The Goddess Project (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Powerful and Inspiring
sheldaloha8 October 2017
I hosted a showing of this in a local theater that ended up selling out. It was so popular that I had many people encouraging me to do a second showing, so I did, and it sold out too! I probably could have done several more. People (particularly women, but men too) LOVED it. It has a message that really resonates with many in today's culture. I know how much of an influence it had on everyone in the audience, myself included. I was brought to tears multiple times and left the theater feeling totally buzzed with positivity. If you're looking for a good get-off-your-ass-and-change-your-life type of pep talk, this movie is it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A film that is very relevant and much needed in today's society
cabolinda6 October 2017
I attended this film with a group ranging from 13 to 80, and must say I have never seen such a reaction take place at a film before. We all cried, laughed, and cheered throughout the entire film. With true and relevant topics that give the viewer approval to feel and accept their fears, dreams and shortcomings. But also to be inspired to challenge yourself to live your passion. It is both relevant and thought provoking, and addresses the real issues Women are facing and feeling today. Much needed, and perfect for all age ranges. I absolutely loved it!!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A life changing experience.
wklimbal-993019 August 2017
This is a high frequency film that inspires all humans to follow their heart and do what they love. There is a focus on females, however the information easily applies to everyone. In a world that struggles so much, this a refreshing view of the possibilities from all walks of life. Truly inspiring!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An inspiring, uplifting and captivating documentary!
haydenjuanthomas6 October 2017
The Goddess Project was an excellent documentary! This film interconnects the experiences of women from various walks of life, bringing light to the collective feminine energy and highlighting the importance of the Goddess. There truly is a message for everyone in this movie I recommend it to all!!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just what the world needs today
jgallo-109426 October 2017
Men, don't let the name of this film deter you, I promise you'll enjoy it. The Goddess Project takes you on an emotional journey through womanhood and leaves you feeling uplifted and inspired. You can feel the meticulous love and craftsmanship that was put into the making of this film. What I took from this movie is that women have the innate power to create. Whether that be life or a project their ability to nurture can be manifested in infinite ways. In these dark times The Goddess Project is the light we all need.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Grateful for The Goddess Project!
msjenniferchen6 October 2017
I have never seen a film that salutes everyday Goddess Women the way The Goddess Project does. Finally an opportunity to hear stories from from all female walks of this American Life. You laugh, cry and love with them all. Thank you for creating this film, and through it creating another thread of connection and unity for all of us.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Delightfully inspiring and honest. A film for women of all ages.
gillettebeth6 October 2017
This is the sort of film that every woman needs to have seen at least once in her life, preferably while she's young, but especially when she's midlife and still wondering what she wants to do "when she grows up." It's a film that speaks to our true purpose, it speaks to our heart. It's a warm, gentle inspiring documentary about a number of different American women from quite diverse backgrounds following their inspirations and passions making both large and small contributions to their communities and our world while creating fully enriched lives. The world is waiting for us - go see it!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Inspiring,
anamcress5 October 2017
This film proved to be more then I expected! The women who produced it are so young and yet they found a way to reach deep into the souls and lives of women with lives well lived.I found it interesting how they brought the story back to the same person more then once and how the film makers engaged with people and created a space for them to share and feel at ease. As a viewer I found myself wondering what happened to that particular woman, and then there she was.I would love to see this again actually I would love to have many people see this film again!! It is warm, personal, unique and real. I'm glad I saw it!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Embraces the divine feminine
mazeylotus5 October 2017
A movie to empower women to embrace their truth. Love what these ladies are doing. Much needed and timely. I've always felt aligned with the mission of The Goddess Project and connected to the community of women that brought this to life. Important film for our times to be shared lots. I recommend it in my community of women and among other work I do for women's health.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a film to watch with your daugthers , your mama , ......................
doemijmaar20 March 2018
A film that touches me in the heart, I want to watch it over and over again, with my daughters, my mom, with my neihgbours, with everyone else I care for . A film about love, compassion, about power, about the fact that you are capable!! Thank you for making it !
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Inspirational, life changing movie
jenniedv22 December 2017
I hosted this movie in my local area, and it was received with much gratitude and enthusiasm.

I loved it, the message was to follow our passions, move through the fears, challenges and celebrate our achievements in life.

The movie was a life changer to many and brought people to tears with topics that were close to their heart

A fabulous movie for women and men alike.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Have trust in the unknown
joyheijnen25 November 2017
I saw this movie today in a local theater in the Netherlands and was also sold out! (just like in the united states, previous post) I also feel really positive right now

This is so relevant right now!

Have trust in the unknown.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Inspiring Patchwork of Testimonials
catherinelent-1533120 November 2017
I was happy to bring a screening of the Goddess Project to my community...a teen girls' group and their families...and it was definitely a hit. Everyone came away with favorite quotes and details from the film... the strength of this is the diverse experiences that all come together to unite and inspire us...each of the women in the film reminds us of our potential. Positive and empowering in a time when the lights can seem dim. Thank you, Goddess Project!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not just a movie, but a tool for transformation
spiderwomanleah16 November 2017
I'm a woman versed in finding the magic of life in all things. Seeing the film The Goddess Project was seeing my experience as a woman's group facilitator and my desire to spread the benefits of that work to a greater audience come alive as a work of art on screen. Of course that made me cry. Sob, actually. The good cry. The tears of relief that I'm not alone in this drive to illuminate the beauty of this world and of human nature. I've seen and screened this film 3 times so far, and each time it has inspired the viewers to want to show it to everybody they love, men and women, adults and children alike. This film has even helped me get clear on the character education programming I want to bring to schools for girls ages 10-18. I pray that this film gets picked up by a very deserving company, because the benefits of screening it will be great.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Life Changing
amandalvarez16 November 2017
This movie is an absolutely life changing and awe inspiring experience. It touched my heart deeper than any movie I've ever seen. I walked out of the screening totally inspired and totally moved. A MUST SEE FOR ALL WOMEN EVERYWHERE!!! Such a beautiful account of authenticity, strength, love, struggle, creativity, and the beauty of life.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wow!
coolkidsarah3 November 2017
This movie, through sharing the stories and advice of women around the country inspired me to make some major changes in my life for the better. It gave me the courage to follow my inner knowing and do the things that make my heart sing. I'm so grateful that I got the opportunity to see it and I hope that it will be shared with the greater public soon!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A breathtaking film that celebrates women!
acb300010 October 2017
The film's premise is simple, yet the journey of the two extraordinary young women who made this film was a life-changing one for them, according to their own accounts. It is an intimate look, through interviews, into the lives and inspiration of over 100 women across America, each speaking and baring their souls in a very personal way about their struggles, their inspirations, their contributions, on everything from sisterhood, family, and overcoming fears, to spirituality, aging, body image and sexuality, and speaking in such an honest and disclosing way, toward the purpose of demonstrating real and diverse role models for women of all ages to see and to experience, and to bridge the gaps that have sometimes separated us. Women from every walk of life (artists, farmers, professors, doctors, healers, political activists, scientists, mothers...), every age group, every ethnicity, shared their life's experience. What blew me away the most was that this is the very first film effort of Holli Rae and Sara Landas. They absolutely belong in there with the most experienced of documentarians. As a woman, a woman of color, a woman of a certain age, a woman in this very male-oriented society, I am beyond grateful that a movie such as this one exists. This movie is a celebration. It's also not only for women to see. Men should most definitely see this movie. Not to be demeaned (this movie does NOT do that) or chastised for anything, but to expand their own horizons about the women in their lives, and womanhood in general. Brava, Goddess Project!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Less Goddess and more like stay with your FEARS
judyindc13 May 2017
I went to see this movie as an invitation of a dear friend. I was mighty disappointed. Not sure where the starts comes from as this is the first written review for it.

There's no organization, nor variety of interviewees (all of them except one do for a living some form of art, or healing ritual), it's repetitive (for over an hour and a half-I left the theater at that point) and a trance of stay in your corner doing what feels good and comfortable so you can perpetuate the dependence of the female gender from people that have jobs where they can sustain their lifestyles independently. Do not grow, do not encourage yourself to be more, because it's OK to do whatever without any effort.

A truly disempowering female experience with one track narrative.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed