Inner Demon (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
A film of two halves
Leofwine_draca18 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
INNER DEMON is an Australian indie with a derivative feel. It's essentially a film of two separate halves joined by a middling middle. Things start out following an abducted girl and some psychotic behaviour a la modern Australian horrors like WOLF CREEK and SNOWTOWN. In the second half, it turns into a weak EVIL DEAD retread complete with glowing eyes and chainsaws. It's too predictable to be good, but the production values are a bit better than you usually see in this genre.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I Can Hear You
nogodnomasters27 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Plot spoilers Sam (Sarah Jeavons) is abducted, gets away, and surprise....runs through the woods and ends up at the house of the abductors which we have seen too many times before. She hides and for about the next half hour we hear her whimper as she bleeds out in a closet. Not exactly exciting stuff. Then at an hour into the film the genre changes because...well no because, it just does and oh yes the dreams and flashbacks are supposed to make it seem real. And what was that eye opener at the end supposed to be? Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Materializing Inner Demons
kosmasp17 August 2016
The movie does have a spin on the kidnap theme. It also has some colorful (if sometimes one sided) characters. It also does know how to create tension in a lot of ways. So overall it does have a couple of points going its way. It's almost a shame it does seem to lose itself later on, especially considering the environment it created at the start of the movie by spinning a couple of things.

Relationships can be fragile, almost as fragile as entities. Although entities do not really consist of anything, so therefor fragile would not be a word that can describe them. But when they really want, they can move or rather make things happen, not being fragile at all. So maybe the middle ground still would be right? What is not right of course is how the main bad guys behave. Very despicable and hateful is the best way to describe them.

A more than decent effort then, with good special effects and a lot of blood too
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Laughably bad...
paul_haakonsen28 September 2021
Well, with a title such as "Inner Demon", I must admit that I had believed this 2014 movie from writer and director Ursula Dabrowsky to be a movie about, oh well I don't know, possibly demonic possession? But no, that was definitely not what "Inner Demon" turned out to be.

Instead I was in for a movie about a woman being abducted and trapped inside a closet for the majority of the movie. Yeah, talk about a swing and a miss of a movie. And this was just pretty much as far from what I had expected it to be, and not in a good way.

Nay, the storyline as written by Ursula Dabrowsky was just not entertaining or interesting. The movie was slowed down to the point of it being painful to sit through given the fact that virtually nothing happened throughout the majority of the movie. And watching a girl sit inside a locked closet just doesn't cut it for entertaining me.

I wasn't familiar with the actors and actresses that participated in this bottom-scraping movie. Usually I enjoy watching new and unfamiliar faces in movies, but the cast that were part of "Inner Demon" just had nothing solid to work with in terms of a proper script, storyline, plot or characters.

This is definitely not a movie I would recommend you waste your time, money or effort on. Some of us suffered through this ordeal of a movie so you don't have to. Trust me, you don't want to venture down this path.

I am rating the 2014 horror movie "Inner Demon" a generous two out of ten stars.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not Clear Story Line
twelve-house-books28 January 2021
Warning: Spoilers
A white trash Australian couple who routinely kidnap beautiful blonde women meet their comeuppance when the last girl they take, along with her blonde little sister, has an angry spirit that escapes her as she lays dying from a deep knife slice into her abdomen and stalks and kills the homicidal sociopathic couple, but not until she has gathered around her every other spirit of the blonde girls the couple has formerly killed. Two stars for good acting from the lead heroine. Not recommended unless you like loads of blood and extreme murder scenes.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Too much stupidity
africe30 July 2019
Seriously???? If one is being kidnapped and most likely raped and murdered, then wht the hell would you stop beating the kidnappers with your tire iron??? Too lame! And is it the writers putting in the great reviews? I'm VERY disappointed!
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Very good first half
brunovanael29 May 2021
This was a very well acted and intense ride. Very good actually (apart from some goofs) for a low budget movie. Or at least for the first part. Don't know who's idea it was to add a paranormal twist, but after that the thril was gone.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
HIdden Gem
pensacolacomputer1 August 2018
This is a hidden gem. I came across it by accident. Its micro budget is apparent but it makes no difference. You dont need a ten million dollar budget to make a great movie. Highly recommended if you are into horror movies like me.
6 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A mixture of 2, 1 failed.
kjjames819 October 2020
This film has two parts for me, one was good and worked well, the other didn't work and ruined any tension that the movie held. The good, the kidnap theme was working well and it held some tension through the movie, which I liked a lot. Then there was the haunted theme which ruined the whole film for me and took out any tension that the film held. Why? Well when it came to the haunted part, there were no scares, no tension with it and to me, spoilt the whole story and I'll for me. The film should have kept on the kidnap theme as I thought it was well done on most accounts, if they were going to stick to the haunted theme, then rank up the tension and scares to make it work, don't have less. I have given this three stars, one for the main actress, she was pretty good in this, the kidnap theme was done pretty well, I know it was a low budget movie but this has never bothered me and the third star is for the film directors, well Done for the most part of keeping the tension up. No stars go for the bad guys, way over acting and no stars for the haunting part, spoilt the whole film. If anyone is giving this five or above stars, then you know something is up.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
HOPE YOU LIKE CLOSETS
horrorgasm3 May 2020
Holy crap. I thought another reviewer here was jokingly exaggerating when they said the main character spends 30 minutes hiding in a closet crying. THEY WERE NOT. In fact, IT'S EVEN LONGER THAN THAT! I checked and she is in there for 40 WHOLE MINUTES! 40 MINUTES of this 84 minute movie is spent IN A CLOSET! I'm not even going to get into any of the other (and many) problems with this movie because if this one fact isn't enough to convince you that this movie is an insulting waste of your time, then nothing else I say will matter either. Avoid like the plague.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I really liked this film
pompeyjoanne25 April 2018
It's an Aussie horror, ...anyone who's watched Aussie horror will know what I mean....got the same vibe as wolf creek with a supernatural twist....I'm a lover of horror and a stern critic.....this film is one of the better ones. Loved it!
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's good and confusing
trevorbumbarger7 August 2020
This movie was pretty good and scary. Creepy also. The ending is confusing though
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Amazing,,, until it wasn't!! (last 20 min'Ssh)
ripper201124 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Well I will definitely start by saying It's a must see film regardless of my summery "Amazing until it wasn't" because as i said it was only the last 20 min's or so that let it down..

Basically everything after the whole becoming a vengeful spirit/demon which in my opinion regardless of the other comments wasn't well done, make up or special effects! Which in it's self would of been forgiven and ignored given the very high level of acting, writing, directing, editing, as well as how completely emotionally invested i was with Sarah Jeavens as if i was right there along side her the whole way, even to the point where i'd be shouting at her (more accurately the TV screen) during some parts and quietly giving her direction during others.

BUT.. I said would of been forgiven, unfortunately i can't ignore it as it completely ruined what was and mostly is a great Thriller/Horror that for some crazy reason then completely does a u turn and becomes a terrible low budget horror for the last 20 min's completely in contrast to the rest of the film and then just ends. leaving you wondering if someone had recorded over the last 20 min's with a completely different film for a joke.
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Keeps You At The Edge Of Your Seat
music-334159 May 2021
A very well made Thriller/Horror movie. The director draws you in, and at times you feel you are being chased.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
40 Minutes of Nothing, 40 of Worse than Nothing
kellyjm9629 August 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Don't watch this movie. Its one redeeming quality is that the stupidity of the main character will keep you on the edge of your seat, itching to slap her upside the head for all the terrible decisions she makes. It starts out as a derivative kidnapping movie. We spend 40 minutes trapped in a closet with a sobbing girl. Then it becomes a shoddy, shoehorned horror plot. There is no hero and no one wins. The plot is nonexistent. Characters are nonsensical and frustrating. Multiple better plot lines are frequently set up, then scrapped in favor of the main character hiding and crying yet again. Every time you think something interesting or smart will happen, the character will look at her way out, then turn around and hide behind the curtain instead. I hated all 84 minutes of this movie, and the only reason I watched all the way through is because I was desperately hoping it would turn into something redeemable. It did not.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Australian Horror Film
kevinmendiboure22 April 2018
Really captivating movie, with good tension and atmosphere! The main actress is top and the movie is very entertaining with some good action scenes and suspens all along. Worth watching!
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant film
artsendup10 January 2016
Riveting, suspenseful from start to finish. I was on the edge of my seat watching this. Fabulous performances by Sarah Jeavons and Kerry Ann Reid. An original play on the idea of super real vs supernatural. A clever bit of writing, i understand this was a low budget film, but you would never guess it. Beautiful photography delivering a great eeriness in the locations chosen accompanied by a very suspenseful soundtrack. This movie draws you in, arouses compassion for the lead actress and also fear of the dreaded unknown. Its one of those films that make you wonder, what would you do if this happened to you, Full of twists and twisted characters that are unfortunately very believably real. Some gruesome moments, great special FX and make up. I look forward to seeing another film by this director because this film is a winner.
11 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great suspense
cyberwiz-9673826 March 2020
Ending was a twist, as you expect a good ending. Great movie though if you love horror movies.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Worth watching!!
cbeaumaster-4911225 September 2015
Inner Demon surprised me! Knowing the budget for this feature, I was very impressed with how engaged I was throughout the film. A lot had to do with the lead character - an amazing new actress who I am sure we will see more of in the future. This story seemed very real - it could happen which is unlike a lot of horrors where the special effects often make up for a lack of story. The direction of this film is another one of it's strengths as it carried me to the end. An interesting end that was a bit of a twist but it created the most conversation afterwards as my friend and I argued about what if it happened to us. Can we all become evil? Do we all have an Inner Demon? Smart, Suspenseful and with the perfect amount of Gore, I can't wait to see what Ursula does next!
4 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed