Backtrace (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
102 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Where old actors go to die
siderite17 June 2019
I am not in the entertainment industry, so I don't know how people like Stallone and even Modine would accept to play in something that is obviously crap. People used to respect these guys! I mean, think about the early Stallone stuff and know this is way worse than that. It's a beyond low budget production, only meant to get more money that they put in by dangling the cast in front of people. This is not a movie so bad it is funny, this is not a movie that someone tried to make interesting and failed, this is clearly a scam. It's criminal and every person watching is a victim. It doesn't have a story! I mean it. There is an old amnesiac guy (Modine) to whom some people give an experimental drug to in order to remember where he hid some money. Stallone appears at the beginning and at the end. Nothing happens. Nothing! There are some really bad scenes where people shoot at each other and then the film ends. The editing, the acting, the filming, everything is just bad! You've been warned.
33 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stallone's Worst Film
FridayElmStreet22 August 2019
So at the store last week and along with getting Avengers Endgame on Blu Ray I noticed a pretty new action/thriller with Sylvester Stallone and Matthew Modine called Backtrace. But you know something is wrong when the film is less than a year old and the Blu Ray is already in the bargain bin. The film is just a very boring mess that run 82 minutes (without credits) and still could have been at least 20 minutes shorter.

The plot has a thief (Matthew Modine) and a few other criminals getting shot down by their partners. Modine survives but looses his memory. Seven years later 3 people break him out of a high security facility and put experimental drugs in him. Most of the film is watching Modine have painful flashbacks and looking for bags of money. We get some scenes of Stallone in random cop exposition scenes. But most of the film is just boring scenes of them looking for bags of money. Very little happens in the film. There is two shootout scenes but nothing that exciting. The whole film lacks in every department especially in character development. This is Stallones worst work.
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Why would A-listers agree to a 5th-grader written script?
Top_Dawg_Critic15 December 2018
I get that amateur writers need to start somewhere, but writer Mike Maples needed to partner up with a seasoned screenwriter for his 2nd-ever film - especially when casting big names, instead of putting Stallone and Modine thru this garbage. The premise of this story did have a chance, but the writing killed it, and very disappointingly so, to say the least.

Some scenes where outrageously ridiculous and riddled with plot issues. Even some of the dialogue seemed to be written by a 5th grader. I feel bad for Stallone and Modine, I hope they got paid well, as this will not show well on their resumes.

Then there was that constant overbearing and out of place annoying score... who agreed to that? Had the score been more appropriate (and not so loud and more absent), the film would have showed much better.

The directing was also nothing to write home about; the camera work was OK in most of the film, but the shaky migraines and some pan shots and zooms were annoying, but I guess director Brian Miller could only do so much with the screenplay he was handed. I also feel he could've directed his cast better, and edited/cut many of the flaws this film had.

A very generous 6/10 from me, mainly for the story's premise, and because Stallone and Modine carried this film from being a total flop.
41 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A typical below average action flick which will be forgotten.
theromanempire-11 February 2019
The only reason I went to see this is cause I love stallone and I watch every movie he does so I went to see this despite that I knew it's going to be poor from what I heard so far. this time those reviews were right. the movie was not good but it was not crap either. it was just a C- below average flick which will be forgotten soon. problem was the flawed scenario mostly and the acting was not the best either but also we saw that stuff like a million times already. this movie could be passable like 40 years ago. not now. Even stallone if u exclude last like 10 minutes had not been in the movie for more than like.....another 10 minutes. he had a supporting role. not the lead role. Anyways.....if by any chance u wanna check this out I recommend strongly only to rent this movie once or to watch it on tv anyhow. don't waste your time watching this flick in a theater even if u love stallone as stallone don't appear much in the film anyways. it's a C - from me and that cause of stallone mostly.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh Boy, I wasted an Hour and Thirty Two minutes
arfdawg-117 December 2018
Formulaic movie that is directed like a TV film with too many close up to hide the lack of sets and pretty bad acting.

It's sad that a decent actor like Mathew Modine got sucked into this garbage, but even he is a deer in the headlights delivering some of the worst lines in history.

The movie is slow to a fault and the direction is truly horrendous. The writing is 6th grade.

You'll be waiting a long time -- nearly a third of the film -- to see Stallone who walks thru his role and man, is he dough face. Too much muscle juice will do that to you.

His delivery is also rather odd. He sounds like he had a stroke! So strange.

Please don't bother with this film. I wasted an hour and half watching this garbage.
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad, real bad, a shame, I can't believe how bad it was...
michelorologio26 December 2018
A real shame, the worst movie I've seen in 2018....Sly must have needed the money, and he's in the movie at max 50% of it, bad actors, horribly filmed, stupid scenario, what more can I say, he should be ashamed at this stage of his career to participate in junk like that....avoid it and you'd do yourself a favour....
69 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I gave it a 1 because they showed up
gazzyace19 December 2018
I lasted 47 mins, there's only so much a grown man can take 😢
54 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Even the actors look bored
Saiph901 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have never seen a film were every one looks so bored, the writing and score are really bad, the dialogue pitiful and the music overbearing. There are so many plot holes you could drive a horse and carriage through them, so the story, after a bank robbery one of them is left with no memory, seven years go by, strangely no one ages. The penal system is so lax they allow his son to be incarcerated and his daughter in law a job as a nurse, obviously wearing spectacles and your hair in a pony tail throws them off the trail. When getting out the prison beeping your horn means they will not search a car. Syl Stone sleep walks through the film putting drawing pins in a cork board, why after 7 years do they still have this in the middle of the office. Oddly as it is his father he has no hesitation in injecting him with a 20% chance of killing him. The film limps to a boring end and Sly tops up his pension, awful film.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's all about the Money
FilmMcCool15 February 2019
What a terrible movie but for Sly Stalone to appear in this muck and other A list actors doing similar belies the, "It's all about the art" argument actors spout. In a world where A list actors are doing TV advertisements, heretofore work that was left for actors who had a bad time making a living from acting, proves to me "It's all about the money" and these A list actors are part of the GAA, Grab All Association, in other words they will do anything for money and to hell with the art.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Needs more Stallone
BandSAboutMovies30 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Twenty years after a botched robbery, three grifters kidnap an amnesia patient to jog his memory and find the long-lost money. It's directed by Brian A. Miller, who has also been behind several direct to video Bruce Willis vehicles like Vice, The Prince and Reprisal.

After suffering a brain injury from that aforementioned heist, MacDonald (Matthew Modine) has spent seven years suffering from amnesia in a prison psychiatric ward. Then, a fellow inmate and the prison doctor (Ryan Guzman, Rio from the abortive Jem and the Holograms movie and Meadow Williams, Apollo 13) break him out and inject him with a drug that gives him back his old mind. Now, in order to get back the money, MacDonald must escape Detective Sykes (Sylvester Stallone in a glorified cameo), FBI agent Franks (Christopher McDonald, who I always refer to as Shooter McGavin) and the side effects of the drug.

If you're heading into this expecting a Stallone cop thriller, perhaps you should just watch Cobra or Nighthawks.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Memories can be a problem
johnc214125 May 2019
I was expecting more Stallone in this kind of low budget action drama but alas It's more Matthew Modine as a bank robber who lost his memory and there are several people out to find where he hid 20 million dollars. And this was 7 years ago and still Modine is still not remembering. So along comes FBI agent played by Christopher McDonald wanting answers working with cop Stallone. It's a basic story with some surprises.Its not worthy of the one star reviews. But everyone is there own critic, I gave it 5 out of 10 because I thought it was decent but not great. Stallones latest since creed 2. Funny because a few years ago he announced retirement. Ahem a final Rambo movie? Expendables 4? Not this old dog. I expect Stallone will be in a few more movies maybe till he's 100 . Rocky at the retirement home.Teaching boxing ? Just a thought.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible
Plazeebo15 December 2018
Brian Miller has directed quite a few films, but none of them ever scored above 6 on IMDB. Why Stallone would agree to star in a film he directs is beyond me. It's absolutely terrible.

The script is horrible. The cinematography is awful. The acting is stiff. The music is just random notes.
22 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Don't be fooled by Stallone's presence
Leofwine_draca15 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
BACKTRACE is one of those low budget and generic thrillers with a mixed-up plotline and lots of drama and incident but little in the way of sense or style or, indeed, originality. It's also a film which bags a big-name screen presence and makes the most out of them appearing for about fifteen minutes; it's usually Bruce Willis in this kind of dreck but here we get Sylvester Stallone playing the usual weary cop. The story is of violent robbery and a criminal finding himself kidnapped by other criminals, and old-timer Matthew Modine should really know better.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Beyond terrible (WARNING BLOW BY BLOW ACCOUNT / SPOILERS
lopezpatricia-0613914 April 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Starts off with the bad guys meeting to share the loot, invariably ends up in a massive shoot out. Where one survives. He gets amnesia for 7 years before he's busted out the nut house by what turns out to be his wife and 2 sons with a miraculous serum to restore his memories. Staggering around with a headache that's contagious to viewers, the bent cops arrive and spend the last 25 mins in another shootout at the cement factory. Stallone in the end says off you go no charges and take the money with you, I'll clear this up.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nothing worse than having shaky cam movie
roganovic18 December 2018
Brain staibilze vision. You dont have shaky vision if you are normal. No need to shake camera when someone run . I mean so low budget. Even if u are in car and offroading you dont get those shakes like movie presented. Idiotic
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bland
mikesnppr14 December 2018
Pretty generic plot with no real surprises, nothing we haven't seen many times before and even though the runtime is pretty short, less than 1h30m, nothing very interesting or engaging is really happening most of the time. The bulk of the interesting action happens in the first 10 minutes and then the last 10 minutes the rest simply felt like a padding. I am surprised Stallone chose to appear in this.
31 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
nebk16 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Most of the other reviews have said this but it needs to be reiterated: this movie is awful. It has a weak story, terrible dialogue and is badly directed with an unexceptional and cheap sounding music score.

The main premise is that a bank robber (Modine) who was shot in the head is the only one who knows where 15 million dollars from a bank robbery is hiden after his two partners were doble crossed and killed. Seven years after the heist, he is sprung from a prison mental hospital by his two sons who give him an injection that helps him retreive his memories in order to find the cash. There is a shoot out with the corrupt feds who were behind the robbery and the heroic local cop (Stallone) takes them all out. Then he lets the robber leave with the money and the surviving members of his family because apparently seven years in the mental hospital was enough punishment for the robber. After all he was doing it all for his family.

The ammount of plot-holes in this movie are unbelievable. Why did the corrupt feds shoot the robbers and not find out where the money is first? How is it that one of the sons of the surviving robber managed to get a job in the prison hospital without anyone knowing? How did the other son impersonate a patient in order to help the escape. Where did they get the miracle memory retrieving drug? Why do the bad guys all go down and presumably die when Stallone shoots them in their bulletproof vests? Why does everyone have selective hearing when they conveniently don't hear approaching cars or shouting? And there are so many more but I'm getting bored of remembering a movie i finished watching 15 minutes ago. That's how memorable it is.

Overall the characters are so thin they might as well be see through and the movie is dumb with a weak story, even weaker dialogue and completely wastes the actors it has. Avoid it at all costs.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Who writes and produce this crap!!
hypnotic-7915315 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This whole movie was poorly executed A complete waste of money and time. For example you have cops with bullet proof vest getting shot in the vest and dying. You have Sylvester Stalone heading into a gun fight with a pistol against men with machine guns no backup. (Greatest action hero my ass) He comes out without a scratch doesn't even check on his fellow officer at the end and he lets the bank robber walk.
40 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful
GladtobeGrey24 January 2020
I see there isn't a 'goofs' section for this movie - because there are too many to list maybe? And, please, I know mandatory retirement is not a requirement in most professions in the USA, but a 72-year-old cop (Stallone)? Do me a favour.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Should go straight to the bargain bin box
horton-783676 January 2019
Watched this as I thought big stars can't be all that bad , well I was wrong , terrible plot , bad cardboard acting and that was from everyone in this film , don't waste your time and money on this one .
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I'm forcing these 5 stars
xbrunerohd19 December 2018
If you don't have anything else to do this may be an option. Gunshot scenes were weird, guys missing dozens of shots, pretty generic. What was that Sykes character all about?There were few scenes with him and most of them are irrelevant or without depth. Actually if I look to all the other characters, there's no depth, nothing. Oh, and the end of the movie was also pretty generic, I've seen some people that said the ending was good, really??
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very bad. Not worth the effort to watch the.
andylev-4091615 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Fortunately stallone only had a few lines. The script is poor, the plot very weak. The story of memory loss recovered , hidden loot found , prison break, family reunited, pension scandal (never resolved ), corrupt cops is not very original, not made believable and rather dull. All in all, not entertaing.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
OK action movie.
I_should_be_reading_a_book17 December 2018
Heist gone awkward that ends with an amnesiac man who has the key to the money. Dirty cops and decent robbers. Film spans nearly a decade. Stallone "acts" (if you can call that acting) small parts and then plays only the Stallone act; nevertheless he gets top billing. Modine does a decent part, as usual, nothing extraordinary. Rest of the cast forgettable, director amateurish; even so, the film holds although it's scattered. Worth watching if you cannot find anything else.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
which fallen star has been kept out...
ops-5253525 December 2018
Or didnt get a role in this mess of a thriller???. the lucky one has probably saved his or hers careere for a few more years,and do not have to stand trial for parttaking in this robbery of 90 minutes of my lifetime. so im gonna backtrace them and the director cause this is over and out for him and the rest.

its shows from 00 59 in this flick that its dumb and colorless,a wild shootout, camera images so close up on the actors ,so you start counting the pimples on the forehead, and nostril-hairs on syst,terrible. lame story,unexciting filmography,bad light and sound production, terrible score,and a castaway cast that should have been left with a coconut each on a pacific sandbank,screaming to the landcrabs,who has allready eaten the leftovers from another castaway film.....

there are simply not anything fine to say about this motheaten story,than that it should never have been made, and if you have free tickets ,throw them away.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Some good intentions, but weak execution
mgruebel10 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
What have we here? Amnesiac bank robber Matt Modine turns out to have become a criminal for his kid's sake because he got cheated out of his pension plan. When he gets his memory back 7 years later, he becomes a threat for corrupt FBI agent Chris McDonald, who wants to put his hands on the hidden millions that Modine robbed. Stallone is a cop caught in the middle trying to figure out who's really the good guy and who's really the bad guy.

On the bad side, in few films do so many machine-gun bullets spray around and still miss the mark, characters hide their identities when not doing so would produce better results, or cops risk their careers for criminals. So 4 for the writing, editing and directing. On the good side, it does move along, has plenty of little plot twists, and Modine, McDonald and Stallone work professionally with the material on hand, as one should come to expect. So a 6 for the actors and good intentions.

I saw it with my buddy while riding a stationary bike in the basement, and for that purpose it did the trick. A see-once flick though, hence a (4+6)/2 = 5.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed