Kidman) and the town newcomer that Mackenzie adopts into their life, Jane Chapman (Shailene Woodley), a 20-something young mom who moved to the town for the schools and doesn't really fit in. Each woman is hiding a huge secret, but eventually the secrets come out and the women find solace and comfort leaning on each other for support.

There is a lot more than that (the show opens with the bold claim that there was a murder, and most of the show is a flash backward showing how that murder came to be), but a lot of the central mysteries aren't mysteries at all. The editing, costuming and acting choices deeply hint at the answers to every mystery, so by the time the finale rolls around and everything is revealed it's not so much an "Ah ha!" moment as an "Ahhhhh" moment as you realize with satisfaction that the build up was good and everything makes sense.

The best part of this is seeing all the actors doing amazing work. Nicole Kidman walks away with the show giving a devastating performance. Laura Dern provides levity and Robin Weigert, as Celeste's therapist, may not be a "name" actress, but she brings so much to her scenes.

A wonderful show.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
HBO has set high expectations and.....
brianoboyle-531763 April 2017
Look at the cast and people involved. HBO has Game of thrones, The Wire, Sopranos, etc. They set an extremely high expectation and this delivers. The night of was the last short series I loved like this. Its a short Mystery, that has a twist or two built in. Dark, well written and well acted. Very very good
49 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Beautifully executed story!
jnau-7671727 November 2017
When I first saw the trailer for this show, I wasn't so interested. But I'm so damn glad that I changed my mind. To me, this was a story of how women can be petty and stress about the little things in life (i.e.birthday parties and petitions), but when they use their power to lift each other up, they're capable of greatness. Everything from the acting and music to the cinematography was top notch and stunning. I finished the series in two nights and now I need a minute to catch my breath. Can't remember the last time I was this moved by a story. The ending was perfectly executed.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
High marks 3 episode in
DSW SF6 March 2017
The first episode established the potential here right from the start. Writing, casting and acting is on point. Great to see the cast of actors that were pulled together for the project. I hope to see more of this type of 7 episode story telling where you can get such a deep cast of actors to commit to a project that they might not otherwise be able to do if it were a typical ongoing series. In my opinion some great flawed and complex characters that aren't always what they seem on the surface (who is). In particular Reese, Nicole and Dern. In addition, the child actors, who's characters really need to support the story line, really bring it as well. Check it out.
41 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
turns out, there's no such thing as perfect life
focusedonthepain8 January 2018
At first it felt like some kind of Korean drama. Wealthy people trapped in their social struggles. I was wondering "why their life is so boring?" It looked like something just repeats on and on, people talked only about what was happening, and that's it. Like they were trapped. On the good side, a lot of problems were raised, perfectness shown to be imperfect. Characters were so real, so human-like. They had doubts, regrets, we got all sides of events, not just what's happened. Actors are great - everyone knows these big names for good acting - but kids! They're amazing! But what I'd give these series 100 stars or more for is choice of soundtrack. Every time a songs plays, it gives vibe to everything that's going on. Montage is beautiful, too. It's made very smartly, keeps viewer guessing the whole time who's done what. Also, not too long to bore, not too short to feel something's out. Sometimes watching a TV show, I feel like wasting time, not spending it, as if I could watch something better, but decided to entertain myself and do something useless. And this time it wasn't like that. PS. Can I just mention that soundtracks are wonderful one more time? They are!
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Beautiful Story Of True Sisterhood
inessilvasantos18 December 2017
This short series has all of the ingredients to be an amazing award winning show: a great cast with great perfomances, an awesome production, a kick-ass soundtrack, a good mistery, an excelent character development,... It's both realistic and surreal, it's full of nuances, of pain and joy, it's overall just an amazing experience.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Superb. Career best performances for Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Laura Dern
mrx-772222 November 2017
It would be entirely churlish not give this superb production 10 stars out of 10. What more could a director do to make this less perfect? Particular credit must go to Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon for bringing this compelling, exciting and sensitive story into production but even more so for getting director Jean- Marc Vallée on board. And boy what a beautiful, sensitive, funny and dramatic story he's manage to render here - and with such style too. To cap it off the director has managed to extract career-best performances not just from Nicole Kidman, which should deserve credit enough all on it's own - but Reese Witherspoon, Laura Stern and the excellent Shailene Woodley all put in career-best performances - perhaps reflecting the quality of the writing, song choices, editing and filmography.

Interesting enough IMDb user-rating system rates this their 129th top rated TV show - which compelled me incredulously to see exactly which dramas fell above it. Let's just say that I couldn't agree with at least 99% of them. For me this is easily be in the top ten and certainly the top twenty TV shows/dramas ever made.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amazing soundtrack
danny1230 June 2017
What attracted me to this TV series was the cast, however even after watching the first episode i was fascinated by its soundtrack. I feel lucky to discover some great piece of music. The acting was also impressive as one can guess. I would highly recommend it, you won't regret it :)
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A+ Neo-Noir
pfeiferlj5 April 2017
I hope "Big Little Lies" (BLL) pursues a season 2 with the same writer, director, and actors, because it's rare to see this kind of chemistry come together on the big screen, let alone television. When you have a winning combination, keep going. The way the director blends action, music, the angles, symbolism, the sense of place, it's beautiful, haunting, at times hilarious, and it carries a powerful social message.

The series is full of memorable lines, and I think my favorite is Laura Dern's "Don't F*** with my daughter's birthday party". Reese Witherspoon is unforgettable as the perfectionist Mom who turns out to be all too human, Nicole Kidman takes us on a roller coaster ride of emotion as we discover her secrets and the truth she refuses to confront. Shailene Woodley is a natural for her role as a young single Mother trying to survive in a new community and fighting for her young son. Zoe Kravitz is equally well cast as the bohemian peace-loving Bonnie. The children in BLL are so believable in their roles, we're rooting for them from the start as the series unfolds. The men in these women's lives have issues - some issues very serious indeed - and all of these character stories are woven into the flow of each scene in an effortless way that keeps us hooked and counting the days for the next episode. Bring on Season 2!
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A perfect life is a perfect lie.
Manvir Singh23 February 2017
It was a pretty much good first episode for a series giving all information and context. The cast is awesome. - good mystery -nice title - many questions - good direction .Take on ex-husbands and second wives, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive People who liked the movie gone girl will surely like it . So give it a go....
49 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Binge Worthy!!
rosannag1 January 2018
Just binged watched Big Little Lies. Great show and a great cast. Although the plot twist at the end was obvious and expected it is still worth the watch.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Fantastic mystery with fantastic execution
freebird-praju12 November 2017
In recent times, the mystery series and movies have become little predictable. In big little lies, sure I failed to predict. Very good suspense maintained in series along with the best use of view of ocean's waves and vibes and its mysterious presence. Throughout entire series all characters get fully developed with every detail that you actually start understanding their thought process. Never a moment of dullness occurs in the series. It's a must watch series. I wish secret stays a secret..never ever it should be revealed!!
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Awesome Must Watch! BLL
agarwalashish-3467023 October 2017
A journey showed up with emotional stuff! Very good scripts Climax And Main the Location is best..! Shailene Woodley is always best in any role and the other actors all well being doing till the end. i started to watch this series because of shailene .. So pretty good series Waiting for season 2
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Sharp, funny, highly entertaining motherly crises
FlorisV23 October 2017
This was an an excellent show, I don't normally watch this type of show (except Desperate Housewives back in the day) but with this type of wit I can't put it down. I kept watching the whole series within one weekend, it was very addictive. If you like to watch a well written satirical view on the lies underneath the seemingly picture perfect lives in Suburbia, like in American Beauty and Desperate Housewives, you just may like this.

It's not a pure comedy but there's plenty of hilarious dialog and situations. Some may feel women are being ridiculed and parodied too much, not portrayed realistically and yes the show exaggerates, but it wouldn't be so painfully funny if there wasn't at least some truth to the daily war zone these mothers create for each other (and then there's of course the marital problems as well).

The show is not too predictable and keeps you guessing who got killed in the end. It features accomplished Hollywood actresses that have all earned their stripes: Witherspoon, Kidman, Woodley. They don't let down here. The male actors are less known but equally excellent.

The way of filming and structuring is also fresh. HBO drama at it's finest.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great show, beautiful shot and great acting
andreas-toth20 September 2017
Perfect little mini series. Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Shailene Woodley are the stars in the show for me displaying great emotions and human interactions. The men in the show play a more supporting roles except for Alex Skarsgård who does a fantastic performance of an abusive husband but not as a one dimensional monster. Best series of 2017!
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing Amazing Amazing
mogansage18 May 2017
What a cast! Incredible acting! The shots were breathing taking and courageous. The plot line unfolds slowly but worth every second as you learn these dynamic characters and are on the edge of your Seat. I was completely sucked in on the first episode. I don't know why but I found this show completely and utterly mesmerizing, all the way down to the music and cinematography. Everyone involved in this from top to bottom hit it out of the park. We watch an episode a night just to elongate the short series. Although there are only 7 episodes each on is packed full with tiny glimpse into each of their lives and the suspenseful ending! Excellent! I hope there is a second season!
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Big payoff at the end
korereviews10 January 2018
Like a lot of viewers, there were moments when I thought I'd had enough of this show: bitchy rich women who never seem to notice how privileged they all are - for the first few episodes, you just want them all to die. But there is always something to keep you just intrigued enough to watch another episode. And then you start to see what's really going on behind the scenes of their perfect lives, and it all starts to make sense. You realize that that feeling of annoyance at all the characters was actually a clever ploy: you're meant to hate them all at the start. But by the end, you actually really like them all, and that's some clever writing, I must say. Trust me, the last few episodes fly by, and the ending is everything you'd want it to be. Clever, genuinely touching, and very satisfying without ever feeling predictable. This is a well-crafted and very well told story. Plus the cinematography and music are hypnotically beautiful. Definitely worth your time.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Looking past the superficial
nactac20 December 2017
After watching the first episode, which intentionally makes the viewer uncomfortable through the superficial nature of its characters, you really begin to see immense character development through the use of a beautifully written script and the performances of a very talented ensemble of actors. I have insane respect for Nicole Kidman, Shailene Woodley, and Alexander Skarsgård for what they were able to bring to the screen, and they make the show a definite pleasure to watch.

I'm almost sad there is going to be another season because I am satisfied with how the first season ended, but I'm curious to see where it goes. That said, the first season is filled with the right mixture of drama, suspense, and dark humor, and is worth the watch in my opinion.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Slightly Padded For A Mini-Series... But A Fantastic Watch!
Mark Whitton10 October 2017
This is a difficult show to talk about; because even though I enjoyed it thoroughly I feel it shouldn't have been conceived as a mini- series; as it never felt like it was filmed as one… While the story arc concluded over the seven episodes; our characters have been developed so meticulously well it seems illogical that a show which utilised considerably slow pacing would make this its end… Yes, it works as a string of character pieces and a good, if not, predictable story- line (both primary story-lines I had correctly predicted the outcomes several episodes prior the finale) but to not continue the characters stories in a second season would feel like HBO was missing a trick… The show is packed with great performances; 'Shailene Woodley' and 'Nicole Kidman' were probably my favourite performers on the show, but everyone involved seem to have good chemistry (including the kids)… A mention does have to be made for the music selection in this show; songs feel relevant and set the mood so perfectly. So, if you want a show that is engaging, well written, full of interesting characters and very often saddening; then 'Big Little Lies' has you covered, but don't be surprised if you find yourself wanting more.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
I watched it already twice
mail-243-58234831 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Well, first I was rather unsure about the show because of its weird rich-people-problems-vibe and all these women who made their lives so insignificant by just marrying some guy and suffocating and helicoptering their kids - and with nothing to do at all. Their lives seem just like an endless occupational therapy.

But then - although these women keep being annoyingly redundant (except for Woodley's character, though) - the show became incredibly insightful and sensitive and I have never seen a show that painted such a precise picture about abusive relationships - they did it brilliantly and partly even in an eye-opening way.

And all three main actresses do an amazing job. I was never that fond of either Witherspoon or Kidman - but in this show I like watching them. They have so much respect for their characters. And they even manage to make these unnerving people somehow likable. Particularly Witherspoon. But that is just because it's painful to watch how Kidman ruined her face surgically. As an actress, Kidman does an amazing job too. And respect to both for producing the show. Also, Woodley is such a natural and perfectly cast.

And yes - I'm not even sure why - the show captured me each episode more - and I could absolutely watch way more of it than just 7 episodes.

So - well done, guys & thank you****
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews