Her Aim Is True (2013) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Terrific untold story of rock and roll photography and women's history!
stimeygirl9 December 2013
I didn't know anything about Jini before watching this doc, but by the time I got to the end, I was completely taken in by her joy and love for photography and music. I loved seeing Jini rediscover her old stomping grounds and especially her darkroom. It is great to see that, even in her 90s, Jini still has passion for rock music and bands. I didn't just enjoy the incredible story, music, and photos in this film, but it also made me think about how many women trailblazers we have never heard of that never got their due in so many fields. I'm so glad that Karen Whitehead found and told Jini's story—it is not one that I will soon forget.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Storytelling Over a Fabulous Soundtrack
browne-hughes7 December 2013
I had never heard of Jini Dellaccio but came out of this film in love with her and her story. Filmmaker Karen Whitehead's portrait of Jini is inspiring--not because she picked out the good stuff to create a vanity piece, but because she tells a real story of a real person who the audience will certainly wish they knew. Jini was a middle-aged housewife and former jazz musician who fell into photography almost accidentally--then sweetly talked her way into creating album covers and photographing rock concerts. The result was beautiful and intimate images obviously made possible by a great rapport with her subjects, young rock stars who must have been startled by the warmth and acceptance exhibited by this motherly figure at a time when mothers didn't approve of boys with long hair! If the story weren't recommendation enough, the soundtrack, featuring many of the bands Jini captured, helps to create a goosebumps-inducing film-going experience.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Delightful, amazing music
rogerjj5 November 2013
Loved this film, saw it at Hot Springs doc film festival. In 1964, middle-aged suburban housewife, Jini Dellaccio, began hanging with bands like The Sonics, shooting startling images and innovative album covers. Soon she was grabbing unprecedented portraits of Neil Young and early performances by bands like The Who, Rolling Stones, and Mamas & Papas. The film is super-compelling, it's beautifully shot, great music and Jini's life story is exciting and awe- inspiring. Docs like this can easily become dull and repetitive, but "Her Aim is True" starts strong and just gets better and better. Jini is now in her 90's, still shooting great pics of up and coming bands in the Pacific North-West, still rockin' out, no plans to retire. Big thumbs up!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Unexpected Music Industry Legend
LeeHiller15 October 2013
Karen Whitehead's film is an elegant time machine in which we are observers to an extraordinary life. We soon discover Jini Dellaccio is far more that just photographer, she is a loving wife, loyal friend, talented musician and gracious storyteller. I grew up in Portland and Seattle, Her Aim Is True captures both Jini's spectacular photography and the unique Northwest 60s punk and rock culture. In her 40s her revolutionary black and white photography created iconic album covers for The Sonics and The Wailers. Later Jini's would photograph the early performances by The Who, Rolling Stones, Mitch Ryder and Mamas & Papas. Karen captures every element with raw cinematic artistry.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I want to be Jini!
lzedjones18 December 2013
This isn't just another story of a woman excelling in a male dominated field. This is the story of a woman who just did what she wanted to do and did it her way. It is the story of a life well lived. Whitehead does an excellent job of introducing us to the woman but an even better job of making us fall in love with her. Needless to say in any good doc you learn a few things along the way. but unlike many docs, you want to share this experience with all your friends. After seeing this film you'll not only have profound admiration for this barrier busting woman but will have developed a love for the imagery of the period. I just wanted to see more and more.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Music and photography done well. What more could you want?
sandersonh18 December 2013
I feel fortunate to have seen this movie. What a joy. The music, the photographs, the rock legends, the trip back into the 60's alone are reasons to watch the film. Add the iconic 92 year-old star and you have a distinctive slice of American history. Appealing across generations, this movie works at numerous levels—historical, artistic, gender roles and self-actualization to name a few . Watching an active 92 year old who is sharp as a tack makes this baby boomer wonder what I will do for the next 30 years. To see a 49 year-old re-invent herself is inspiring and a lesson in life. What is inside us if we just set if free? If you are looking for an entertaining and worthwhile film, this is it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What would Jini do?
pride-alison14 December 2013
Two years ago I had the pleasure of interviewing Jini Dellaccio for a magazine article I was writing. To meet Jini is to be swept up in the "Jini magic"--for to meet her is to be inspired by her. I am roughly the same age (that would be solidly middle-aged) as Jini was when she began photographing the garage rock bands of the Pacific Northwest, but this was just one remarkable stop on a career she made up as she went along. Jini never met a challenge she couldn't tackle--if she didn't know how to do something, she told people she did and then figured out how to do it. This is why I try to channel Jini now when I find myself thinking I'm too old to try something new. Director Karen Whitehead has perfectly captured the pioneering spirit of this remarkable woman in her film "Her Aim Is True." I've seen it three times, and I still choke up in the same spots. Jini was a woman ahead of her time, but she accomplished what she did without any of the modern-day self-promotion we are so used to; she let the work speak for itself, and it is breathtaking work, make no doubt about it. See the movie if you are a rock history buff (the archival footage is fascinating), but be prepared to come away inspired by the woman who made so many of those bands come alive, all while remaining true to her own vision. Jini is a true original, and we are fortunate indeed to have this film tribute to her life and work.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Wonderful Doc About an Amazing Woman
kbaker-870-62433514 December 2013
I had the opportunity to see Her Aim Is True at the Tallgrass Film Festival and I loved it! Like most people I had never heard of Jini Dellaccio, which is horrible because I'm from the Pacific Northwest and I was familiar with most of the bands that she photographed. I've seen so many of those photographs and never realized that the same person took them. Jini's style is so unique, her work should be studied by every aspiring photographer. Jini's is an incredible story of an unknown artist who should be known! I'm glad that Karen Whitehead has brought her story to the screen. When you see some of her photos you will be amazed (especially her shot of an very young Neil Young). If you have a chance check this film out. You won't be disappointed.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Who Knew?
Garciajaa12 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
***This Review May Contain Spoilers***

For anyone who enjoys documentaries, photography, popular music (have I covered everyone yet?), this is a movie you will appreciate. Her Aim is True has it all - interesting story that flows well, fun and sympathetic characters, a great soundtrack, some funny moments, and high quality production. If you don't know Jini's story, you should. It is hard to believe that a society obsessed with celebrity and popular culture has overlooked this rock photography pioneer with close ties to the early days of the burgeoning rock and alternative music scene. Plus, she took that iconic photo of the reclusive Neil Young! She photographed the Stones! If you do know Jini's story, you won't want to miss this in-depth look at her life and her work.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
We Need More Female Heroes
kathleen-rabil9 December 2013
I am passionate about 'Herstory,' the perspective of history that holds up the accomplishments of women who were risk-takers, ahead of their time, and willing to forge the way for those who come after. I think there are too many stories that have been lost and am excited to see Karen Whitehead pick up the baton and champion one such lost hero. Karen's love for Jini, for her humility and grace shine through. Kudo's to Karen for taking to risk to tell this story about an unlikely hero that should inspire us all!

Hat's off to Jini, for following her heart and recognizing the promise of youth. And regards, to her husband, who supported her efforts wholeheartedly.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
She was always at the top of her game
bettycjung6 November 2017
11/6/17. I truly felt fortunate to be able to catch this biopic of a woman photographer who was at the top of her game for decades! A talented photographer who was basically self-taught and had that special eye for catching the essence of her subjects. She was always much older than those she photographed but that never stopped her from producing the finest photos of her time. Worth catching!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A True Inspiration
victorharlan5 February 2014
If you get the opportunity to see this movie - and hopefully it will soon be in much wider release - by all means see it. What we have here is a perfect example of how film can truly make a difference by recording for generations to come a maverick artist who may otherwise have remained unknown to a wider audience. This film not only captures the sounds and the vibe of the music scene of the Pacific Northwest in the 60s and 70s, it also uses footage from interviews with this maverick artist to give a true sense of what it is like to cross boundaries of age, gender and cultural difference to truly connect and understand another person and, through this understanding, capture the essence of another person through photography. There is a lesson for all of us both as creators and appreciators of the arts. This was a true inspiration. Brava!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
True Art Personified
dancewithliz5 February 2014
Jini Dellaccio was the first to capture what it means to be a rock star and human at the same time. She shows us real musicians in their beauty, glory, and exhaustion, interacting authentically with their surroundings and their collaborators. It was so thrilling for me to watch this pure art process come to life on the screen. Personally I would love for many more people to be aware of the enormous contribution that Jini has made to American art.

Witnessing true, passionately-created art brings energy and joy to our hearts. I saw this happen before my eyes at a recent screening of Her Aim Is True, where every audience member was touched by the power, authenticity, and purity that the work of this artist brings to our heritage.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jini Dellaccio is the embodiment of the 'Independent' spirit. Director Karen Whitehead hit a grand slam with 'Her Aim is True'.
SamTheWriter2 January 2014
'Her Aim is True' is an artistically crafted voyage into Rock-n-Roll's past. It's a tantalizing taste of an all-but-forgotten time in America's history, told through the life of a real legend and pioneer.

Jini Dellaccio was a woman years before her time, her story, 'Her Aim Is True', directed by Karen Whitehead, brings that incredible story to the screen in a truly satisfying fashion. To be honest, I was surprised at how quickly I was drawn into this film. I found myself captured within the first five minutes, and it only got better from there.

With the sounds of so many iconic bands like; Neil Young, Ian Whitcomb, Mitch Ryder, The Who, The Wailers, The Sonics, Merrilee Rush & The Turnabouts, The Daily Flash, The Bard's, The Bootmen, and Paul Revere & The Raiders; and the setting, being, the magical and beautiful Pacific Northwest, 'Her Aim Is True' in perfumed with nostalgia.

This is a story about American culture. It's a story about an important time in Rock-n-roll history. It's a story about an incredible woman- a stubbornly independent woman. It's a love story. It's a story about a revolutionary, an artist, an activist, and about a true dreamer. 'Her Aim Is True', is a film that is not just about Jini Dellaccio, but it's about all of us.

Filled with rich tastes of a very potent time in America's history, director Karen Whitehead captures and serves up so many beautiful moments and landmark times of change in our culture. Rock-n-roll is an essential element in the evolutionary process of American history and the history of the world. To forget those who helped mold and shape the foundations of our artistic and musical history would be a true tragedy. It's a beautiful and necessary legacy Karen Whitehead has reminded us of through the story of a true American queen, rock-n-roll photography pioneer, and independent soul.

Karen, the incredibly creative and talented director took this already amazing story and laid it all out in 90 minutes in such way that gives Dellaccio's story true justice. I'm just as impressed with Karen Whitehead's artistic structure of 'Her Aim Is True,' as I am with the story itself.

Whitehead, an independent spirit herself isn't new to filmmaking, and her work shines through in 'Her Aim Is True'. Karen, a filmmaker from London, UK., is also a journalist. She's a former director/producer at the BBC and also did the current affairs output for the Independent Television network in the UK. In the US, Karen has made several documentary-style videos for non-profit organizations and advocacy filming for Autism. She also produced a film on the history of the Berlin Wall for the Newseum, which is currently on exhibit in Washington DC. She's a recipient of a CINE Golden Eagle Award for the short film, Woodlawn Redux she directed in 2008.

In a time that we are seeing an awakening of independent documentaries, special issues films, and biopics, 'Her Aim Is True', is exactly what the independent spirit's about. This film has a largely universal appeal. I think that everyone should see it.

Through the eyes and words of the 93 year old artist, yesterday's rock is experienced with new life and freshness. Adding the impeccable storytelling skills of Karen Whitehead, 'Her Aim is True', has easily landed in my top 10 independent documentary films of all time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Refreshing Reminder: The Work of Whitehead and Dellaccio
demaio_jon18 December 2013
Great documentary! "Her Aim is True" is a compelling look at the life and career of Jini Dellaccio, a true pioneer of rock photography. This film is great for fans of photography, rock and roll music, and the rock scene of the Pacific Northwest. I found that Jini's story has been a reminder that photographic art engages us with history, and is therefore indispensable. As an aspiring artist, seeing "Her Aim as True" has made me confident that doing what I love is meaningful. The documentary shows that Jini Dellaccio tapped into the youth and exuberance of the musicians around her, and, without exploiting them, she immortalized them. Filmmaker Karen Whitehead's documentary is a refreshing illustration of artists treating subjects with dignity, of filmmakers and photographers using their craft to foreground the talent of another artist. It's absolutely worth your while!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed