Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
51 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Follow Rudolpho
Simone Marchetti29 January 2017
Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee is a wonderful independent film. This project is a recharge of positive energy that combines three different countries and hundreds of people from different backgrounds. With this film you can laugh with the characters due of their psychedelic dialogues, you can discover beautiful places while you are following Rudolpho, and you have as well the opportunity to focus on the behavior of mankind. I think with this film everyone can go back through the eyes of our childhood. I enjoyed watching it mostly because of its simplicity and is general sense of freedom, combined with a very good music. A fresh experience characterizes this film. Recommended!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An original and very humorous film delivering a fun night out.
waynegrajeda29 January 2017
Five of my friends and I saw Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee last night and we all really enjoyed it. It's another quirky, humorous, original gem from the very talented Michael Glover and Robyn Rosenkrantz, aka Bright Blue Gorilla. Glover, who wrote the script, has an ability to imagine odd situations that would not normally have much to do with each other and bind them together. In the "screwball comedy" tradition, their description, of Bright Blue Gorilla's previous films Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee is populated with a myriad of off beat, slightly exaggerated characters in often absurd situations delivering perfectly timed quips and retorts in a story filled with twists and turns. At first one isn't sure where the story is going but eventually everything is tied up very nicely. Make-up and wardrobe deserve a mention here as well. Clearly a lot of thought and effort was put into making the actors in the film fun to look at. An interesting aspect of the script is that a good part of the story line is driven by songs performed and written by Bright Blue Gorilla themselves. Looking for a fun night out? Here you go.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great little comedy
ianerc-66-38942419 February 2017
A charming oddball comedy. I saw it in preview last night and loved it. Quaint and subtle, it's a delight to watch. It's not quite your avew3rage comedy. You'll certainly need a taste for the off-the-wall and intelligent. If you like your comedy simple and upfront then this may be the wrong pick for you. If you want some whimsy, give it a go.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This new film is a "Must See."
John Vaughan29 January 2017
"Mr. Rudolphos Jubilee" is a winner film. Full of wonderful, colorful characters, amazingly fun situations, very clever twists and turns, along with wonderfully witty, funny and intelligent dialogue. It will put a happy beat in your heart and a smile on your face. The film was Written, Directed, Produced and Edited by Los Angeles film makers, Michael Glover and Robyn Rosenkrantz, also know as Bright Blue Gorilla. This real charmer of a movie was filmed in Berlin,Florence and Milan, with a Cast and Crew consisting of 300 actors from a total of 36 countries ! Excellent camera work and, as with all the Bright Blue Gorilla films, Director Michael Clover always has a very original style and stamp of his own on it. Ten stars out of five !
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A great piece of entertainment
anonymous_film_reviewer29 January 2017
Many laugh-out-loud moments in this film. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The musical interludes by the "Greek Chorus" were also great.

It really shows what can be done with a very small budget. It perhaps also shows how films can be improved by not having a big budget. The rough edges of the film are actually an asset.

I was surprised to see Christiane Paul in it, who is one of the most prominent German actresses. There were also a good number of very talented actors and actresses that I'd never seen before.

I'm looking forward to seeing what the director will come up with next. I previously saw another film by this group perhaps seven years ago, and I was blown away by the improvement over that time.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie unlike anything else.
Martin Sørensen22 January 2017
This masterpiece of a movie will leave you with the most positive vibe imaginable. Made by two great people, and with an incredibly talented cast. This film surely belongs on the top 10 movies of all time. The fact that it is an indie film only helps to make this movie feel even more authentic and moving. The story arcs are greatly thought out and come together with ease. And it is both a funny and moving film at the same time. Would recommend watching this movie to anyone with a soul. The movie greatly utilizes multiple genres, here amongst comedy, drama and musical. And they play together nicely. The drama makes the comedic side even funnier, and the music(played by the producer's bright blue gorilla) further builds to the aesthetic and story.

Will watch this movie 100s of times, and you should too.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A brilliant mix of everything. A need in this world, fun, Love, live music, great cast
dianacocca10 April 2017
Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee is a original, sweet and humorous, romantic and abstract mix of a movie. What is real and unreal in this world ? Director Micheal Glover and producer Robyn Rosenkrantz, aka BrightBlueGorilla a name to remember. They also appear as Musical Angels in the movie without wings, but it can give you wings to feel light and bright, singing along easy, the original songs with simplicity that has it own high quality, so true to put out in this world and having fun. A unusual great ensemble cast, unexpected moments in the movie, once you think it could go this way, it turns to another way. Your own head cinema starts or you allow yourself to open up with sympathy for the surreal elements to remember for a long term. It reminds me also little bit of Genre Fellini & Woody Allen. BrightBlueGorilla they have it own great flow to go, with fantastic tensions and heart. A fun movie to see with friends, to take you in another journey.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Witty feelgood movie
Erwin Lindeijer17 March 2017
A very nice entertaining movie, inviting loud laughs and big smiles. Clear about good guys and bad ones, and about morale. That taken, the dance around the obvious line is catchy and joyful. One really feels better leaving the cinema, as a good movie should do. And some information on the development of cities is given in between.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny and endearing
cathyverschoor8 March 2017
This movie is charming and endearing, just like the filmmakers: Robyn and Michael. Their musical performance prior to the movie put a smile on my face that lasted throughout the movie until I stepped into bed that night. Still humming the sing-a-long song about a black cat in Berlin. They warned me before that this was a very low budget movie so I was pleasantly surprised by the nice acting, characters and scenery. Although it all seemed sketchy at first, Michael promised it would all come together, which it did. The Bright Blue Gorilla musical angels are hilarious and beautiful. This movie deserves a much greater audience. Thank you so much for a wonderful evening.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good Movie
etanhuijs8 March 2017
This is a very good directed movie. it's funny and has a surprising story. It has a nice cast and consists of quite a few story lines that come together nicely towards the ending of the movie. It has good music by Bright Blue Gorilla. Who also directed the movie. I would recommended to lovers of worldwide art-house cinema with an twist.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Mr Rudolphos jubilee
fishmouthlive2 March 2017
Mr Rudolphos Jubilee is such a sweet,quirky and funny film. Loved the choice of actors/actresses as they were so not the typical casting you would normally see..each so special in their own way. Brings out the thought of individuality and how original and special we each all are,and how we can all come together whatever background,religion..etc and hang out;) A film that is so needed today in such a divided world (human wise). The mix of music and film was also super clever and worked really well. very unique and very exiting. Mr Rudolphos Jubilee lifts you right up and makes you want to go skydiving! Check it out;)
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Fun and Colorful Ride
Antoni Matteo Garcia28 January 2017
This particular film has a very down-to-earth and colorful atmosphere that contains neither gimmicks nor unnecessary rambling. Just by listening to Bright Blue Gorilla's vocal delivery provided by Robyn Rosencrantz and Michael Glover, one can have a huge smile on his face when they come to sing as the Greek Chorus. The acting is also well done, but more than anything the music is the absolute highlight! Yes, sometimes there are some characters who may not have a ton of development, but this caveat is an extremely small price to pay in what is otherwise a sweet, quirky and fun film for anyone who is a fan of indie films or movies in general. There is so much artistry to be found in this film that one would be amazed. Please go check this film out. You won't regret it!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a Jubileus Jubilee!
iseegeorge2 January 2018
I truly think that a good Indie film is good for the soul and Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee is just that! Just to give you a little bit of a taste: I love that it incorporates both English and other languages. Not to mention the beautiful European scenes that were shown. Last but not least, the fun narration from the makers of the film! Just an overall good watch!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Film!
lizlizzierz6 October 2017
Do you know, those movies that, when end, you would like watching again? And again?...because so good they are! Yeah. Mr Rudolpho'sJubilee is one of them. It is so good! So well produced! Fantastic Team! All the team! Directors, actors, producers, music ... and so on, to the smallest details. We leave the cinema in happiness, with thecertainty that we watch a movie of the highest quality, great vibe,excellent image, photography, soundtrack. You, regardless of your native language, you will want to learn and sing the songs. And if you're lucky, you'll still have the pleasure of watching the show with the Bright Blue Gorillas before the film. And the actors!!! And the actresses!!! I cannot talk about everyone here ... and I only have compliments for all of them. Roberta Bianchini, amazing, talented. You'll want to go to dance tango in Berlin, wishing you're lucky enough to meet her (the character). And Valeria Ferrario. If you don't know that she is a sweet person, you will be really afraid if you find her at night, in a dark street in Italy. She acts so magnificently that you certainly will be afraid to find her(the character)in a corner of a small dark street . I'm just quoting these two great actresses but Iwant to greet the whole cast. Each one of them! Congratulations cast! Congratulations Robyn & Michael! You all are great! Looking forward for Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee II !
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great, very enjoyable independent production that deserves to be seen!
Tye-J28 September 2017
A funny and exhilarating story as a mixture of crime and comedy, as well as great music performances as in-scene live performance, and at the same time storytelling by Bright Blue Gorilla (director Michael Glover and producer Robyn Rosenkrantz), plus great sets especially in Berlin, an international cast with many slanting figures, and a lot of excitement, joy, laughter and all sorts of scurries (I only say: microwave). Very recommendable little indie pearl, don't miss out!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fresh and fun movie!
magalimichaut3 September 2017
I very much enjoyed watching "Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee". This movie is very fresh and gives new air and energy. After a little waiting period (I guess I was adjusting to the style), I was fully in the story, enjoying the positive, funny and smart vibe of this hippie comedy. This movie is different from what I have seen before. Though it was a bit surprising at the beginning, I very much enjoyed the international perspective and several spoken languages. Definitely a nice watch! Why not try it now?
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Flick
designetc-8075823 August 2017
I really enjoyed the movie! Stayed awake during the entire movie which is rare for me. Robyn and Michael just keep getting better and better in their movie making abilities. The 6th one is remarkable. Loved the way they interspersed themselves and their music into the movie. That is the added "plus" that threw it over the edge for me. This a film that you can enjoy with the whole family without issue. One little criticism... I wasn't ready for it to end! The longer the movie progressed the more engaged I became and when it came to the epilogue I just wasn't ready. I want an encore!!! You will not be disappointed. Well worth the small amount of money we pay to see a great investment of talent on the big screen. Enjoy.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Film!!
artsforall16 June 2017
I saw this film on June 10, 2017 and enjoyed it very much. I kept thinking about it the next day.

Michael Glover's latest film held my attention for the entire time - I actually wanted more. As an independent film maker and director he continues to excel.

Producer Robyn Rosenkrantz takes an independent film's budget and creates movie magic.

Excellent story line. The film had a great pace and look to it. The actors were all very good -an amazing gathering of actors from many different countries.

Michael and Robyn have created a film all will enjoy. Two thumbs up!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Clever and engaging movie
andrew-3184130 May 2017
I find many films leave little room for independent thought or emotion, and work to provide a controlled experience, almost like a amusement park ride.They are so all-encompassing, between sound and music, unrelenting action, exhaustingly stilted dialogue, and heavy handed emotional devices. Really, the world is in imminent danger again?

Mr. Rodolpho's Jubiliee is not that kind of movie. It's a quieter movie, with a pace that allows viewers to think about what they are seeing, a humor that is sweet and charming, and a plot that is engaging without emphasizing is own importance. The filmmakers allow the locations to help carry forward the story, and actors seem much more genuine and more human than typical Hollywood fare. The international cast and the seamless movement between languages is fun and surprising.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny, light-hearted, fun and full of important themes
kamlis10 May 2017
What is the meaning of life? Well watch this movie and you will get Bright Blue Gorilla's take on this eternal question and you will have a lot of laughs in the process. What a lot of fun this movie is to watch! Folk songs, musical interludes, physical comedy, love stories, battles between good and evil, social satire and more. What doesn't this film have? And if you want to watch and listen closely and dig beneath the surface, you can find some profound insights here too. All in all, Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee is an outstanding and entertaining film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Wonderful Feel Good Movie!
creart-955178 May 2017
We saw a private screening of this movie last night and thoroughly enjoyed this uplifting, funny and feel good movie! Hightail recommend, you will come out smiling afterwards! There are so many brilliant actors in this modern adventure that they captivate and entertain in a way that is fresh and wonderful!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A funny, charming and smart comedy
Leila Heim Saddi8 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I had the pleasure of viewing "Mr. Rudolpho's Jubilee" in a private setting together with friends. I was such an entertaining film which left everyone with a "feel-good-vibe". The film has wonderfully quirky characters, the story is witty, sweet and funny at the same time. Anyone, who has traveled the world a bit will certainly be very amused by the many culturally typical scenes playing in Italy and Berlin. They are so on the dot. The film as a whole is very original by including the singing couple who underline the wit with their original songs. It was so refreshing to see a film again that was purely entertaining without following the usual Hollywood style pattern. To sum it up: I LOVED IT!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All the way!
fjohannson23 February 2017
I must say that this film is well worth one's time. As an indie-film it shines quirkily from amidst many other often tiresome low-budget productions. Note, that I say so, because many low- budget movies often lack an in-depth story line that is complex enough to keep one's attention. This film however is quite opposite. Filled with unexpected little twists (and witty lyrics performed by a great Greek chorus), this film is rich in complexity and ideas that will make you think and laugh simultaneously.

It is a must-see and so you shall go and see it! Trust me the imperative is for a good cause. You will be enriched and will find yourself satisfied.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
involving combination of live concert/movie
cornelis jacob reinhoud23 February 2017
Very nice to see & hear Michael & Robyn's voices & music, after we had them in our little Folk-club Razzmatazz +/- early 90's. You guys did not change !!!! Terrific Surprising evening for us with a combination of music, audience participation and a involving movie with "strange" plot, who can think of this, yes...Michael. Also involving because we hear a lot about the film-sets & actors, for sure you need all attention to follow the plot, but that's what movie's are about. Knowing also how this film was made and on relatively low budget, must say you have achieved a very good result. Hope we can re-program Bright Blue Gorilla in future, will start investigating when we will have openings in our agenda.

Thanks a lot for a very nice evening in Middelburg-NL

Kees en Marieke
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant!
Ivo Mosley16 February 2017
This film is fun all the way. It's everything that La La Land should have been. Its use of cinematic tropes is charming, the music works well with the plot, the characters are interesting and original, the world it conjures up is truly bohemian and alternative. It's thought-provoking as well as entertaining - a challenge to the terrible powers that have taken charge in our increasingly at-risk world. You can enjoy it on many levels - or you can just enjoy it!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed