Malignant (2021) Poster

(I) (2021)

User Reviews

Review this title
1,622 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Murder Mystery 80s Slasher Kung Fu Sci Fi Body Horror B-Mobie Splatter Comedy
kuner-5902911 September 2021
This film is bonkers. I felt like I was watching a Giallo or 80s low budget B-movie if it were competently made and given a massive budget.

This is a horror movie the way they used to be. Unpredictable, insane, gross-out, freak out stuff. It's not a movie made by a committee, it's not the usual haunted doll or spooky house movie where the narrative grinds to a halt as you wait for the inevitable loud noise jump scare when someone looks into a mirror or closes a door.

And it's not the joyless, ugly torture porn that has plagued the genre in recent decades either. Nor is it a wink-wink self-referential Scream type parody either.

Malignant plays it relatively straight for much of its runtime, presenting a genuinely intriguing mystery and a scary, seemingly supernatural killer.

But when the third act happens (you'll know when it does), the film goes completely off the rails. In one of the most over the top sequences ever, Malignant embraces its silly concept and goes all out action gore-fest. I couldn't believe what I was seeing, and ended up laughing my butt off. The last time a movie completely flipped the script like this was From Dusk Till Dawn. Here the twist actually makes sense in terms of the narrative. The story - while stupid - is surprisingly coherent.

That's the secret sauce to many horror classics. Take a dumb, disgusting or bonkers concept, and fully commit to it. It may not please focus groups, but it's how you make a cult movie that remains memorable.

What a breath of fresh air. Thank you, James Wan. This was beautiful.
618 out of 754 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most convincing review!
adderallnationdestiny14 September 2021
I had so much fun watching this movie. We have a new iconic villain on our hands people! The final act was so over the top that I just became giddy with excitement. This movie is a love letter to 80s horror and those who enjoy the classics so expect pure entertainment. Also Wan always does an amazing job with those smooth floating camera angles. Sit back relax and enjoy!
60 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nothing like I expected, but everything I wanted
coxboys-2936628 September 2021
I don't want to spoil anything, but this was nothing at all like I was expecting, but it was everything I wanted out of the movie. It kept me interested and invested, and always had more to throw at me.

Amazingly unique movie.
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I gave a 10 because it's something new
abdassy17 September 2021
Most of the new horror movies are so predictable and repeatable, but this one is so special

The twist the gore and horror were really good, the story too.

I didn't like the music alot tbh.
57 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
MASTERPIECE
shakier-7189725 September 2021
This movie i would consider a diamond in the dirt and the 'dirt' is actually the negative reviews people is giving it. I loved everything about this movie, whether it was the acting skills, storyline, uniqueness and simply how well everything was put together overall.
60 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Drop Dead Fred meets slasher.
hollowspacekc14 September 2021
Most creative horror film I have seen in a while James Wan is hella original..
58 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Undoubtedly the greatest comedy movie ever produced
jggleerup12 September 2021
Me and my friend went in to watch this unrivaled masterpiece together, and came out with eight pack abs from the non stop laughing. Astonishingly hilarious James Wan you ABSOLUTE genius, 10/10 cured my depression.
54 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
DUDE!! THE LAST 20 MINS WERE INSANE!! (It changes the whole story!!)
ksaisandeep15 September 2021
This is my first review on IMDB. I only came here to tell you this.

You guys HAVE to watch this!! I was BLOWN AWAY by the climax!!

Honestly, the first 1 hour and 30 mins were straight rip off of Insidious (2010) movie with no real scares. Which im sure is why some people gave it low ratings. And Im not going to lie, I was bored as heck. I felt like I wasted a bunch of time.

And then the climax started to happen with HUGE REVELATION!! Which I felt was new to Horror genre.

IT INSANTLY CHANGED THE STORY!!

IM MIND BLOWN RIGHT NOW!!

Its a cool horror movie.

I'll give it 10/10. TAKE IT! Theres not many horror movies that are THIS INNOVATIVE.

This will probably be the best horror movie this year or may be for more years to come.

VERY INNOVATIVE.

LOVED IT!!

JAMES WAN IS AWESOME!!
45 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must for every James Wan fan
nephrenka-5921619 September 2021
This film is exciting from start to finish. The story, the design, the soundtrack, the actors, everything harmonizes perfectly here. I'm overwhelmed. Thank you James Wan.
76 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this!
zorba-3627111 September 2021
It is a winner! Not a lot of stupid jump scares. No slow spots whatsoever. Great story. More of a thriller than straight up horror. It keeps you wanting to watch. The 2 hour run time zipped right by. I was pleasantly surprised.
54 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore Negativers And Go For It . An Enjoyable Ride
anandajithsnair13 September 2021
Malignant Is a great Movie By James wan . Different From Others Horror Ones . A Thrilling Ride with Great Twists . A must watch One. And ignore Negative Reviews and Go For It . It will be worth Your Time.
42 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wicked Crazy Awesome Fun
danelahiggins12 September 2021
This was a fun campy horror surprise! The action really picked up towards the last half - I'd like to know the body count, was wicked crazy and it feels like the start of a new franchise. The locations were beautifully done and I would have greatly enjoyed watching this with my lil sis who jumps at scary parts 😂. I stayed home to watch this but I bet this looked awesome on a big screen.
42 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Super Entertainment Movie
abhishekshatry12 September 2021
It's Superb Horror Movie And Every Artist Did wonderful Job.
52 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoyable Movie
philadamaszek-3672612 September 2021
Wouldn't call it horror exactly but it does have creepy moments. There is humor and it doesn't take itself seriously at parts it doesn't take away from the movie though. This type of style reminds me of the movie Trick or Treat also a great movie!
58 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pleasantly surprised
raynoj11 September 2021
All I can say is that I absolutely loved this movie. It took a while to get going but damn did it deliver. I am not an expert reviewer and just your average joe. This movie impressed me and I loved the twist. The bad acting that people are going on about is just limited to a 2 or 3 characters but not so bad that it makes the movie terrible. Yes there is a Wanda Sykes type character that irritated me but the rest of the movie was great.
51 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Wan movie since Saw!
ramisht18 September 2021
Wow! I'm still speachless from the twist! Did not see it's coming!

Great story telling, beautiful cinematography and great soundtrack.

It has 80's horror vibes mixed with some Jappanease horror. Reminded me of "Imptint" movie from 2006.

True gem for horror fans!
44 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BADASS
rebekah-boo4423 September 2021
The twists in this movie are unexpected, great slasher film. Keeps you hooked throughout. Starts slow but when it starts, IT STARTS. Loved it!
37 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
naomi_dickens27 September 2021
I loved it. I did not see the that coming though. Very well done and lots of jumps to. Very good choreography as well. Worth a watch if your a horror fan, you will not be dissapointed!
47 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You have to see this movie
miltonalcorn25 September 2021
This movie is and will be a Horror Classic. This is one of those movies that you can watch repeatedly and never get tired of watching it. From start to finish the action and horror is spot on if you like action in your horror this movie is it. The sfx are fitting for this kind of storyline and really without sfx the movie would drag a little the storyline is easy to follow which gives this movie the ability to draw you in so sit back and lock in and enjoy the ride because its a good one.
40 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Full on over the top horror
grahamlundegaard15 September 2021
A slow build up but I won't forget the WTF moment for a long long time!
40 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Horror
ammaples1712 September 2021
Watch it. It's different, weird, definitely bloody for a James wan movie. I enjoyed it.
40 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Different
abbeyrhoadd21 September 2021
I wanted to see it since the first day it was released in theaters but when I read the reviews and saw most of them weren't even 5 stars it stopped me. I regret not watching it when I originally planned. I had a great amount of fun watching this movie. Saw it on HBO Max but I plan on going to the theater with my husband to watch it. It's different but very good. It's what we needed something other than the usual.
62 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
INSANELY GOOD
ciosadelia25 September 2021
I haven't seen such a good movie in years. Definitely surprised me. It has everything you want to see, mistery, horror stuff, drama etc... Really nice, like new fresh air!!
43 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely beautiful...
tariogounga17 September 2021
This movie had me at attention , some stuff I didn't like but still so good.
43 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Goood movie
wevabel27 September 2021
This movie is incredibly beautiful, as James said on his Instagram, this movie is different and special and should not be compared to his other previous movies; You will enjoy watching this movie.
22 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed