No Tears for the Dead (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
A very good crime drama with some explosive action sequences
bbickley13-921-5866423 June 2014
The movie is about a hit man from America's mid-west who is of Korean decent. When he botches what was supposed to be his last job by killing an innocent kid, he is sent to Korea to fix what he screwed up by killing the kid's mother.

It sounds a bit like a fish out of water story, but the movie only proves that the crime world is the crime world no matter what country you are from. Some of the criminals were speaking up to three different languages, but in the crime game there are only two languages in you really need to know …money and guns.

The gun part was not as much as the money part but when the gun part was done it was violent, like Chow Yun Fat 80's style violent. The action sequences were stylish and bloody, just how I like it

The money part is where all the crime Drama comes in as it's about a Korean gang uses a legit network to launder Triad money, The plot tries to be complex with the an everyone is not who they seem kind of situation. They film also tries to give some depth to the main character showing us why a harden hit man would allow an accidentally killing to melt his heart like it did. For me the story was not as complex as the action sequences.

Some of the midsection could use more gun play, but overall it was a great seeing it.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yet Again Another Superb Korean film!!!!!
baehr_adam30 April 2015
Holy Smokes I just finished watching this movie and I absolutely loved it. I'm a huge fan of Korean films and they are my favorite films off all time. I will say that I haven't seen a ton of them but I'm working on it. I loved the setting and also the story plot while unoriginal kept the plot moving forward. The actors and actresses all did an Amazing job especially the main protagonist "Gon" played by Jang Dong-gun which was the first Korean movie I have seen him in and what a tremendous actor. I will move forward with the action and Man O Man was it Insane. The one thing Korean films do better then any other films from around the world are to choreograph wonderful firefight scenes and jaw dropping Brutal fight scenes. I have seen a ton of movies in my 25 years of existence lol and being from America I will also say that these films put to shame what America comes out with in terms of action. Well anyways this is a must watch movie and you will not regret it I guarantee you that and you will want to watch more Korean films afterwards but understand that if you can't or are to lazy to read subtitles you might not enjoy it as much but the action scenes might just alleviate that feeling.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Tragic drama meets blistering action
Leofwine_draca17 March 2015
NO TEARS FOR THE DEAD is yet another addition to an exemplary list of South Korean action thrillers made in the last decade; such titles include THE BERLIN FILE, THE MAN FROM NOWHERE, A BITTERSWEET LIFE, A COMPANY MAN, and THE SUSPECT. I was long excited for this film as soon as I found out it was a follow-up to the same director's THE MAN FROM NOWHERE, which is one of my all-time favourites.

NO TEARS FOR THE DEAD isn't quite up there with the standard of the earlier film, but it has its moments. This is an exciting story that mixes superbly-shot, hard-hitting action sequences with a tragic human drama at the core. It's dark indeed, featuring heartfelt performances from the central actors who are inevitably playing broken characters, and it's fun to see how the tone shifts from adrenaline-pumping action to gut-wrenching emotion and back again.

The storyline is predictable for the genre: an assassin screws up by failing to take out his intended victim, only to face the wrath of his former employers. The action is blistering, with lightning fast editing and gobbets of grisly violence. But the human drama also draws you in, building to a moving but expected ending. The South Koreans have come up trumps again with this one.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another enjoyable entry from the director of "The Man From Nowhere"
youngster506 July 2014
If you enjoyed "The Man From Nowhere", you will most likely enjoy this as well. It's not nearly as flawless as "The Man From Nowhere" which I will explain shortly.

The reason I bring up the "The Man From Nowhere" is that "No Tears For the Dead" (or "Crying Man" in Korean) is a very similar movie but shot on an entirely different canvas. What I mean is you have the typical protagonist or anti-hero with a vague background that gets slowly revealed and starts developing a conscience after botching his last assignment when he accidentally kills an innocent child. He is then hired to go after the child's mother but can't bring himself to do it after he starts developing feelings for her and races to save her from his and her employers.

"No Tears For the Dead" is in no way original and the story is almost forgettable since it's been done to death but the action sequences are what makes it stand apart. The bloody and brutal fight/shooting scenes gets your adrenaline going throughout the movie. The night shots of Los Angeles are especially gorgeous which reminded me of Michael Mann's signature visual shots of Los Angeles in his flawless crime thrillers, "Heat" and "Collateral".

The lack of character development in "No Tears For the Dead" is what makes "The Man From Nowhere" so much better. In "The Man From Nowhere", you actually cared about the characters and what the protagonist goes through to save his neighbor's child. Here, it is almost nonexistent since the action sequences leave no time for them to get acquainted. However, both use the exact same format of revealing the protagonists' past that made them become who they were and it is also effectively done in "No Tears For the Dead". I came to care about the protagonist but there should've been more between the killer and mother.

The ending was also disappointing since it wasn't clear what really happens to everyone. But the final scene was a good way to end the movie on a tragic note which pretty much explains the title of the movie.

Overall, it's not as good as "The Man From Nowhere" in terms of plot and character development, but "No Tears for the Dead" is nevertheless another enjoyable entry from its director.
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It looked better from the trailers
KineticSeoul2 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I was actually looking forward to this movie mainly because it's done by the director that directed "The Man From Nowhere", which is actually a pretty cool movie. However this one just lacked that flow of enticement. I just got quickly bored after the first action sequence. The director was probably trying to make a smart action movie, that involves hit men, gang and corrupt businessmen. But it just isn't combined all that well. In fact sometimes, the story seems to lose focus by going all over the place. I know this movie is sort of a adaptation from the "Crying Freeman" manga, but it's very subtle in that area. There was hardly even any bonding moment between the hit- man and the woman. When it comes to the core of this movie, it's basically a hit-man's conscience and redemption story. Overall, it's a alright watch but nothing really memorable and that includes the action sequences. I didn't even think the cinematography was all that good and it just sort of reminded me of the movie "A Company Man".

5.9/10
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The rooftop shoot-out is one of the best action sequence.
Fella_shibby26 March 2017
Saw this recently on a rented dvd. It's an amazing action flick. The plot - A hit-man is traumatized after an accidental killing of a small girl. He is assigned by his contractors to then eliminate the young girl's mother, causing further conflict for the broken hit-man. Expectations were high as this is from the same director, Lee Jeong-beom who gav us The Man from Nowhere. Jang Dong-gun (My Way) gav a stunning performance as the haunted and complex hit-man. His action choreography is awesome. Action scenes are well executed. It's a high octane action flick. There is tons of blazing shootouts, brutal hand combat n some knife play. Most of the action is towards the second half of the film. The rooftop shoot-out is one of the best action sequence. Fans of Michael Mann n John Woo will love the gun action scenes. Fans of Heat, Miami vice, The Getaway (Steve Mcqueen one), Hard boiled, The Killer, Tombstone, etc will definitely enjoy this.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Despite being as Equally Entertaining as 'The Man from Nowhere', More is Needed to Heighten the Impact and Depth of the Narrative
totalovrdose15 June 2015
Ironically, No Tears for the Dead, a film with themes concerning honor, power and greed, is strongly focused on mourning the deceased, conveyed emotionally through the plot, which concerns death and suicide. This subsequently reveals how simple it is to take a life, and how pointless it can often appear, while suggesting that the execution of an individual goes much deeper, the impact killing their closest friends and family who must suffer the pain, and the consequences, of their passing.

When we first meet Mo-Kyung (Kim Min-Hee), it is difficult to discern if she is aware of the tragic loss she has suffered, the professional climate she inhabits forcing her to work as she hides much of her pain, after having lost both her daughter, the adorable Yoo-Mi (Kang Ji-Woo) and husband, while the two were overseas. The use of contextualization over the duration of the feature layers the emotional depth over time, Ms. Min-Hee being responsible for one of the film's most poignantly incredible scenes, that is especially due to her exceptional talent.

However, she is not the only person suffering from this loss. Gon (Jang Dong-Gun), the hit-man responsible for inadvertently snatching away Yoo-Mi's life, a character who often appears stoic and emotionally impotent, is plagued by the trauma of his wrongdoing, while also suffering the pain of his past, the consequences of which inevitably formed his character's views and values. This pain only grows stronger as the narrative progresses, though the motivations that inspire this are largely conveyed visually, rather than being further scaffolded through dialogue, the feature, at one point, reducing this sub-plot to little more than a stereotypical cliché. Gon's inability to hide his regret is largely caused by the order he receives to terminate Mo-Kyung, to ensure she does not ask unwanted questions, in an attempt to shelter other antagonists involved in the corruption and money laundering schemes, including the vile John Lee (Kim Joon-Sung), from being apprehended by police.

Originally beginning in Los Angeles, before moving to South Korea, at least half the script is presented in English, and not only is this written in an exemplary fashion (which, unfortunately, isn't always the case with Asian movies - I'm looking at you The Viral Factor), the actors speak their lines of dialogue with educated professionalism.

As Gon fights his personal moral battles, those giving the orders begin to doubt his resolve, leading them to send his brother in arms, Charles (Brian Tee), and his proficient team, to complete his assignment, friendship and loyalty being major themes that begin to be contended. The battles that ensue are absolutely outstanding, not only being incredibly violent, sometimes hilariously so, but being intelligently thought out, as the characters attempt to out-think each other, rather than simply using brutality. In many of these instances, characters are horrifically wounded, and yet unrealistically survive, this tactic seemingly granting the plot further longevity, which may cause some viewer's to question the necessity of this action.

Occasionally, the directionality of the plot and character progression can become predictable, though that doesn't mean the film is not without its surprises. The characters, especially the villains, are capable of making dialogue reflective of black humor, though at the same time, enemies, despite exhibiting recognizable influences, can appear a little two-dimensional.

Despite the ending been quite a surprise, while beneficially fitting the narrative, the conclusion raises additional questions that are unresolved, providing limited closure, while the fate of one of the leads is entirely uncertain. Audiences throughout the story may be hoping for Gon's character to find redemption or forgiveness, and in the end, a question worth asking is: are we satisfied?

Although No Tears for the Dead is viciously entertaining, emotionally poignant, and efficaciously acted and directed, more depth could have been provided to truly resolve some of the film's most impacting story-lines.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor
Aries_Primal20 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Poor american action with korean actors, a lot of violence and unrealistic scenes. Koreans speaking english and swearing at italian, still can't understand that. "Our guy" is beaten, shooted, stabbed, but he is keep fighting like samurai. Bad guys are ugly and disgusting, good guys are pretty, there is a crying woman of course which "bad guys" tried to kill but when they captured her they did nothing. This movie was a waste of time.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not very good action movie
tenshi_ippikiookami23 November 2016
Gon is a killer whose new mission is to get some data and then kill the woman that has it, a woman that happens to be the mother of a little child he killed by accident on his last mission. Of course, Gon grows a conscience and decides to betray his bosses and safe the woman.

"No Tears for the Dead" is not the most original movie in the basket. It is predictable, lame and you will see any plot development from a mile away. It doesn't help that the pace and direction are not very good, and the action scenes are shrouded in darkness making everything quite difficult (and boring) to follow. The acting ranges from B-movie level to okeish to I-don't-know-I-was-an-actor level, and the lead actor, Dong-gun Jang, fails miserably in bringing any charisma to Gon. Min-hee Kim as Mo-kyeong, the woman who may or may not have the data the triads are searching for, fares better, as does also Brian Tee with a paper-thin character that is just there to allow him to look cool.

An action movie should at least have some cool action, and action scenes that make sense and are entertaining. "No Tears for the Dead" forgot the action rule-book home and offers neither of them.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Reaches too far too connect
grandmastersik26 September 2016
A simple plot: a hit-man accidentally kills a little girl and is then sent to put the mother out of her misery.

So, how can this possibly go wrong? After the explosive beginning, the pace drops off almost to the point of tedium as we're supposed to feel the agony of characters we never quite connect with. There's something about Triad bank accounts worth around $100 million thrown in to motivate the gangsters and throw some cops into the mix, but it's so poorly put together that - if it couldn't have been fixed via a couple of rewrites - really should have been taken out.

Fortunately, 40 minutes or so in, the action kicks off again and it's the excellence we all sat down to watch in the first place.

Now, I'm all for catering for genre fans, just as I'm all for making deep, meaningful thrillers, but unfortunately, the plotting doesn't quite have the plausibility or pacing to be the powerful action-thriller the director was hoping it would be and in the end, despite all the great action scenes, No Tears For the Dead left me feeling detached and out in the cold.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Following a 2 step process to make hidden gold
rm-0725410 June 2016
As more and more action movies come out these days, there seems to be a trend of the writers and directors asking themselves "Why not?" "why not have our hero be indestructible?" "Why not bend the laws of physics to make for a cool looking scene?" or "if it doesn't make sense, then why not force it to?"

When what they should have been asking all along is simply "why?" "Why is this scene going to make sense?" "Why is it that they are out for blood?" and "If we're going to force the script into something that it's not, just to make this one scene work, then why are we putting it in at all?"

This movie asks itself all of the right questions when setting you up for the next scene. You are never lost so that you have time to try and figure out what's going to happen next. And by following a simple two step process, this movie never loses itself in it's amazing practical blood and gritty action.

1:Therefore 2:But

No matter what happens throughout the movie, you can see that it follows these two steps. Which is becoming more and more rare these days. "The money has gone missing" Therefore "The bad guys try and find it using blackmail" but "he fights back" and so on and so forth.

My point being is that this movie is larger than life and is a heart breaker, and at the same time it's eye candy. I could not recommend this movie enough because it's patient with itself but it never forgets what it's there to do, entertain and strike emotion into your heart.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A good thriller is "No Tears for the Dead"
dhaufrect-13 May 2015
"No Tears for the Dead" is a modern day thriller set in Korea. It is partly in English and the rest is in Korean with subtitles. The film is from 2014 and it is currently on NetFlix Instant Download Streaming. It is written and directed by Jeong-beom Lee. The actors include Dong- gun Jang, Min-hee Kim, Brian Tee, Hee-won Kim, Jun Sung Kim, Jennifer Buttell, Yo-han Byeon, Alessandro Cuomo, Darell M. Davie, Anthony Diio, Christopher Hackney, Alexander Stephen Kabel, Dana Lee, Sung-wok Min, Kang Han Na, Tich Ting, Alex Wrath. The movie is about a hit man from America's mid-west who is of Korean decent. When he botches what was supposed to be his last job by killing an innocent kid, he is sent to Korea to fix what he screwed up by killing the kid's mother. It sounds a bit like a fish out of water story, but the movie only proves that the crime world is the crime world no matter what country you are from. Some of the criminals were speaking up to three different languages, but in the crime game there are only two languages in you really need to know …money and guns. I gave it a score of 6 stars. Dale Haufrect
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Another great Korean action thriller.
paulclaassen6 April 2019
Another great action thriller from South Korea!

For an action film, the first half might be considered slow, but this is an effective depiction of guilt and we get a very clear idea of the emotions our hero Gon (Dong-Gun Jang) is going through. The film is also a good study of how simple events lead to a scenario of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Dong-Gun Jang is good as a hitman overcome by guilt, and is every bit believable during the intense action scenes and the emotional scenes. The second half of the film is full-on action in a cat and mouse game as the protagonist outwit the antagonists. The action scenes are brutal, fast-paced, and thrilling!

As with most Korean films, this one is also very unpredictable.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Again, A Great Korean Film Tainted With Over-Sentimental Nonsense.
redrobin62-321-20731121 September 2018
Why, oh why, do these South Korean filmmakers INSIST on having over-sentimental, crying, syrupy scenes in their otherwise nice and tense thrillers? I'd give this movie an 8, or even 9, if they exorcised those ridiculous bits which, to be, drags the film to an abysmal low.

That said, "No Tears for the Dead" is still a movie worth seeing if you're into fast-paced thrillers with buckets of blood to spare. In that department, this film is spot on. It's one of the goriest thrillers I've seen in a while, at least since "John Wick" anyway. I'm glad I did see this flick even though I have this nagging feeling that I might forget about it tomorrow. Yeah, it was kinda generic in its many kill scenes, and that's probably why.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A first class action thriller
jb-5169721 June 2016
People constantly ask me in my media class why do I watch foreign films, to reply I show them the trailer to this film as well as a couple of others.

This film is among my favourite action films up there with the likes of The Raid 2.

The film follows a hit-man that just wants to get out of the game after accidentally killing a young girl but instead of being left alone his employer asks him to kill the mother of the girl he killed. While being a simple plot it is used as a way to discuss themes such as the grief attached to the loss of a loved one and the job of parents.

The character's of the hit-man (Gon) and his target (Mo-gyeong) are both well drawn out and complex, each suffering and dealing with it in there own ways.

The action sequences are some of the best I have seen outside of The Raid films. One scene in an apartment block shows a incredible knife fight as well as a dramatic shootout that seem all to real for what we see on the news.

While you could accuse the film of having some pacing issues after the first ten minutes of the film I see it as a pay off and believe me after the first hour you will be rewarded with incredible action and brilliant character moments.

To say No Tears For The Dead is better than The Man From Nowhere (Done by the same director) would be incorrect. However this film is still incredible and is worth watching if you like Korean cinema and want to see a realistic bloody action thriller with some dark moments that you don't often see in western productions.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent, but doesn't even come near Raid 2
subratjain11 March 2015
To start, I would say that the movie was well made with good acting and above par choreography. The story was somewhat believable and pretty simple. So no plot holes as such.

The thing that's bugging me is that a lot of promotional posters said that the action sequences rival Raid 2. In my opinion that's a utterly false comparison. And someone who feels its true needs to watch Raid 2 again. The action is zero in the 1st hour of the film. There are some very good sequences but very few in number.The final fight was a let down too. The hero doesn't fight even 1 of the bad guys properly through out the film.

The raid franchise consists of 2 epic films with unmatched action choreography ever, IMHO. Comparing a movie with that is going to generate interest nonetheless.

To sum it up this was a little below my expectations as The Man form nowhere features in my all time favorite action flicks and i was expecting it to at least live up to the expectation.

Watch it as a decent action flick and don't expect too much form it.
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Unequal pacing, good movie overall
rucipi13 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I saw this movie had the same director as "The Man From Nowhere", which was such a blast I couldn't NOT try it.

Those who expected the same type of movie may find it quite different.

1.) Yes it's a Korean action/thriller movie. 2.) Yes it revolves around a protagonist who's rather on the silent side 3.) Yes the protagonist is protecting a female character against many individuals who want to harm her.

Now, the issue I have with this movie is two-fold : A. the pace. One short action scene in the beginning. Then there's a lot of downtime until something else happens. Is it bad or boring? Not necessarily, but the characters speak 4 different languages in the movie (Korean, English, Spanish, Mandarin) which can make it confusing, even with the subtitles.

We're then given some more action in the middle and a lot more towards the end, so you will be entertained.

B. The tone. Some of the villains were too ridiculous in the way they acted, in contrast to the overall serious tone reflected by the main actors.

Still, it was a satisfying movie, with great action scenes. Would recommend
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very underappreciated
Nazz8617 January 2019
This was a great movie, good plot, good acting, lots of action, with a good story.

Worth a watch for sure.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
gripping and explosive
tenpund14 February 2018
Ive become a fan of these amazing Korean movies cant wait to watch more , This one has got to be one of the favourites action and suspense all the way a must watch for action addicts.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
No Tears for the Dead Review: Top notch action & production values make it more than memorable.
Prashast_Singh18 July 2017
Movie: No Tears for the Dead (18)

Rating: 4.5/5

South Korean action films are often engaging and entertaining. When I watch an action film, I don't think of finding any logical loopholes. Why should one? Action films are always meant to draw attention towards impressive action and emotions set in visually stunning backdrops. So is this South Korean action film NO TEARS FOR THE DEAD. It has all the elements a perfect action film should have and is extremely impressive and wholly engaging.

NO TEARS FOR THE DEAD has not just impressive action, but impressive visuals, performances and BGM too. This is Jang Dong-gun's first film I've seen and he's just excellent! It's difficult to take eyes off the screen when he's either acting, emoting or fighting: he does every part so well. Kim Min-hee delivers a strong performance. Other actors manage to leave a mark with their respective memorable performances.

The story and screenplay are like never seen or heard before. The film looks extremely stylish and this is another reason why you should catch this one on Blu-ray. It has all the things that make it a perfect watch for action lovers. But not just for action lovers. It has elements which work with lovers of drama and thriller genres too. The VFX, locations and cinematography too are excellent and production values are top notch.

Overall, NO TEARS FOR THE DEAD is a memorable action film that will definitely be liked by action fans and South Korean cinema lovers.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Expertly crafted action scenes dragged down by the plot...........
nikhilraj199019 September 2015
Lee Jung-beom became one of my favorite directors, when I watched his debut crime feature "Cruel Winter Blues" and his revenge thriller "The Man from Nowhere".

What I really like about his movies is attention to detail and expertly filmed action sequences.

This movie continues these features, but this time Lee failed to ignite an interesting engaging and a convincing story.

But Lee is all about execution!!!!!!!! I believe that even his previous feature had a totally unbelievable plot it was his execution which shined the screenplay.

But this time plot of the movie is undeniably, the culprit for the negative reviews.

But on the positive, you are really going to like the action scenes. For the preparation of action scenes, Jang Dong-Gun underwent physical training for months.

Final Verdict: Just don't compare it with "The Man from Nowhere" and you will enjoy it.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed