Slasher.com (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Another boring 'cabin in the woods' type film
Leofwine_draca1 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
SLASHER.COM is yet another indie horror going for the routine 'cabin in the woods' premise. It sees a young couple heading off for some remote rural fun, only to discover that the landlords of their holiday home are more than a little creepy. This one has some REALLY bad acting, and it's cheap and nasty looking to boot. The only (mildly) interesting thing about it is that the landlord couple is played by Jewel Shepard (RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD) and R.A. Mihailoff (who played Leatherface in, er, LEATHERFACE).
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Redneck do redneck things
nogodnomasters24 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
After warnings have been issued about an on-line dating serial killer, Jack Roper (Ben Kaplan) and Kristy Smith (Morgan Carter) hook up and go off to a cabin in the woods. They rent the cabin from "Momma" (Jewel Shepard) a personable landlord who gives new meaning to the word "spooning." The film then struggles through the inevitable slasher/cabin film to get to the cute ending, which for many may not be worth the wait and watch.

Guide: F-word, sex, nudity (Morgan Carter, Rebecca Crowley + 1 other)
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cntrl + Alt + Delete
dcarsonhagy11 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
They don't get much worse than this POS. Seems there's a serial killer on the loose somewhere around St. Louis. He advertises on social media to find his prey. Cut to a scene of a couple meeting for the first time, and they decide to get back to nature for a weekend. Yawn.

The acting (or lack thereof) in this movie has to be seen to be believed; it's THAT bad. The "plot" reminds me more a "let's pretend like" game you played when you were small children. Nothing makes sense, and if that isn't bad enough, you have to listen to these people talk.

Awful as all get-out; however, I did learn all sorts of new things to do with a silver spoon....
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good twist
solidabs10 February 2020
Horrible acting, typical stupid decisions, but good tits and the ending was a decent twist for once.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
so bad it's good....
coflorida24 August 2020
I found myself laughing throughout this travesty of a movie....

The actors....if I can even call them that was BEYOND bad... and laughable.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It is bad but watchable...
moorek15 April 2021
Warning: Spoilers
There really isn't much to recommend about this movie. The writing, directing and most acting is just bad. So why give it even 4 stars? Three minor reasons:

ODD ELEMENTS. In some ways it is a normal slasher, cabin in the woods horror story but I found some parts just odd from the guy's bare apartment to the idea that the first date was to a cabin in the woods. I liked the dominant new girlfriend appeal. I found some of the mother's initial activities and comments interesting.

PLOT TWISTS. Some twists were broadcast well in advance and were expected but others were less expected. The double, or triple, plot twists in the last 15 minutes or so made all the predictable parts a little more tolerable.

JEWEL SHEPARD. I didn't know this actress who played Mother. (I've since looked up her bio and have seen movies she has been in but don't remember her from them.) So she was new to me and I found her character, while well over the top, enjoyable. I could actually see why others followed her. I felt she had the charisma that would draw other psychopaths into her group. It was also nice that she looked so normal. She wasn't either of horror's two stereotypes of the very attractive or very hideous villains. She was middle-aged and could easily have been someone's mother. It made her evil side seem a little different. And as she was almost my age, I felt her attractive even though I don't think I was supposed to.

I wouldn't pay to own or watch this movie but since it was on Youtube then I watched it and enjoyed it. I might even search out some older Jewel Shepard movies.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So bad it's good
adeleysim26 February 2019
This is a really cheesy, poorly made movie with bad acting, but it's so bad that it's entertaining. Horror fans will probably understand what I mean by that.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME!!!
camarossdriver11 July 2020
The ONLY THING accurate about the title is the "Slasher" part...and it will be your OWN throat you will want to slash! Already 4 minutes into the "film" and you KNOW it's going to be a HUGE STEAMING PILE 'O CRAP! The "acting" is HORRIBLE in EVERY POSSIBLE WAY! If you want to sit around with your friends and have a "Mystery Science Theatre 3000" party and have a good LAUGH...then this MAY be for you. Otherwise...run FAR AWAY from this heap as possible...and don't look back.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not the Worst
Fancytower19 January 2018
I agree with other reviewers that the music is atrocious, just awful and ruins the movie. Also, I wish low budget films would STOP using a flashing screen. If you have to use a flashing screen to get a mood across, you've already failed. It's almost as if this director has more equipment to make a film than he needs and tries to use it to mask lack of creativity.

For an Independent film, it isn't the worst I've seen. I thought the film looked good and the acting wasn't horrible. The plot isn't that original and the movie is slow. But all in all not a bad effort.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not your average movie.
travislhendrix14 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was enjoyable. It would have been better than most low budget horror movies if it wasn't for the music.

The acting generally was pretty good. Most of the people were believable, except 1. There was one actress that might as well have been reading off of a cue card. Luckily for the movie she was only in a few scenes.

Nothing real original about the plot, except for the ending which I didn't see coming.

I enjoyed this movie and would watch it again. I would own it if it wasn't for the music. Normally in a movie music is used to set scenes and help build emotion. In this movie it was used to drown out the dialog and make you want to mute it.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst movies. Ever.
brittanybettsedwards20 March 2019
The acting is bad, the music is bad, and the dialogue? Oh god. The writer of this obviously doesn't know how real conversations work at all. This is probably the worst movie I've ever watched... but I watched it to watch everyone die. Shouldn't have done it. Waste of my time.

Seriously. This movie is god awful.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent with a couple shocking twists
cmg-5610117 February 2019
This was a very decent movie. As the end got close you're hit with 2 surprise twists. One you already maybe wonder about right before it's revealed. Definitely worth a watch.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A film student's midterm project... which didn't get a passing mark.
mariaflorencia-4986426 July 2020
I gave it three stars because, out of the two plot twists at the end, one was actually unexpected and turned what seemed to be a typical "cabin in the woods" plot into something relatively interesting. Everything else was garbage: the acting, the music, the effects... Kid probably got an F.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
slow burn horror with a good payoff
quinn3175 June 2017
Sometimes I think the general public does not know the meaning of real "indie" films. A list celebs do "indie" film which are still backed by LOTS of money. With that said Slasher.com is a true indie horror film. For those of you that have short attention spans or a need to see blood spattering every ten seconds this is probably not a film you will like.

Instead you will get character development and subtle context in the dialogue. This one is a slower burn and draws you in. There is a discomfort in the film I love. You know something is off with certain characters but can't pinpoint what it is. The last 25 minutes of the film are brutal and does a good job of trying together everything you've watched.

It's fun, sexy and has good performances. Def worth a watch.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Twisted Thriller that will make you wish you had a barf bag!
angiesws2 February 2021
I though the movie had a fun twist to it. There were many moments you just wanted to gag! Which made it a laughable experience. It is a low budget film I can see, but I'd watch it again. Kids should not watch this, but if you like a slasher style flick pick this one up. Or make it one of those weird date night flicks. The end had a great twist. This movie kind of reminded me of Natural born killers in some ways.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
How come the characters in the movie didn't die?
ciscoisaboss-635991 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Ok, let's get this straight right away, this is a bad movie. It can't take the "oh it's a indie movie with a low budget" because the special effects on the characters when they get hit by an hax or something is pretty good.

That Rebecca girl is an awful actress and only talks throughout the whole movie like she wants to hump anyone that comes across her way The only actually good actors in this film is "mama", her man and the sheriff.

Also, talking about the characters, how come dad was still alive at the end of the movie? He was stoned in the head!

The action scenes are really laughable.

If they're all a family that likes kinky sex fantasies why did Churly or something (that character is so forgettable) died? Why?

The only reason that explains my 3 star rating is that some of the shots in this movie are decent.

Let me erase this movie from my mind.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed