For Better or for Worse (TV Movie 2014) Poster

(2014 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Miscast leads ruined the movie
ulara7 February 2015
Okay, pairing a 51yr old woman with a 37yr old man who looks 30 was not a good idea when they could have easily properly cast this male lead. It was just ridiculous, not to mention that both of their kids were supposed to be 22 which means he would have been 15 when he had his daughter. By this reasoning she could practically have been his mother in the movie instead of his romantic interest.

I have enjoyed other movies with a younger guy and older woman but it did not work at all in this movie.

Aside from that it was a typical Hallmark romance, cheesy but enjoyable in parts. I'm not that picky when it comes to these types of romances but these leads just annoyed me through the whole movie, they way overdid the animosity in the beginning, there was no chemistry between them at all and that, combined with the age difference, really reduced the believability factor for me.
23 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Actually funny
phd_travel17 September 2018
This movie is actually funny unlike some Hallmark movies that are barely chuckle worthy. A divorce attorney sets up his office next to a wedding planner. Their kids turn out to be in love and want to get married. The sparring is funny and the conflict provides some laughs. Some well written dialogue too.

Lisa Welchel has grown older naturally kudos to her so she is more watchable than many actresses her age who have had plastic surgery. She is noticeably older than her on screen matchup Antonio Cupo but surprisingly it's quite alright.

Worth a watch.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really Bad Writing & Direction
johne-5595221 August 2020
Even for a Hallmark movie this is a real stinker. The poor actors really struggle through the awful script and the bad direction compounds the problem. Dont waste your time
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Definitely for Worse!
penelopesodyssey26 June 2016
Lisa Whelchel doesn't look like Edward Ruttle's mother. She looks like Antonio Cupo's mother! I mean really, if you feel the need to cast a much older woman, use someone gorgeous like Jane Seymour! At least that would be more believable. I just couldn't get past it. Other than that Antonio Cupo was lovely as usual. Reviewers talking about "incest" because the children were getting married, are being absurd. If the kids grew up together, they might be in some serious need of therapy. Even then, however, it's still not incest. The only problem with the parental figures ever getting married is the fact that Lisa Whelchel could have actually given birth to Antonio Cupo! Definitely pass on this if you've just eaten!
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total Stupidity
cleejonez17 December 2018
The originators of this movie who are promoting such disinformation with a bucket full of ignorance on what a 'vegan' is is beyond brain damage. Fishing? Are you kidding me? Organic farm by vegans raising cows, goats, chickens?
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very disappointing
marsmii16 February 2016
I was looking forward to watching this movie. I have liked everything that I have seen Antonio Cupo in. The leads were all wrong! To have a 50+ plus woman have a 13 yrs. younger boyfriend and then started a relationship with a 15 yrs. younger man just didn't seem right in this movie. In some cases it would be okay but not in this case. Antonio Cupo is a hunk and can pass for much younger, whereas Lisa Whelchel looks older than she is---and those suits and shrill voice! Please! All wrong! A disappointment all the way through! Lisa came through as a control freak---even ended up planning their wedding so the young couple didn't even have a say in that.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Facts of Life Reunion!
kz917-14 December 2017
Well. What to say about this flick? Aired on Hallmark as part of their WEDDING movies extravaganza!!

The biggest draw was the reunion on screen of Lisa Whelchel and Kim Fields. Beyond that it's your typical fluffy wedding movie. Neither parent is thrilled about the wedding of their children and do everything they can to bust up the impending nuptials.

Enjoyable but mostly snooze-worthy!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Delightful Hallmark Movie
bookandcandle24 January 2015
Hallmark produced another delightful family movie, which I enjoyed from beginning to end. That is why I gave it a big 10. I would see this movie over and over.

What could be better than a wedding planner doing business next to a divorce attorney? The story evolves into a love relationship between the two owners trying to guide their children in life who are planning to marry.

The script was totally imaginative, comical and exciting. The acting was perfect and heartfelt. The only concern I had was that Wendy was much older than Marco. Marco was handsome and charming, but I think he was too young for Wendy. The happy ending was the icing on the cake.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So they're vegan but they're buying an animal farm?
sandrarosset24 June 2020
This movie plot is so confusing to me. I like my cheesy hallmark movies but this one is too ridiculous even for me. The leads also have no chemistry, which makes it even harder to watch.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A masterclass in how not to make a movie
picturebigger15 November 2014
This has to be the worst film (if you can even call it that) ever! The acting was wooden as if they were not even trying, there was no depth to the characters and to be honest I have seen more convincing kid's nativities. The story line was predictable and flat and the age gap between the characters was plain weird. I joined IMDb today with sole purpose of warning people so they don't have to suffer like I did. I am at a loss to see how this was ever released and can't imagine anyone enjoying this except to laugh at it. My advice would be to spare yourself the agony, maybe go to work because trust me that will be more entertaining!
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
weird
novagirl1110 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
So weird that the mother of the groom and father of the bride are getting together! Really, Hallmark!?
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Clean, But Not Recommendable
athompsonblue15 August 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I get that the male lead was heartbroken by his wife leaving, and he's having trouble opening his heart again. But making him be so blatantly cynical and anti-marriage just made him unlikable. A divorce lawyer can still wish a newlywed couple the best, and accept that many marriages are happily successful.

Both parents were terrible control freaks with their kids. I understand being alarmed by your kid dropping out of school. And the son could have called his mom weeks earlier and told her that he was getting serious with somebody. But that doesn't excuse the parents' behavior. They deserved the scolding that their kids eventually give them.

Also, I don't know much about veganism. But wouldn't a vegan object to fishing and cow-milking and harvesting chicken eggs?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
You take the good, you take the bad...
utgard1431 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
So I'm flipping through the channels and I see a commercial for a Hallmark TV movie that reunites Blair and Tootie from The Facts of Life. Naturally I had to see it. The story is about a wedding planner (Lisa Whelchel) who's not happy about a divorce attorney (Antonio Cupo) setting up shop next door to her business. Things get more complicated when Lisa's son shows up with his new fiancée, who just so happens to be Antonio's daughter. Neither parent is crazy about the relationship, believing the kids are rushing into things. But gradually they learn to accept it and also start to fall for each other.

There is one spoilery thing I wanted to address. I don't think this is a huge spoiler given how these sorts of movies are but consider yourself warned anyway. At the end of the movie the son and daughter marry while the mother and father kiss, signaling the beginning of their relationship. So basically if the two parents ever marry, that would mean their kids would become siblings. But they're married too. So Lisa's son would be married to his stepsister and Antonio's daughter to her stepbrother. Seemed kind of odd they involved this incestuous element when it really wasn't necessary to the story.

It's nice to see Lisa Whelchel acting again. I liked her on Facts of Life and I liked her on the season of Survivor she did. I'm a child of the '80s, so sue me. Kim Fields plays Lisa's best friend and business partner. Her role is to basically say sassy things and encourage stuffy Lisa to' get some.' You get the picture. The rest of the cast is kind of generic but nobody was particularly bad. There's a ceiling on how good this could have been, given the fact that it's a made-for-TV movie. Honestly, it wasn't that great. If it wasn't for Blair and Tootie, I doubt I would have finished it. If you're a Facts of Life fan, by all means check it out. Everybody else, I guess it depends on if you generally like these sorts of movies. If you do, then you'll probably like it a bit more than I did.
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Silly & fun!
Jazzie-too24 August 2019
This started out almost feeling like a comedy. And I think that was intentional. One thing, that may have bothered other viewers--even more, was the continual feeling of the age difference between Whelchel and Lugo. That was a bit of miscasting. As the story progressed, this theme continued. A lot of silliness and predictable moments. And as things started to come together, some joyful tears. I enjoyed it! Cute and different!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
You cannot be serious!!
labbysexy-544-1830013 January 2016
Started off well but somehow unrealistic what with such a young Lawyer having eyes for a frumpy much older woman. Whilst their kids at 22yrs of age seem so sure about marriage having dropped out of college seems a far stretch on the imagination the shocker was despite this, both parents of said kids also have a thing for each other...........eewwww!! No matter the chemistry felt, the minute they discovered that their kids were sleeping together and preparing to get married should have nipped that relationship in the bud very quickly. It is totally inconceivable and sick on every level to think the children are married then the parents are dating or perish the thought, get married. I can just hear them with guests at the dinner table. Meet my stepson/son-in-law or meet my step-daughter/daughter-in law. Who comes up with these nonsense.
5 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Divorce lawyer and wedding coordinator do more than tango!
cgvsluis19 May 2022
Widow wedding coordinator Wendy is less than thrilled to have divorced divorce attorney Marco move in next door to her business. Even worse her son brings home Marco's daughter. The one thing Marco and Wendy can agree on is that they do not want their kids, marrying, dropping out of law school and starting an organic farm.

This was hilariously funny with a sweet sentimental romantic storyline. This was cleverly devised to have you focused on on another couple as a romance is building between their parents.

It was fun to see Blair and Tootie from Facts of Life reunited.

My favorite bit of this film...the dancing! Thank you for that. I seriously missing dancing at the grange and the way those silver foxes eyes lit up when we showed up to dance.

This is a strong recommendation for me and a total surprise.

Did I mention the totally Canadian father/grandfather?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fun and Fabulous
arcuda6 January 2018
I am obsessed with this movie, watching it multiple times, the actors are phenomenal, realistic and such a true to life plot. A bonus is the star, Lisa who is every bit as enchanting as she was in "Facts of Life"! A real joy!
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stunned
teebear81724 March 2021
I had not seen Lisa Whelchel since Facts of life. Omg. Her acting was horrible. I mean. BAD!!!!!! She looked terrible. Over acting in every scene like a novice. It was A terrible movie. Kim Fields is OBESE.
0 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Love lisa
jeannendon-9815717 March 2019
Would like to see her inmore movies! Enjoyed this one. Not sure the guy n his daughter had the right chemistry but the acting was good. Enjoyed it.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cringe cringe cringe
victoria_mci24 October 2022
Warning: Spoilers
There is a painful lack of chemistry between the leads (I'm excluding Collin and Sophia from this because I think those two did great), and there are very awkward age differences - like, how old was Marco when Sophia was born? Wendy is what, 15 years older than her love interest? Given the unnecessary hostility in the beginning, what on earth drew them together? Certainly not any believable chemistry.

The acting seemed forced and while I really, really tried, I could NOT get into the plot or find a connection with any character. The parents were irredeemably pushy and disrespectful, and I'm not sure the writers know what being vegan means...(ie organic animal farm)...

Also, come on, marrying your potential (step) sibling, yikes.

Just a hard, cringy pass.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cringe
qcmztqj18 May 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Okay this movie is so cringe! The kids get married and their parents get together? Gross. Step brother and sister who are married? Also, horrible acting!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed