100 Streets (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Lives in London
Gordon-1125 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This film tells the story of several residents in inner London. They are from different social classes, ranging from a sport superstar living in fancy mansions, to young man who struggles to break free from being a small time criminal.

I can't even remember why I wanted to watch it in the first place. Perhaps it was because of the two notable stars, Idris and Gemma. They portray a couple who are going through relationship issues, but unfortunately their story is not very engaging. The ending of their story is simply unrealistic and over-dramatised. For the subplot of the young man who wants to embark on the right path, it is the more engaging story. It is sad that his mentor died, but unfortunately the story telling just is not very captivating. This subplot should evoke sympathy and emotions, but it does nothing to me. Maybe it is because the characters in the film have little emotional displays, they just get on with their lives in an ordinary manner. The resultant film is not as touching or affecting as one could have hoped.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Depressing stories that go nowhere interesting
phd_travel20 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Good actors but the stories aren't really interesting and in the end if all feels a bit pointless. This kind of intersecting stories indie type movie can be interesting. Usually we see a New York setting with a bunch of quirky characters and some pseudo drama. Here we have London for a change and that's interesting to watch at first. Idris Elba the finest black actor of his generation is quite interesting to watch as the rugby star who has cheated on his wife (Gemma Artreton) so many times she kicks him out. He proceeds to have various meltdowns drunk and disorderly culminating in a silly rifle stand off. Then there is this couple hoping to adopt. The husband is a taxi driver who accidentally hits and kills a pedestrian. Then there is a teen who is involved with some criminal types. People not from London may need subtitles for some parts!

The characters are not interesting and the stories don't come together cleverly.

Don't bother.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Don't watch this film. It's just not good. Only one minor spoiler
MaesterFilm5 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I read some bad reviews for this film but as a fan of Elba I just covered my eyes and ears and said "nananana." I was wrong.

This film is just not good. If you've seen the trailer, that's about it. The whole film is in there.

The production qualities are high, the acting is mostly good, but the film is less than the sum of its parts. They should've focused on one story and expanded on it, instead of getting hints, glimpses and slices of different, completely-unrelated lives.

SPOILER I thought the stories would be intertwined, a sort of cause-and-effect type thing like many films do, but no. The stories happen in parallel. They don't really affect one another. This film could've been presented as a bunch of short films about people in London and they would've been rated poorly. END SPOILER

There simply isn't enough time to deal with all these stories. If you think that 90 minutes is enough time to deal with a failing marriage and affairs, a death, a misfit in a lethal street gang and a few subplots (if you can call them that) then this film is for you.

The trailer made it look to be all about Elba and probably revealed most of the Elba stuff. The rest is just inconsequential. The film consists of several subplots and has no major plot or overarching narrative.

It's sad to waste all the talent that went into this film - actors, director, crew, etc. when the script is so horrendously poor.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointing..
bluefoxniner17 February 2017
Fine cast, great potential here but ultimately 100 Streets just didn't do it for me. I usually enjoy this type of movie, but found it too pedestrian and a wasted opportunity, because Londoners would be great subjects for a film like this.

It might be OK to pass the time if nothing else is on...but it could have been so much better.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
These four (4) guys stories were all so very depressing
Ed-Shullivan31 May 2018
I can simply state up front that I was not impressed with this depressing dramatic film. I was half expecting the good looking hunky actor Idris Elba who plays a retired soccer star and who is estranged from his wife and two children to meet up with his medical doctor who would then advise Elba to take two sleeping pills and four laxative pills. Now that would at least provide one funny scene would it not?

I am not saying that I want to only watch comedies but from the opening scene right through to the very last scene this film was depressing. These four seperate stories that were indirectly connected each contained misery for one or more of the men and the film just continued to get more depressing as it dragged on.

Mrs. Shullivan left the room after watching the first 45 minutes and did not even bother to ask if it got any better......which it did not, it got worse.

I can only give the film a 5 out of 10 rating and I would not recommend it to anyone.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant use of screen time
belindamissen-15 April 2017
Following the lives of three central characters, 100 Streets takes you on a journey through central London, through lives, loves, and loss. Around those three characters, their satellites, who are all just as important as them, for they help shape and define their futures.

A film about snap decisions, the bigger picture, and what ifs, this is a great film in the style of Pawno (Paul Ireland, 2015). Very glad I picked this one up; you will be, too.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Decent movie but not memorable! 4/10
leonblackwood14 September 2017
Review: This is a decent films, about 3 different situations, which spiral out of control, on the streets of London. Idris Elba plays a successful ex-England captain, who is forced to leave the family home after his wife, Emily (Gemma Arterton), finds out about his various affairs and wild party life. Without his wife by his side, he soon becomes lonely, and he misses his 2 young kids, so he tries his utmost to rekindle his damaged relationship with his wife, who is in two minds. The second story is about a young teenager, Kingsley (Franz Drameh), who sells drugs whilst living on a council estate with his mother and sister but he craves a new life on stage, with his poetry. When he bumps into Terence (Ken Scott), whilst doing community service, they soon becomes friends, even though they come from 2 completely different worlds. Terence points Kingsley in the right direction for a better life but he is dragged down by his criminal surroundings. The final story is about a taxi driver, George (Charlie Creed-Miles), who is trying to adopt a child with his girlfriend Kathy (Kierston Wareing). After George runs over a cyclist, he becomes a recluse, which puts a strain on his relationship and there abilities to become parents. I did find the movie quite entertaining and the performances were believable but it's not the type of film that you would watch twice. I didn't really see the point of the taxi driver story, and I thought the director would have joined the various stories together but with that aside, it's a watchable movie which covers many different elements. Idris Elba did stand out from the rest, especially when he suffered his breakdown but I found it quite predictable and the storyline wasn't that original. Average!

Round-Up: This movie was directed by Jim O'Hanlon, 46, who has directed mostly for TV. Some of the programs include Coronation Street, Bad Girls, The Bill, Casualty, Walking The Dead and Shameless but this is his first movie that was made for the big screen. Now that Idris Elba has become a worldwide star, I'm sure that the director felt lucky to get him on board for this project, which was why he gave him the most emotional role. It still felt like it was made for TV but with such a low budget, the director done a decent job.

Budget: £3million Worldwide Gross: N/A

I recommend this movie to people who are into their dramas, starring Gemma Arterton, Idris Elba, Tom Cullen, Kierston Wareing, Ken Scott, Charlie Creed-Miles and Ryan Gage. 4/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Indie Offers Some Rewards
larrys314 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Although this intense British drama is not for everyone, I felt it does offer some rewards if one sticks with it. It depicts various interconnected stories of Londoners and a roller coaster of human lives and emotions. The film can be dark and violent at times, but it can also be quite touching and uplifting as well.

Most of the characters here are flawed in one way or another, but I thought the ensemble cast portrayals were top notch. The director Jim O'Hanlon and screenwriter Leon F. Butler are making their feature film debuts here, but O'Hanlon does have extensive writing experience in television.

To note, this is an adult drama with explicit language throughout, one fairly explicit sex scene, drug and alcohol usage on screen, and one brief scene of nudity. I also should mention I had to use the subtitles here due to thick accents and slang usage.

Overall, this indie can be very uncomfortable to watch at times but I felt there are rewards here if the viewer sticks with it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Raw, intense and very watchable
nickwhite-196451 August 2018
Netflix suggested I watch this after seeing 'Brighton Rock' and I can see why. The intensity of the characters' demise and their struggle to make sense of what happens makes for compelling viewing.The setting is everything, from the local football club to Battersea Bridge and all streets in between. While the characters don't cross over too much (which might make it a bit of a soap opera) they make subtle references which keeps the viewer guessing. I guess the theme is around disintegration and how we all cope when things seem to deteriorate. A really absorbing film, well worth a watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It's all gone Pete Tong....
jimbo-53-18651116 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
100 Streets tells the stories of 3 very different people living within 100 streets from each other in London. The plot line says that they are 'extraordinary' stories, but to me this is just ridiculous sensationalism and grossly exaggerates what is actually on offer here...

When watching this film it's hard not to think of the American film Crash (which presumably this British offering is trying to emulate). Although Crash won the best picture back in 2004 it's a film that I've never personally cared for and this British offering is no different...

Yes 100 streets has the various story strands and all of these strands are established fairly well, but sadly much of what unfolds on screen is relatively uninteresting. I think the worst story arc in this film was the love triangle between Elba, Arterton and her bit on the side. I honestly found that I couldn't care less about any of these characters meaning that nearly every ounce of dialogue that was uttered by any of their characters went in one ear and out of the other. Whilst I kind of understood Arterton's character and the other bloke it was Idris Elba that was a mystery to me... I just found that his character made no sense. He's a bit of a womanising playboy who seemed to be living on past glories and has a troublesome relationship with his wife which he is trying to get back on track. Although he's a bit arrogant and showy I found him a fairly cool customer... but then out of nowhere he starts to descend into a massive downward spiral where he seems to lose all self-control (including drunken rampages and narcotics abuse all before he's due to comment on a Rugby match live at Twickenham which inevitably leads to him making a fool of himself on National TV). This is great for dramatic effect, but it all comes out of nowhere and makes little sense. He then gets it together for a bit only to start brandishing a shotgun a short while later. All this might have made an impact on me if I'd have been given any reason to care for Elba's character or even identify with him, but no such opportunity arises and his relentless selfishness started to grate on me after a while...

So what do we then move on to exactly? Well we then have another couple who are trying to adopt a child, but are having problem doing this due to hubby's past indiscretions. His missus takes part in a fun run and the cabby knocks a woman down (not his fault I hasten to add, but merely an accident). Like the love triangle story arc I also found this thread rather uninteresting and despite the tragic events involving one characters action I felt strangely unmoved...

Finally we come to the third story arc; the thread between Kingsley and Terence - this to me was the most natural and warm storyline and one that was actually worth investing in. In fact my only criticism with this thread was with how poorly Terence was developed as a character. Despite the familiar way that this thread was played out I did appreciate the warm bond that was developing between Kingsley and Terence - the fact that Terence played the only likable character from start to finish did help to make this story arc more endearing in all honesty. I actually found it a bit upsetting when those yobs gave him a good kicking and despite it being hard to watch it did showcase some realism and demonstrated some of the problems that anyone can encounter in some rough inner city areas.

Some of the acting is good particularly from Idris Elba who is far too good for this film; Gemma Arterton and Franz Drameh are also strong in support. However, at its core 100 Streets is rather hollow and most of its story strands are uninteresting. The main problem I had here is that I had seen it all before and I wasn't all that impressed with it the first time round...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not the kind of Drama i was expecting..
BatmanFunReviews201811 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Three people, three extraordinary stories. All lived out within a hundred London streets. 100 Streets is the perfect example of how even some of the most talented actors in the world can get trapped in a film so awful that even them can't save it i mean what's wrong with the dialogue? It's full on Sex Jokes and D*ck Jokes, Idris Elba and Gemma Arterton are quite talented but even they can't save the movie and their characters are very difficult to even care about. The dramatic parts aren't even that dramatic and this whole gang plot device with Franz Drameh's character goes nowhere. I like some of this actors as i said but this film is definitely a hot garbage.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
British Cinema at its finest!
va-1029013 February 2017
I strongly believe that reviews can take the magic out or embrace the greatness of any movie with a few paragraphs, so I will keep this simple. Having lived in London for several years, I have to admit I was positively prejudiced about the film from the very beginning. Nevertheless, it managed to meet and even surpass my already high expectations. The reason is simple.

It was a slick enjoyable movie with a distinctive message, life is life. You cannot plan every step of they way, there is always something unexpected luring to happen. It is true that characters were not as emotional as a person would want them to, in order for him/her to find their struggles relate-able. Maybe that was the plan all along, who knows? (the director, obviously). All I know is I spent a relaxing evening enjoying a fine film.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
scrabo39-143-1685020 November 2016
Every so often, and after a lot of trawling through some pretty awful films, a gem is discovered.

A Hundred Streets is a gem of a film. Raw, powerful, with acting of the highest caliber.

I've just finished watching it this very minute, and I could watch it again. There aren't many films you could say that about recently.

I'm not going to give away any of the plot, as that would be a rather shabby exercise. But safe to say I enjoyed every single second of this wonderful film.

Yes, I liked it. You may already have guessed that.

10 /10 from me.
16 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nice little film about human interaction.
subxerogravity17 January 2017
I realize the title does suggest a anthology of stories, In fact the movie technically should be called Three Streets as it contains three stories about three different people who you could say live on three different streets in London (talking more socially and culturally) .

From the trailer, I was expecting just one street with Idris Elba and Gemma Arterton. That could have been just me knowing who these two people are and just focusing on that part or it could have been a trailer met to draw in Americans with two faces we would recognized.

Either way, Elba and Arterton's street take a side step for me, as the most interesting street was about a guy named Kingsley (Played by a British face that I've seen before but can't place) who just got out of jail and does not want to go back into the life of a drug dealer so he gives acting a try after befriending one, but the streets keep trying to pull him back in (Oh wait, this dude is Firestorm on the series, The Flash).

The other story was a touching love story about a loving couple who are having trouble extending their family though adoption.

But I say all this not to suggest that Elba's performance as an Ex-Rugby player dealing with life off the field, which causes him to screw up royally with his wife (Played by Arterton), was not a great moment in the film, I mean it's Idris Elba, but it was not my favorite.

100 Streets three stories work very well as a whole movie and it's worth seeing.

http://cinemagardens.com
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This is a movie that will show you the best and the worst of human nature and make you feel. That is a good thing.
cosmo_tiger6 March 2017
"The moments of change, they're what give your life its shape, its form, but it only takes one of them to define you and that'll be the only thing you're remembered for and you know it." Three very different people are living out their lives over the course of a few days in London. From a former Rugby legend trying to save his marriage to a depressed cab driver to a gang member trying to straighten his life out, it is amazing the lives that people can live so close to each other yet never meet. This is a good movie with great acting that is so emotional that it's hard to keep up with everything going on. Much like the movie Crash the movie tackles real issues (though not as heavy as Crash) and makes you see and feel exactly what the intent is. Elba is tremendous in this and his character is so complex you aren't sure whether to root for him or not. That adds a whole dimension to the movie that is important. This is a movie that will show you the best and the worst of human nature and make you feel. That is a good thing. Overall, a good movie that explores many facets of humanity, but at the same time doesn't really say anything new. I did like it though. I give this a B.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
..it's only part them... and that ain't enough
bjarias2 March 2017
..the entire trailer for the film shows and sells it as if it's all Atherton and Elba and if that were the case then it would have been acceptable.. but in fact the movie is not all them (they're like one-third of it) and so it suffers.. for their story is limited and shortchanged, and the others that are in fact part of the film are not all that intriguing.. in fact they're pretty standard and boring.. they obviously wanted their names to draw attention, and with a bit more thought to the overall process (and having them involved as a larger part of the production) they could have wound up with a substantially better work... you're looking for them, and so you come away disappointed..
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The order of the Blocks
nogodnomasters20 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is a tale of some loosely connected lives in London. Max Moore (Idris Elba) is a famous ex-rugby player and a player. He likes his coke and women. His wife Emily (Gemma Arterton) is having revenge sex with a photographer (Tom Cullen) and plans on getting back into acting through her old friend Terrance (Ken Stott) who also does community service. Terrance meets Kingsley (Franz Drameh) who has committed a misdemeanor and is preforming community service at a cemetery. Kingsley sells pot and is trapped in the streets. He wants out, but doesn't know how. At the cemetery we see George (Charlie Creed-Miles) a singing cabby and football coach. He wants to adopt children with his wife Kathy (Kierston Wareing) active in community service.

The stories were somewhat interesting and I wished they had connected George better than what they did. They all came to some sort of closure, but I failed to see the point in all of it, other than we are all somehow connected, a theme of which I have grown bored .

Guide: F-word, sex, nudity.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another negative stereotyped film aimed at black people
writeguyr4 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This film continues the never ending stereotyping of black people mostly black males in the inner cities of USA and here in England. This is a very disturbing film, but not for the story that it presents but for the unfair depiction of black males. The white filmmakers who are guilty of this stereotyping of black people have their black actors in their films use excessive profanity. The black characters in their films are also very angry and confrontational. So is the case in this film. The two major black characters here are Max (Idris Elba) a former Rugby star now a ghost of his once famous persona. And Kingsley (Frank Drameh) a street gang member who finds himself living in a world of crime and no opportunities for him to get out of his ghetto lifestyle.

Both characters in this film are very violent and use excessive profanity. While the white characters in this film are very civil and calm and do not use any profanity. This depiction in this film was created and written by screenwriter Leon Butler a Caucasian man. As many of these stereotyped films showing blacks people as drug dealers, gang members and even everyday people all using excessive profanity and having confrontational personalities are created and produced by white men. There is a theme that these white filmmakers emphasize, that the white characters in their films are civilized and superior to the black people who are depicted in an inferior manner. There are many civilized calm mannered black people in the USA and in England who do not use excessive profanity, some even prefer the ballet or symphony music to rap, or golf to basketball.

Yet writers like Mr. Butler continue to present black people in the most negative manner. I know there are black people who are in very dire situations in England and the USA. Yet this film does not have any positive black characters in the film. Either police officers or anybody! The film story sets the pace to slowly show how the main black characters Max and Kingsley each deal with their problems by using excessive violence with graphic loud profanity.

The story has an interracial marriage between Max and Emily (Gemma Arterton) an ultra-conservative white woman who could pass for the wife of a politician. Their marriage is very strained because of Max's affairs with other women and other vices. Whenever Max shows up at Emily's home (Max has an apartment) she treats him with aloof disgust with a quick hi and goodbye attitude. Early in the film we are rooting for Max to get his life back in shape and reconcile with Emily. It's interesting to note that this is the 50th anniversary of the *controversial film (*for the 1960's) "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner" The first major film that showed a black man played by Sidney Poitier meeting the parents and his future in-laws played by Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn. Their young white daughter played by Katherine Houghton. Sidney Poitier's character in this film is civilized and mild mannered as the white characters in this film. Poitier playing the black man set to marry their daughter, he uses no profanity nor does he even have an inner city urban accent.

In "100 Streets" Max is a man in self-destruct mode. He claims it's all about his and Emily's kids that he wants to make his marriage work. But even when Emily gives Max another chance. He has sex with other women, gets drunk in public and snorts coke, before he is to appear on live TV as a Rugby commentator, because of his coke addiction he has to leave the TV studio. Emily was seeing another man but not secretly. He is Jake a civil white man who is very caring and mild mannered. Much like Sidney Poitier's black character some fifty years ago. When Max mistakenly believes that Emily is picking Jake over him. Max goes ballistic, he appears in Emily's home on her balcony without a shirt on waving a rifle shouting profanity to all the white spectators on the street below. Emily on the phone with Max using a calm caring voice trying to get Max to surrender before the police sharp shooters kill him. Emily's kindness is met with the most graphic violent rage and profanity. As Max hurls hatred at Emily. But Emily prevails and is successful in having Max surrender as he is arrested on the scene.

How the depiction of black males has degenerated in fifty years since Sidney Poitier character appeared in "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner." It is refreshing that new black filmmakers are now releasing films that show black people not as drug dealers or violent characters who have to use profanity. But as positive black characters on the theater screen.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A London story
Prismark1030 March 2018
100 Streets is an undernourished and underwhelming slice of life drama set in London focussing on six characters who only obliquely interact with each other.

Idris Elba plays Max, a former rugby star turned television pundit. His wife Emily (Gemma Arterton) caught him cheating with the babysitter and they have split up. Emily is now seeing someone else but it is Max whose life is unravelling with drugs and booze.

Kingsley (Franz Drameh) is a young drug dealer in the hood, he has been in trouble with the law but finds an avenue to express himself as a street poet when he meets an aged actor.

The most interesting story is of cab driver George (Charlie Creed-Miles) who with his wife Kathy (Kierston Wareing) are hoping to adopt a child but face several knocks including the revelation that George was a hooligan in his youth. The couple strive to pick up the pieces of their live in a positive way.

Elba has the more showy role which includes his rather public meltdown but the whole thing just felt rather depressing and undistinguished.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Sappy but not so much because of the acting-worth a look
Anyanwu17 June 2017
Right, so this is a sappy film. But, not cause of the acting in my opinion. Looks at the choices people make and how they deal with the realities that life presents them. The acting is good all around. Idris, Gemma, Franz Drameh and Ryan Gage put in good performances. Yes, it's stereotypical and predictable. The stories do not intersect are separate stories taking place at the same time. What throws it off and makes it sappy is the writing and the score/music. Seeing as Idriss Elba was the music supervisor this is kind of disappointing. I know his music chops are strong but the music made the whole film melodramatic. This is what gives it the syrupy feel. The screenplay is not interesting at all and presents characters in a particular light with little context. It's a good idea for a film, whose story structure has been done before. It lacks more the depth in writing to really draw you deep into the characters whose lives are on edge.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
liked this film
mfivejude-123 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I take issue with the reviewer who felt it was unfair to black people.yes the poor living in the projects were typical of the pressure put on the poor to join crime.however the single mom was a great role model for her son setting limits and consequences.He didn't see that. the sports hero displayed how the adulation and substances can take someone down a bad path,regardless of color. the love between the cabbie and his wife ,though struggling was so uplifting,what a sweet character.

the whole plot of the film depicts that people can be capable of greatness despite being flawed. the white man who saw potential in Kinsley that recognized his talent and I understand his anger at beating the perpetrator. one can learn a lot from this movie!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So beautiful and sad at the same time...
Sherazade13 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I suppose melancholy would be a perfect term to describe what it is really. The experience of watching this was almost voyeuristic because of the manner with which is was shot, it was a very intimate portrait on the lives of seemingly everyday people just dealing with the trials and tribulations of everyday life and making the most of it. Life happens to all of us whether we like it or not.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Worth a watch
edprojects25 March 2017
This is not a Hollywood blockbuster, but a very British take on life and human relationships so if you like that sort of thing then this is worth a watch.

Three stories that barely touch on each other but manage to be complete. Emotional, raw, graphic and well acted. Everything I expect from a good British film.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed