Face of Evil (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
I challenge you
russelloc3 July 2019
To last more that 15min with this seriously awful film. The acting is so terrible . If you want to punish yourself watch this.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful acting.
anouskasherriff8 July 2018
Turned it off after ten minutes as the acting is just awful.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Give this one a very wide berth
alexapher10 July 2018
I have a very high tolerance for mediocre horror, so the fact that I literally could not bear to sit all the way through this one is a first. This cringe-fest has what I'd wager to say is some of the worst acting and script I've ever seen. At the time of this review the rating for this movie was 4.5 - which I imagine is only due to 10 ratings from people involved with the film, because that's way too good for this thing.

Please, if you even remotely like yourself, avoid this catastrophe.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible Movie
cocherdumas10 July 2018
I couldn't get past the first seven minutes of it. The acting is horrendous, as well as the directing. My mouth hung open as I watched a whole seven minutes of it! Movies shouldn't have cool titles if they are this bad!!!
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Too bad I can't give 0 stars
frodominator2 July 2020
If someone says this has good qualities, do not believe them. This movie is so horrible that I had to watch it with 2x the speed in order to finish it. Absolutely everything sucks in this movie: the acting is cringy, camera work makes bad choices in pretty much every scene, the plot is too predictable and it fails miserably to hold you attention. This does not reach the limit of "so bad it's good". Run from this
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Original Movie
volpepaolo_vp11 September 2018
I foud it very original , intense and with hilarious acting .Also i like the way it was shot.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Indie Horror Film - Face of Evil
ginaguia16 September 2018
With Indie films, you take chances whether it will be good or bad. This indie film takes off when the character Sarge comes into the scene, propelling the story. The Sarge added character and humor to the scenes. The cinematography, soundtrack and set locations were pretty good.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All out Horror Fun!!
shagee797723 July 2018
A very busy Jamie Bernadette stars in Writer/Director/Producer Vito Dinatolo Face of Evil, now available on VOD and DVD from Gravitas Ventures. Private Jay Williams excellently played by Scott Baxter returns from his tour of duty in the Middle east on July 4th. He is greeted at home by his sister and crazy friends. Something is off when he returns but he just dismisses it and enjoys the moment. His sis played by Jamie Bernadette (Once again showing why she is the new face of horror)show compassion and really embraces his return. But senses something is wrong. This movie quickly changes from a teen party and drinking and having fun scenario to an all out zombie like epidemic that infects all his friends. After Escaping with his life, he is mysteriously joined by his ex-sergeant. The sergeant explains to him how this epidemic has started and they go on a journey to try to stop it. Wow this movie without giving to Much away is a real surprise. I am so impressed with a sought of split genre here neatly tied into 1. When I first started watching I thought hey this is going to be a evil spirit take over, then said wow now we're talking zombie. What is key here is the title character dealing with PTSD and not really coping with civilian life to well. Vito Dinatolo single handily made this picture. He absolutely wears all hats. Of course he had a great cast but this movie is his. The camera work, story and everything about this movie impressed me. From the time Jay comes home the movie has a haunting unsettled feeling. It's like. Modern day Twilight Zone. None of the characters, scenes or anything feels rite yet you feel maybe your just not getting it. When things start unraveling, your head will be spinning and say what did I drink before watching this. Forget reality and what things are supposed to be and sit back and enjoy. A movie like this could quickly get bad and not make sense, but ever seen and action eventually ties in and is explained. You will be satisfied and pleased you watched this movie. Our 2 leads ( Scott Baxter and Chad Bishop) both had charm and great screen presence which also helped make things watchable and enjoyable. Great team and would like to see them together again soon. Available everywhere and highly recommended!

Scott Baxter, Chad Bishop, Jamie Bernadette and Janet Roth star in Face of Evil, now out from Gravitas Ventures.
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Four thumbs up!
ashleyjude12 September 2018
Why not, it was entertaining. What the hell did I just watch? Face of Evil, which is described as a psychological thriller/horror by director/writer/auteur Vito Dinatolo, well, it unsettled me. I like to be scared while being entertained. I love classic horrors such as The Exorcist. I also like psychological horrors from Rosemary's Baby to Blair Witch to last year's surprise chiller, Don't Breathe. Then again, I always wanted the stereotyped horror characters to be a little self aware of their stupidity: could the Jock display his feminine side; could the tarty Blonde not chew gum and say she's saving herself for God; could the Black guy have voted for Trump and not get killed off early; could the Redneck with the Confederate flag on his truck, have voted for Hillary...just asking. And the more I think about it, Face of Evil, with its incredibly spooky poster and mish-mash of genres, may indeed have that WTF-factor. It sort of masquerades as a genre zombie scare fest, then its second half twists like a dagger in the ribs, and deals with the horrors of PTSD and general societal paranoia about Big Brother, terrorism and even Trump's own Pandora's box of WTF-just-happened?

Anyway, I especially like horror with a WTF-factor, with a bloody splash of clever irony like the Swedish movie Let the Right One In. Its premise is simple: Private Williams returns home from the Middle East to find out hell is home, as an epidemic turns his surprise party into tragedy. But his night has just begun...and then the paranoia and more fun kicks in. Okay, it's not The Exorcist, but with Face of Evil, I'm still wondering what I saw - black comedy, cheesy spoof, another zombie movie, then something shifts, even the camera-work, when "Sarge" turns up and the over arching paranoia spins out of control. It's like two movies in one. I also enjoyed the guerilla style filmmaking, all creatively done on a tight budget. The director also makes an "eye-catching" cameo appearance a la Hitchcock.
5 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Can't miss the surprising end!
birimbino25 September 2018
Cool indie horror/thriller movie! very psychological. With so many bad movies being produced and distributed nowadays, especially horror, and with so many youtube generation viewers with the attention span of a finger snap, this film changes its skin as the story develops and you meet new crazy characters, till the final surprising twist. I had to carefully watch it till the end to really appreciate it. And I watched it again to catch more details I missed the first time...
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This was the face of actrocity...
paul_haakonsen17 December 2018
I had no expectations to this movie. Nor did I know about its existence prior to stumbling upon it by sheer random luck. Given the title, I assumed that it would be a horror movie, hence I gave it a chance.

Little did I know that I would be the one exposed to horror. I managed to endure 32 minutes of this ordeal that is known as "Face of Evil" before I was ready to put an end to it all. Wow, this movie was abysmal on so many levels.

The storyline was atrocious and it made so little sense in every aspect. Not to mention the fact that the storyline was so laughable that it wasn't even entertaining.

The acting in the movie, well, let's just not venture down that path, shall we...

I have absolutely no intention of returning to finish watching the rest of "Face of Evil", as there was absolutely nothing of any worth or interest for me to be found here.

The characters in the movie were cardboard cutouts that just milled about doing things that no sane person, or even a stoned or wasted person would be doing, not even in a situation as ridiculous as the one presented in the movie. And that just made the entire thing a whole more absurd and less enjoyable.

"Face of Evil" seemed like it was made on the fly. Someone grabbed a camera, got together a bunch of friends and decided to make a film in the course of one evening. Yeah, it has that kind of low budget and low enthusiastic feel to it.

I cannot think of a single reason for recommending this movie to anyone. In fact, I will go as far as to say that you should not waste your time, money or effort on watching "Face of Evil". Some of us did, a certain degree more or less, so that you don't have to.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie
novusxriver16 September 2018
Scary funny and thrilling Face of Evil is not your usual horror indie flick. Is not just just about zombies. As the story develops the films take you on a surreal ride all the way to a surprising end. Great cast especially crazy Sarge and the Doctor.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Different type of horror
7filmsrule524 September 2018
Vito Dinatolo's Face of Evil is a breath of fresh air in our world of pre-formatted movies. Give it a try!
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
New Method of Torture...
Fox_Prime1 February 2020
If you wanna torture someone, lock them in a room and turn this movie on and put it on repeat. No, it's not that scary, it's that awful of a movie.

Another option is to make a game out of it. Watch it as long as you can before having to turn it off. See who can go the longest lol.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
not quite as bad as the reviews
corytrevorson16 February 2020
The beginning, with the house party, was comically bad, but after that the movie gets much better. The story was pretty good. The ratings seem to be at extremes, either ones or tens. The ones, I think, are just going by the house party scene and not the whole movie. The tens, without a doubt, are not accurate either. It falls somewhere around a four or five.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
STICK WITH IT!!!
moon_glow29 December 2019
Was about to turn it off but it was just interesting enough that I decided to continue watching it and I'm so glad I did..the ending is brilliant and unexpected..you won't be disappointed...
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed