Dog by Dog (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Puppy Mills and the Blackfish Effect
doggess28 July 2015
Dog by Dog is a documentary that seeks to reach the general public with information about the reality of puppy mills and the politics and pocketbooks that continue to support them. While it had extremely emotional moments, this is not a film filled with graphic footage of abuse. The shots of the empty cages and the tough guy cradling a filthy rescued puppy against his chest are enough. The real impact of the documentary lies in its informed interviews and shocking statistics, as well as exposure of the ways in which corporate agribusiness and the AKC fight against legislation meant to improve conditions for commercially bred dogs. The film was well-researched and effectively delivered, including interviews with rescue volunteers, politicians and heads of animal welfare organizations. The most inspiring part of Dog by Dog - much needed after the discouraging illustration of just how deeply embedded the politics and bureaucracy surrounding legislation of puppy mills are - was the story of Mindi Long, founder of Bailing Out Benji. Since 2011, Mindi has been educating and organizing peaceful pet store protests in her hometown, rain or shine. This film deserves the widest audience possible, in order to effect the kind of change that our loving and loyal but voiceless dogs need to free them from dark cages. Like Blackfish, I hope that this documentary will bring to light the injustices that are regularly covered up by cheery storefronts and flashy websites, and turn people away from pet store doors just as they have been turning away from Sea World.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
eye opener, even for those of us familiar with factory farming of dogs
pamela-109-73328830 August 2015
I grew up and live not far from Lancaster and have been aware of issues with puppy mills for quite some time. That said, even though I was aware of the plight of dogs in these puppy farms, I was surprised at how many puppy farms there are across this country having assumed they were predominantly in PA/Ohio. Even more disconcerting is the money trail and blatant disregard to the minimal laws we have to protect animals used for breeding purposes.

While this documentary does contain some images of the conditions in which the dogs live, it is actually a fact driven film that presents clear information on how this negligence & abuse continues to occur in this day & age. It is a must see for anyone who is an animal lover, has a dog or is considering getting one, AKC/dog show supporter, reputable breeder and even folks who aren't into pets but would like to know how industries get around laws.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
You don't have to love dogs to love this film.
nylib30 August 2015
Dog By Dog is about money, politics and large-scale corruption. The dogs and puppies paying the price are a lesser focus than what goes into keeping USDA-licensed puppy mills in business. This 1960s-era "business" should have gone the way of smoking in airplanes. Dog By Dog explains the millions of dollars and politically-connected companies behind its proliferation. Great for anyone interested in the seedy underbelly of gov't and corporations. Equally great for anyone that thinks online and retail puppy sellers are legit. NOTE: Breeders who raise puppies as family in their homes, ensure potential buyers physically touch and interact with the puppies AND their parents (not see random pictures that could be any dog), do home visits, reference checks, etc., should also watch. While many advocates are against all breeding, DBD clearly shows that people are going to buy puppies no matter what. To end mills, we need your support.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Get ready for this movie to take off
jrj-9718830 August 2015
Saw this in Chicago, and it was outstanding. The rest of my family is so ready to see this, as change is needed!

Once released big time, and more and more eyes see this, the power of people will take over and maybe we can save all the dogs that are forced to live horrible lives

Puppy Mills need to go, and once their big support is cut off and more folks get angry about them, they hopefully will fade away never to come back

This movie shows who supports the puppy mill industry and you will be surprised.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dog by Dog, a look at the money trail in puppy mills
kceci-9657030 July 2015
A must see if you are a dog lover and want to know why puppy mills are still in operation. Dog by Dog is not like any of the other puppy mill films. It does not focus on the horrible conditions that these poor dogs are put thru. Rather, the focus of this film is to inform you by following the money trail of which you will be surprised at who all is involved. It also touches on why our current laws are not being enforced.It is such a shame the amount of corruption on every level. I highly recommend going to see Dog by Dog as I did for the Pennsylvania Premiere in Philadelphia and will go again when it comes to Pitsburgh. For you Lola, the original showgirl!! Love and face-bites.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
COMPELLING!! See how government subsidies and politicians keep puppy mills alive.
eva-6714430 July 2015
Whether you are a dog lover or not, this documentary is a must see. "Dog by Dog" follows the money trail and greed on the backs of dogs. Dogs are not livestock. USDA certified kennels barely keep the dogs alive if laws are followed . Commercial breeders aka puppymills would rather pay fines than follow the law. AKC registered means nothing. The AKC LOBBIES AGAINST ALL PUPPYMILL BILLS. The US Government provides subsidies aka FREE MONEY to these puppymill farmers even though there are USDA violations against them. Puppymill owners find it cheaper to pay the fines than have a veterinarian visit once a year and make sure the dogs are healthy. The parents of pet store puppies suffer endlessly in filth and disease. Never knowing what it's like to be touched and loved. Only feeling the bottom of a wire cage and never knowing what its like to feel grass under their paws. Sick subhuman industry. This is a DIRTY HUGE SECRET of commercial breeders and pet stores. If the American people knew the truth they wouldn't stand for it. A MUST SEE!!!!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
DOG is man's best friend, lets treat him that way!
ducaticor25 February 2016
I saw the premier of dog-by-dog in NYC last year, having already been an advocate for helping educate people about puppy mills before seeing it, however, the documentary helped me understand even more how involved corporations and greed are in this inhumane and antiquated industry. The movie has all the facts anyone with a caring heart needs to get involved, adopt, and help put an end to puppy mills. I thank Mr. Grimes and his whole crew whole heartedly for spending their time creating this documentary. I'm sure it broke their hearts time and again as they gained more and more knowledge about puppy mills across the USA. Thank you! People, this is a must see and share what you learn.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See!
katycline-4209823 November 2015
Dog by Dog is an awesome film. Definitely a must see!! This film takes a unique approach by explaining the money in politics and why it is so difficult to pass common sense laws protecting domesticated animals. I am familiar with the horrific life that animals in mills endure daily. While I think pictures of the conditions these animals are forced to live in can be very moving, I appreciate that this film did not show those gruesome scenes. I believe that this film will appeal to many audiences and capture the attention of people who are unaware of the widespread horrors of puppy (kitten, rabbit, etc.) mills. Puppy mills would not be in existence if people knew the truth about their terrifying practices for profit. Hopefully this film brings widespread awareness to the plight of puppy mills dogs just like Blackfish did for Orcas in captivity. Adopt don't shop!!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A look at the companies that fund puppy mills
cdegeorgis30 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This film contains no graphic images or extremely difficult to watch scenes. Animal lovers want basic things like access to sunlight and exercise, medical care, and humane breeding practices for dogs trapped in American puppy mils. These bills get introduced and killed in the agricultural committees in Congress. Agribuinesses like Monsanto, Tyson, Cargill, and Smithfield, in addition to others fund the opposition to laws that would improve the living conditions of dogs trapped in puppy mills. The other lobbying group behind killing tons of legislation to improve the lives of dogs in puppy mills? The American Kennel Club. They are really a group that cares about making money from the registration fees of dogs in puppy mills. Until the AKC cleans up their disgusting business practices, adopt or rescue. The money you spend on buying an AKC dog funds the biggest pro-puppy miller lobbyist.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Before you buy a dog, watch this!
tjoanedwards-9515122 February 2017
Before you buy a dog or puppy, please watch this documentary. It's incredible that in this day and age we treat man's best friend so deplorably. Watching this movie helped me realize the inadequate conditions that these poor creatures are subjected to, but also gives ideas on how to stop the proliferation of puppy mills.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
*A MUST-SEE For ALL Animal Lovers, Not Dog Lovers Only!
barbarasue_schmitt18 March 2016
If you love animals, nature, our planet, and especially dogs, please consider "Dog By Dog" as essential and 'required' viewing. There are no highly graphic images, nor any political agendas underscoring the film. It is quite simply vital information to learn as an animal lover, U.S. citizen, and consumer of any type. As an animal advocate and activist, I thought I understood the basics behind atrocious puppy mills: the unconscionable conditions, horrific treatment of the overly-bred parental dogs, astounding lack of veterinary care, and more. I had so much to learn!

You will be amazed at the intentionally hidden connections between unscrupulous dog "breeders", the American Kennel Club (AKC), the Westminster Dog Show, the USDA, and the little-known, super PAC, "Alliance For Truth" (*which functions largely to protect lawbreakers and animal abusers involved in and profiting from the puppy mill process, along with lobbying to exploit loopholes in existing animal welfare legislature, and preventing abusive "breeders"/AKA puppy mill owners from being legally penalized).

This riveting documentary will capture the intellect and emotions of every dog lover, providing facts which are disturbing, integral, and well-concealed. Facts which mill owners describing themselves (legally!) as "AKC, registered breeders" do NOT want you to be aware of. One example provides unfathomable information regarding how puppies purchased on the Internet are nearly inevitably coming from a puppy mill, despite "cute photos" &/or images of majestic, beautiful, full-bred parental dogs and claims that all litters are healthy, bred humanely, etc.

The extent to which this industry will collude with other animal abusers (such as factory farmers) to affect relevant pending legislation in their favor, and will do essentially anything to avoid detection and/or regulation is another essential arena in which the viewer will gain knowledge. We all know that puppy mills are a cruel, unbelievably relentless means of making profit through the abuse and exploitation of innocent, voiceless animals. However, there is still a great deal to discover and CHANGE.

This film is moving, evocative, endearing, and even stunning in many moments. The viewer is taken on a journey which reveals the actual steps involved in hiding the abhorrent truth of puppy mills, as well as the truth behind the actual functioning of and profit from puppy mills, which, contrary to urban myth, have NOT been deemed illegal, nor shut down as an industry. Puppy mills sadly DO continue to exist and thrive, while the enslaved, abused breeding dogs are living in a reality which is indeed, a silent and torturous hell. These mills are run by "breeders" protected by laws which also encompass factory farming, the decimation of our climate, and other alarming occurrences which exploit the innocent and directly mislead the public, consumers and voters.

Please call your local PBS station to request airing(s) of this profound, vital documentary. I guarantee that you will be astounded, moved, and grateful to be armed with the truth, so that you, too, can make a difference in the life of a beloved, furry friend. Whether you change your consumer habits, pass along what you've learned to others via blogging or word of mouth, decide to protest at a nearby pet store, or simply recommend this film to even one friend: YOU can make a difference...'Dog by Dog.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed