Respect the Jux (2022) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
47 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
There are many better things to do with your time
bosporan7 May 2022
An 'outsider making their own way' gangsta movie, written and directed by newcomer GH Goba.

Sadly, the inexperience shows being laced with cliché, mind numbing dialogue and embarrassingly poor camerawork. The stylistic choice to have a Film Noir narration approach falls flat as do the non-linear plot elements. Characters are unconvincing and shallow caricatures with no credible attempt to flesh them out or make them relatable.

This could well have worked as an over-the-top comedy, but as any kind of serious crime drama it falls well short of acceptable.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
American Dream is a Fantasy
saminott7 May 2022
This was a action packed movie with a message. I loved the authenticity of the characters. It was filmed in Jamaica West Indies and New York. The scenes from Jamaica were amazing!!! The book was great and the movie was even better!!
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A HOOD CLASSIC!
taxmoneyexpressinc9 May 2022
A Must See Film. Every scene in this movie was authentic and on point to true life events. A Road To Riches come true. It takes you on a journey of Cat childhood growing up in Jamaica and his struggle to survive without the guidance of a father figure. Cat turned to the street and learned those codes of survival. He wanted a better life and eventually his mom saved up money to bring her family over to America to find a better life. Every young kid in the struggle can and will learn something from this well put together film. It kept me on edge every scene learning and educating me on the every day struggles of reality we live today. This is action-packed thriller movie with a message. This is one of those movies you will keep on repeat. Im going to watch it again today. You going to have to watch it to understand. Get to the theaters or press play on your social digital devices. If you loved SHOTTAS and PAID IN FULL, this is THE BLENDED REMIX! VERSION WITH A TWIST!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT BOOK BETTER MOVIE!
gradea-650328 May 2022
Read the book years ago and to see it become a movie is great for all parties involved. I loved the gritty essence of the movie and it was easy follow I wasn't lost for a moment. Great job Guys can't wait to see more🙏🏿
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie and Honest Struggle
vwwgpv9 May 2022
This movie is a great reflection on many immigrants and youth in America who just seeking a better way of life, but falls to the streets for direction. The movie had humor, solid story line and a twister.

Great job.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hands down one of the best films I've watched this year
omgthecarman9 May 2022
Great cast ,great storyline, very entertaining it's definitely a must watch. I'll be watching it again.

For this to be an independent film it definitely surpasses any expectations. The quality of the production is also amazing Also the sound track is amazing. Many known actors and actresses.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie
pfidelme9 May 2022
I was tuned in to the fullest . The turn out of this movie was epic. Reminds me of topboy on Netflix but better. I different recommend watching this movie you will not be disappointed. I've watched it 3 times already cause it was so good .
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't even rent
ebqrkhf12 May 2022
I will make an easy list to follow: -Terrible, cheesy acting -Terrible art direction and cinematography -ZERO chemistry amongst the characters -Story is underdeveloped and contrived -Silly way of politicizing America as a place where you HAVE to be a criminal to 'get ahead' -Stereotypes everywhere -Ending was absurd.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must Watch Independent Film
cache-649547 May 2022
Watched this movie and was absolutely blown away with how interesting this film was. The acting was amazing and the plot line had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Truly an unpredictable movie and I am so happy it lived up to the hype. 10/10!!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See Cinema
latimanicole9 May 2022
This movie kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. There were no dull moments. I loved the fact that the cast was authentic and ethnically diverse. There were a lot of layers to Cat, the main character and the actor who played him delivered each nuance superbly. I highly recommend seeing this film in theaters.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie
renay-611467 May 2022
I love the progression of the storyline. The plot was well developed and the characters were great😊there was an unexpected twist at the end that brought closure to the movie that one may not have contemplated. A must see!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I liked It!!!
keeplock18 May 2022
Loved it! Something new and different. This film is for an audience that most can not relate to. All that matters is that it was shot very well. 600+ people at the premier @ Cinema Village NYC.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fast paced, action filled
rclmd7 May 2022
The first act of this movie was set in Kingston and is beautifully shot and executed. The acting was real and authentic, and the set up was brilliant. The directors choices were amazing. I could watch the first act over and over. The rest of the movie does not disappoint either, all the way up to the jaw dropping end. I'm a huge fan of gangster movies and I put this right up there with the best of them.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Riveting, Gritty and Suspenseful !!!!
nubianarchives8 May 2022
What?! #RespectTheJux was everything I imagined it would be and more! Riveting, gritty & suspenseful! I'm going back to the theater tonight for Round 2! Laemmle in Glendale, CA. #cordeliadonovan #makeBIGhappen #femaleproducer #juxmovie #bigchristny #KingPush.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally an amazing movie
jonnel-748249 May 2022
This movie was great and authentic!! In a world in which movies lack substance I am glad I watched "Respect The Jux". I need to see a part two. Why must we have to wait to watch transparent movies every 5 - 10 years. The storyline alone made this movie a classic.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Top Tier Crime Drama
akwasillc9 May 2022
I Love the Movie. Excellent body of work. The story line definitely had me guessing what's next. For sure a keeper in my movie library. RTJ is an ambitious and real story chronicling the life of a Jamaican immigrant. The gritty, authentic representation not only gives you feel-good nostalgia as a man, but brings forth the traumas and tribulations of the paths afforded to youngsters in the ghetto. A masterpiece in my opinion.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One time for the underdog!
wworjroh-167659 May 2022
This movie is not for everyone! It's for a specific audience that understands the culture and storyline. Grateful to see a vision come to visual with awesome artwork for the Director first intro film 🎥
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Authentic Hood Classic!
grace-013189 May 2022
Respect the Jux delivered everything I expected from the book and more!!! I loved the gritty, authentic point of view, the relatable characters and definitely the shoot outs! A must see for sure!!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie 🍿
zettesue9 May 2022
Great movie, this gives me a deeper dive of what some immigrants goes through trying to achieve a piece of the American dream. By far one other best movies of all times.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic!!!!
garciakimberlee9 May 2022
This was a great book and better movie. The characters were intelligently written and the storyline was interesting. Very engaging, and funny. An urban tale done right.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Boogs
rfkywhpwb9 May 2022
Read the book when it dropped and read it cover to cover in one day. The movie didn't disappoint either. Everything tied together nicely in a short time frame and the authenticity of the cast was definitely a good look. This movie is a must see and I would advise reading the book also. Gonna see it again.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WOW
shagirl-7440810 May 2022
Loved, loved, loved the movie! I'll be watching it again and again! There were some twists and turns and I was shocked by the ending. Hope there's a part 2!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
People dying that never died before
nogodnomasters15 May 2022
Warning: Spoilers
This is another NYC Jamaican crime film. Like all Jamaican crime films it flashes back to Jamaica so we get to see our criminal protagonist as a child so we can understand why he robs and kills so indiscriminately.

Our story centers on Nigel Malone, aka Cat (Jaime Lincoln Smith) who comes to America and discovers his mother needs an ungodly amount of money for a bone marrow transplant following $30,000 worth of chemo that the insurance doesn't cover. Cat goes back to his "old ways" which were about two scenes ago. He forms an order of loyalty and respect that robs and kills. I am glad they had subtitles.

Guide: F-word, sex, nudity.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Non stop action!!!!
erisharondecarlo9 May 2022
Great action packed movie! The storyline was nothing short of amazing. A non stop triller that kept me on the edge of my seat! I can't believe this was G. H. Goba's first movie! Very talented Cast and crew! I cant wait to see more content! Make sure to stream on all video on demand today! You won't be disappointed!!!!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must see movie!
fatumalford9 May 2022
Best movie I have seen in a long time. Dir G Goba did an incredible job. As an immigrant, I could definitely relate to the story. Everyone should see it. My favorite movie this year so far. Congrats to the whole team who worked on it.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed