Logan (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
1,316 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Logan is everything you wanted it to be and more
Brands .18 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Logan is the 2017 movie everyone has been anticipating after two great trailers and a R rating it delivers a surprising amount of heart to characters we have grown to love and know and also balancing a surprising amount of action within the first and third act climax, its violent but not blood for blood sake every cut is with reason.

Logan presents us with Logan (Wolverine), Professor X and Laura (X-23) and by definition its an escort mission involving X-23 but shes more capable than Logan and Professor X thinks and shes able to fend for herself. Logan is old and a grizzled shadow of what he once was and by going on this mission he unlocks some of the old wolverine inside of him and we see bursts of that throughout the movie, Logan also begins to realize things about himself through the vision of this little girl because they have striking similarities.

Every scene in this film feels necessary from the character development to the humor and action nothing is forced everything comes off natural which is a breath of fresh air and I was very pleased with it, I believe that this movie will be very well received by fans as it treats its characters with such care and embarks on an emotional and satisfying conclusion to Hugh Jackmans Logan (Wolverine).
458 out of 715 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Brutally violent, emotional, and character-driven, "Logan" is the Wolverine film fans have been waiting for
TheJediWay92 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"Logan" is directed by James Mangold and stars Hugh Jackman for one final go around as Wolverine. With an R Rating secured, something the previous two Wolverine films should have had, "Logan" was bound to be fantastic. It wasn't fantastic. It was phenomenal.

If you are going into "Logan" expecting every scene to just be Wolverine tearing people to shreds you'll be thoroughly disappointed. This is definitely not an action film. There are action sequences in the film, but they are not the main focus of the movie like the previous 2 Wolverine movies tried to make them be. "Logan" is a grounded film, a film that really takes its time to tell its story and to develop its characters. It's a character-driven film, and it probably has the most characterization in an X-Men film to date. We get enough of Wolverine's backstory within the first few minutes to really become attached to him (if we already weren't). We learn more about Professor X and what he has been doing, and then there's this little girl, who probably should be annoying, but luckily isn't and that was a sigh of relief. This girl, Laura, is the star of the show. It is really "her" movie. All of the sequences with Laura were riveting. There was that sense of mystery to her character that you wouldn't really expect from a film like this. You don't ever really know what her next move is going to be. Her motivation to find a safe haven is so well felt in this film that it just brings you a sigh of relief that there is still a sense of good out there in the world of this film where everything seems dark, bleak, and hopeless.

Hugh Jackman's performance. Yeah the dude gave it his all. This is by far Hugh Jackman's best performance as Wolverine. We've never seen Wolverine this vulnerable. He's old, he's broken down, he's beaten. He can't heal like he used to. The conviction from Hugh Jackman in this movie was just spot on and really captured the ways Wolverine felt at certain moments. It added layers to this film. When Wolverine gets into a fight, Hugh Jackman is so good in these scenes it's like he got into a fight with the filmmakers on set.

This film does not hold back from a violence standpoint. From the get go, you know what type of movie you are in for. It is brutally violent, by far the most violent X-Men film w have gotten. Wolverine hacks, claws, and slashes his way through skirmishes with blood, guts, and gore flying. If this is what you had always wanted from a Wolverine movie and haven't gotten it up to this point, well this movie gives you all of that.

From a violence standpoint, the violence is there when the film calls for it. It is not violent for the sake of being violent. This is a film that puts its characters and story first before anything else, with violence being a secondary element to help propel the story along and to create tension. It is in the scenes where it should be. If this were just an all-out 2 hour and 20 minute "hack-and-slash" fest this film would have no depth to it. It would look cool, but giving Hugh Jackman the proper sendoff was what was more important in a film like this.

This film at times gets downright emotional. The final scene of the film makes you wanna cry. You care about these characters, you are invested in them. You don't want to see them put in harm's way. Even in the scenes where the film may feel a bit slow, the final act of the film is the payoff. This is where everything really meshes together with a force, creating a pulse-pounding, edge of your seat final sendoff for Hugh Jackman as he retires from the role.

This is by far the best Wolverine movie and possibly the best X-Men movie to date. I haven't decided yet. It's up there, and it deserves to be. Everything payed off in this film. It is emotional. It is character driven. It has heart. It is emotional. This is everything anyone could have wanted in a Wolverine film.

From me "Logan" gets a perfect 10/10.
429 out of 676 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
If there was ever a comic book movie deemed worthy of perfect, Logan is it.
trublu21523 February 2017
The word 'perfect' is very objective especially when it comes to film. While Logan may not be a perfect film, it is most certainly a perfect comic book film. It is a masterpiece of the most epic proportions and leaves us with a brilliant swan song for producer and star Hugh Jackman in his final outing as Wolverine. The film, directed brilliantly by James Mangold, is a two plus hour comic book fan's wet dream as we see the version of Wolverine every fan has wanted to see for nearly two decades. While many will be very sad to see Jackman step down from the role, he couldn't have picked a better or more satisfying film to end his cinematic legacy with.

The film takes place in 2029 and shows the world in shambles. Mutants are nearly extinct, water is scarce and the world is just an overall wasteland. This is where we find Logan. He is a limo driving cantankerous caretaker to an even more cantankerous Professor X, who is now suffering from dementia and seizures. He is a borderline alcoholic suffering from a mysterious illness that limits his mutant abilities. Due to this, he lives this quiet life until he meets a young girl who he feels he must protect. Without giving too much away, there is much more here than I can go into but I will say, if you are a fan of the Wolverine comics, this film will bring a tear to your eye. This is probably the most faithful adaptation of a comic book character EVER, Marvel and DC combined. The way the story goes, the way Logan behaves, the selflessness and the rage, this is an all around realized version of this character. While it may have taken a little longer than it should have, this film was worth the wait. James Mangold does a fantastic job at creating the world Logan knows now. This is more of a film like Mangold's 3:10 to Yuma. It is bleak, violent and absolutely heartbreaking. This is far from the PG-13 character we're used to. This is a foul mouthed, miserable and very VERY bloody rendition of the source material. This is a film very much like The Guantlet or Badlands, a crime thriller and on-the-road drama. It very much embodies the look and feel of a film from the mid-70s and it plays to this very well.

The performances in this film are amazing. Hugh Jackman's performance here is the best as the character and may be one of the best of his career. He is miserable and broken in this film and to see him like this as the character, it is bittersweet especially because Jackman has been so attached to this role. If he hurts, we hurt. If he's mad, we're mad. It is a true testament to Jackman as an actor to make his audience feel this connected to someone who is, by traditional standards, completely unrelateable. Boyd Holbrook brings a sinister performance to this and continues to build a very impressive resume. Holbrook is someone who you'll love to hate. The real standout performance here is from Dafne Keen who plays Laura. Without giving away any spoilers, she is BADASS in this film and even gives Logan a run for his money on the brutality.

Overall, Logan is a perfect comic book adaptation that is as heartbreaking as it is visually stunning. Mangold and Jackman create a special film with this that should be talked about for years to come. Believe the hype, Logan is a seriously amazing comic book film that just may be the best ever made and embodies the definition of a perfect adaptation.
330 out of 574 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
Such a sad farewell.
Her-Excellency17 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I really can't get how in the world people are rating this movie as highly as they are. You would think they have never seen this done, and done better.

Yes, I understand that Logan is a heartfelt character dear to us, but THINK people! For that very same reason we should be holding this movie to a higher standard, and not giving it an emotional pass.

To, me, this film was slow and depressing a-la No Country For Old Men, without ANY of the Oscar-worthiness. It was just droll, SUPER PREDICTABLE, moronic in its' execution and so very far-fetched. (Yes, imagine saying 'far-fetched' for a movie based on a comic)! They spun and bent a bunch of things to get them to where they were in the year 2029 and tried to make it believable (it wasn't). Then, they try to impress upon your heartstrings Logan's connection or ties to the little girl, but the connection or ties are SILLY at best. Not only the supposed ties between them are silly, but the entire plot is full of silly holes.

Not SILLY, you say? Let me get this straight ... you are trying like hell to get away from the bad guys, and ummmmm, you STOP FOR A MINI VACATION - not ONCE, but TWICE, and put hundreds of strangers in jeopardy the first time, and a nice family in danger the second time? Yeah, sure. Seriously, anyone who could get over that gaping ridiculousness and who can, after that, in good conscience give this movie anything above a 6 is just messing with you or has total fan-boy blinders on.

As for the little girl, god, she was annoying and aggravating AF and 80% of her screen time was spent shrieking. Nooo, not screaming. SHRIEKING.

The rest of the acting was good. The members of the family they added as filler in the middle of the movie were the only ones IMO that you kind of cared about. Even old Professor X had seen better days and you kind of wanted it to be over for him. It was just painful to watch, and I don't mean in a moving way where the film is made better, but in a painful oh god, kill him off already way.

*** BIG SPOILERS BELOW *** DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE MOVIE OR ARE PLANNING ON SEEING IT!!!

The ending was unreal in how bad it was. Without giving too much away ... you have one little girl who is able to take out like 10-12 guys, PLUS you have Wolverine, PLUS a BUNCH of other mutant kids who have varying degrees of mutant abilities, and yet they can't take out a small group of bad guys?

W T H ?

As for Hugh Jackman, he was good and played Logan like he always has done except maybe this time he looked older and more tired which was a good thing because it translated unto the screen and gave Wolverine some credibility. Otherwise he was just there. The gushing over his acting this time around IMO is unwarranted, as he really didn't do anything that much different than he has on every other X-Men movie and if anyone disagrees, I defy them to point out what. Props also to the action in the film, and to how it was filmed. The action scenes alone are what I imagine 'made' the movie for most people.

All in all, I wasn't impressed.

Don't get me wrong - it wasn't a horribly BAD movie, I just don't agree that it was very good and I really don't agree with the overrating or the assessment that it is in ANY way a "masterpiece". If you look at it just on paper, you would think that the people that are reacting to it in such a way have ONLY EVER watched comic-book movies in their lives and have now seen a drama sold as a comic-book movie and their brains are exploding as they process it as innovative and different.

In closing, I understand that Hugh Jackman is getting older, and the great dilemma was 'how exactly do you keep making movies with an actor who is aging, playing a character who is supposed to rejuvenate or heal'? You don't. You kindly retire the character, as the creators of the franchise have chosen to do. The thing is, they could have really made it to where it wasn't SO depressing and/or bleak with no real outlook toward the future except a bunch of kids you are NOT at all INVESTED in, or care one iota about.

A bad ending for a good character, was just bad cinema. RIP Logan. hopefully, at some point you will miraculously resurrect so that you can be given the farewell you deserve.

My actual rating is 6.5-7/10, but some reviewers have gone over the top crazy with the 10s.
170 out of 292 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
A fine, fitting farewell to an iconic character, LOGAN is one of the best superhero movies ever made.
shawneofthedead1 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Let's cut to the chase, shall we? In every beat, every frame, every moment, LOGAN feels like the Wolverine movie Hugh Jackman has been waiting (and training) for 17 years to make. Set free of a PG rating, this wildly kinetic film has plenty of gore, action and violence pumping through its veins. But what makes this one of the finest superhero movies ever produced is the big, messy, somewhat broken heart beating at its core.

Set in a grim near-future where very few mutants remain alive, we meet an unthinkable incarnation of our favourite enclawed superhero: one who's decidedly past his prime. This is not the near-immortal Wolverine we remember, but Logan (Jackman): a broken, far older man who feels the weight of every wound inflicted upon him. His once- formidable body – tattooed with scars that aren't healing as fast or as well as they used to – seems to be failing. It's only his determination to keep the ailing, ageing Professor Charles Xavier (Stewart) safe and alive that never falters.

The film's plot kicks into overdrive when Logan's fate becomes entangled with that of Laura (Keen), a close-to-feral young girl who brandishes claws and fury as fierce and lethal as Logan's own. As the unlikely trio go on the run, we see echoes of Logan himself in Laura's terrifying rage and the tentative emotional connection she forges with Xavier. It's one of many smart moves on the part of James Mangold, who does double duty as director and co-writer. Bringing Laura into the picture allows him to explore Logan's trauma, regret and hope through the filter of this pint-sized powerhouse's origin story.

In effect, Mangold has placed an intimate family drama squarely at the heart of this ostensible blockbuster film – strip the characters of their superpowers and LOGAN would still pulse with plenty of heartbreak and humanity. Logan keeps dragging himself through the world when one suspects all he wants to do is die. Xavier grapples with his own frailty as his once-sharp mind deteriorates and betrays him, again and again. Laura is a tough, tender mess of contradictions: a victim of horrific abuse but also a warrior in the making. Watching them interact – fighting, screaming, arguing, glaring and, once in a while, forgiving – will elicit laughter and tears (lots of tears), in a way that no other superhero film to date has quire managed.

That doesn't mean, however, that LOGAN is an entirely joyless, sombre affair. Far from it. It proves, quite conclusively, that films in this genre can plumb the darkest of psychological depths while finding welcome ways to leaven the misery. (Note: this is something Zack Snyder would do well to learn as he continues to expand DC's largely mirthless cinematic universe.) Mangold threads moments of genuine humour into the proceedings – from casual shoplifting and runaway horses, to an ornery old man who refuses to take his pills.

The fast and furious action beats in LOGAN are also quite delightful to witness. The violence that's on full, bloody display is dark and horrible, but somehow fitting for this film in which there really are consequences for battles fought and lost. It's only when you see Logan's claws plunging into flesh, shearing cleanly through meat and bone, that you realise just how neutered and family-friendly his earlier outings were. There's a slow-motion sequence halfway through the film, as Logan struggles to get to an embattled Xavier, that's gritty and beautiful to watch – as thrilling as that scene-stealing Quicksilver moment in X-Men: Days Of Future Past. And it goes without saying that watching Laura gracefully spin and slice her way through oncoming attackers manages to be terribly wrong and wonderfully right at the same time.

To be quite frank, none of this would work without the incredible cast, all of them doing award-worthy work that will, sadly, be overlooked because their characters have such silly things as 'powers'. It's truly unsettling to watch Stewart dig beneath his natural gravitas to find the shaken core of a Professor X who's semi-consciously losing grip of his mind – the best and most dangerous mind in the universe. Keen is a revelation. Grabbing this breakout role by the throat and making it very much her own, she somehow manages to convey Laura's childish fragility and overpowering strength, often in the same breath.

And, finally, there's Jackman. He's been training for and playing the role that catapulted him to global stardom for 17 years now, and he brings everything he has to this final outing as Logan. He nails Logan's physical tics, of course: from his grizzled and aged demeanour, to his rattling cough and copious drinking. But Jackman also takes delight in unearthing the dark sadness at the heart of this once invincible, now vulnerable man. There is a hope and purity in Logan that doesn't always show through his wisecracks, but it shines brightly and unexpectedly here – often in the film's saddest moments.

There are a handful of things about the film don't work quite so well. The main antagonists, played by Richard E. Grant and Boyd Holbrook, are largely forgettable – there's not much that defines them outside their nefarious goals. As many viewers may be turned off by Logan's relentless misery and eye-popping violence as those who welcome it.

But this doesn't detract from the fact that LOGAN is a remarkable achievement. It manages to be several things at once: a bruising action film, a tender family drama and an intimate character study, liberally shaken through with comic-book sensibilities and a Western or two. If Jackman really is hanging up his claws for good, there could be no better way to bid farewell to one of Marvel's most enduring and appealing characters.
218 out of 384 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
The Best Wolverine Movie, Hands Down!
jcardella130 May 2017
This is a wolverine movie aimed at adults and definitely not for small children. The story is set in the future and Logan is taking care of Charles Xavier who has grown old and is incapable of taking care of himself. Logan, himself is now older and his health is slowly deteriorating as well. A young girl mutant enters their lives which sets off a story, which is not about super heroes fighting bad guys, but one that is on a more human level. "Logan", is a beautifully made X-Men film that deals with themes of importance of family, loyalty, and ultimately how Logan himself deals with new found emotions which he is experiencing for the very first time in his life.

This is the crowning achievement in Hugh Jackman's role as Wolverine. It is the movie he and director, James Mangold had always wanted to make. It is a dramatic work of art and for X-Men fans, has plenty of action and special FX which are a definite cut above anything that has been seen before in Wolverine/X-Men films.

A MUST SEE FOR ANY FAN AND A GOOD ENOUGH FILM TO STAND ALONE FOR ANYONE!!
88 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
Just A Flat Out MASTERPIECE!
UMWolvie244218 February 2017
Holy Cow! We've finally got the Wolverine movie we've all been waiting for and then some! Mr. Mangold has nailed the character and the action, and Hugh Jackman is truly a part of a Wolverine movie that has showcased the true character that the fans had hoped to see full on. Yes, we've seen superb runs and flashes but nothing this deep or this epic.

How could any movie fan in general not just adore this film? It brought elements of a lot of great genres.

Logan has to be considered genre-defining. The characters, action and story were all beyond outstanding in this movie. We are taken for a ride and can relate to Logan once again. The acting is superb and the dialogue is perfect for the level of each character. Every single character feels believable. You follow the story through Logan's eyes and what a ride it turns out to be.

This movie is emotional and moving in every single way that matters and is unique and is as far away from anything X-Men we've seen before. In this case, that's a very good thing. The fight scenes and pace are superb. I honestly could see Oscar nominations here on multiple fronts.

This movie is sophisticated and delivers a grand, tragic story. The action fits in nice but serves the story first. Unlike other "dark" films, the tone is perfect and fits the character. The supporting characters are utilized in a comprehensive and cohesive manner and are wonderful in and of themselves.

I loved everything about this movie and they left it as if this was the perfect end to Hugh's run.
297 out of 546 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
4/10
Disappointment
jherrick-6-99133610 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I look at "Logan" as the "Alien 3" of the X-Men franchise. It basically gives a gigantic middle finger to everything that came before it. It destroys everything the movie that proceeded it ("Days of Future Past") accomplished. In "DOFP", all of mutant kind are about to be destroyed, but by the heroic actions of Logan himself, they survive. Then, according to the film "Logan", they all get killed off a few years later anyways. It has been said that one of the big themes of "Logan" was disappointment. I agree. I was very disappointed in this film.

"Logan" is annoyingly low on information. We are thrown into this terribly depressing future without a whole lot of explaining as to how we got here. As I watched, I kept waiting for a scene where things were laid down for the audience. It never came. The best we got were a few vague references here and there. There was something called "The Westchester Incident", but the reference was so fleeting that I barely caught it. There was also another part near the end where the main villain claims that he had something to do with the lack of new mutants being born and that he is Striker's son? I think? It wasn't very clear plus the dude's last name wasn't actually Striker, which further confused the issue. Later on, I hopped online and had a few things clarified (such as the "Westchester Incident"), but why weren't they clearer in the film in the first place?

Another issue I have with this film is how it treats the deaths of its two main characters. First, with Xavier, he is stabbed unceremoniously by a clone of Logan about two-thirds the way through the movie. There are no heroics in this death, no greater purpose, no meaning. He's just stabbed and then dies. What a disservice to such an incredible and important character to this franchise.

Then there is Logan's death. Logan is impaled by a chunk of wood from a dead tree. The dude literally has a skeleton made out of adamantium, which is the world's most indestructible metal, but yet wood cuts right through it. What? Now, we are shown through the film that Logan is sick and his ability to heal is getting worse, but that shouldn't affect his crazy metal ribcage! They even go to great lengths to explain that the only thing that can really kill him is an adamantium bullet, but in the end a hunk of wood does just as well.

Then there is the "R" rating. Once again, if this were a true stand-alone movie and not part of a larger narrative, I'd mostly be OK with it. But of course it isn't. Everything that we got with the "R" rating was unnecessary. What we got was far more blood and gore (there was more than one decapitation), a dump truck full of f-bombs and even one scene where a woman in a bridal shower flashed her boobs. All of this could have been edited out and the film would have been fine.

Don't get me wrong, I am no prude. I've seen plenty of violent movies, heard plenty of f- bombs and seen plenty of nakedness on film. I'm fine with it, but it has to be there for a good reason. I didn't see a whole lot of good reason here. What really did it for me, though, was seeing a 10-11 year old girl running around slashing off people's body parts. That got to be a bit much for my taste and I began to wonder for whom that kind of stuff didn't bother? Once again, does our society have a bit of a violence fetish, one that has gotten so bad that watching children tear people to shreds is OK?

I think the reason for the rating has more to do with a popular trend in movies (especially comic book movies) nowadays than it does with serving this particular story. With the success of "Deadpool" last year, film studios realized that an R-rated super hero film is not only possible, but profitable. But as Malcolm hinted at in the movie "Jurassic Park", just because you CAN do a thing doesn't mean that you SHOULD. For "Deadpool" it works. You can't do "Deadpool" without all that R-rated stuff. That is who "Deadpool" is and that's fine. With Wolverine, however, he's already been established throughout the previous 8 X-Men films. All of these R-rated "upgrades" now don't make a whole lot of sense.

When I read positive reviews for this film, the main point that is made is how good the dramatic performances are, especially from the two leads, Patrick Stewart and Hugh Jackman. In this case, I completely agree. They did a fantastic job. Even the little girl was amazing, I thought. That can be quite a rarity when you think about how hit and miss child actors are. However, even though most of the performances here are top notch, great performances do not a great film make. If the story sucks, what does it matter?

It is hard for me to imagine why Patrick Stewart or Hugh Jackman would be excited to work on a project like "Logan" once they read the script. Were they excited to basically negate all of the great work they did (and others did) in the previous X-Men films? They, better than anyone else, should understand what this whole series has been about since the beginning. Yes, "Logan" is unique and absolutely gave these actors something different to do with their characters. And yes, they gave stellar performances. However, there needs to be at least a little bit of respect for the source material (and its fans) than this. Much like the season premier of "The Walking Dead" this past fall, this seemed more like a kick in the pants for viewers than anything else.
276 out of 509 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
A masterfully orchestrated film
alva390116 March 2017
The final outing of Wolverine by Hugh Jackman is one unforgettable ride and one of the best comic-book movies in recent memory. Directed by James Mangold-who was also at the helm of "The Wolverine" (2013)- Logan creates a character-driven, violent and emotional film, which benefits from its rated-r rating. The acting, action and story of Logan are one-of-a-kinds in the superhero genre, as the cast, headed by Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart and newly- introduced Dafne Keen, play their characters to the fullest. It is unlike any other X-Men film, definitely the best in the series and deserves the praise it's getting.

When I saw the first trailer drop, headlined by Johnny Cash's "Hurt", I instantly knew we would be getting something different from everything else that has dropped since the first X-Men film in 2000. The brutality and intensity of the characters pay off in this almost two-and-a- half hour that redefines the superhero genre, and I hope pays dividends for future movies to come.

The introduction of X-23 was a big win as well. She is played by Dafne Keen, and though doesn't say much, plays her role very well. Her connection with both Hugh and Patrick creates a family-orientated environment that makes the movie a whole lot better, especially seen in certain scenes.

Lastly, as much as I want the character of Wolverine to continue being played on the big screen, it would be better for everyone if they didn't re-cast the role, as no-one would be able to play the role much like the legendary Hugh Jackman.

Overall, Mangold and the cast, create a masterfully orchestrated film that will be remembered for years to come. Not only is it a great film, but it is the last time we will be able to appreciate and witness Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart in the X-Men universe.
69 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Best X-Men Movie so far
alouibelhassen20 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
we finally get the Wolverine we have been asking for, for the past 15 years and it's his last time. Well i guess he couldn't have ended it in any better way as a last farewell to the fans and his signature role. Not only that but it looks like this one blows all the other superhero movies out of the water and i hope you Weebs go pay for your ticket to see this as well instead of watching a cam version online so we send the message that we want more of these kind of movies.
254 out of 471 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
Well that was bleak.
dannyc-184 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I just finished watching Logan and--oh my God--what a dismal, dreary, dreadful and dumb bit of cinematic nihilism that was. Brutally and graphically and disturbingly violent too.

All those tremendous adventures the X-Men had in years past? All the times they defeated evil villains? The camaraderie, the sense of family--of a home for misfit mutant kids? The risks and victories and sacrifices? Yeah, it was all ultimately meaningless.

I can understand if they felt they needed to kill off the old X-Men but they did so in such a way as to make every previous X-Men movie and story appear to have been a foolish exercise in futility. A miserable and lonely future awaits, addled and alcoholic, only to be relieved by violent death. Yay.

This could have been an uplifting homage to the ideal of what the X-Men were. But Hugh & Patrick & Co. apparently decided they would rather go out with a sad whimper instead of a celebratory bang.
110 out of 195 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
A Gritty & Emotional Adventure Into The Vulnerability Of Superheroes
Calum Rhys3 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
In a time when Marvel continues to churn out the same superhero film time- and-time again ('Deadpool' and 'Guardians' aside due to their fresh take on the genre), it's refreshing when something as intricate and beautifully- executed as 'Logan' is made. I mean let's face it, that first trailer was a dead giveaway of how damn good it was going to be.

I understand that Marvel has made the attempt to build characters through a series of films previously, such as they have tried with the Avengers films, but never have I seen a film that treats character development as seriously, and pulls it off with such precision, as they did here in 'Logan', a film that focuses more on the "humane" aspect of the character and how vulnerable he is as a superhero, instead of the over-the-top execution that's usually featured ('X-Men Origins' I'm looking at you).

Two characters that we've come to know and love, James "Wolverine" Howlett (aka Logan) and Charles "Professor X" Xavier, are put to the test of time as we see them in their new state, once characters that resembled strength and power, are now withering and vulnerable. And the gut-punching, adrenaline- pumping action has been swapped out for slow-moving, emotional drama and character development. Does it work? You bet! From start to finish we are led on a journey of discovery and empathy, with James Mangold more than making up for his previous effort that is 'The Wolverine'.

I think it's the uncertainty throughout that gives the film that powerful punch. In the other X-Men films (and most other Marvel films for that), we are faced with a plethora of superheroes each fighting a seemingly impossible army, but no matter what, there is always a general feeling that the good guys will win, and this usually happens. So when attending a superhero film, you sit back in ease, knowing the protagonists will succeed, however in 'Logan' that never happens, there is never that sense of safety, we can't be certain of their outcomes. Every step of the way, Wolverine looks tired, he looks sick, he's dying gradually, and due to his weakened form, we are left worrying for the character, there is that emotional attachment that most other superhero films lack. This is the harrowing truth throughout, we are emotionally-concerned from start to finish.

With utterly stunning cinematography, a hard-hitting score, fantastic direction and a superhero performance that might just be the first Oscar- deserving one ever. Wolverine's outing makes for the best Marvel film to date, a gritty and vulnerable adventure into the vulnerability of superheroes.
52 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Terrible
magatsu8 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The movie started off well, with Prof X jailed and drugged in a DIY hideout maintained by Wolvie and Caliban. Pierce is a great villain, but there's no payoff with his abilities or menace. He's simply the foreman for the evil corporation that is growing test tube mutants and hunting them down. Besides having one robotic hand, him or his Reavers don't really have any glaring cybernetic advantages. It would have been interesting to see different types of cyborg Reavers as in the comics, but in this movie, they are simply claw fodder.

Once the introduction of Wolvie's clone begins, the movie goes downhill. We know nothing as to how or why this clone suddenly appears. Why wouldn't there be clones of all the X-Men at this point? Wasn't it already proved in the most awful of its series, Terminator Genisys, that Arnold vs Younger Arnold is not that captivating? Why would it work in this movie? Why not make Pierce a more capable and challenging villain?

Once the Prof is whacked, as well as the kind family that sheltered them, I really began to lose interest. What's the point of heroes if they can't protect the good and innocent?

The ending made no sense. At the beginning, Lara takes on 20+ Reavers on her own. After being reunited with 10+ other powerful, trained killer mutant kids, they are running away and being captured by the same number of Reavers? It makes NO SENSE.

I'm CONVINCED that the movie critic industry is PAID or compensated in some way by the studios to produce positive reviews to DUPE, bait and switch audiences all for $$$ because this movie is currently 77 on Metacritic when it should be a 37. Good violence, poor writing, sloppy ending is what you really get.

Its truly sad that a Wolverine movie has yet to be made well. Will never watch another movie by Mangold ever again. Learned my lesson. Save your $ and wait til this streams. Trust me, you'll thank me later. This is also part of the reason why IMDb shut down their message boards. Not to silence the haters, but to silence the voices of critical yet honest reviewers that ultimately hurts the $ of the movie industry.
174 out of 324 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
4/10
A movie void of any emotion
edgeoflight18 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I do not understand the reviews... What the heck? This movie was maybe not worth 1 star, I agree, because I enjoyed the brutality to some extent. But it falls very short of being the sort of masterpiece it is made out to be. I chose to rate it 5.

First of all, I am not a fan of Wolverine but I've always admitted that Hugh Jackman was made for this role. And his role in pretty much every X-men movie so far was outstanding. He is the Wolverine.

In this movie however, he bored me out of my soul. Even in the brutal scenes he played in, I was not convinced. I understand he is weak and old, and ravaged by Adamantium. But even so, it was not him. He kept whining and suffering and yet I felt nothing. I felt like a narrator who remains as distant as his character as he can. It was cold acting--I do not like cheesy actors either but he clearly left me unaffected. Too bad for a movie that relies on emotion to try and stand out.

Now on to the girl. I felt no emotion whatsoever for her either. There was no emotional build-up or any anchorage point I could tie my heart with. She was a dull character. The way she growled and made faces was overdone and... ridiculous. Her role was blurry. She begins as a beast bent on savagery and blood. And a few days later she calls Wolverine "dad"? And she actually has friends waiting for her? Let me have a laugh, I almost fell out of my chair. Several other people summarized her role in action parts; she goes on a killing spree for the first heated scene but at the end of the movie she cannot handle a small troop with her mutant friends--who make the cut by boasting their powers against a man already down and apprehended while she and Wolvie eat dust. ??? Charles-Xavier's lines were bland but at times I was almost convinced. If it wasn't for the unlikable character that the little beast is I'm sure his words would have affected me more. His death was not even moving--and God knows how much I love Charles Xavier.

The black family was forgettable. Nothing with them engaged my attention. Except the fact they served as a redemption for a Wolverine that had given up on standing for what it is to be an x-men. And even so he failed. Because of a plot twist character who was there for the sake of adding more Jackman for fan service.

But most of all... What happened? For the whole movie I craved some flashbacks, some relevant explanation for Caliban, Xavier, the disappearance of the other X-men, for Wolvie degrading so much, for his copy's reason to exist--why not copy much more powerful mutants that must have been out there. My head was dizzy with lack of information and all it got was a few sentences.

I am honestly quite the easy-going guy. I was not full of expectations prior to the movie. I actually expected the movie to be bad so that I could be less critical or hyped up. I wanted to avoid being disappointed. And while the beginning looked promising, it just went downhill when I felt my questions were poorly resolved, or when the girl's incoherent role showed more and more.

Perhaps the unmemorable soundtrack played its part, perhaps the questions I kept asking myself and the writing inconsistency spoiled my appreciation of the movie. But so it happened and whereas I know the movie tried hard to be emotional and do Wolverine justice, it actually did the opposite.

In a movie in which all I can remember are screams and growls and bloodshed a la Tarantino, Hugh Jackman's last role as the Wolverine is forgettable and painful.
131 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Riddled with plot holes that ruined the experience
glangford-3484312 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Acting and CGI was great, even the story was great too.

But the HUGE, HUGE, HUGEEEE plot holes killed it for me, making the film unbearable to watch.

*spoilers*

1. Why did Logan not kill the Dr, the clone, and Donald Pierce while they were laying defenseless and half dead at the farm?

2. Why did the black farmer attempt to kill Logan after killing the shaved clone Logan? Logan was clearly standing in a non-aggressive manner and even let himself get shot without saying a word???

3. How did Charles Xaivier not detect that the Logan clone was not a mutant or not human? His power is to read minds and detect life... How didn't he realize a robot has just walked into the room and sense he was about to be killed???

4. The year is 2029 and the army has not developed the technology to capture kids safely? Hell even a net gun or taser would have worked better than tackling the kids? WTF. They even had harpoon guns that do not kill and they didn't use them on the kids, instead they just chase them through the forrest...

5. In the final scenes the children take turns using their power on Donald Pierce (just to make a cool montage), while Logan and Laura battle to death with the clone??

6. The children are trained to kill and have no fear, yet they run away (from no one) while letting Logan fight the clone alone? They were 20 to 1 and they decide that it's time to run?

7. Even though they were so pressed for time and had no time to save Logan, they make the time to have a burial for him? Also what the hell is with the cross they made? Were they taught religion while in killing school? Seems legit.

SO yeah these points infuriated me.. Feel free to comment and rebuttal my points as I am keen to find out how nobody else is seeing these loopholes...
233 out of 445 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Crap with a Capital K!
masonj-119 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Warning Warning Warning Warning The review contains spoilers!!!!! The review contains spoilers!!!!! The review contains spoilers!!!!! The review contains spoilers!!!!!

-------------------- This review contains spoilers RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING --------- ---

A completely morbid and joyless film. Grim and hopeless to the point to depravity! The ignominious death fashioned for Charles Xavier is unworthy -- given the legacy of this character.

Equally distasteful are the not so subtle suggestions that this film or its characters are comparable to Shane. This self-service association is entirely unearned and borders on heresy. You could have done so much better with a modicum of imagination and heart.

When I saw the coming attractions it left me feeling miserable. I though "Who would possible want to see such a grim and hopeless film?". As an owner of copies of the previous two films and most X-men movies, I went to see it anyway. I left the theater feeling even worse than I did after viewing the coming attractions.

The rating of 3 out of 10 rather than 2 out of 10 is for the visceral depiction of the effects of Professor X's 'brainstorm' That part was very well done

Aside from that, thanks for nothing guys. Eat soup and cough!
147 out of 276 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Do not watch
abhitrying18 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
If you want to find intelligent people who are actually capable of reviewing a movie, then you have those here who have voted miserably for this movie The movie is full of errors and the story line is extremely predictable Following are some of the issues I found 1) Majority of the movie is cliché, you have a failing superhero, his ailing mentor and a young prodigy in a journey to save the young one. The mentor is taken out by the villain, makes the superhero very angry who in the end sacrifices himself, killing the villain and the young one goes free into an unclear future. Any person should be able to predict the ending of the movie after just watching 10 minutes of the start and here are people comparing this with the Dark Knight!!!! Unbelievable!!!! 2) The prey seems to be running after the predator in the movie. The kids with superpowers are already trained as shown in the movie. They are not poor scared souls, they are lethal, mentally and physically. You can see glimpses of that during the end, when they kill off the mercenaries ruthlessly. With their unique powers combined, its a surprise they were even once contained in a facility. Sometimes you can see the kinds wimping and crying and few moments later they freeze someone off or electrocute someone without remorse. 3) Logan witnesses a group of drones towards the end which makes him realize that the kids are in danger. Why on earth would a dozen surveillance drones move around in a bunch? Shouldn't they be spread out to do their job better or was their job to get noticed by wolverine 4) X-24 was shot by an adamantium bullet in the end which blew half his head off. When wolverine was shot by that bullet in X Men Origins he only lost his memory, another inconsistency. 5) Professor X knew well that they had a vicious mercenary group hell bent after them. Why on Earth would he then suggest that they spend the night at the Munsons'? That's the most stupid thing to do. Oh yes now I get it why, its so that the mutant wolverine can be introduced in the movie and it was the perfect time for him to die. Killed by someone who he thought was Logan, that's sure to get a lot of sympathy right there. 6)Logan clearly knows that they are supposed to keep a low profile, in spite of that he picks up a fight with the Reavers 7) The producers had this project nicely figured out. Kill Wolverine, kill professor X, earn a lot of sympathy and thereby earn a lot of money. Also keep a bunch of mutant kids alive so that in case they fall short of lunch money, well you know what they will be working on. There are scores of mistakes with the story line but I do not wish to waste any more of my time so my advice for those who haven't watched this movie yet, don't.
200 out of 382 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
4/10
Shallow, Tedious and Disappointing
fung026 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The high ratings for this film are based entirely on its sombre tone. That's a great novelty in a 'superhero' movie, to be sure. But it merely masks the film's emptiness - its painful lack of ideas, lack of character development, and total absence of plot.

Jackman's performance? As someone once quipped, his emotional range runs the full gamut... from A to B. He looks grumpy and depressed in every scene. In every shot. Patrick Stewart is somewhat more nuanced, though he too is hamstrung by a script that gives his character the emotional depth of a cartoon. Dafne Keen does a great job as Laura, but her character has only attitude - which incompetent screen writers often mistake for character.

Visually, the film is bland. I hear there's a black-and-white version. It's always a bad sign when a film's creators can't make up their minds on such a key issue. A film is either shot for B&W, or it isn't. (In the case of Logan, the photography lacks the dramatic contrasts and strong composition that might favor a noir-ish B&W presentation.)

Logic holes abound:

* After being raised in a cage, Laura turns out to be a competent driver. What's more, she has no trouble reaching the pedals, presumably on account of some stretching power that's not mentioned elsewhere in the film.

* Laura is mute for half the film, for no apparent reason. Then she can only speak Spanish. Then fluent English. No explanation.

* Laura is often feral, as you'd expect of someone raised in a cage by sadistic scientists. Yet she acts like a normal child most of the time. Ditto for her friends. This quality does not 'develop' as a result of events in the film - it simply materializes when needed.

* Laura drives at random, ends up at a completely out-of-the-way building. And meets all her friends. When was this arranged? How did she learn navigation while locked in a cage?

* Logan and Laura have a cozy evening with a nice family - knowing full well that they're setting them up for slaughter, when their pursuers come along. The audience knows this instantly, characters in the film don't quite get it.

* Logan is dying, we're never told why. Professor X has a brain-cloud, or some such dread condition, also not explained.

Missed opportunities are equally plentiful:

* Laura's feral attacks are mentioned in conversation, but never really discussed. Logan dismisses them with a couple of heavy one-liners, when they could have (and should have) led to an extended rumination on violence. The film doesn't miss a beat when Laura's friends brutally murder the guy with the mechanical hand. This lynch-mob logic should, again, have been a starting point for reflections that never happen in this shallow, trivial film.

* Logan never has a character arc. Wolverine actually has far less emotional range in this film than in the first X-Men movie. His relationship with Laura is essentially the same as the far more developed relationship with Rogue.

* Characters are neither built up, nor revealed. To do that, you have to show them in a range of different circumstances, dealing with emotionally or morally challenging dilemmas. In Logan, the only dilemma is how to keep eluding inexorable pursuit so as to stretch the film out past the two-hour mark. Hence the only character trait that can be revealed is dogged perseverance. We get that in the first scene. After that, nothing.

* Ultimately, the filmmakers resort to having Logan shaved back to his familiar Wolverine muttonchops. You know you're in trouble when you're counting on facial hair to create characterization. (Or fan service.)

* Plot is nonexistent. The film is one long chase. Weak screenwriters often mistake this for plot, but it's a poor substitute: totally linear, predictable, boring. Yes, there have been great 'chase' films (Sam Peckinpah's The Getaway comes to mind.) They take care to incorporate twists and turns, and strong moments of characterization. Logan doesn't. It's just a bunch of stuff that happens.

On top of everything else, I had the creeping suspicion that this film was calculated less as a standalone work, than as a stepping-stone for the X-Men 'franchise.' It disposes of two performers who've stated their intent to depart the roles they created. And it seems to pave the way for the endlessly-discussed New Mutants franchise. Ugh. Replacing the people won't make up for a lack of ideas, and Logan shows very clearly how bereft of creative thinking the X-Men cinematic franchise has become.

I didn't hate Logan as I was watching it. But when it ended I was overcome by a feeling of emptiness and disappointment. This film lacks both entertainment value and deep ideas. The Marvel cinematic universe badly needs a shot of new blood, but sadly, this wasn't it.
49 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Knocked it out of the park
GomezAddams66627 February 2017
LOGAN - SPOILER FREE REVIEW

As most of you are aware I have not been a huge fan of the latest X- Men outings, but THIS WAS AWESOME!

In a rather bleak entry we see a Post X-Men Logan, something has happened and the mutants no longer exist or there is a few of them out there. Director James Mangold chose to make the film almost colorless with much, much more character development than previous Wolverine and X-Men movies. We see a tired character that no longer belongs in a world that has feared him for over a century.

While Hugh Jackman in his last outing as Logan does an amazing job and proves once and for all why NO ONE ELSE can ever be Wolverine, the supporting cast does a superb job as well starting with Sir Patrick Stuart who returns as Charles Xavier, Boyd Holbrook (Netflix's NARCOS) as an astounding and dangerous antagonist and newcomer Dafne Keen who is a rather sweet but incredibly deadly Weapon X-23.

The movie is filled with gore and violence, but it does not feel forced at all in such an obscure movie. There is a rather new trend in Comic Book Movies after DEADPOOL, make them as brutal as possible, and while this started in the 90s with THE CROW and BLADE it has gained some track and more R Rated CBM are being developed as we speak.

I HIGHLY recommend it.
164 out of 314 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
How is this movie so highly rated?
General Custard21 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I created an IMDb account solely for the purpose of reviewing this movie and to give it a more honest and accurate rating. It says it has an 8.5 rating, but really it should be more like a 1 or 1.5, seriously. What happened to people? Is this really the standard for a good movie nowadays?

I will spare you the suffering of going into great detail about every little flaw in this movie. With that said, here are some of the reasons why this movie sucks:

1. No explanation of the events that have transpired to get to this point. Logan has apparently decided to become a limo driver to make money so that he and Charles can go live on a boat somewhere in the middle of the ocean? Really? And what happened to the other mutants? Supposedly there was some kind of "event" that I guess killed off all the mutants and also stopped them from breeding more mutants. It's hard to say because the movie makes no attempt to clue you in on what has happened.

2. No plot. Besides being lost from the very beginning, nothing really happens throughout the entire movie to progress the story. Logan just drives this little girl and Charles cross country while being chased by some random bad guys who eventually catch up with them -- there's a fight -- more driving -- they get caught again -- rinse and repeat.

3. Who is this Wolverine clone? Where did he come from? how was he made? what is he doing here? Want answers? You get none. He's just there.

4. Both Charles and Logan die in the most anticlimactic and meaningless ways.

The positives:

1. Hugh Jackman
95 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Hugh Jackman's swansong is as beautiful as it gets
Dhiman Sarbajna4 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
James Mangold's Logan (8.5/10) About forty seconds into the movie, you confront a bloody Logan who isn't able to stand up while puny thugs decide to assault The Wolverine. And somewhere deep inside you feel a little uncomfortable. Probably because all you have seen Hugh Jackman do in the previous nine installments is watch the healing and indestructive Wolverine fend off anything that weakens him with utmost ease. It all fall aparts in Logan, Wolverine's swansong and an enigmatic crossroad of fear, uncertainty and reality. Wolverine is at his most vulnerable self here and yet far more courageous than all the rest of the X Men movies put together. And this is what makes Logan an extremely compelling watch; the chance and ability to finally empathize with a 'superhero' in a much finer sense and to witness whether they possess the same fortitude once their 'gift' has been taken away from them. Logan, set in 2029, narrates the endeavour of Wolverine, as he drives through the rocky, dusty terrains of El Paso with Laura, a mutant, blessed (with the same powers that he has) who needs to be sent somewhere safe. Along with her is a rugged, dying and somber Charles Xavier who wants to make sure that Logan is true to his word. Donald Pierce (played adequately by Boyd Hollbrook) is a raging current who needs the mutant and spreads considerable blood without any account of collateral damage. The repeated encounters take a toll on Logan's already dying self and even if he doesn't show it, over the course of time, he starts developing a bonding with Laura. He finds within her, the same embodiment of rage that turns people into monsters and sees Laura waging off the inevitable with a silent grace. The relationship which Laura and Logan share has several layers to it and can be interpreted in a much wider canvas. That's for another day. The influence of nineties western classics on the Logan is clear and critical. The homage is directly linked when Charles watches scenes from the 1953 classic Shane, and the lines are repeated again in a final scene. The dust symbolizes the ruins the mutant have brought upon themselves in their ideology of helping mankind marking their own destruction. Patrick Stewart is remarkable as a Xavier who is on the brink of death, set upon the call of epileptic seizures that capsize the lives of anyone near him and there is nothing he could do about it. All Xavier wanted his whole life was to stop people from getting hurt, and in his final moments he cannot stop himself from hurting people. This irony is a powerful strike to the entire genre which relies heavily on willing suspension of disbelief. Everything dies in the end, it's all about the manner in which it is achieved. Mortals, superheroes, they all do. Hugh Jackman could have become a lot of other things, a fine actor, if his brooded look would not have been entirely associated with Wolverine his entire life. And even if he strutted and limped along the way, in Logan he delivers his finest performance. Period. Every scene is a rave emotional experience and comes with a satisfaction of being content if not necessarily happy. He is in pain and so are we, and the audience agrees to be a part of it sailing across in the journey. Logan becomes an imperative movie in changing the face of the superhero genre. The need and allowance of superheroes to be vulnerable and uncertain instead of omnipotent and sarcastic is something I'd been wishing for a while. In Logan, James Mangold manages to capture every element which thrives on the edge of this conflict and the swansong he creates, becomes a painting. It is a magnum opus, a bloody opera and a massacred theatre room with audiences still lying out for view. And yet, it is beautiful.
124 out of 234 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
3/10
Poor editing and script led to one of the most tiresome films i've seen in years.
Flamingwoks8 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I'm frankly astonished by all the positive reviews, especially those comparing this to "The Dark knight". The films tone leans towards edgy rather than dark in my opinion with profuse use of unnecessary cursing making it feel like an 18 year old was hired to spice up the dull plodding nature of each scene. Moments felt like the Coen brothers "No country for old men" was lifted whole sale and stitched onto the plot of "Children of men" with a smattering of "Xmen 2". Not necessarily the worst idea ever, but the execution just leads to a painful and cringe worthy experience. Many moments I found my hands raised in disbelief as mutants forgot they had powers. Antagonists failed to use even a percent of their brain when attacking their non Wolverine targets ("YOU HAVE GUNS SHOOT THEM" was a message I found on my lips at multiple points in the film). Some scenes were so drawn out if the film hadn't been two and a half hours long I'd think they were playing for time (see: Logan exiting a car, sighting a mountain, seeing a girl, falling over, being winched up a cliff, 15 minutes of information being conveyed extraordinarily slowly (that we already knew and had been told before) the full scene took 20 minutes to end with nothing new being learnt, nothing interesting happening and the plot exactly were it left off). Bad acting is present throughout with the exception of Patrick Stewart and Eriq La Salle. Please do not let Dafne Keen star in any more films until she has been taught finesse and timing. Pacing, CGI (the fence scene is especially noticeable), script and attempts at political finger pointing all hinder this film greatly. The films greatest crime though, the ending. Someone explain to me what a territorial border has to offer against PMC with seemingly limitless funds?
49 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
A character-driven superhero film done right!
www.ramascreen.com17 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
LOGAN is brutal, merciless and powerful. This is a character-driven superhero movie done right. I would even dare to say it's better than many of the previous X-Men installments and spinoffs. And if this is indeed Hugh Jackman's final Wolverine movie, then my goodness, what a helluva way to go out in a blaze of glory.

The story is set in the near future, mutants are thinning out. They've either died or been hunted down. Logan's (Hugh Jackman) healing power is not as strong as it used to be. He's old and weary and taking care of professor X (Patrick Stewart) in a hideout on the Mexican border, accompanied by Caliban (Stephen Merchant). But their attempt to hide from the world gets interrupted when dark forces arrive at their doorstep looking for a certain young little girl.

Great move on the studio's and filmmakers' part to have this film be rated R because what we get here is Wolverine unleashed. The violence is as graphic and fully exposed as you can imagine it to be. So just that aspect alone will excite the fanbase who's been wanting to see the destruction that could take place when Wolverine is really really angry. Setting it on the border does allow the film to play with certain tones and color palette reminiscent to "Breaking Bad" for example, the film's ending however does provide a more vibrant environment as a base for an extremely bloody collision.

The writing is solid for a superhero film, it really digs deep into these beloved characters, how vulnerable they are, how they long for a world where people would just leave them be. You truly feel for Xavier and Logan in a way that you never did in the previous X-Men movies, not only because they're now in their twilight years but there's also that father-son type of relationship that's tough love and endearing and then there's also the reluctant father daughter connection Logan has with X-23. By the way, the little girl, Dafne Keen, who plays X-23 is remarkable. So much force, so much energy, so much roar, she's like a cheetah that just runs and slices and dices left and right without prejudice, what an incredible young talent. This is a movie that gives you action to its fullest degree and an emotional journey that's uncompromising. The perfect film about the man who's the best at what he does but what he does isn't very nice.
122 out of 231 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Just awful, does not deserve any of the praise.
Andrew Wegerif20 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Mindbogglingly bad film. I can't believe there are so many people saying lyrical things about it. Is this really what substitutes a good film in the year 2017? Come on.

The story is just so stupid and totally full of holes, right from the get go. Scene 1: Logan is sleeping it off in his fancy limo when he is woken by some Latino guys that are trying to steal his rims. The car is jacked up and we clearly see them loosening the nuts of one of the tires. Logan slashes them up, removes the jack and then drives off real fast. Eh... what about that loose tire? And so on, stupidity after stupidity, through the whole film!

There are people praising the characters. The characters, really? A bunch of morons completely and frustratingly unable to communicate with each other, unable to make any logical or reasonable decisions, and so utterly predictable. Charles constantly (more or less subtly) telling Logan that he is a stupid and unloved oaf, is that like peoples idea of cinematic tension between characters, showing profound depths of humanity? Seriously, tripe.

And the action... I mean honestly, after like the 10th goon has had his eyes poked out by Logan or mini-girly-Spanish-I-can-suddenly-speak- English-where-the-h**l-did-I-learn-that-Logan it's not really that fascinating. Oh look, the spikes can come out through this side of the skull too, whey! Yes, a lot of people do get killed, slashed, maimed, decapitated, etc. in this film, but that does not make it great. Not by a long shot.

There is seriously nothing great about this film. So just avoid it. Or watch it and waste a couple of hours of your life like I did of mine.
89 out of 165 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed