Death Race 4: Beyond Anarchy (Video 2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Mad Max Death Race
agillihc1 February 2018
Dumb, Brutal and a Lot of Boobs. Absolutely enjoyable and better then the last ones.
47 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Death Race is back!
philipmyarse12 October 2018
Loads of fun. Harkens back to the original Death Race, with a generous amount of violence and nudity. This movie is an absolute blast and it's great seeing Danny Glover back stealing scenes. If you're an action junkie, this will give you just the fix you're looking for.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A surprisingly Great entry
theromanempire-123 October 2018
I was surprised by this movie. it was better than inferno and I did not expected that. this movie was so bad it was good. lots of violence...nudity....porno stars....action and blood u will carve for more. one of the best B-movies of this genre in terms of entertainment. It's supposed to be a sequel to the 2008 film but in reality it's a stand alone film. the guy the newcomer who challenged frank was great. if u like this stuff then this is for you.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Spend an evening with pornstars, wrestlers, and large giant fireballs.
juliankennedy2310 October 2018
Death Race 4: Beyond Anarchy: 8 out of 10: The fourth movie on the remake timeline which started with a rather poor Jason Statham vehicle in 2008. A secret agent goes to stop Frankenstein or something seems to be the plot.

The Good: You know if you are going to make a fourth sequel to a series that people stopped caring about twenty minutes into the first film there are a couple of things you can do. Making sure every frame has sex, violence or large orange fireballs in it is a surprisingly solid approach. This movie is not good but God help us it is entertaining. Everything is over the top from the violence, the music to the casting of porn stars and professional wrestlers.

Other sequels and remakes have successfully taken this tact from Piranha 3D to 2009's My Bloody Valentine remake. While one can miss the mark (Piranha 3DD for example) it is a solid approach. After just sitting through the deadly boring Escape Plan 2: Hades I appreciate Death Race 4's approach even more.

The Bad: You know the film could have been a little meaner. I mean it is a Death Race film. Have the "good guy" kill his girlfriend Keyser Söze style to show he can't be intimidated. That kind of thing.

The movie also has the unseen narrator/announcer thing that I find irritating in movies. You know the kind of silliness that shows up in an Adam Sandler sports film in case someone in the audience can't follow the action by simply looking at the screen.

The Ugly: Speaking of not being able to follow the action does anyone actually know what the plot was supposed to be? Is Frankenstein the good guy or the bad guy in this one? Is this still in a prison? Why are there congressional hearings? What the hell is going on?

In Conclusion: My complaint about the Statham remake was that is missed the point of the original. It had no cartoonish drivers, no casual nudity, it wasn't funny, and no one ran over pedestrians. This film fixes the first three of the four. While it still isn't a proper Death Race film (seriously even the topless starter girl isn't run over) There are worse ways to spend an evening than with pornstars, wrestlers, and large giant fireballs.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rowdy and raw!!!!
Dimple676 October 2018
Heck yeah! Finally an unabashed real unrated movie! Not for everyone but for anyone who likes their meat served rare with a side of dish of brain-bashing action! Come and get some!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"Beyond Anarchy" Is Right!
LouAbbott12 October 2018
"Death Race: Beyond Anarchy" is a mating of "The Road Warrior" and "Escape from New York." The plot? What plot and who cares? The plot can be figured out in less than 10 minutes. The plot is not the point. The point of the film is more violence, brutality, nudity, sex (lesbian and straight) then its predecessors. This film is a must for "Death Race" fans and those who like their violence, brutality, etc. over the top. This is a B-film action classic, and arguably the best film in the "Death Race" franchise.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fast rowdy degenerate entertainment
xxdawwxx9 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Violent over the top action with great set pieces and better editing and action scenes than the third instalment. There's a lot of detail in the costumes and weapons. The cars look great with added features that didn't need to be there, but are through good work by the design crew. There's a lot to like in this film if it's the kind of thing you're in the mood for.

The action scenes outside the racing are well shot, flashy and functional. Some scenes are quite inventive with the fight scene with the sledgehammer guy standing out as a highlight.

The story works. As an action film I don't expect too much but it has an above average flow and conclusion. One could pick faults and personal gripes but then the way I'd want it would not be the way someone else would want it so it's ok as it is. To pick one point is the speed in which he falls in love with the bar lady and another would be Frank racing only seven times to build his empire, which would mean it's a monthly occurrence and even then, he's done it all in seven months? The time scale doesn't work out. There would be other plot holes too, without doubt.

Overall, if you want fast action and rowdy degenerate entertainment with decent production values, this could fit that want.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Taste of blood in your mouth!
Dimple676 October 2018
Yesss!!!! Just watched last night in all its genre glory on my new Sony Bravia! It's a dirty and crazy and fun ride with some hard turns along the way! I dug the characters and wanted more of them! It's got some nastiness and a dark underbelly, don't watch with those not into this kind of hardcore fare! You got to have gravel in your guts and if you do, you'll be happy you gave this beast a chance! Out!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An absolutely terrible movie and a lot of fun
bachemar20 October 2018
Plot holes? Sure! Pointless nudity? Heck yeah! Ridiculous explosions? You betcha! Acting that ranges from decent to terri-bad? Yep! I mean, going into it you have to expect, well...all these things. But it actually ends up being a pretty fun ride. And a bonus surprise credit song from one of my favorite bands, Highly Suspect, thrown in.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointing
debspower4 February 2018
Since when did it come more bout dumb bimbos running round naked and touching themselves up than the death race itself? It's a pity they ruined it with all the pointless bimbos coz there was some decent actors in it it could have been a lot better.
21 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Fair
Borncure5 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
They need to get to 220mph for a jump. We maxed out at 210. I dropped the tombstone. then he shifts 2 more times. Love Hollywood
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointment
BatmanFunReviews20181 February 2018
Death Race 4: Beyond Anarchy is the 3rd film in the Death Race Series and the sixth one if we count Death Race 2000 and 2050. The film stars Zach McGowan, Frederick Koehler, Christine Marzano, Yennis Cheung, Danny Glover and Danny Trejo. Now this film isn't the worst movie i have ever seen but it wasn't what i expected either and to be honest is it so hard to make this Series a Theatrical Run once again? The Jason Statham Remake was dope and had some great action sequences and characters when this on the other hand? Even tho it's kinda interesting at times and has some good characters and actors in general the overall plot was weak and there was more singing and songs rather than an actual well structured film. Plus Trejo's involvement was lackluster and forgettable to begin with and as for Frankenstein? What was his deal? He was coming and going talking for a few seconds and then leaving in the next. Overall Death Race 4 is not the worst film that has ever been made but it lacks the action and the well made bloodline of the previous films in the Franchise and Luke Goss? What happened with that guy anyways? (5/10)
17 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So bad that it does not fit in the so bad its entertaining category.
cruise019 October 2018
Death Race Beyond Anarchy (1 out of 5 stars).

Death Race: Beyond Anarchy is beyond horrible and is the typical straight to dvd quality film. So far, none of the sequels/prequels could not live up to the entertaining action packed Jason Statham Death Race. The plot was tedious. It barely made much sense when there are too many holes in the story. Besides Connor (Zach McGowan) enters the maximum-security prison which looks like it is a quarantined city now. Were convicts can party, drink, have sex, and endless amounts of bloodshed violence. Connor is supposed to take down Frankenstein who is the death race champion. That sums up it about the plot.

The direction is horrible. The acting is stale. The writing is stupid and bad. The action is tedious. Were nothing new is shown. Connor goes into a fighting pit and fights to the death. And an overly long climatic race which is just repetitive and boring.

Overall, Death Race Beyond Anarchy is terrible. There is nothing good to say about it. It is what it is for a straight to dvd movie. Sure, someday there will be a sequel that will be just as bad. But for now, the Death Race movies has yet to improve since the 2008 film.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unnecessary
olcayozfirat10 November 2018
Nude, nude, nude. It's an exaggeration. Unnecessary subject and boring movie.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I thought I would fall asleep in this B-movie . . .
prizehunter6918 October 2018
Mr. Bronson who talks one-liners in slow motion and shoots up bad guys where one bullet splashes a pint of red paint,,, - common has Hollywood quality and budget gotten this low? It's so unreal that I laughed more at the bad acting and cheap stunts! Time for you to retire for good Bronzie - you really disappointed me. Really cheesy and cheap. While the intent of the script is good, to be Mr. Vigilante killing bad guys doing drugs and sex trafficking the quality is crappy.

Thanks for wasting an hour of my life
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed